Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6082 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
27 crawler(s) on-line.
 19 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 Hammer

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Hammer:  4 mins ago
 Matt3k:  1 hr 3 mins ago
 Hypex:  1 hr 3 mins ago
 matthey:  1 hr 3 mins ago
 paulhenge:  2 hrs 12 mins ago
 amigakit:  2 hrs 46 mins ago
 Lou:  2 hrs 54 mins ago
 ggw:  3 hrs 42 mins ago
 kolla:  3 hrs 44 mins ago
 Seiya:  4 hrs 13 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  SAM440ep 600MHz !!?!?!?!
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 )
PosterThread
COBRA 
Re: SAM440ep 600MHz !!?!?!?!
Posted on 7-Mar-2009 9:58:32
#41 ]
Super Member
Joined: 26-Apr-2004
Posts: 1809
From: Auckland, New Zealand

@jahc

It's not just a matter of wanting to do this or that, it's also a matter of how much work it is, whether there is any info available on it, and for most devs in the Amiga world, it's a matter of priorities, e.g. what efforts are worth spending more time with. There is far more to do than developers available, but if people keep complaining and putting pressure on the already overloaded devs they will just chase them away...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jahc 
Re: SAM440ep 600MHz !!?!?!?!
Posted on 7-Mar-2009 10:03:40
#42 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-May-2003
Posts: 2959
From: Auckland, New Zealand

@COBRA

Okay, sorry.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
olegil 
Re: SAM440ep 600MHz !!?!?!?!
Posted on 7-Mar-2009 11:30:03
#43 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Aug-2003
Posts: 5895
From: Work

@jahc

Quote:
Can the Radeon be used to make DVD playback smooth on Sam?


Basically it's a question of putting the right code in the right place.

From what I understand the process of decoding mpeg2 consists of:
Variable length bitstream decoding (huffman decompressor or something?)
Inverse quantization (variable bit lengths used depending on importance of information)
Inverse Discrete Cosine Transform (this is where most CPU time is normally used)
Motion Compensation
Final image reconstruction
Color space conversion (YUV to RGB)

I hope the CSC is already done inside the graphics card, using an YUV overlay buffer.
If not, pixel shaders can be used to do this.
But if the pixel shaders could be used to do the motion compensation and final reconstruction, then there are some really good possibilities.
If the pixel shaders can be used to do IDCT as well, then we're talking a 50% reduction in CPU use here
GPUs are REALLY good at matrix transformations, so the IQ stage is a very good candidate...

Problem is, you can't pass data twice over the PCI bus, so you can't use the GPU to do IQ followed by IDCT in the CPU.

But I would pay real money to see the pixel shaders put to some use here. If someone buys the flex board and puts a Radeon HD2400 card in there, it really would be nice to use that processing power to offload the CPU.

This was rather informative, actually:
http://www.graphicshardware.org/previous/www_2006/presentations/han-VideoDecodingOnGPU-gh06.pdf

There is a lot of information out there, but unfortunately there are a few very generic patents...

Another interesting article, mentioning the 2D capabilities of the pixel shaders in the M9:
http://ati.amd.com/developer/shaderx/shaderx_imageprocessing.pdf

_________________
This weeks pet peeve:
Using "voltage" instead of "potential", which leads to inventing new words like "amperage" instead of "current" (I, measured in A) or possible "charge" (amperehours, Ah or Coulomb, C). Sometimes I don't even know what people mean.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
COBRA 
Re: SAM440ep 600MHz !!?!?!?!
Posted on 7-Mar-2009 11:40:52
#44 ]
Super Member
Joined: 26-Apr-2004
Posts: 1809
From: Auckland, New Zealand

@olegil

Of course YUV overlay has been used for a while now. The huffman and dequantization part is very fast, even an old 68k could more than handle that part without issues. The IDCT and motion compensation/reconstruction part is the most CPU-hungry.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
olegil 
Re: SAM440ep 600MHz !!?!?!?!
Posted on 7-Mar-2009 12:45:15
#45 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Aug-2003
Posts: 5895
From: Work

@COBRA

Yeah, figures. But I honestly do suspect that feeding the pixel shaders the output of the IDCT and the macroblocks and let the GPU do the rest is possible.

And a PCI Radeon x1550 or HD2400 could even do IDCT. The trick is of course piping the output of one block directly into the next block without needed to go in to PCI

_________________
This weeks pet peeve:
Using "voltage" instead of "potential", which leads to inventing new words like "amperage" instead of "current" (I, measured in A) or possible "charge" (amperehours, Ah or Coulomb, C). Sometimes I don't even know what people mean.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigC 
Re: SAM440ep 600MHz !!?!?!?!
Posted on 7-Mar-2009 15:18:27
#46 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 9-Aug-2006
Posts: 284
From: Unknown

@COBRA

Let me thank all you developers for all your hard work so far.I'm sure it is done as much for the love of the Amiga platform as any other reason.

Still, I think we should be honest in recognizing whether the weakness of a function is hardware or software related.Only then can we decide how best to correct,accept, or work around those weaknesses.
An OS can be almost as complex as a person;some people are successful at many things ,yet still have tasks they find difficult.We still value those people.We still value the Amiga.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigakit 
Re: SAM440ep 600MHz !!?!?!?!
Posted on 7-Mar-2009 17:02:36
#47 ]
Amiga Kit
Joined: 28-Jun-2004
Posts: 2490
From: www.amigakit.com

In response to customer suggestions, we have now added an option to configure this product with hard disk pre-installed with OS 4.1:

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=869#configure

Hard disk will be fully prepped/formatted and OS 4.1 installed. Customers will also receive OS 4.1 CD and license code.

Here is a picture of the new 600Mhz boards:
http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/catalog/images/sam440-600mhz.jpg

Last edited by amigakit on 07-Mar-2009 at 05:19 PM.

_________________
Amiga Kit Amiga Store
Links: www.amigakit.com | New Products | A600GS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: SAM440ep 600MHz !!?!?!?!
Posted on 7-Mar-2009 19:18:30
#48 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5211
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

@anyone

Has anyone heard of why the SAM power connector is in vertical position on some SAM boards and in horisontal position on some other.


AND it seems that the Lattice expansion connector is back!
At least on the 600Mhz board.

Last edited by KimmoK on 07-Mar-2009 at 07:19 PM.

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle