Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6081 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
22 crawler(s) on-line.
 36 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 d_w_cook:  6 mins ago
 amigang:  8 mins ago
 bison:  18 mins ago
 Bosanac:  30 mins ago
 Gregor:  34 mins ago
 kolla:  42 mins ago
 BSzili:  52 mins ago
 portarinos:  1 hr 15 mins ago
 BigD:  1 hr 19 mins ago
 jacknife:  1 hr 57 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  AmigaOne Micro uA1-C and advised graphics card
Register To Post

PosterThread
sananaman 
AmigaOne Micro uA1-C and advised graphics card
Posted on 16-Aug-2022 14:07:58
#1 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 28-Sep-2006
Posts: 252
From: Netherlands

Hi all,

I recently got my AmigaOne Micro from being 7 years in storage and started all over again.
I'm looking into AmigaOS4.1 with the latest updates and put Enhancer Software on it.

I was thinking to upgrade the graphics performance using an PCI graphics card instead of the onboard Radeon 7000.
I would like to go 1080p if that is achievable.

Does anyone know what the best graphics card is supported for this machine and OS4.1 / Enhancer?

Thanks...

_________________
AmigaScene.nl

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
redfox 
Re: AmigaOne Micro uA1-C and advised graphics card
Posted on 16-Aug-2022 16:05:13
#2 ]
Super Member
Joined: 7-Mar-2003
Posts: 1985
From: Canada

@sananaman

As an AmigaOne Micro owner, I wish I could give you some good news.

As I understand it, the PCI slot cannot be used for a PCI graphics card.

The PCI slot can be used for a PCI disk drive controller card.

A long time ago, someone was experimenting with a different version of U-Boot (the BIOS firmware), but nothing was released to the public.

We are stuck with the onboard Radeon 7000 and 32 MB graphics RAM.

This is the beauty and the limitation of the AmigaOne Micro …
- onboard graphics that cannot be upgraded
- a PCI slot that can be used for some, but not all PCI cards


Don’t get me wrong. I am not dissing the AmigaOne Micro.

I have used mine since 2004 and I like it a lot, but I have learned to work within its limitations.

I would like more system RAM but the graphics is fine for my purposes.




redfox
AmigaOne Micro
AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition Update 2 (Hotfix)
plus selected bits of Enhancer Software v1.5




Last edited by redfox on 16-Aug-2022 at 04:20 PM.
Last edited by redfox on 16-Aug-2022 at 04:19 PM.
Last edited by redfox on 16-Aug-2022 at 04:08 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
sananaman 
Re: AmigaOne Micro uA1-C and advised graphics card
Posted on 16-Aug-2022 16:26:49
#3 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 28-Sep-2006
Posts: 252
From: Netherlands

@redfox

Hi redfox, thanks for answering.

It has been a while since I was fiddling around with the AmigaOne Micro, but now that you mention the PCI limitations, I start to remember this. That was probably the case I never used the PCI slot at the time.

I also own the Micro for quite a while now, since 2006.

Good to know that, then I'll stick with what the board has to offer.

In the meantime this AmigaOne Micro became retro as well.

Then I start working on upgrading it to AmigaOS 4.1 with all the updates. I believe this goes up to Update 6.

Cheers...

ps. does Enhancer Software (2.2) work on the Micro?

_________________
AmigaScene.nl

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rob 
Re: AmigaOne Micro uA1-C and advised graphics card
Posted on 16-Aug-2022 17:47:45
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Mar-2003
Posts: 6219
From: S.Wales

@sananaman

Quote:
Then I start working on upgrading it to AmigaOS 4.1 with all the updates. I believe this goes up to Update 6.

There is also 4.1FE which is now at update 2.

Alinea Computer seem to have it in stock for the Micro. Link

Quote:
ps. does Enhancer Software (2.2) work on the Micro?

It should work fine but obviously the new video card drivers and Warp3D Nova won't be of any use to you. A-EON released a special edition of Enhancer 1 without the video card related parts for substanially less money and it's still available at Amigakit but it might be worth asking Matthew if there will be a special edition of ES2.2 since some of the components have been updated since then.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
redfox 
Re: AmigaOne Micro uA1-C and advised graphics card
Posted on 16-Aug-2022 17:57:24
#5 ]
Super Member
Joined: 7-Mar-2003
Posts: 1985
From: Canada

@sananaman

does Enhancer Software (2.2) work on the Micro?

Edit: Sorry ... already answered by Rob.

I personally need an update for AmiDVD which I used for backups to CD-R discs for many years. My current version of AmiDVD does not work with my current version of OS4.

Enhancer Software v2.2 contains an updated version of AmiDVD along with many other updates.

I am still undecided.

---
redfox

Last edited by redfox on 16-Aug-2022 at 06:02 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
lylehaze 
Re: AmigaOne Micro uA1-C and advised graphics card
Posted on 16-Aug-2022 18:00:27
#6 ]
Super Member
Joined: 1-Sep-2004
Posts: 1142
From: North Florida - Big Bend area.

@sananaman

I recently brought my uA1 back to life, and I couldn't find an IDE drive to use.

Amazon b0026oyeeq plugs in to either the 40 or 44 pin IDE cable, and it provides
a socket for Amazon B00nub2rpw.

You'll need to mount it, and if using a 40 pin cable also add a power cord of your own,
but it works quite well for me.


Also, since I was playing with "boot stuff" I needed a PS2 keyboard, but that was all it took
to get me up and running again.

Beware: The USB header on the micro is.. "unusual". You will probably have to move a few
wires around before plugging in to your case. Full details here:

"https://web.archive.org/web/20081025052939/http://www.ncscaug.us:80/ua1page1.htm"

_________________
question=(2b||!(2b))

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
sananaman 
Re: AmigaOne Micro uA1-C and advised graphics card
Posted on 17-Aug-2022 21:06:05
#7 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 28-Sep-2006
Posts: 252
From: Netherlands

@Rob

Awesome...

This was a bit confusing... 4.1 and 4.1 FE...

I thought I had the latest 4.1 with update 6, but when you mentioned 4.1 FE with Update 2, I ordered 4.1FE right away at Alinea Computer.
It is now on it's way.

I did some checks and the installer looks indeed different.





I've been too long time ago that I was fiddling around with the AmigaOne, I missed out these last updates.

Thanks a lot...


Last edited by sananaman on 18-Aug-2022 at 11:31 AM.
Last edited by sananaman on 17-Aug-2022 at 09:07 PM.

_________________
AmigaScene.nl

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
sananaman 
Re: AmigaOne Micro uA1-C and advised graphics card
Posted on 17-Aug-2022 21:48:56
#8 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 28-Sep-2006
Posts: 252
From: Netherlands

@lylehaze

Great to hear that!

So we are doing the same right now.

Well when I turned the AmigaOne Micro "on", it was failing right away... all sorts of errors, "bus error.. bla bla".
I figured (with some help from the Discord channel) that the bus errors I had came from a faulty hard drive (it died during all these years in storage).

So I grabbed a CD drive and tried to boot AmigaOS 4.0 and that did work but it always failed within a couple of minutes.
The system was very unstable and after a view clicks ... -hang-

Then I checked the power supply and found out that at least half the caps were standing "bold". So grabbed another power supply and it workd like a charm, right away, non stop for hours at the time.

Amazing that things break easily by just sitting in storage.
But at least the motherboard is still fine.

This is where I'm at now....

I'm now looking for a new storage device. I'm thinking of a 1) SATA Drive , using an IDE-2-SATA adapter or 2) IDE-2-CF.
I think I'm going to try both options this time, just to see what works best.

_________________
AmigaScene.nl

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
lylehaze 
Re: AmigaOne Micro uA1-C and advised graphics card
Posted on 18-Aug-2022 5:09:22
#9 ]
Super Member
Joined: 1-Sep-2004
Posts: 1142
From: North Florida - Big Bend area.

@sananaman

I answered NOTHING about graphics cards, making me guilty of taking the thread "off-topic".
But I figured that since I JUST went through all that, I might post what I learned.

I had a SATA to IDE adapter working, and it gave no trouble.
The reason I went to a CF card instead, is that the CF card "interface" _IS_ an IDE
interface. Straight up, no changes except the connector, and maybe the order of the
pins.

So I figure if the micro is built for IDE, and the CF card is already IDE, and I can get flash
from a reputable company, then the match is made without any translation needed.

But hey, Go with whatever works.


You can host four IDE drives on the micro. And the 64 Gig CF card is plenty big enough for my needs. But then I only need the OS and the compiler installation for my own needs. :)

And just last week I got the same card I showed with a PCI slot mount, which will be installed
on my X1000, so I can "share" drives back and forth between the machines.

Note: CF cards are NOT "hot swappable" on the Amiga. I'll power down for every CF card removal or insertion.


Have Fun!

_________________
question=(2b||!(2b))

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
sananaman 
Re: AmigaOne Micro uA1-C and advised graphics card
Posted on 18-Aug-2022 11:37:39
#10 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 28-Sep-2006
Posts: 252
From: Netherlands

@lylehaze

Hi,

I don't think this thread is off-topic it's still about AmigaOne Micro.

About the graphics cards were answered by Redfox.
And I remember this from the past that there was a limitation.

Thanks again for your input it helps a lot as I'm starting up again on the AmigaOne.
I've been playing around yesterday with the IDE-2-CF and that works fine.
For some strange reason I cant get the IDE-2-SD to work (just hangs at boot), but there is also no jumper to set it to master or slave. I left that one aside.

I just ordered the IDE-2-SATA, lets see what that brings.
In the meantime I ordered a 64GB CF card, once that is in I can start partitioning.

_________________
AmigaScene.nl

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
sananaman 
Re: AmigaOne Micro uA1-C and advised graphics card
Posted on 24-Aug-2022 9:31:11
#11 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 28-Sep-2006
Posts: 252
From: Netherlands

@sananaman

I have received AmigaOS 4.1FE from Alinea and it is a nice step forward compared to 4.1.
I wonder why they didn't call this 4.2 to be honest, if you look at all the updates 6 updates for 4.1 and 2 updates for 4.1FE. To me an update is also a version number.

Anyway, It is running although the composite stuff is a bit too heavy for the AmigaOne Micro with the integrated Radeon 7000 32MB card.
Composite stuff = rounded window corners, transparency, solid window movement and solid resize, etc.

It would be nice if a more powerful graphics card with more RAM could be added to the system.

So for now I turned off all the composite stuff and the machine is a lot faster and more snappy.

Last edited by sananaman on 25-Aug-2022 at 02:59 PM.

_________________
AmigaScene.nl

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
redfox 
Re: AmigaOne Micro uA1-C and advised graphics card
Posted on 24-Aug-2022 20:14:00
#12 ]
Super Member
Joined: 7-Mar-2003
Posts: 1985
From: Canada

@sananaman

For my AmigaOne Micro, I use the following ...

OS4.0 Look
Square corners on windows and menus
drag window without contents ... contents render afterwards
resize window without contents ... contents render afterwards
Compositing effects = disabled



If you set the screenmode for 16 bit, this also gives you more graphics RAM.
I am currently set at 32 bit, but I used 16 bit in the past.



redfox

Last edited by redfox on 25-Aug-2022 at 04:11 AM.
Last edited by redfox on 25-Aug-2022 at 01:03 AM.
Last edited by redfox on 25-Aug-2022 at 12:39 AM.
Last edited by redfox on 24-Aug-2022 at 08:20 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
sananaman 
Re: AmigaOne Micro uA1-C and advised graphics card
Posted on 25-Aug-2022 19:34:57
#13 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 28-Sep-2006
Posts: 252
From: Netherlands

@redfox

Yo mate! Cheers....

Thanks for the tips...

I think I did indeed some of these already.

What I don't understand is that they require the "composite" engine for rounded edges.
I think that can be solved with 2d masking.

Anyway, I personally like the "4.1FE alternative look".
So I was thinking to make a mix between "OS4.1 square" and the "alternative look".

That 16 bit trick I remember that i did that when AmigaOS 4 was in beta.
I did not like it because for example TV Paint has a bug when painting in 16 bit with certain colors.
And gradient backgrounds don't look that nice.

Last edited by sananaman on 25-Aug-2022 at 11:48 PM.
Last edited by sananaman on 25-Aug-2022 at 07:35 PM.

_________________
AmigaScene.nl

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle