Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6033 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
30 crawler(s) on-line.
 10 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 AmigaPapst

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 AmigaPapst:  26 secs ago
 duga:  5 mins ago
 Hammer:  8 mins ago
 kolla:  14 mins ago
 OlafS25:  16 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  21 mins ago
 Musashi5150:  44 mins ago
 matthey:  49 mins ago
 pavlor:  51 mins ago
 Rob:  1 hr 8 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  How to dismount an assign?
Register To Post

PosterThread
pavlor 
How to dismount an assign?
Posted on 18-Apr-2022 18:41:03
#1 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 9367
From: Unknown

Back in the good old days the assign command had an ability to remove an assign, eg.:

assign FOOOOO: dismount

It seems this feature was removed in V54 and moved to the DISMOUNT command. However, I'm not able to use it to remove desired assign (AmigaOS wiki offers no example for this purpose). Any help?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rose 
Re: How to dismount an assign?
Posted on 18-Apr-2022 18:58:10
#2 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 5-Nov-2009
Posts: 982
From: Unknown

@pavlor

Quote:

pavlor wrote:
Back in the good old days the assign command had an ability to remove an assign, eg.:

assign FOOOOO: dismount

It seems this feature was removed in V54 and moved to the DISMOUNT command. However, I'm not able to use it to remove desired assign (AmigaOS wiki offers no example for this purpose). Any help?


Have you tried....

assign FOOOOO: remove

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: How to dismount an assign?
Posted on 18-Apr-2022 19:05:38
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 9367
From: Unknown

@Rose

Thanks!

That was it. I was used just to write "dismount" and didn't look further in the assign docs (it's described there...).

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
thomas 
Re: How to dismount an assign?
Posted on 18-Apr-2022 21:08:40
#4 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-May-2003
Posts: 1134
From: Germany

@pavlor and @Rose

If you had read the docs you would know that remove is not what you want.

With remove you only remove one part of a multi-part assign.

To delete an entire assign, no matter if multi- or single-part, you use just

assign FOOOOO:

_________________
Email: thomas-rapp@web.de
Home: thomas-rapp.homepage.t-online.de

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: How to dismount an assign?
Posted on 19-Apr-2022 6:46:01
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10589
From: Greensborough, Australia

@pavlor

Is it the same with the real Assign command? Or is the Assign and Dismount pair the AmgaKit copy?

Also the traditional way to remove mounts and other things is to reboot on Amiga.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kolla 
Re: How to dismount an assign?
Posted on 19-Apr-2022 12:58:38
#6 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 2118
From: Trondheim, Norway

@Hypex

What Thomas describes is what has been standard for decades.

_________________
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: How to dismount an assign?
Posted on 19-Apr-2022 18:21:54
#7 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10589
From: Greensborough, Australia

@kolla

After re-reading what pavlor wrote I see I was confused. Or rather missed that he meant assign. I thought he was talking about mounts. I somehow missed that he only meant assign when he said dismount. Since an assign cannot be dismounted, so that doesn't make sense. But I was aware that Assign has a DISMOUNT switch and that a Dismount command was also created for this purpose. Which is how I first made any sense of it.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Chris_Y 
Re: How to dismount an assign?
Posted on 19-Apr-2022 23:10:36
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jun-2003
Posts: 3191
From: Beds, UK

@Hypex

"assign .... dismount" is for dismounting something previously mounted, so not surprising you were confused. I don't think "assign dismount" has ever removed an assign, only a mount. This is presumably why it was split out in OS4, as it didn't make any sense. Maybe there's some historic TRIPOS reason why it's part of Assign?

_________________
"Miracles we do at once, the impossible takes a little longer" - AJS on Hyperion
Avatar is Tabitha by Eric W Schwartz

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kolla 
Re: How to dismount an assign?
Posted on 20-Apr-2022 16:30:59
#9 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 2118
From: Trondheim, Norway

This is just one of many topics where amigaos is riddled with inconsistencies and confusing “design choices”. Mount, Assign, Dismount, Eject… these should all either just be merged to one command, or grouped more logically (for example Mount REMOVE instead of Assign DISMOUNT)

Oh, and assigns, as much as a blessing they are, there is also a lot of undefined behaviors - ThoR’s MultiAssign tries to address some, but doesn’t fix all issues.

_________________
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: How to dismount an assign?
Posted on 20-Apr-2022 18:24:44
#10 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10589
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Chris_Y

I didn't feel confused when I read it at first but after what kolla pointed out I see I had confused it.

But it was the way it was written and Assign doesn't help by featuring a dismount. It probably is historic. Assign on OS4 still has dismount as well as added Dismount command. They didn't update AmigaDOS and implement CAOS the way it was meant to be. Suppose this would have broken TRIPOS more than OS2 did.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: How to dismount an assign?
Posted on 20-Apr-2022 18:30:03
#11 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10589
From: Greensborough, Australia

@kolla

I can see your poimt. What has always annoyed me, since using Linux at least, is how the Mount command is too complicated. Now I don't always remember the format for mount on Linux but it's easy enough to look up. On AmigaDOS you can't just mount a device with a single command. You've gotta make up a mount list that requires technical knowledge about the block device. I would have liked Mount to be updated so you could give it one liners and have it figure some things out.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: How to dismount an assign?
Posted on 22-Apr-2022 15:39:01
#12 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 9367
From: Unknown

@thomas and others

Thanks! I really enjoy learning more about Amiga peculiarities.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle