Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5618 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 62 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 AmigaBlitter

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 AmigaBlitter:  3 mins ago
 OneTimer1:  11 mins ago
 Vidar:  18 mins ago
 K-L:  23 mins ago
 RetroManCave:  23 mins ago
 g01df1sh:  32 mins ago
 Frank:  34 mins ago
 outrun1978:  40 mins ago
 tonyw:  40 mins ago
 kamelit0:  50 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  Official AW.Net X1000 Q and A Thread
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 Next Page )
PosterThread
sananaman 
Re: Official (?) AW.Net X1000 Questions Thread
Posted on 7-Jan-2010 12:03:56
#21 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 28-Sep-2006
Posts: 221
From: Netherlands



Yess it is "Photoshopped", i made this myself... I needed something catchy for the article.
If you want I got the highres version.

Quote:

@Skidos Is this a photoshopped picture of the X1000?

http://www.amigascene.nl/modules/news/article.php?storyid=503
Thanks Steve


_________________
AmigaScene.nl

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tiffers 
Re: Official (?) AW.Net X1000 Questions Thread
Posted on 7-Jan-2010 12:20:33
#22 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 7-Jun-2007
Posts: 345
From: Perth, Western Australia

@thread

Nice questions guys. Any more that may have been asked already in other threads? There's not a lot of software questions, and coders our there have any questions?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BinoX 
Re: Official (?) AW.Net X1000 Questions Thread
Posted on 7-Jan-2010 12:42:21
#23 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 2-Nov-2005
Posts: 709
From: Cornwall, UK

@tiffers

Quote:

tiffers wrote:
@thread

Nice questions guys. Any more that may have been asked already in other threads? There's not a lot of software questions, and coders our there have any questions?


Coding questions! I knew I forgot something.

Will there be a simple AmigaOS API / library for accessing the xena chip (e.g. IXena->DoSomething(); )

_________________
Back to action!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kedar 
Re: Official (?) AW.Net X1000 Questions Thread
Posted on 7-Jan-2010 13:30:49
#24 ]
New Member
Joined: 2-Jan-2010
Posts: 9
From: Unknown

@thread

BTW: STi7108 have inside (also) dual CPU ST40, maybe this is based on ST20 (longtime low price cpu for all range of consumer electronic etc...) that is based on T9000 (last gen projected Transputer by INMOS before buyed by SGS-Thomson, that is now part of STMicroelectronics :)

XCore from XMOS have also root in INMOS Transputer, will be nice that this chip too be in X1000 :)



 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: Official (?) AW.Net X1000 Questions Thread
Posted on 7-Jan-2010 14:19:28
#25 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5045
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

About development:
- Will there be developer conferences (like during CBM era)?
- Will there be developer guidelines (for application outlook etc.)?

SW:
Is there a plan of developing AOS manual(s)?

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Skidos 
Re: Official (?) AW.Net X1000 Questions Thread
Posted on 7-Jan-2010 19:33:13
#26 ]
Member
Joined: 29-Dec-2009
Posts: 56
From: Unknown

@sananaman

Thanks for clearing that up. Nice work!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BrianK 
Re: Official (?) AW.Net X1000 Questions Thread
Posted on 7-Jan-2010 20:41:23
#27 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2003
Posts: 8095
From: Minneapolis, MN, USA

My guess at CPU is TPE5 Power PC (or a slightly newer version) along with Xilink Virtex V FPGA (aka a transputer).

Even if not.. those pages might be a good read on some concepts that would seem to be to apply for the X1000.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Tuxedo 
Re: Official (?) AW.Net X1000 Questions Thread
Posted on 7-Jan-2010 21:45:56
#28 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Nov-2003
Posts: 2214
From: Perugia, ITALY

@sananaman

and if it remains "C=" ... ?

_________________
Simone"Tuxedo"Monsignori, Perugia, ITALY.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KaneCitizen 
Re: Official (?) AW.Net X1000 Questions Thread
Posted on 7-Jan-2010 22:35:09
#29 ]
New Member
Joined: 6-Jan-2010
Posts: 5
From: Queensland, Australia

@kedar

Except the a-eon website indicates that the cpu is

Quote:


Power ISA 2.04 and newer standard



hmmm very interesting in indeed though ....

@BrianK had an interesting link to the

Quote:


My guess at CPU is TPE5 Power PC (or a slightly newer version) along with Xilink Virtex V FPGA (aka a transputer).



Very Exciting tryng to guess the specs though

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
umisef 
Re: Official (?) AW.Net X1000 Questions Thread
Posted on 8-Jan-2010 1:51:22
#30 ]
Super Member
Joined: 19-Jun-2005
Posts: 1655
From: Melbourne, Australia

@BrianK

Quote:
My guess at CPU is TPE5 Power PC


Huh? The TPE5 you link to is not a CPU, but a system-on-a-PCI-card using a bog-standard G4.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
gonegahgah 
Re: Official (?) AW.Net X1000 Questions Thread
Posted on 8-Jan-2010 10:16:54
#31 ]
Member
Joined: 5-Dec-2008
Posts: 88
From: Australia

@tiffers "Will the CPU be socketed (allowing for upgrades...)?"

I'm guessing the 4 holes on the motherboard around where the CPU will go means that the CPU will be on a daughter board that connects to the motherboard via a socket in the centre (hidden behind the button) and the daughterboard is also pinned to the board via those 4 holes.

Only a guess...[quote]

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: Official (?) AW.Net X1000 Questions Thread
Posted on 8-Jan-2010 10:44:00
#32 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5045
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

@gonegahgah

The holes are for the CPU cooler. At least the pictured mobo seem to have CPU soldered on the board.

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
gonegahgah 
Re: Official (?) AW.Net X1000 Questions Thread
Posted on 8-Jan-2010 11:36:33
#33 ]
Member
Joined: 5-Dec-2008
Posts: 88
From: Australia

@KimmoK

Oh ok. Doh! Silly me.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
asymetrix 
Re: Official (?) AW.Net X1000 Questions Thread
Posted on 8-Jan-2010 12:08:41
#34 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 9-Mar-2003
Posts: 790
From: United Kingdom


Will X1000 penetrate the American market in a big way ?

DDR3 support ?

Max memory throughput ?

Front side bus speed ?

Will A-Eon Tech provide hi res images of X1000 motherboard, case etc and official OS4 screenshots authorising sites like Wikipedia copyright free usage ?

PR website for promotion of X1000

Any plans for high production runs of X1000 ?
Any new productivity software available/planned for OS4 ?



_________________
Download 125.64 Mbps, 11.69 Mbps Upload :)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Nuder_Try 
Re: Official (?) AW.Net X1000 Questions Thread
Posted on 8-Jan-2010 13:03:39
#35 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-Sep-2003
Posts: 524
From: Wisconsin (Moo!!!)


Qustions about the Xena chip:

How many times can it be re-customized? Tens, hundreds, etc?
How long does it take to recustomize?
Is a reboot required to access the new settings?
Is there a way to force the user to acknowledge that changes are being made, so someone doesn't drop HW level malware without their knowledge?
Can the Xena be "shared" so that multiple apps that might want to use it can do so with out it needing to be re-customized? (I.e. running two apps that use it at the same time?)

Hope these make sense.

_________________
This sig. intentionally left blank

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mike 
Re: Official (?) AW.Net X1000 Questions Thread
Posted on 8-Jan-2010 13:20:59
#36 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 31-Jul-2007
Posts: 406
From: Alpha Centauri

Q: So the CF card can hold the kickstart and parts of the OS? And or boot loader(S)?
Q ( to any ): are there any advantages using CF rather then a SATA2 or whatever?
Q: Are you sure you can keep up with demand? (for the board) ^^

_________________
C= Amiga addict
,,,
(Oo)
⎛☮ໄ
ﮑὠՀ
Couldn't care less what other people think, seeing that there's concrete evidence they don't.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
persia 
Re: Official (?) AW.Net X1000 Questions Thread
Posted on 8-Jan-2010 14:43:06
#37 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Jul-2009
Posts: 1054
From: Unknown

@BigBentheAussie

I believe AmigaWorld.net is Terra nullius...

Quote:
I'd claim it for Australia but I might get AW blacklisted.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tiffers 
Re: Official (?) AW.Net X1000 Questions Thread
Posted on 14-Jan-2010 2:30:52
#38 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 7-Jun-2007
Posts: 345
From: Perth, Western Australia

@All

Well, this thread has slowed down. Does anyone have more questions to bring to the table?

Has anyone found any answers to the questions asked here? Have Hyperion/A-Eon staff read this page, and do y ou have any further answers you can give us?

tiffers

Last edited by tiffers on 14-Jan-2010 at 02:32 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
bitman 
Re: Official (?) AW.Net X1000 Questions Thread
Posted on 14-Jan-2010 8:23:37
#39 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2008
Posts: 690
From: Fredericia, Denmark

@tiffers

Are there any agreements between a-eon/Hyperion and third parties regarding bringing new sw to the platform, so we don't end up having a great machine "without software"

_________________
Maintainer of www.bigbookofamigahardware.com

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ErikBauer 
Re: Official (?) AW.Net X1000 Questions Thread
Posted on 14-Jan-2010 8:39:45
#40 ]
Super Member
Joined: 25-Feb-2004
Posts: 1049
From: Italy

Would A-Eon and Hyperion consider a team-up with NatAmi team for an eventual NatAmi board to give X1000 retro and NatAmi compatibility?



_________________
God created Paula so that Allister Brimble and Dave Whittaker could do music

Check my Amiga gameplays (ITA)!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle