Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6050 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
66 crawler(s) on-line.
 20 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 pixie:  15 mins ago
 BigD:  22 mins ago
 LaBodilsen:  34 mins ago
 michalsc:  41 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  1 hr 27 mins ago
 W0IW:  2 hrs 15 mins ago
 Karlos:  4 hrs ago
 sibbi:  4 hrs 3 mins ago
 AmigaMac:  5 hrs 14 mins ago
 agami:  6 hrs 47 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  General Technology (No Console Threads)
      /  Grip and Commodore 128 Restoration
Register To Post

PosterThread
RobertB 
Grip and Commodore 128 Restoration
Posted on 28-Nov-2022 5:52:57
#1 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Jun-2006
Posts: 1364
From: Visalia, California

The Vintage Computer Festival West has their own video of this presentation, but here is my video of the same presentation. Johan Grip tells of restoring the Commodore 128 with the new C128 Neo motherboard. See it at

Grip and Commodore 128 Restoration - VCFW 2022

https://youtu.be/2845jbWVQE8

Truly,
Robert Bernardo
Fresno Commodore User Group - http://www.dickestel.com/fcug.htm
Southern California Commodore & Amiga Network - http://www.portcommodore.com/sccan

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Lou 
Re: Grip and Commodore 128 Restoration
Posted on 30-Nov-2022 14:21:01
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 2-Nov-2004
Posts: 4156
From: Rhode Island

I'm still hopeful of a VDC-II.
:)

Last edited by Lou on 30-Nov-2022 at 02:21 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
RobertB 
Re: Grip and Commodore 128 Restoration
Posted on 30-Nov-2022 23:07:00
#3 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Jun-2006
Posts: 1364
From: Visalia, California

I didn't know about the VDC-II. Thanks for the info.

Truly,
Robert Bernardo
Fresno Commodore User Group - http://www.dickestel.com/fcug.htm
Southern California Commodore & Amiga Network - http://www.portcommodore.com/sccan

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Lou 
Re: Grip and Commodore 128 Restoration
Posted on 1-Dec-2022 13:14:10
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 2-Nov-2004
Posts: 4156
From: Rhode Island

There's no such thing. It's just something I hope happens once this guy manages to make a reproduction version of the 8563/8568.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MOS_Technology_8563

My wishlist is sprites and perhaps a mixed mode of bitmap and text graphics.
Sprites would be awesome though.

Seems adding extra registers and internal logic would be necessary. The VDC seems to act like a co-processor in the 128.

Last edited by Lou on 01-Dec-2022 at 04:04 PM.
Last edited by Lou on 01-Dec-2022 at 01:18 PM.
Last edited by Lou on 01-Dec-2022 at 01:16 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Lou 
Re: Grip and Commodore 128 Restoration
Posted on 1-Dec-2022 19:08:00
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 2-Nov-2004
Posts: 4156
From: Rhode Island

I stand corrected!

https://hackaday.io/project/170581-vdc-ii/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
rzookol 
Re: Grip and Commodore 128 Restoration
Posted on 1-Dec-2022 22:31:53
#6 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 4-Oct-2005
Posts: 292
From: Poland, Lublin

@Lou

VIC IIe with working 2MHZ mode would be a lot better for C=128 users.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Lou 
Re: Grip and Commodore 128 Restoration
Posted on 2-Dec-2022 21:54:43
#7 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 2-Nov-2004
Posts: 4156
From: Rhode Island

@rzookol

Quote:

rzookol wrote:
@Lou

VIC IIe with working 2MHZ mode would be a lot better for C=128 users.


The Kawari may already do that.
https://vicii-kawari.myshopify.com/en-us/products/vic-ii-kawari-large-6567-6569-replacement-pcb

Besides, having a more capable 2nd gpu can only enhance dual-screen mode. :)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle