Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5828 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
46 crawler(s) on-line.
 13 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 ebtigger:  22 mins ago
 billt:  31 mins ago
 Dragoon:  1 hr 4 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  1 hr 45 mins ago
 Steady:  3 hrs 41 mins ago
 Hammer:  3 hrs 53 mins ago
 noXLar:  4 hrs 23 mins ago
 A1200coder:  5 hrs 17 mins ago
 colinw:  5 hrs 17 mins ago
 gryfon:  5 hrs 29 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 Next Page )
PosterThread
Bradsco 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 5:16:40
#121 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 26-Jan-2005
Posts: 216
From: Virginia, US

Two things wrong with my Update 4 clean install.

Running my bog standard µA1-c the Warp3d demos in the SDK lock up.
Also once again, I can't get the ethernet connection to properly configure a connection. I used to be able to set a static IP, and have it work.. but no longer.

Maybe I'm just too lazy, but I feel like I've solved these problems before, and at this point I'm of the opinion that things like this should 'just work'.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
CodeSmith 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 5:18:20
#122 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 3045
From: USA

@wegster

Nope, the IGNOREFOCUS tooltype doesn't affect that behavior. I even tried doing a hard (ctrl-alt-alt) reboot.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Reaps 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 5:27:10
#123 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 5-May-2005
Posts: 283
From: Perth, Australia

@PolygonSoup

Quote:
Running my bog standard µA1-c the Warp3d demos in the SDK lock up.


I think I'm seeing the same thing with my XE and a Radeon 9250... alhtough they did work the first time I ran them after U4. I now get a window, grey contents and everything is locked up. Power cycle required.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Ivan 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 6:26:35
#124 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 7-Jul-2003
Posts: 302
From: Unknown

@PolygonSoup
@Reaps

As i posted above, im getting problems with the network too. Thanks for the posts and letting me know i'm not the only one this is happening too.

_________________
Q: How do you make an Amiga run?
A: Threaten to put in a Windows CD.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Xenic 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 7:20:03
#125 ]
Super Member
Joined: 2-Feb-2004
Posts: 1245
From: Pennsylvania, USA

@joerg

I got a response on this from the author when I asked on the AWeb Dev ML.AmiSSL v2 isn't needed at all now. Assuming you don't have AmiSSL installed on your SYS: partition you just change the AmiSSL: assignment to Devs:AmiSSL.

Here is the authors explanation:
Quote:

The update 4 contains all AmiSSL v3 components. Devs:AmiSSL (where AmiSSL:
assign should point - something I forgot to tell Hans-Joerg when he was
preparing update 4 :I ) contains the Certs dir (these are the same
certificates distributed with updated AmiSSL v1 and V2 installations) and C:
contains the OpenSSL tool. There are more details in Documentation/AmiSSL.

Steps to take on OS4 if AmiSSL v1 and/or v2 is already installed:

1) AmiSSL assign should be changed to point to Devs:AmiSSL
2) PathToPreviousAmiSSLInstall:Libs directory should be moved into Devs:AmiSSL
3) amisslmaster.library v2 should be removed from Devs:AmiSSL/Libs directory.
This is not strictly necessary since this directory in LIBS: assign should
have lower priority then SYS:Libs directory where amisslmaster.library v3.5
resides.

If AmiSSL v1 and/or v2 is not already installed:

1) Use the installer(s) and install (both) to Devs:, no need to change the
certificates (the installation itself should suggest not to do it)
2) Same as 3) above


If you need AmiSSL v1 for AWeb you need to add those files. Here is my
directory layout that works with IBrowse and AWeb:

Libs:
amissl.library (version 1.1)
amissl.l.main
amisslmaster.library (version 3.5)
(AmiSSL directory)
AmiSSL/amissl_v097g.library
AmiSSL/blowfish.l.main
AmiSSL/blowfish.library
AmiSSL/cast.l.main
AmiSSL/cast.library
AmiSSL/........... (All the cipher libraries)

With those files in place I changed my AmiSSL assign to
"C:Assign AmiSSL: Devs:AmiSSL"

Both AWeb and IBrowse seem to be working normally.

_________________
X1000 with 2GB memory & OS4.1FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hans 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 8:59:15
#126 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 27-Dec-2003
Posts: 4927
From: New Zealand

@Xenic

Thanks for the details. That makes more sense. I didn't notice that directory (too much else to see in update 4 ).

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more. Home of the RadeonHD driver for Amiga OS 4.x project.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - More of my work.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
shortcircuit 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 9:34:30
#127 ]
Member
Joined: 2-Sep-2003
Posts: 19
From: Melbourne, Australia

@Samwel

Quote:

Samwel wrote:
@shortcircuit

Try changing the UBoot wait time for finding devices.
Is UBoot finding it btw?


Uboot could find it and I could boot the update CD until after the kickstart modules were loaded. The CD then stopped loading and booting continued from the hard disk.

p.s Problem solved by Chip in reply #100.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
shortcircuit 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 9:42:46
#128 ]
Member
Joined: 2-Sep-2003
Posts: 19
From: Melbourne, Australia

@Chip

Quote:

Chip wrote:
@shortcircuit

It works, but you should turn off the IRQ for that in UBOOT (a1ide_irq) and turn it back in your startup-sequence:

c:idetool -i a1ide.device 2 1 >nil:

In this case the device is on the secondary master line. If it's primary slave, the "2" should be "1".

I hope this helps.


Thanks, you hit the nail on the head there Chip. Problem solved.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Reaps 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 12:37:44
#129 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 5-May-2005
Posts: 283
From: Perth, Australia

@Reaps

Ok, after some fluffing around, I finally managed to get a Grim out of starting gears it was a DSI in UHCI. Unplugging all my USB devices and then using only a PS/2 keyboard (don't have a PS/2 mouse) started, ran, restarted gears successfully. I ran gears repeatedly for quite a while no issue other than the WB screen not being redrawn after the window was closed, leaving grey rectangles everywhere.

Warp3D and USB = bad juju?

Can anyone else having Warp3D troubles try this too?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
antony 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 15:17:50
#130 ]
Member
Joined: 10-Apr-2005
Posts: 70
From: Unknown

@Xenic

Quote:
@joerg

I got a response on this from the author when I asked on the AWeb Dev ML.AmiSSL v2 isn't needed at all now.

As Jörg wrote, AmiSSL v2 is still needed when using IBrowse v2.3

My instructions you quoted above are written with AmiSSL v1 and v2 installer scripts in mind. The process ends up with AmiSSL v1 and/or v2 libraries in Devs:AmiSSL/Libs, which is not the most logical place for it, but should create as little trouble as possible in case one of these installer scripts needs to be used in the future on the same setup.

Hopefully, most programs will be using AmiSSL v3 in the future, so there will be no need for this sort of juggling.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Vader 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 16:05:40
#131 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 18-Sep-2003
Posts: 195
From: UK

@wegster

Quote:
Only location for recent newstring I seem to be able to find is on zerohero's page. Where's it's official home?


Sorry for delay, I was away yesterday:

http://www.ibrowse-dev.net/resources/NS18_2.lzx

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mbilla 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 16:21:10
#132 ]
Super Member
Joined: 25-May-2003
Posts: 1369
From: EU

@all

Papyrus starts with a Guru, but if one press the "Ignore DSI button" (GrimReaper) Papyrus starts normally.Though it's still early beta and the Guru comes very often.
But before update #4 Papyrus crashed the complete A1.

Read more here

http://amigaworld.net/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?mode=viewtopic&topic_id=16404&forum=2&start=60&viewmode=flat&order=0#264130



Last edited by mbilla on 12-Feb-2006 at 04:25 PM.

_________________
A computerworld without MS products and Windows!
Connect your Amigas ...
...The Red ONE-A1XE G4 - A3000T- A3000 - A4000 - A2500- A1000 - A600 - CDTV - CD32...
and your PDAs and laptops ...
Psion 5mx Pro - Psion NetBook - Apple iPhone - MSI Wind OSX

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Xenic 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 17:44:17
#133 ]
Super Member
Joined: 2-Feb-2004
Posts: 1245
From: Pennsylvania, USA

@antony

I have to apologize to everyone for the misinformation.
I didn't flush the libraries (reboot) before testing my
changed installation and discovered this morning that
AmiSSL v2 is required for IBrowse 2.3. Sorry.

_________________
X1000 with 2GB memory & OS4.1FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AmigaPhil 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 17:56:02
#134 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2005
Posts: 563
From: Earth (Belgium)

About the ASSIGN command:

So the syntax for the AmigaDOS ASSIGN command have changed.
I used to use this in AmigaDOS scripts:

Assign "RAD:" exists >NIL:
if warn
...
endif

to test if a volume is available without any risk to see a "Please insert volume RAD:" requester poping-up.

Will this trick still work in OS4 ?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Bradsco 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 18:23:12
#135 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 26-Jan-2005
Posts: 216
From: Virginia, US

@Reaps
I'd try that, but I'm experiencing these problems on a PS/2 keyboard and mouse.

It would be nice to work these issues out, I've been waiting for a year to throw this PCI 9200 in and do a little porting work on my game engine.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
firbodi 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 19:20:24
#136 ]
Super Member
Joined: 2-Sep-2003
Posts: 1046
From: Planet Earth!

@thread:

Has anyone noticed that BenchTrash is missing from update 4?

Thanks,
Firbodi

_________________
MicroA1 G3, 512MB RAM, DVD-RW; and A1-SE G3,512MB RAM, CD-RW & DVD-ROM
Avatar: Perspolis, Capital of Achaemenid Empire 500 B.C.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mr_Capehill 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 19:43:25
#137 ]
Super Member
Joined: 15-Mar-2003
Posts: 1931
From: Yharnam

@PolygonSoup

Warp3D demos? Or do you mean *MiniGL* demos? The MiniGL demos that use shared MiniGL.library are known to freeze the system on certain configuration. You can actually work around this by running a Warp3D program first (face demo, warpview).

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Bradsco 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 21:56:13
#138 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 26-Jan-2005
Posts: 216
From: Virginia, US

@Mr_Capehill
Yep, I tried that this morning and got the MiniGL demos to run properly. Now the question is, programmatically.. without using SDL or GLUT, is there a way to instantiate an OpenGL context properly to avoid the lockups? Any coders out there have an answer?

Sigh, and I guess I'll tinker with the Ethernet configuration yet again. Since downloading things directly to the machine is easier than trying to shuffle files across with a USB drive.

Last edited by PolygonSoup on 12-Feb-2006 at 09:58 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mechanic 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 22:25:11
#139 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 27-Jul-2003
Posts: 2007
From: Unknown

@PolygonSoup
Quote:


Also once again, I can't get the ethernet connection to properly configure a connection. I used to be able to set a static IP, and have it work.. but no longer.



What is your network setup ?

(Not that anything I might say would help anyway)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wegster 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 22:26:45
#140 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 29-Nov-2004
Posts: 8554
From: RTP, NC USA

@Vader

Quote:

Vader wrote:
@wegster

Quote:
Only location for recent newstring I seem to be able to find is on zerohero's page. Where's it's official home?


Sorry for delay, I was away yesterday:

http://www.ibrowse-dev.net/resources/NS18_2.lzx


Thanks, updated. Now to get the rest of the updates in

_________________
Are we not done with the same silly arguments and flames yet??!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle