Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5916 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
24 crawler(s) on-line.
 21 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 billt

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 billt:  2 mins ago
 tekmage:  10 mins ago
 mobileconnect2:  10 mins ago
 PhantomInterrogative:  23 mins ago
 g01df1sh:  35 mins ago
 DiskDoctor:  36 mins ago
 Dege:  54 mins ago
 zipper:  1 hr 33 mins ago
 ErikBauer:  1 hr 41 mins ago
 Fl@sh:  1 hr 51 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  Sam440EP RevC trying possibly broke (update: solved and works)
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 )
PosterThread
Bugala 
Re: Sam440EP RevC trying possibly broke
Posted on 15-Sep-2020 11:11:18
#21 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2007
Posts: 636
From: Finland

Okay, tried with, supposedly, ATX PSU, and got it working.

So seems the machine is working, only question is now whether I keep using that ATX PSU, or figure out how to get that PICO to work, since I guess it is basically a problem of having right kind of PSU cord for it to give enough power.

Case display still doesn't work, so I suppose that one broke, but everything else seems to work fine.

Also, for other fighting the same issue, it appears that SAM doesn't give any picture if you don't have HDD plugged in. It was only after I plugged power to HDD too that I got any picture to come out.

Last edited by Bugala on 15-Sep-2020 at 01:31 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Bugala 
Re: Sam440EP RevC trying possibly broke
Posted on 15-Sep-2020 11:42:09
#22 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2007
Posts: 636
From: Finland

Decided to go with using the ATX PSU.

However, I am now having one problem still.

It seems my monitor is having trouble displaying SAM.

Thing is, I have this VGA connection in my monitor that I am planning to use with SAM.

SAM has only that HDMI-connection, so I have an adapter plug that plugs to SAM, to which VGA cable is then attached.

However, when I try this, I get no picture.

To make sure that cables and adapter are not faulty, I tried them with another computer that also has the same HDMI connection, and it worked fine.

Therefore, why doesn't SAM show the picture, what should I do to get this problem fixed?

EDIT:

Just realized I have during this whole thread used a wrong term. It is not an HDMI connection that SAM has, but DVI connection.

So I have DVI to VGA adapter that I plug to SAM, and then I plug VGA cable between the adapter and monitor.

Last edited by Bugala on 15-Sep-2020 at 01:31 PM.
Last edited by Bugala on 15-Sep-2020 at 01:31 PM.
Last edited by Bugala on 15-Sep-2020 at 11:45 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Bugala 
Re: Sam440EP RevC trying possibly broke
Posted on 15-Sep-2020 13:30:54
#23 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2007
Posts: 636
From: Finland

I tried with different monitor this time.

It appears problem is with SAM one way or other. Point being that using these same cables on Windows computer works fine, but now I have tried this cable and adapter combination on two different monitors, and neither of them works, so it is not monitor specific problem, but I guess the signal SAM sends is somehow wrong.

Anything I can do to fix this? like changing the resolution or something like that could help?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AmigaOldskooler 
Re: Sam440EP RevC trying possibly broke
Posted on 15-Sep-2020 14:55:48
#24 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 7-Mar-2015
Posts: 203
From: Unknown

@Bugala

It is the SAM440EP you have, not the SAM440EP Flex, right?

If you have the SAM440EP (which I thought) it has integrated graphics with Radeon M9. You can then connect the monitor directly to the VGA-port on the motherboard. You don't need an external graphics card to go with the system.

If you have SAM440EP Flex, which graphics card do you use?

PS: Do you see the Uboot-screen when the computer is turned on?

Last edited by AmigaOldskooler on 15-Sep-2020 at 02:59 PM.
Last edited by AmigaOldskooler on 15-Sep-2020 at 02:57 PM.

_________________
Old School Game Blog (oldschoolgameblog.com)
Gaming on AmigaOS 4 (amigaos4gaming.wordpress.com)
Void demo group (amigavoid.wordpress.com)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Bugala 
Re: Sam440EP RevC trying possibly broke
Posted on 15-Sep-2020 18:06:50
#25 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2007
Posts: 636
From: Finland

@AmigaOldskooler

I am going to take a better look what I see when it boots etc. either later today, or more likely tomorrow, but I posted this picture on one of the earlier replies which shows the motherboard:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/espf0dsd6afto2l/IMG_0086.jpg?dl=0

on top middle, on right side, there is this one connection that looks from top like VGA connection, but first of all that connection is not blue colored like VGA connection to my understanding should be, and on top of that, it is a Male connection.

So am I right that is not a VGA connection?, and if it is not, then I cant find any other VGA connection look a like.

I bought this used, so I am not sure if this is flex or not. To my understanding it is not, and as far as I recall, only writing I saw on motherboard was writing that said "Sam440ep RevC", no mention of a flex.

But is it possible it doesnt read on flex anywhere that it is a flex?

Last edited by Bugala on 15-Sep-2020 at 06:07 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AmigaOldskooler 
Re: Sam440EP RevC trying possibly broke
Posted on 15-Sep-2020 18:40:12
#26 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 7-Mar-2015
Posts: 203
From: Unknown

@Bugala

Thanks for the link to the picture. That is a SAM440EP with no graphics card connected.

It's been a while since I had this motherboard myself, but I can see that it has a DVI-out on the motherboard. I remembered wrong, sorry. Probably used an DVI-VGA adapter myself back then. The one that looks like a VGA-port is not a VGA-port, but a serial connector.

Here is a link to the manual of the board in .PDF format. Maybe it is of help.

http://www.acube-systems.biz/download/sam_manual_1.1.pdf

In chapter 7 called Video Output, the manual says as follows. I quote:

"Maximum screen resolutions are:

- 1600x1200 in DVI
- 2048x1536 in VGA

Included with the board there is a DVI -> VGA adapter, to be connected
to J24.

Currently there are two ways to use an analog monitor: connect a
CRT / LCD monitor to the DVI-I connector via the provided DVI -> VGA
adapter, or use a CRT / LCD monitor on the onboard VGA header (J25)
via a VGA cable.

Note that we recommend to use directly the DVI-I digital output to
have the better image quality.

Also note that using a DVI -> VGA adapter, the operating system will
not be able to retrieve the usable resolutions from your monitor (using
DDC method). So in this case, you’ll have to manually enter the min/
max frequencies and resolutions your monitor handles."

Please let us know if it gets to Uboot when you have checked it.

Last edited by AmigaOldskooler on 15-Sep-2020 at 06:42 PM.

_________________
Old School Game Blog (oldschoolgameblog.com)
Gaming on AmigaOS 4 (amigaos4gaming.wordpress.com)
Void demo group (amigavoid.wordpress.com)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Bugala 
Re: Sam440EP RevC trying possibly broke
Posted on 16-Sep-2020 9:47:54
#27 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2007
Posts: 636
From: Finland

@AmigaOldskooler

I notice it mentions that the J25 is actually a VGA connection. It is however Male, but if I would buy adapter that changes Male into Female connection, could I then simply connect from that to my monitor?

For my monitor would have specifically that VGA available, so it would be perfect for me to get it there to be able to use monitor for both Windows and SAM machine at same time without needing to switch cords.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Bugala 
Re: Sam440EP RevC trying possibly broke
Posted on 16-Sep-2020 11:44:40
#28 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2007
Posts: 636
From: Finland

@AmigaOldskooler

I now checked, and yes, I can get to Uboot.

However, I see nothing useful for setting that monitor thing manually mentioned in the manual.

It has this "Video Options"-option, but there are only two options:

"Boot from Graphics card" with options "Internal" or "PCI"

and then there is "Console" with options "Verbose" and "Silent"

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AmigaOldskooler 
Re: Sam440EP RevC trying possibly broke
Posted on 16-Sep-2020 14:21:21
#29 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 7-Mar-2015
Posts: 203
From: Unknown

@Bugala

Brilliant! Great that you get to the Uboot-screen! Since you do not have a PCI graphics card installed, but use the internal, you must select boot from internal in the menu. Since you get Uboot displayed, there should not be any problems displaying AmigaOS 4.1 as well, I think.

Is AmigaOS 4.1 installed on the HD? Or perhaps you have a CD-ROM drive to run the AmigaOS 4.1 CD directly?

_________________
Old School Game Blog (oldschoolgameblog.com)
Gaming on AmigaOS 4 (amigaos4gaming.wordpress.com)
Void demo group (amigavoid.wordpress.com)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Bugala 
Re: Sam440EP RevC trying possibly broke
Posted on 16-Sep-2020 14:29:27
#30 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2007
Posts: 636
From: Finland

@AmigaOldskooler

Seems I have explained bit badly.

Although at beginning of this thread it wasn't sure if even the machine is working at all, right now I know that the machine is working as expected. It boots to AOS4 etc.

Problem currently is that I have two different monitors here.

one monitor is the one I am now temporarily using, the one that I used to verify that the machine works and to check that UBOOT.

But unfortunately problem is with the other monitor, the one I am intending on using with this.

The other monitor is actually the monitor my wife keeps using.

My own monitor unfortunately don't have DVI-in, it only has HDMI and VGA.

And problem is that when I use that HDMI-VGA adapter in between, as the manual says, it cant that stuff from Monitor it otherwise would, and hence the screen shows black on my monitor.

So that is only hardware problem left to solve, and then from hardware point of view it is working as it should.

But it mentions in that manual that I can adjust these settings manually, but where do I do that, and where do I find the values from?

Is it on workbench from Prefs and there the monitors that I use to put the values? But how do I google the right values to my monitor, what should I use as search terms (in addition to monitors model obviously)?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AmigaOldskooler 
Re: Sam440EP RevC trying possibly broke
Posted on 16-Sep-2020 17:45:41
#31 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 7-Mar-2015
Posts: 203
From: Unknown

@Bugala

Ah, ok, I see. So with the second monitor (the one showing black screen), you do not see either U-Boot or AmigaOS 4? You use DVI-to-VGA-adapter and then VGA-cable to the monitor? Just to make sure I understand correctly.

You can change the settings for the monitor in Prefs/Screenmode.

Found some information in this thread about the subject:

https://www.amigans.net/modules/xforum/viewtopic.php?post_id=67285

_________________
Old School Game Blog (oldschoolgameblog.com)
Gaming on AmigaOS 4 (amigaos4gaming.wordpress.com)
Void demo group (amigavoid.wordpress.com)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Bugala 
Re: Sam440EP RevC trying possibly broke
Posted on 17-Sep-2020 16:07:41
#32 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2007
Posts: 636
From: Finland

@AmigaOldskooler

Yes, you understood right, with my own monitor using DVI to VGA adapter, I didn't see neither AOS4 nor UBOOT.

I today bought from shop DVI-HDMI adapter, and that has now solved my problem.

I can now see both UBOOT and AOS4 with that.

It isn't the optimal solution, since I have only 1 HDMI connection in my monitor, and now I have two machines that are both wanting to use the HDMI, but I can get an HDMI switcher or something to solve that problem.

Thanks for all the help.

Also thanks for that link you gave to that thread, I might still have a try at getting that DVI-VGA adapter combination to work, that way I wouldn't need the switcher.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AmigaOldskooler 
Re: Sam440EP RevC trying possibly broke
Posted on 17-Sep-2020 17:29:09
#33 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 7-Mar-2015
Posts: 203
From: Unknown

@Bugala

Glad to hear that the new adapter solved the problem! Enjoy the SAM440EP!

_________________
Old School Game Blog (oldschoolgameblog.com)
Gaming on AmigaOS 4 (amigaos4gaming.wordpress.com)
Void demo group (amigavoid.wordpress.com)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Sam440EP RevC trying possibly broke
Posted on 19-Sep-2020 17:01:26
#34 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10092
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Bugala

Quote:
I today bought from shop DVI-HDMI adapter, and that has now solved my problem.


I was going to suggest that. I recall an issue if a non digital adapter was used. Such as the case with DVI to VGA. Are you able to use a monitor each for the computers? If it's a hassle and you really need to use one monitor can you connect the Windows machine using the "inferior" VGA input?

Funny how VGA gave higher resolution. Doesn't make DVI look up to spec. Beaten by an old fashioned monitor standard.

Another thing. Is to check your battery. Low batteries can cause faults at boot ups as well. Or cause a BSOD - Black screen of death.

Also run the date command in UBoot. Make sure that's correct. A faulty time and date can cause other faults as well on Sams.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Bugala 
Re: Sam440EP RevC trying possibly broke
Posted on 20-Sep-2020 11:24:14
#35 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2007
Posts: 636
From: Finland

@Hypex

Thanks from tip. Didnt think that possiblity yet of using VGA to Windows machine. Going to check what kind of adapters and what price do they have in local shop, for that windows machine has only HDMI, and then that small sized connection which I am not sure what it is, perhaps some small DVI? But going to take a look if they have adapter from HDMI to VGA or from that other to VGA and if its cheap, then going to try that option to solve the problem.

Right now for example would check the date as you suggested, since there is wrong time at least, however, I think date was right, and it might be following the time correctly from last session, but not sure, have to check.

Anyway, would check it right away, if I wouldnt first need to switch my HDMI cable from this machine to SAM which seems like too much trouble to do right now.

Would also be nice to have both computers on at same time and keep switching between them, but right now that isnt really an option either, since changing that cable is so much trouble that I rather just keep using one machine at a time.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Sam440EP RevC trying possibly broke
Posted on 21-Sep-2020 17:25:54
#36 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10092
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Bugala

As well as DVI and HDMI another connection was DisplayPort. I think there are too many. DVI was invented for connecting digital out of a graphic card to a monitor. But then they decided it wasn't good enough. I haven't bought a new monitor in years so I don't know what connections there are now apart from those three.

You should be able to set and date the time/date from Time Prefs on OS4 but I don't know if it fully does the job. I recall reading about some quirk with the UBoot and the date.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Bugala 
Re: Sam440EP RevC trying possibly broke
Posted on 25-Sep-2020 8:14:56
#37 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2007
Posts: 636
From: Finland

@Hypex

Well, first was slightly unlucky in that local shop did have HDMI to VGA adapter, but the price was 19.99 Eur, so didn't want to pay that much.

However, two days ago I accidentally bumped into an adapter I didn't even remember I had, which was Display Port to VGA, and that one I am now using on that Windows machine being now able to have SAM and Winblows on the same monitor.

Works fine, except there does come these old time lines sometimes from the VGA showing it is analog, but not a big deal.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hammer 
Re: Sam440EP RevC trying possibly broke
Posted on 26-Sep-2020 0:53:15
#38 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Mar-2003
Posts: 4091
From: Australia

@Bugala

DVI comes in DVI-I and DVI-D standards.

DVI-I includes analog VGA and digital signals. A passive DVI-I to VGA adapter can be used.

DVI-D = digital-only.

HDMI is digital-only.

http://www.acube-systems.biz/download/sam_manual_1.1.pdf shows DVI-I connector which should be able to output VGA and DVI-D...

Last edited by Hammer on 26-Sep-2020 at 01:12 AM.
Last edited by Hammer on 26-Sep-2020 at 12:54 AM.

_________________
Intel Core i9-9900K, DDR4-3800 32 GB RAM, MSI GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
AMD Ryzen 9 3900X, DDR4-3200 32 GB RAM, ASUS GeForce RTX 2080 EVO
Amiga 1200 (Rev 1D4, KS 3.X, 882 40Mhz, 10MB RAM), .
Amiga 500 (Rev 6A, KS 3.1.4, 68K 50Mhz , 12MB RAM)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle