Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5970 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
33 crawler(s) on-line.
 12 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 tygre

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 tygre:  3 secs ago
 nikosidis:  18 mins ago
 NutsAboutAmiga:  53 mins ago
 g01df1sh:  1 hr 2 mins ago
 BigD:  1 hr 2 mins ago
 Skateman:  1 hr 40 mins ago
 eliyahu:  2 hrs 2 mins ago
 gryfon:  2 hrs 5 mins ago
 AmigaBlitter:  2 hrs 6 mins ago
 OlafS25:  2 hrs 10 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  Has anyone used a PicoPSU with sam amigaone?
Register To Post

PosterThread
mobileconnect2 
Has anyone used a PicoPSU with sam amigaone?
Posted on 27-Nov-2020 7:29:51
#1 ]
Member
Joined: 30-Aug-2020
Posts: 68
From: Unknown

I've been recommended on some SFF boards to use a PicoPSU to replace the noisy 1U PSU I currently have in my sam 460ex. Anyone got experience of doing that?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ilbarbax 
Re: Has anyone used a PicoPSU with sam amigaone?
Posted on 27-Nov-2020 7:53:51
#2 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 17-Jan-2010
Posts: 174
From: Italy

@mobileconnect2

I used to have it for a couple of year before on my SAM440 and then on 460 model until I burn it. I don't remember the power I had but evidently was too low for the graphic card load

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mobileconnect2 
Re: Has anyone used a PicoPSU with sam amigaone?
Posted on 27-Nov-2020 8:24:20
#3 ]
Member
Joined: 30-Aug-2020
Posts: 68
From: Unknown

@ilbarbax

What card did you use? The card i have is rated for 18W, and I'm not attaching any other peripherals other than some USB devices and a wifi card so I'd expect 90 to 120W to be more than enough.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ilbarbax 
Re: Has anyone used a PicoPSU with sam amigaone?
Posted on 27-Nov-2020 16:30:20
#4 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 17-Jan-2010
Posts: 174
From: Italy

@mobileconnect2

recently a radeon R7 250 before it was another radeon but an older model I do not remember the model.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mobileconnect2 
Re: Has anyone used a PicoPSU with sam amigaone?
Posted on 27-Nov-2020 22:40:53
#5 ]
Member
Joined: 30-Aug-2020
Posts: 68
From: Unknown

@ilbarbax

oh wow no wonder, that thing needs 67 W on its own!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
smf 
Re: Has anyone used a PicoPSU with sam amigaone?
Posted on 28-Nov-2020 7:15:38
#6 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Mar-2003
Posts: 312
From: Växjö, Sweden

@mobileconnect2

I have been running a Radeon R7 250 for years on a PicoPSU with my Tabor machine so it's safe :)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mobileconnect2 
Re: Has anyone used a PicoPSU with sam amigaone?
Posted on 11-Jan-2021 9:14:23
#7 ]
Member
Joined: 30-Aug-2020
Posts: 68
From: Unknown

In case anyone finds this thread in the future - can report PicoPSU working very nicely with 80W power supply on a Sam460ex with low power radeon card (sapphire 6450)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TiredofLife 
Re: Has anyone used a PicoPSU with sam amigaone?
Posted on 11-Jan-2021 10:34:10
#8 ]
Super Member
Joined: 6-Jul-2005
Posts: 1667
From: Here

@mobileconnect2

I used one with a Sam440EP, with one hard drive and one slimline DVD rewriter.
No issues.

I did have issues running a Sam460CR with a 230v ATX power supply.
Radeon HD7770, one hard drive and one 5.25 DVD rewriter.

Cheers

Last edited by TiredofLife on 11-Jan-2021 at 10:35 AM.

_________________
If your nose runs and your feet smell, you're upside down.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
evilFrog 
Re: Has anyone used a PicoPSU with sam amigaone?
Posted on 11-Jan-2021 13:10:27
#9 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 20-Jan-2004
Posts: 374
From: UK

@mobileconnect2

Not with the SAM, no... but it might amuse you to know that I did use one (95w) on an old Pentium 200/MMX with great success. I had a SCSI card, generic CirrusLogic VGA, network and sound attached to the PCI slots without problems. Storage was an ATAPI CD drive, 3.5" floppy and a Disk-on-module that plugged straight into the master IDE port.
So, apart from the lack of a mechanical HDD, I wasn’t really pulling any punches, and I never felt like I was short on power.

_________________
"Knowledge is power. Power corrupts. Study hard, be evil."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle