Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5637 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 60 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 Overflow,  AP

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Overflow:  24 secs ago
 AP:  2 mins ago
 Samurai_Crow:  7 mins ago
 tonyw:  41 mins ago
 Emu:  42 mins ago
 Spectre660:  43 mins ago
 Frank:  43 mins ago
 Raziel:  1 hr ago
 HyperionHolding:  1 hr 15 mins ago
 E.Coppersmith:  1 hr 29 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga General Chat
      /  have you seen the new Amiga Forever 2016 features?
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )
PosterThread
g01df1sh 
Re: have you seen the new Amiga Forever 2016 features?
Posted on 3-Dec-2015 10:31:05
#41 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1162
From: UK

OK one more go this time on my work PC which is running windows 7 64bit not windows 10. First thing I have noticed is I don't get the Amiga forever GUI saying busy when I right click and select edit. There is a slight pause but nothing compared to it on windows 10 it is busy for at least 15-20 secs. Well still same outcome install goes through fine then do reset and then get black guru screen on reboot. Just cant work out why it does this.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: have you seen the new Amiga Forever 2016 features?
Posted on 3-Dec-2015 12:08:49
#42 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1162
From: UK

@g01df1sh

Stuff it I give up another waste of money on something that has clearly not been tested fully before release.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Overflow 
Re: have you seen the new Amiga Forever 2016 features?
Posted on 3-Dec-2015 12:33:19
#43 ]
Super Member
Joined: 12-Jun-2012
Posts: 1409
From: Norway

@g01df1sh

I assume you have read Epsilons blog regarding AF2016?

http://amigax1000.blogspot.com.au/2015/12/amiga-forever-2016.html

I havent had the time to use AF2016 yet, tho with regards to waste of money;
The way I see it, the AF package being continously developed is a nice thing for the inevitable day my A1200 dies and I have to "surrender" to emulation to get my retro kick.

So, to a certain extent, I do actually buy some of the updates as a support for Cloanto so they justify continoued development.
If its accurate that Cloanto, Toni and Amikit is working together to a certain extent, that gives me hope that future developments will have useful features and improve ease of use/install.

In the past you had to jump thru 1000 hoops to get stuff to work. That is now down to a few

 Status: Online!
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: have you seen the new Amiga Forever 2016 features?
Posted on 3-Dec-2015 12:40:49
#44 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1162
From: UK

@Overflow

Hi

Just read his blog followed his instruction guess what worked first time. Cloa
nto ones for ages with very mixed results.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Overflow 
Re: have you seen the new Amiga Forever 2016 features?
Posted on 3-Dec-2015 13:35:52
#45 ]
Super Member
Joined: 12-Jun-2012
Posts: 1409
From: Norway

@g01df1sh

Good to hear you got it working using the blog!

Maybe Cloanto should approach Epsilon about premission to link his blog for instructions about how to use AF with AOS4+PPC.

Even a link within the AF client itself regarding "how to" would be good incase people dont read the FAQ on their website.

 Status: Online!
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: have you seen the new Amiga Forever 2016 features?
Posted on 3-Dec-2015 14:04:35
#46 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1162
From: UK

@Overflow

better progress now. Done fresh install as 300mb was not big enough soon runs out after installing all the extras on the OS4.1fe CD. Now have 1 x 1GB OS drive and 1 x 1GB Storage drive. Also have internet working as well. yes time I have replied to this post using OS4.1 not Windows YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

Now how do you make the mouse wheel work ? keep going to scroll with it and nothing happens lol

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Kotler 
Re: have you seen the new Amiga Forever 2016 features?
Posted on 3-Dec-2015 14:23:12
#47 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 27-May-2005
Posts: 240
From: Sweden

@g01df1sh

I recommend downloading 'FreeWheel' from Aminet.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: have you seen the new Amiga Forever 2016 features?
Posted on 3-Dec-2015 14:39:04
#48 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1162
From: UK

@Kotler

New problem when selecting more than 256mb z3 it causes network to fail. I tried 512mb networked failed changed back to 256mb network works again ?

Is this a limitation of emulation or is there a way to solve this.

Did notice a speed increase with more memory though.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Senex 
Re: have you seen the new Amiga Forever 2016 features?
Posted on 3-Dec-2015 18:23:18
#49 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 113
From: Unknown

@g01df1sh

Quote:
Well still same outcome install goes through fine then do reset and then get black guru screen on reboot.


While you've circumvented that problem meanwhile, just in case someone else is dealing with this as well:

The guru meditation (8000 0008 / 0802C7F8 and afterwards 0802E420) at trying to boot from HD after 4.1 installation is reproducable here in case the Amiga is reset after installation by the AF icon at the top of the window.

If a soft reset is done instead by pressing Ctrl-Win-Win, everything is fine.

PS: In case you corrupt your configuration afterwards by accidentally hard resetting it, there is no need to re-install OS4. It's sufficient to boot the CD again (by utilizing BootDisk.adf as for a fresh installation) - once the PPC emulation has started, everything is calibrated again, so that you can soft-reset the emulated Amiga and it will boot again from your HDF.

Last edited by Senex on 03-Dec-2015 at 06:48 PM.

_________________
amiga-news.de

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: have you seen the new Amiga Forever 2016 features?
Posted on 3-Dec-2015 22:22:25
#50 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1162
From: UK

@Senex

whats the correct way to turn off OS4 in amiga forever 2016 is ok just to click the stop button?

Last edited by g01df1sh on 03-Dec-2015 at 10:22 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Senex 
Re: have you seen the new Amiga Forever 2016 features?
Posted on 4-Dec-2015 20:18:46
#51 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 113
From: Unknown

@g01df1sh

I did several experiments, but indeed those who - like me - experience the problem with the corrupted HDF seem to have no choice but clicking the Stop button, which results again in an unbootable HDF requiring the procedure mentioned above.

Among lots of other things I tried snapshotting the emulation state (didn't work at all) and forcing the emulation to return to 68k after a reset, boot from the ADF and switch the emulation of while being in 68k mode - but the effect remained the same, since by a soft reset (Ctrl-Win-Win) the PPC emulation remains active and using the reboot icon of Amiga Forever to force 68k booting results into the same effect like terminating the emulation via the AF icon.

Of course I also tried a selfmade HDF not embedded into the RP9 file and a couple of other things. But since the Amiga wasn't built to be switched off by software, there is no command to do so - unless UAE would emulate an A4000 with ATX PSU in future, for this there is software available.

Maybe there is a tool to shut down the harddisk while the Amiga is running and maybe this could help to not damage the HDF. While I'm aware of such a tool for internal IDE harddisks, I don't know if there's also one for harddisks connected via BlizzardPPC.

Well, at least Cloanto is aware of the problem, thus I suppose there will be a bugfix soon.

_________________
amiga-news.de

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Overflow 
Re: have you seen the new Amiga Forever 2016 features?
Posted on 5-Dec-2015 1:32:25
#52 ]
Super Member
Joined: 12-Jun-2012
Posts: 1409
From: Norway

Dan Wood/Kookytech has made a quick Amiga Forever 2016 youtube;

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gsGM7rbZfi4

He mention that in the next coming days he will release a video explaining installation of AOS 4.1FE.

 Status: Online!
Profile     Report this post  
davidf215 
Re: have you seen the new Amiga Forever 2016 features?
Posted on 5-Dec-2015 17:14:15
#53 ]
Member
Joined: 14-Feb-2010
Posts: 37
From: Texas

@Overflow

Quote:

Overflow wrote:
Dan Wood/Kookytech has made a quick Amiga Forever 2016 youtube;

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gsGM7rbZfi4

He mention that in the next coming days he will release a video explaining installation of AOS 4.1FE.


Great video. Thanks.

I think being able to emulate PPC and test driving AmigaOS 4 on a PC will be good for the Amiga experience. I for one will buy OS4 now that it can run on my PC. May do some coding on it, too, now that I can obtain it at a price that fits my budget.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
noXLar 
Re: have you seen the new Amiga Forever 2016 features?
Posted on 5-Dec-2015 21:14:10
#54 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-May-2003
Posts: 619
From: Norway

@all

so what does this feature mean?

PowerPC emulation support, including 1+ GB of RAM

if one only get 256mb fastram, where is the other memory go? sorry, i just don't understand

_________________
noXLar -AmigaOne X1000&Sam460ex 2GB 60Gb SSD + Envy24HT sound card A-Eon Drv
2xAmiga 1230 33mhz 128MB Indivision ACA 1200 MK2 USB PCMCIA WIFI 60GB&DVD-ROM OS 3.9

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: have you seen the new Amiga Forever 2016 features?
Posted on 5-Dec-2015 21:32:46
#55 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8425
From: Unknown

@noXLar

128 MB as normal Fast RAM on CyberstormPPC (or 256 MB on Blizzard603e) and more memory via Z3 RAM as SWAP, because OS4 is artficially limited to 128/256 MB Fast RAM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
noXLar 
Re: have you seen the new Amiga Forever 2016 features?
Posted on 5-Dec-2015 22:44:00
#56 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-May-2003
Posts: 619
From: Norway

@pavlor

yea.. i know that rule from before.. just wanted to know what the meaning of that sentence

_________________
noXLar -AmigaOne X1000&Sam460ex 2GB 60Gb SSD + Envy24HT sound card A-Eon Drv
2xAmiga 1230 33mhz 128MB Indivision ACA 1200 MK2 USB PCMCIA WIFI 60GB&DVD-ROM OS 3.9

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Senex 
Re: have you seen the new Amiga Forever 2016 features?
Posted on 6-Dec-2015 9:36:35
#57 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 113
From: Unknown

PS: Just for completeness, my suspicion that it might be a timing problem due to SSD usage has been wrong - same system, but Win 7 and AF installed on a traditional hard disk with HDF stored on that HD as well resulted in the same problem. Thus I have no idea what's the difference between affected systems and those running OS4 on AF nicely.

_________________
amiga-news.de

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Senex 
Re: have you seen the new Amiga Forever 2016 features?
Posted on 15-Dec-2015 16:17:02
#58 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 113
From: Unknown

For those also experiencing the Guru Meditation problem:

amiga-news.de (german)
amiga-news.de/en (english)

_________________
amiga-news.de

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
noXLar 
Re: have you seen the new Amiga Forever 2016 features?
Posted on 15-Dec-2015 21:06:04
#59 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-May-2003
Posts: 619
From: Norway

@Senex

thanks :)

_________________
noXLar -AmigaOne X1000&Sam460ex 2GB 60Gb SSD + Envy24HT sound card A-Eon Drv
2xAmiga 1230 33mhz 128MB Indivision ACA 1200 MK2 USB PCMCIA WIFI 60GB&DVD-ROM OS 3.9

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Senex 
Re: have you seen the new Amiga Forever 2016 features?
Posted on 17-Dec-2015 19:10:38
#60 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 113
From: Unknown

D'oh - SFS usage is also possible, one has just to RTFM, i.e. the official AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition booklet, regarding installation of the 68k version found in the directory L: on CD...

_________________
amiga-news.de

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle