Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5770 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
20 crawler(s) on-line.
 18 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 sTix

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 sTix:  3 secs ago
 BSzili:  9 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  20 mins ago
 BigD:  40 mins ago
 Trixie:  1 hr 2 mins ago
 billt:  1 hr 4 mins ago
 AP:  1 hr 6 mins ago
 amigakit:  1 hr 13 mins ago
 Templario:  1 hr 47 mins ago
 Plexus:  1 hr 49 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga Gaming
      /  Anybody interested in a NAPALM game via network?
Register To Post

PosterThread
Reth 
Anybody interested in a NAPALM game via network?
Posted on 13-Jun-2020 22:40:54
#1 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 28-Jun-2005
Posts: 193
From: Germany

Hi there,

since I like to play my old games from time to time I most often play RTS like NAPALM and Exodus.

Since I remembered that there has been a tcpip-Patch for NAPALM I downloaded it and gave it a try.
I used a WinUAE Laptop on one side and my A4000 060/CVPPC at the other side.

Setup of the game and getting connection in NAPALM between both computers worked like a charme. Also unit movement and scrolling have been quite playable IMO (well not the best speed of course).

So if anybody would be interested to play a NAPALM game via Internet, please just let me know.

Bye

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: Anybody interested in a NAPALM game via network?
Posted on 14-Jun-2020 0:46:19
#2 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1675
From: UK

Hi

Not ready for a Network game but how do you get Exodus to work mine installs but cant find cd device when I try and load it to play a game. Will most likely be shit on 1233 but I would just like to see it run even if it is slow.

_________________
A1200 ACA1232 128MB Indivison MkIICr
A1200 Power Tower mediator Voodoo3
RPi3 Emulating C64 ZX Atari PS BBC
Wii with Amiga emulation

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: Anybody interested in a NAPALM game via network?
Posted on 14-Jun-2020 0:47:19
#3 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1675
From: UK

Sorry should of said im using A1200 with ide CD and idefix97. OS 3.1.4

_________________
A1200 ACA1232 128MB Indivison MkIICr
A1200 Power Tower mediator Voodoo3
RPi3 Emulating C64 ZX Atari PS BBC
Wii with Amiga emulation

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Anybody interested in a NAPALM game via network?
Posted on 14-Jun-2020 18:42:34
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 5320
From: UK

@Reth

Would need to buy a network card otherwise it's a big YES from me! I have reignited interest in the game following the Amiga Day gameplay footage the other day Plus RTS games are in the news because of the C&C: Remastered game out this month

I'm surprised that it got patched to work over the internet. When did this happen? Was it a Clickboom! released patch or by the original developers years later?

Do you have the link?

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Reth 
Re: Anybody interested in a NAPALM game via network?
Posted on 14-Jun-2020 19:45:21
#5 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 28-Jun-2005
Posts: 193
From: Germany

@BigD

Yes, this would be really cool (WinUAE works too BTW). There is also a commented new Let's of NAPALM here. This guy also does all that C&C retro, remastered and other stuff and has a discord channel too.
The old NAPALM play through is to be found here

Don't know by heart who made the TCP/IP patch. It can be downloaded e.g. from there.

There is also an existent patch from Alfkil on OS4Depot that makes NAPALM playable within AOS4!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: Anybody interested in a NAPALM game via network?
Posted on 14-Jun-2020 20:43:00
#6 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 11357
From: Norway

@Reth

«patch from Alfkil» does not make it playable, it removes the CIAA/B timing so the game does not crash, I wonder if maybe CIAAgent might work better, if the game runs 100 times as fast as it should its not playable.

and EUAE for AmigaOS4.1 does not support TCP/IP.

I also guess because LAN game you need to play it over Hamachi or VPN, not sure how do that on AmigaOS, but maybe its possible set a VPN and on raspberry pi / using open vpn, and do some kind Ip forwarding / routing. :-/

or maybe nating in the router and find the external IP, hemm maybe not impossible

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 14-Jun-2020 at 08:50 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 14-Jun-2020 at 08:49 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 14-Jun-2020 at 08:49 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 14-Jun-2020 at 08:44 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 14-Jun-2020 at 08:43 PM.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Reth 
Re: Anybody interested in a NAPALM game via network?
Posted on 14-Jun-2020 21:29:20
#7 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 28-Jun-2005
Posts: 193
From: Germany

@NutsAboutAmiga

For me NAPALM is really good playable within AOS4.1 on my PegII using that patch from alfkil.

EUAE maybe - hence I mentioned WinUAE!

The TCP/IP patch demands that you enter the Internet IP of your opponent directly in order to get the connection done. But I did not test via internet yet. Maybe some VPN or so might still be necessary.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Anybody interested in a NAPALM game via network?
Posted on 15-Jun-2020 16:07:20
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9935
From: Greensborough, Australia

@NutsAboutAmiga

Quote:
«patch from Alfkil» does not make it playable, it removes the CIAA/B timing so the game does not crash, I wonder if maybe CIAAgent might work better, if the game runs 100 times as fast as it should its not playable.


That would be a good test. As the last update I did now includes timer emulation. I'd be interested in the results.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Petah 
Re: Anybody interested in a NAPALM game via network?
Posted on 15-Jun-2020 17:07:06
#9 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 386
From: EU <3 ❤️

Who owns the Napalm distribution rights these days? Where is the source code?

_________________
That'll Put Marzipan In Your Pie Plate, Bingo

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Reth 
Re: Anybody interested in a NAPALM game via network?
Posted on 15-Jun-2020 21:51:48
#10 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 28-Jun-2005
Posts: 193
From: Germany

@Petah

Yep, you can ask here or there.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle