Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5619 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 85 guest(s) on-line.
 5 member(s) on-line.


samo79, bennymee, pavlor, more...

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Zendarion:  1 min ago
 bennymee:  3 mins ago
 amigasociety:  3 mins ago
 pavlor:  3 mins ago
 samo79:  4 mins ago
 AmeegaGuy:  6 mins ago
 Trixie:  8 mins ago
 thomas:  10 mins ago
 OlafS25:  21 mins ago
 amisteph:  35 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Software
      /  [PARTIALLY SOLVED] AmigaInput- Fix for USB UD4, need more info though.
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 Next Page )
PosterThread
Xenic 
Re: AmigaInput- Anyone got it working/where are the 'hidden' docs?
Posted on 11-Feb-2006 3:27:20
#41 ]
Super Member
Joined: 2-Feb-2004
Posts: 1231
From: Pennsylvania, USA

@FuZion

I don't have the USB devices you guys are having problems with
but I am using USB for my printer and the USB window still pops
up when I connect or disconnect the printer. Maybe it's just a
problem with input devices??


_________________
X1000 with 2GB memory & OS4.1FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Samwel 
Re: AmigaInput- Anyone got it working/where are the 'hidden' docs?
Posted on 11-Feb-2006 5:07:22
#42 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Apr-2004
Posts: 3396
From: Sweden

@Xenic

Well I have no problem with USB itself. My Joypad shows up fine when I connect
it to my A1. It's only AmigaInput that seems to have a problem with USB pads.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kgrach 
Re: AmigaInput- Anyone got it working/where are the 'hidden' docs?
Posted on 11-Feb-2006 5:14:52
#43 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 1-Aug-2003
Posts: 678
From: Farmingdale NY

@All

sorry for not getting back to you folks earlier been real busy at work and I just got a chance to try this all out tonight.

Yes there seems to be something strange in Amigainput.

standby as soon as I get ibrowse loaded into my Amiga and Sgrab loaded I will print a set of instructions on using Amigainput

kgrach

PS loaded wipeout2097 into the A1 and used my logitech joystick to control it.



 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wegster 
Re: AmigaInput- Anyone got it working/where are the 'hidden' docs?
Posted on 11-Feb-2006 5:37:35
#44 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 29-Nov-2004
Posts: 8554
From: RTP, NC USA

@thread

Ok, I've had success, although I'm not happy as it's not know what 'the magic' was here:

I deleted (ok, I move it elsewhere, don't rename it or it will still try to load) Devs:USB/hcd/uhci.usbhcd.debug
then deleted all files from:
ENV:AmigaInput
and
ENVARC:AmigaInput

rebooted and we were good, it kept the USB driver/option when resetting, I calibrated, tested save/exit again, then rebooted and all's goot. Then I mapped via lowlevel.library the gamepad to _multiple_ devices, as I wasn't entirely sure what PacMan05 and Wipeout were looking for device wise, now both are working, and have survived a few reboots.



_________________
Are we not done with the same silly arguments and flames yet??!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kgrach 
Re: AmigaInput- Anyone got it working/where are the 'hidden' docs?
Posted on 11-Feb-2006 6:29:17
#45 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 1-Aug-2003
Posts: 678
From: Farmingdale NY

@wegster

don't see how that would work and tried it repeataly.
it didn't work.

What I did was use my old prefs

copy my old prefs to Prefs/Env-Archive/AmigaInput http://revanchellc.com/ud/ainput.lha
reboot
calibrate USB joystick
remember the digital pad on a usb joystick is a hat
Tab to lowlevel
you then can map a USB joystick so older games will see it
my example for wipeout 2097 using a logitech joystick
choose a lowlevel.library port
Port 0 was mouse port on classic Amiga
port 1 was game port on classic Amiga
port 2 & port 3 was those parallel game port adapter that added some extra game ports thatwere used on some games so four players could join in.

wipeout 2097 liked to use the gameport
so I selected port 1 (game port ) - gamepad (CD32 )
selected logitech dual action
selected Unit 0
click assign
now you select what buttons do what on a CD32 gamepad
red button 1
green button 2
blue button 3
green button 4
reverse button 5
forward button 6
start button 10
direction remaping
horizontal X axis
vertical Y axis
save
reboot and everything should still be there
started wipeout 2097
selected in options joystick keyboard and bingo everthing work great and I came in first place on the first race.

hope that help point people in the general direction.
also remember you can use save as and it will make a new drawer in envarc called that and store all the setting in that drawer.
now you can have a bunch of presets to use for different games

Kgrach

Last edited by kgrach on 11-Feb-2006 at 06:44 AM.
Last edited by kgrach on 11-Feb-2006 at 06:41 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
whose 
Re: AmigaInput- Anyone got it working/where are the 'hidden' docs?
Posted on 11-Feb-2006 8:03:19
#46 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 21-Jun-2005
Posts: 893
From: Germany

@all

Please try the following:

Have a look in SYS:Prefs/EnvArc/AmigaInput if there are two .info files, named
AmigaInput.prefs.info and one named lowlevel.prefs.info.

Move them somewhere else (or delete) and reboot. After that all the trouble should be history.

For me the problem is solved now, USB option stays in the list if AmigaInput prefs
is opened more than once and the crashes after disconnection of the pad are gone too.

greetz

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Plexus 
Re: AmigaInput- Anyone got it working/where are the 'hidden' docs?
Posted on 11-Feb-2006 10:55:55
#47 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 29-Sep-2003
Posts: 252
From: SWEDEN (Sverige)

@kgrach

Thanks, now My Logitech Controllpad works fine!
USB pops up in AmigaInput now!
It was easy to calibrate the pad!

Im actually play GianaSisters Right now with it

AmigaOne XE 800 PPC + Logitech PAD = TRUE

_________________
AmigaOne X5000, AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
(Long Live The Amiga)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Samwel 
Re: AmigaInput- Anyone got it working/where are the 'hidden' docs?
Posted on 11-Feb-2006 11:41:01
#48 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Apr-2004
Posts: 3396
From: Sweden

@kgrach

Thanks Kurt. It sure works when using your instructions.

But still, this is a bug in AmigaInput which needs to be fixed.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Snuffy 
Re: AmigaInput- Anyone got it working/where are the 'hidden' docs?
Posted on 11-Feb-2006 13:09:34
#49 ]
Super Member
Joined: 25-Oct-2005
Posts: 1121
From: Michigan, USA

Hi @wegster

Not really... Euae will Grim out on this AmigaInput. I replaced
it with the original and Euae will bootup again. Now that's
the true meaning of 'borked' -- solutions even need solutions!

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
whose 
Re: AmigaInput- Anyone got it working/where are the 'hidden' docs?
Posted on 11-Feb-2006 17:14:03
#50 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 21-Jun-2005
Posts: 893
From: Germany

@kgrach

Well, I've done some more testing and I noticed that AI prefs still saves .info files for both amigainput.prefs and lowlevel.prefs, which will lead to the known problems. If these .info files are deleted, all works fine until next save.

I would say this is a bug in AmigaInput prefs, as there is no senseful use for .info files in a prefs file directory, even less when their standard tool is MultiView

Perhaps it would be a good idea to check any prefs file if it is valid instead of just load everything the prefs program can find in the prefs directory. One file copied to the wrong location can mess up the system, if not checked for being valid or not, as we can see here.

One more oddity: For Generic_usb_0.prefs, there is no .info file when it is saved.

greetz

[Edit] Another glitch: The pad isn't recognized anymore if disconnected and reinserted. Calibration fails.

Last edited by whose on 11-Feb-2006 at 05:25 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wegster 
Re: AmigaInput- Anyone got it working/where are the 'hidden' docs?
Posted on 11-Feb-2006 22:43:17
#51 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 29-Nov-2004
Posts: 8554
From: RTP, NC USA

@kgrach

Quote:
don't see how that would work and tried it repeataly.
it didn't work.


That's why I said 'unhappy with it.' Went through many interations, including the use of your file, without being 100% I pinpointed what made it work. However, all existing files in ENV: and ENVARC: definitely needed to be deleted (originals supplied with ud4 anyways, maybe did that then expanded yours?), and I also deleted the .debug file...it seems indeed it tries to load anything/everything in that particular folder..

Sounds like we may need some more troubleshotting for the dfeinitive answer as someone else commented about the .info files being an issue as well?

Either way, getting closer. Mine's working reliably, now to find out the exact steps (will go back through yours as well, thank you for sharing them _and_ your prefs file!)

_________________
Are we not done with the same silly arguments and flames yet??!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
RacerX 
Re: AmigaInput- Anyone got it working/where are the 'hidden' docs?
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 5:20:29
#52 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1158
From: Parts Unknown, USA

@wegster

I've tried all that and I can't even get the USB option to show up in AmigaInput prefs! USB works fine with my USB thumb drive. I'm using a USB hub with a UBS to Playstation adapter connected to it. Here's the information from USBInspector:

Functionality

Type: Interface

Product : Dual PSX-USB Adaptor
Vendor: Dual PSX-USB Adaptor
Serial no:
version: 19.12

Class: Human Interface Device
Subclass: 0
Driver: None

Topology

(first 4 lines are the same)

Class: Multiclass
Subclass: 0
Mode: Available
Driver: None

My system is an XE (G4) with 512M RAM, non-fixed motherboard, Radeon video card, Soundblaster sound card, and a USB hub. I did a fresh install for Update 4.

_________________
'unfixed' A1XE, 512mb RAM, plug-in USB card, Sil 0680 IDE card, Radeon 9250, built-in sound, OS4.1 update 5.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
whose 
Re: AmigaInput- Anyone got it working/where are the 'hidden' docs?
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 9:16:25
#53 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 21-Jun-2005
Posts: 893
From: Germany

@wegster

It was me mentioning the .info files

Well, I´ve got it working reliable too and I can give the necessary steps to do to make it work.

1. Delete ALL files in ENVARC:AmigaInput

2. copy kgrachs amigainput.prefs to ENVARC:AmigaInput (I won´t get USB option without it!)

3. open AmigaInput, adjust all things to your needs, save

4. Delete the two .info files in ENVARC:AmigaInput after that

5. If one has to do more adjustments after that, don´t forget to delete the .info files after saving

6. Never disconnect your input device between gaming sessions, if you don´t want to reboot

There´s no need to delete the .debug in DEVS:usb/uhc, it works with the steps above.

The Problem consists of more than one thing. First it´s the strange behaviour of AmigaInput prefs, loading ALL files it founds in ENVARC:AmigaInput (including .info files, if existing). Second it´s the saving of needless .info files for amigainput.prefs and lowlevel.prefs. Third it´s the fact that USB option won´t show up with the supplied prefs file, only with kgrachs prefs file (for whatever reason).

There´s some more work to do on AmigaInput, but if one has configured it following the steps above, it works quite good

Greetz

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tomazkid 
Re: AmigaInput- Anyone got it working/where are the 'hidden' docs?
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 22:56:22
#54 ]
Team Member
Joined: 31-Jul-2003
Posts: 11694
From: Kristianstad, Sweden

@Samwel

Quote:
Swedish translation is wrong in the calibration page.

It says push top right corner for the first kalibration, but I noticed
everything got backwards that way. It should be top left corner.
Then middle and finally low right corner.


I can forward it to one of the translators if you want.

_________________
Site admins are people too..pooff!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wegster 
Re: AmigaInput- Anyone got it working/where are the 'hidden' docs?
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 23:28:51
#55 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 29-Nov-2004
Posts: 8554
From: RTP, NC USA

@whose
Thanks. Anyone else confirm they are now good using whose instructions?

What about reboots somewhere in there?


_________________
Are we not done with the same silly arguments and flames yet??!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BrandonLee 
Re: AmigaInput- Anyone got it working/where are the 'hidden' docs?
Posted on 15-Feb-2006 21:51:37
#56 ]
Super Member
Joined: 15-Dec-2003
Posts: 1355
From: Lisbon, Portugal

@wegster

I already mentioned this on another thread, but deselecting the "Create icons" on AmigaInput's pulldown menu gets rid of the "dangerous" .info files. ;)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Niolator 
Re: AmigaInput- Anyone got it working/where are the 'hidden' docs?
Posted on 15-Feb-2006 22:44:13
#57 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-May-2003
Posts: 1406
From: Unknown

I have another problem with AmigaInput. I have managed to get it to work when I use a joystick in the gameport on my A1XE motherboard. I can not use the one on my soundcard as my soundcard's gameportdriver is listed as an sblive though I have an SB128. The joystick is totally unusable if I plug it into the soundcard.

My real problem is that everytime I want to use the joystick I have to start AmigaInput and mark the PCI_gameport, which is at the bottom of the list and always unmarked when I start AmigaInput, and save the settings. If I don't do this the games does not use the joystick at all.

Sure, I can do this everytime I want to play a game that uses joystick but it is rather awkward. Has anyone got a tip on how I may fix this?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Niolator 
Re: AmigaInput- Anyone got it working/where are the 'hidden' docs?
Posted on 15-Feb-2006 22:58:00
#58 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-May-2003
Posts: 1406
From: Unknown

@Samwel

Quote:

Samwel wrote:
Swedish translation is wrong in the calibration page.

It says push top right corner for the first kalibration, but I noticed
everything got backwards that way. It should be top left corner.
Then middle and finally low right corner.


Yeah, I noticed that. The one who made the translation must have been in a hurry.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DWolfman 
Re: AmigaInput- Anyone got it working/where are the 'hidden' docs?
Posted on 16-Feb-2006 2:20:38
#59 ]
Super Member
Joined: 18-Jun-2003
Posts: 1441
From: Kansas City, MO USA

@wegster

I can't get mine to recognize an Axispad FX controller.

Deleting the files from ENV and ENVARC as described here makes no difference.

Replacing them with KGrach's file and reboot makes no difference, though if his file is in there I get a DSI crash from AmigaInput.

According to SnoopDOS, AmigaInput is at least reading/opening the generic_usb.driver file in libs:amigainput.

Any ideas? I've got a Logitech one but don't have it here to try. This Axispad FX works fine in Windows, and doesn't even need their driver (except for the force feedback), as the built-in Windows stuff can access it just fine.

_________________
This posting, in it's entirety, is the opinion and/or statement of the author and does not reflect the views and/or position of this site.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
whose 
Re: AmigaInput- Anyone got it working/where are the 'hidden' docs?
Posted on 16-Feb-2006 3:41:53
#60 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 21-Jun-2005
Posts: 893
From: Germany

@BrandonLee

D´oh! One should check ALL menus...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle