Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5970 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
22 crawler(s) on-line.
 14 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 duga:  8 mins ago
 BigD:  8 mins ago
 terminills:  10 mins ago
 kolla:  14 mins ago
 evilFrog:  19 mins ago
 amigang:  33 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  33 mins ago
 alpyre:  52 mins ago
 thomas:  1 hr 23 mins ago
 OlafS25:  1 hr 30 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Hardware
      /  A570 CD-ROM
Register To Post

PosterThread
Dragoon 
A570 CD-ROM
Posted on 9-Nov-2020 9:55:41
#1 ]
Member
Joined: 25-Aug-2020
Posts: 12
From: Finland

Hi there, I just bought myself an Amiga A570 last week. Interesting device, I tried to play some audio CD's with it and it works like a dream! I never imagined playing audio CD's on my A500

Ok, but to the point then. Where can I find CDTV titles to download and burn on a CD? Is there any freeware available somewhere? And do I need some kind of a tool to create ISO images? I have tried to search the internet for some answers but nothing really answers my questions...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amisteph 
Re: A570 CD-ROM
Posted on 9-Nov-2020 14:49:32
#2 ]
New Member
Joined: 17-Dec-2014
Posts: 9
From: Unknown

@Dragoon

hi https://archive.org/ bye

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
10MARC 
Re: A570 CD-ROM
Posted on 10-Nov-2020 0:27:32
#3 ]
Member
Joined: 3-Dec-2019
Posts: 54
From: Unknown

@Dragoon
You will have to be careful when you burn CDTV disks. You will need to burn them at single or 2X speed. When I burned them at higher speeds it never quite works out. Also, use the "slowest" disks you can find (and not CD-RW disks)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Dragoon 
Re: A570 CD-ROM
Posted on 10-Nov-2020 5:57:23
#4 ]
Member
Joined: 25-Aug-2020
Posts: 12
From: Finland

@10MARC

Thanks for the tip! I actually got inspired using the A570 after watching your video.
Now I just need to find somebody selling the memory expansion + SCSI controller...
What about the burning software, is Nero sufficient?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BinoX 
Re: A570 CD-ROM
Posted on 11-Nov-2020 15:01:15
#5 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 2-Nov-2005
Posts: 710
From: Cornwall, UK

@Dragoon

Nero is fine.

So is the windows built-in iso burner if you wanted to use that.

I've used it both for discs for my CDTV, CD32 and A570

_________________
Back to action!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Dragoon 
Re: A570 CD-ROM
Posted on 11-Nov-2020 18:36:08
#6 ]
Member
Joined: 25-Aug-2020
Posts: 12
From: Finland

@BinoX

I created an ISO image CD with Xfburn(Linux), burning the CD at 8x speed because that was the slowest you could choose. It worked! I was playing around with Super Games Pak for an hour tonight
Tomorrow I'll try some more cool CDTV titles.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Dragoon 
Re: A570 CD-ROM
Posted on 16-Nov-2020 16:15:26
#7 ]
Member
Joined: 25-Aug-2020
Posts: 12
From: Finland

@all

I've downloaded a couple of titles now and for example the game Prehistorik.zip contains not only the ISO file but also a couple of WAV and a CUE file. I tried to burn only the ISO image to a CD and well, the game is playable but there are no sounds whatsoever. Am I supposed to do something with the WAV and CUE files during burning the CD? Thankful for all help I can get from you guys.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
thomas 
Re: A570 CD-ROM
Posted on 16-Nov-2020 16:54:59
#8 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-May-2003
Posts: 1125
From: Germany

@Dragoon

Select the CUE file, it contains all the information needed. Most burning programs should be able to handle CUE files.


Edit: maybe I should be more clear: the CD in question contains one data track and several audio tracks. The ISO file contains only the data part, the WAV files contain the audio. The CUE file is a text file which tells the writing program which track goes where on the CD.

Last edited by thomas on 16-Nov-2020 at 04:57 PM.

_________________
Email: thomas-rapp@web.de
Home: thomas-rapp.homepage.t-online.de

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Dragoon 
Re: A570 CD-ROM
Posted on 17-Nov-2020 12:40:56
#9 ]
Member
Joined: 25-Aug-2020
Posts: 12
From: Finland

@thomas

How should the root look like on the CD once burned? It seems that my burning program only can burn one image file at a time, the ISO file. I tried to select all files but it didn't work.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rob 
Re: A570 CD-ROM
Posted on 22-Nov-2020 20:37:59
#10 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Mar-2003
Posts: 6004
From: S.Wales

@Dragoon

Quote:
Now I just need to find somebody selling the memory expansion + SCSI controller...


A Wicher 508i+ or Terrible Fire 530 might be better options since they both have extra RAM and built in IDE controllers and are readily available from various Amiga dealers.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Samurai_Crow 
Re: A570 CD-ROM
Posted on 23-Nov-2020 3:26:55
#11 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Jan-2003
Posts: 2259
From: Minnesota, USA

@Dragoon

Quote:

Dragoon wrote:
@thomas

How should the root look like on the CD once burned? It seems that my burning program only can burn one image file at a time, the ISO file. I tried to select all files but it didn't work.


With respect to ISO files, they have to be in RockRidge format and most Windows and Mac burners use Jolliet encoding. The other way is to not use a long-filename extension at all and just use the 8 character filenames with 3 character extensions.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Dragoon 
Re: A570 CD-ROM
Posted on 23-Nov-2020 5:33:15
#12 ]
Member
Joined: 25-Aug-2020
Posts: 12
From: Finland

@Rob

Thanks for the tip, I'll look into those two options.

@Samurai_Crow

I actually found a quite reliable way to burn CD's now. The problem was to find a suitable burning software for Linux operative systems. I found a couple that could handle ISO images, none that could burn CUE images. The solution to this was to use my retired Windows 7 laptop and download ImgBurn. With that program I succeeded to burn CUE images. I discovered in some games some sounds were missing, for example in intros or sound effects during gameplay. I guess this could as well depend on the quality of the downloaded game(?). But thanks anyway, at the moment this seems to work fairly well for me.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: A570 CD-ROM
Posted on 23-Nov-2020 15:23:23
#13 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10118
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Dragoon

Actually, with playing audio CDs, an A500 could do it quite easily. All it has to do is send a play command to the CD drive and it does the rest. That's with a proper hardware setup with an Amiga and CD audio mixer.

Otherwise, doing it manually, it could try reading the data or may need a read CDDA command. Which it then needs to convert and play through Paula. But converting 16-bit CDDA stereo to twin 8 bit buffers is easy enough.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rose 
Re: A570 CD-ROM
Posted on 23-Nov-2020 23:07:12
#14 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 5-Nov-2009
Posts: 763
From: Unknown

@Dragoon

Quote:
The problem was to find a suitable burning software for Linux operative systems.


K3b should do the trick on linux. And golden oldie cdrdao if you are willing to use commandline.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Dragoon 
Re: A570 CD-ROM
Posted on 24-Nov-2020 5:02:29
#15 ]
Member
Joined: 25-Aug-2020
Posts: 12
From: Finland

@Rose

I tried K3b amongst others but it couldn't recognize the CUE images...
Thanks anyway.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rose 
Re: A570 CD-ROM
Posted on 24-Nov-2020 6:02:11
#16 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 5-Nov-2009
Posts: 763
From: Unknown

@Dragoon

Quote:

Dragoon wrote:
@Rose

I tried K3b amongst others but it couldn't recognize the CUE images...
Thanks anyway.


Had to install it to check if they have removed cue/bin support. Nope, still there.

Tools -> Burn Image
Change image type from auto to cue/bin image if it doesn't find it otherwise.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle