Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5740 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
28 crawler(s) on-line.
 14 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 matthey:  6 mins ago
 gonegahgah:  33 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  43 mins ago
 annasolano:  1 hr 3 mins ago
 K-L:  1 hr 26 mins ago
 WeiXing3D:  1 hr 35 mins ago
 eliyahu:  1 hr 43 mins ago
 MEGA.RJ.MICAL:  2 hrs 15 mins ago
 cc3d:  2 hrs 26 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  2 hrs 32 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Developer Projects Forum
      /  Command & Conquer open source
Register To Post

PosterThread
noXLar 
Command & Conquer open source
Posted on 21-May-2020 15:33:38
#1 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-May-2003
Posts: 659
From: Norway

not sure if this is known around here, but is this interesting?

link

would be awesome to have it ported to amiga family machines

_________________
noXLar -AmigaOne X1000&Sam460ex
2xAmiga 1230 33mhz 128MB Indivision ACA 1200 MK2 USB PCMCIA WIFI 60GB&DVD-ROM OS 3.9

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Command & Conquer open source
Posted on 21-May-2020 16:33:44
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 5253
From: UK

@noXLar

Yep, that would be good. The SDL port of Open Red Alert was far too slow on a 060 RTS system.

Only 22 years on from me requesting it for porting on a ClickBoom! questionnaire in CU Amiga

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
noXLar 
Re: Command & Conquer open source
Posted on 21-May-2020 17:16:12
#3 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-May-2003
Posts: 659
From: Norway

@BigD

yea. i womder how fast it could run on classic.. with vampire it should run.. another reason to get me one of those.. anyway.. would love it if it came to os4

_________________
noXLar -AmigaOne X1000&Sam460ex
2xAmiga 1230 33mhz 128MB Indivision ACA 1200 MK2 USB PCMCIA WIFI 60GB&DVD-ROM OS 3.9

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Command & Conquer open source
Posted on 21-May-2020 20:55:48
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 5253
From: UK

@noXLar

Wonder if the Polish chap Artur Jarosik responsible for the SDL OpenRA port is still active in the Amiga community? He might be the man for the job!


http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=39834

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Command & Conquer open source
Posted on 22-May-2020 17:16:23
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9855
From: Greensborough, Australia

@BigD

Quote:
Yep, that would be good. The SDL port of Open Red Alert was far too slow on a 060 RTS system.


What about for AGA native? A problem with porting SDL games to the Amiga is that SDL expects a 16 or 32-bit screen mode. Even though the game itself may have been an 8-bit color game. Of course in general RTG fits these requirements but RTG is said to be too slow for fast action games. Even compared to slow chip ram. A lot of these games would be fine on the Amiga. But not with these modern rendering engines. They really need to be ported to the Amiga using native graphics. Things like SDL need HW acceleration for even 2d rendering like scrolling. Otherwise it will be jerky. It wouldn't even use native VGA scrolling these days.

Last edited by Hypex on 23-May-2020 at 06:51 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rob 
Re: Command & Conquer open source
Posted on 23-May-2020 0:35:16
#6 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Mar-2003
Posts: 5903
From: S.Wales

@BigD

NovaCoder is still active he ported Open Dune 2 to 68k (AGA port last year and RTG this year) so he might be be interested in porting C&C too.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
raddude9 
Re: Command & Conquer open source
Posted on 23-May-2020 12:33:12
#7 ]
New Member
Joined: 16-Sep-2015
Posts: 6
From: Unknown

According to the internet, the minimum specs on the PC version were for a 4MB 486DX2. I personally played the PC version on a pentium 60Mhz and it flew. So assuming the code can be ported, it should be fine on a 68060, and it might even work on a 68040.






 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle