Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5615 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 65 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 KimmoK,  kamelit0

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 KimmoK:  1 secs ago
 kamelit0:  1 min ago
 OlafS25:  10 mins ago
 smf:  11 mins ago
 AdvancedFollower:  18 mins ago
 amigakit:  22 mins ago
 g01df1sh:  1 hr 15 mins ago
 zipper:  1 hr 36 mins ago
 Frank:  1 hr 51 mins ago
 TRIPOS:  2 hrs 21 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  AROS Software
      /  aros research on smp
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 Next Page )
PosterThread
wawa 
Re: aros goes smp
Posted on 24-Aug-2013 9:01:57
#41 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 5714
From: Unknown

@Ami603

this isnt about os4 here.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Ami603 
Re: aros goes smp
Posted on 24-Aug-2013 13:13:09
#42 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 7-Mar-2003
Posts: 567
From: Valencia,Spain 8-)

@wawa

My fault, i assumed too much things.
No matter what, i'd assume AROS won't lack much either,if anything.

_________________
Cuida tus piedras gordas.

A1200/030 32Mb
A4000D
A1-X1000.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
megol 
Re: aros goes smp
Posted on 24-Aug-2013 13:42:10
#43 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 17-Mar-2008
Posts: 190
From: Unknown

@Ami603

Quote:

Ami603 wrote:
@Minuous

Quote:
Why bother implementing this sort of thing when the OS3.9 API still isn't implemented, 13 years later? Maybe SMP is more fun for the devs to work on? Obviously they don't care about being useful for the users, or actually implementing the proper AmigaOS API.


Tell me one single thing AmigaOS3.9 has that current state OS4.1 lacks, and that can be considered "proper" by your standards please.



Maybe you shouldn't post something proving that you are clueless?
AROS != AOS4.1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
megol 
Re: aros goes smp
Posted on 24-Aug-2013 13:45:46
#44 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 17-Mar-2008
Posts: 190
From: Unknown

@itix

Yes and Exec uses Disable() (or rather a macro with that functionality). But would anything break if instead a semaphore or spinlock local to the messageport would be used? I can't imagine many people writing their own PutMSg()/ReplyMsg() routines and can't imagine any reason why anything in Exec would depend on interrupts being disabled.

Last edited by megol on 24-Aug-2013 at 01:46 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Ami603 
Re: aros goes smp
Posted on 24-Aug-2013 14:29:39
#45 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 7-Mar-2003
Posts: 567
From: Valencia,Spain 8-)

@megol

Quote:
Maybe you shouldn't post something proving that you are clueless? AROS != AOS4.1


A little bit rude on your side, considering that there are several posts about SMP regarding the other Amiga-like OS's, and that Hyperion also has SMP on their plans since quite a while as publically announced.
I agree i didn't read properly the thread and apologised already, so your post was a little bit uncalled for.

_________________
Cuida tus piedras gordas.

A1200/030 32Mb
A4000D
A1-X1000.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Minuous 
Re: aros goes smp
Posted on 25-Aug-2013 4:46:24
#46 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 30-Oct-2004
Posts: 314
From: Unknown

@Ami603

I was talking about AROS, not OS4.1.

However, there is likewise OS3.9 functionality missing from OS4.1, which causes compatibility headaches. Eg. the effect clause for Installer.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Manu 
Re: aros goes smp
Posted on 25-Aug-2013 7:01:52
#47 ]
Super Member
Joined: 4-Feb-2004
Posts: 1561
From: Unknown

It's very good that this gets attention regardless if it's going to work or not.
Once we know I think AROS again nevertheless served it's purpose, to be open and no bull*** behind closed doors.

Last edited by Manu on 25-Aug-2013 at 07:02 AM.

_________________
AmigaOS or MorphOS on x86 would sell orders of magnitude more than the current,
hardware-intensive solutions. And they'd go faster.-- D.Haynie

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: aros goes smp
Posted on 25-Aug-2013 9:19:32
#48 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 5714
From: Unknown

@Minuous

Quote:

However, there is likewise OS3.9 functionality missing from OS4.1, which causes compatibility headaches. Eg. the effect clause for Installer.

aros remains behind genuine amiga os in many areas. there is nothing to quarrel about.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: aros goes smp
Posted on 25-Aug-2013 9:20:58
#49 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 5714
From: Unknown

@Manu

Quote:
It's very good that this gets attention regardless if it's going to work or not.
Once we know I think AROS again nevertheless served it's purpose, to be open and no bull*** behind closed doors.


exactly. as a community project, everybody can contribute to, it will prove it either way with no bs.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: aros goes smp
Posted on 25-Aug-2013 9:21:12
#50 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 5714
From: Unknown

damn, yet again..

Last edited by wawa on 25-Aug-2013 at 09:58 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: aros goes smp
Posted on 25-Aug-2013 9:21:18
#51 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 5714
From: Unknown

must stop posting here i guess..

Last edited by wawa on 25-Aug-2013 at 09:59 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
paolone 
Re: aros goes smp
Posted on 25-Aug-2013 11:27:26
#52 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 24-Sep-2007
Posts: 922
From: Unknown

@Minuous

Quote:

Minuous wrote:
Why bother implementing this sort of thing when the OS3.9 API still isn't implemented, 13 years later? Maybe SMP is more fun for the devs to work on? Obviously they don't care about being useful for the users, or actually implementing the proper AmigaOS API.



Since implementing OS 3.9 API is not among the goals of AROS (implementing and enhancing 3.1 is, though), and since every device on earth - including telephones - are now multicore, I guess SMP has really more to do with "being useful for users" than OS 3.9 API full implementation has.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Minuous 
Re: aros goes smp
Posted on 25-Aug-2013 16:53:54
#53 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 30-Oct-2004
Posts: 314
From: Unknown

@paolone

>Since implementing OS 3.9 API is not among the goals of AROS (implementing and enhancing 3.1 is, though)

If they are going to settle for some arbitrary obsolete release, why not just settle for implementing eg. 2.0 or 1.3 then? That way they can spend even less effort making it actually support existing Amiga software and APIs, and more on implementing esoteric AROS-only features that are unlikely to ever be used.

>every device on earth - including telephones - are now multicore

Don't be silly, most desktops are not even multicore at present, let alone other devices. Of the four computers here, none of them are. (And no, they are not all old machines.) Neither are most phones. Hardly "every device on earth".

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OlafS25 
Re: aros goes smp
Posted on 25-Aug-2013 17:25:38
#54 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-May-2010
Posts: 5077
From: Unknown

@Minuous

I would prefer 1.2. then

No seriously what are the 3.9. features that are missing and must be implemented? And if they are, then will all 68k, MorphOS and AmigaOS user start to use AROS?

I think not so the question is not if everything from 3.9. is implemented but what features are needed to win new users outside the existing community. And where can Aros get ahead of AmigaOS and MorphOS that both can integrate 68k code (f.e. libraries) more easily. And one of these features certainly is SMP, if all devices already have several cores or not.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Daytona675x 
Re: aros goes smp
Posted on 25-Aug-2013 17:27:38
#55 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 5-Jan-2011
Posts: 491
From: Germany

@Minuous
Quote:
Don't be silly, most desktops are not even multicore at present, let alone other devices. Of the four computers here, none of them are. (And no, they are not all old machines.)

Haven't seen a single-core machine for ages, but well, that's just me (plus all people I know in person ). Found some interesting numbers on Steam though, from that at least it looks like paolone is on the right track:
Steam hardware survey

Regarding mobile devices: the trend to multi-core is more than obvious here too - and not just since yesterday. The iPhone alone is multi-core since 2 years now. The minimum hardware requirement for a Windows Phone 8 device is a dual-core CPU, so here it is even mandatory for hardware manufacturers to go multi-core...

Hell, if even a well-known Amiga-machine is multi-core by now, that could be a hint that the rest of the world is maybe already on that train for quite some time
So all in all I don't think paolone's statement is too silly, maybe a bit exaggerated, but not that much

Last edited by Daytona675x on 25-Aug-2013 at 05:32 PM.
Last edited by Daytona675x on 25-Aug-2013 at 05:30 PM.

_________________
AmigaOS 4.1 FE (sam460ex Radeon 9200 / RadeonHD), MorphOS 3.8 (PowerMac G4 733MHz Radeon 9000), AROS (x86), A1200 (060 80MHz Indivision MK2), A500, A600, CDTV
Wings Remastered Development Diary

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
damocles 
Re: aros goes smp
Posted on 25-Aug-2013 17:27:38
#56 ]
Super Member
Joined: 22-Dec-2007
Posts: 1719
From: Unknown

@Minuous

Quote:
Don't be silly, most desktops are not even multicore at present, let alone other devices. Of the four computers here, none of them are. (And no, they are not all old machines.) Neither are most phones. Hardly "every device on earth".


Go to dell.com and show us all the single core CPU systems being offered. The cheapest devices are with Snapdragon S4 and Celeron G1610T which are both dual core CPUs according to Wikipedia.





_________________
Dammy

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Arix-OS/414578091930728
Unless otherwise noted, I only speak for myself.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Jupp3 
Re: aros goes smp
Posted on 25-Aug-2013 19:15:31
#57 ]
Super Member
Joined: 22-Feb-2007
Posts: 1202
From: Unknown

@Daytona675x

Quote:
Haven't seen a single-core machine for ages

Also of the few systems in (desktop) use nowadays that are NOT multicore, many support hyperthreading. While not "real", they (generally) appear to operating system as "double the amount of real cores". F.ex. the old Intel Atom system I am currently using is dual core and has hyperthreading => 4 cores for the OS.

And yes, I know this is also rather new technology. Been on the market only a bit over decade.

Last edited by Jupp3 on 25-Aug-2013 at 07:18 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: aros goes smp
Posted on 25-Aug-2013 21:56:53
#58 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 5714
From: Unknown

@Minuous

Quote:
If they are going to settle for some arbitrary obsolete release, why not just settle for implementing eg. 2.0 or 1.3 then?


because 3.1 was a last major stable release? the 3.5 and 3.9 are rather cosmetic upgrades, the concepts and api already available on 3.1 only perhaps not so developed? actually aros68k implements a lot beyond 3.1 and feels rather than enhanced 3.9 in many areas. also aros 68k is already for most part compatible with 1.x-2.x-3.x, in fact probably more cross over compatible than particular kickstarts and adequate software between each other, so whats your point?

Last edited by wawa on 25-Aug-2013 at 09:58 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Jupp3 
Re: aros goes smp
Posted on 26-Aug-2013 1:15:02
#59 ]
Super Member
Joined: 22-Feb-2007
Posts: 1202
From: Unknown

Quote:
If they are going to settle for some arbitrary obsolete release, why not just settle for implementing eg. 2.0 or 1.3 then?

On the other hand, why settle for "obsolete" 3.9? (not that that "shareware collection" added anything worthy...)

Better look to the future! AROS could bypass the official AmigaOS 4.x line completely! Instead of 3.x or even 4.x, why not settle on 5.x feature set instead? I mean, it was published a decade ago!

Or better yet, how about AmigaOS 6.x feature set? I heard from a trustworthy source that it is better than MacOS X!

Last edited by Jupp3 on 26-Aug-2013 at 01:18 AM.
Last edited by Jupp3 on 26-Aug-2013 at 01:16 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Kronos 
Re: aros goes smp
Posted on 26-Aug-2013 8:51:41
#60 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 2079
From: Unknown

APIs added in 3.5/9:

- ReAction ...... now thats is so goddam awfull even most OS4 programs either use MUI or some halfported Linux-crap these days.

- WarpUP ........

- Some dos extension for allowing partitions >4GB .... dunno even which one, doesn't matter since it's all the same when coding in "user space"

_________________
- We don't need good ideas, we haven't run out on bad ones yet
- blame Canada

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle