Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6147 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
67 crawler(s) on-line.
 17 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 amigakit

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 amigakit:  1 min ago
 Krethx:  6 mins ago
 AmiDARK:  6 mins ago
 Rob:  17 mins ago
 number6:  17 mins ago
 kolla:  29 mins ago
 evilFrog:  31 mins ago
 Jasper:  32 mins ago
 paolone:  42 mins ago
 eliyahu:  45 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Software
      /  Software for A1000 (1.3) to A2000 (3.1) PARnet link?
Register To Post

PosterThread
blakespot 
Software for A1000 (1.3) to A2000 (3.1) PARnet link?
Posted on 14-Jan-2021 0:07:53
#1 ]
Member
Joined: 2-Mar-2007
Posts: 82
From: Alexandria, VA (USA)

I want to link my Amiga 1000 w/ WB 1.3 to my A2000 '020 w/ WB 3.1 for file transfer. I have an AmiKit cable (M-M) (and am aware I need a gender changer for the oddball A1000 parallel port), but can't find the software.

Could someone point me to software to use on both sides? I can't find an ADF of the official (if there is one) disk, etc. Thanks.



bp

_________________
:::: Amigas: 1000, 2000 '020, SAM440ep-Flex 733

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ferrels 
Re: Software for A1000 (1.3) to A2000 (3.1) PARnet link?
Posted on 14-Jan-2021 1:35:04
#2 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 20-Oct-2005
Posts: 852
From: Arizona

@blakespot


https://aminet.net/package/comm/net/ParBENCH31

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
scuzz 
Re: Software for A1000 (1.3) to A2000 (3.1) PARnet link?
Posted on 15-Jan-2021 16:34:09
#3 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 30-May-2004
Posts: 360
From: New Forest United Kingdom

@blakespot

Here is me mucking around parnet connecting an Amiga 1000. I have my own little Parnet disk set that I use including DOpus CED User Start-up and Mountlist plus the Parnet software. I created the disks when I first needed to transfer stuff from the Checkmate to the Amiga 2000. If you need anything just give me a shout. There are several blogs on the site about Parnet. I use it all the time.

https://www.scuzzscink.com/amiga/scuzzblog_december19/scuzzblogddecember19_0701.htm

Guide and disks
https://www.scuzzscink.com/amiga/scuzzblog_july18/scuzzblogdjuly18_0802.htm

First one I did
https://www.scuzzscink.com/amiga/scuzzblog_september17_pt2/scuzzblogdseptember17_2202.htm

scuzz

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
blakespot 
Re: Software for A1000 (1.3) to A2000 (3.1) PARnet link?
Posted on 16-Jan-2021 14:52:57
#4 ]
Member
Joined: 2-Mar-2007
Posts: 82
From: Alexandria, VA (USA)

@ferrels

Thanks!

_________________
:::: Amigas: 1000, 2000 '020, SAM440ep-Flex 733

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
blakespot 
Re: Software for A1000 (1.3) to A2000 (3.1) PARnet link?
Posted on 16-Jan-2021 14:56:36
#5 ]
Member
Joined: 2-Mar-2007
Posts: 82
From: Alexandria, VA (USA)

@scuzz

Thanks for the further info. Looks like good stuff.

Sadly...I plugged the AmiKit PARnet cable (which I had never used before; when I did PARnet long ago, the cable was different but misplaced) into the A1000 (had to use a gender changer on that parallel port), the system powered on with a dim screen and a dim power LED and just sat there. Tried a couple of times.

So I got that unplugged real quick and given the age of the A1000, I don't think I want to go any further down that road with that particular cable...

As such, I've LHA'ed my dirs of value and am Zmodeming them to my RPi to get over to my PC to then install, on the PC in the FAT32 filesystem, all these dirs on the SD card for the Parceiro I am moving over to. Hence the drill, save HD data and put it on the 2GB SD of the Parceiro. (Currently, the Parceiro can't coexist with the SCSI controller because of an autoconfig issue that David is working out).



bp

_________________
:::: Amigas: 1000, 2000 '020, SAM440ep-Flex 733

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle