Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5828 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
68 crawler(s) on-line.
 15 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 ebtigger:  24 mins ago
 billt:  33 mins ago
 Dragoon:  1 hr 5 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  1 hr 46 mins ago
 Steady:  3 hrs 42 mins ago
 Hammer:  3 hrs 55 mins ago
 noXLar:  4 hrs 25 mins ago
 A1200coder:  5 hrs 18 mins ago
 colinw:  5 hrs 18 mins ago
 gryfon:  5 hrs 30 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 Next Page )
PosterThread
Jape 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 30-Mar-2006 12:11:06
#401 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Feb-2005
Posts: 397
From: Helsinki, Finland

@Deniil715

Hmm, check your cache setting in IBrowse...
How much mem you have set into Images & Pages?

Ibrowse eats alot of memory, it doesn't relase it..
Set your cache Images & Pages, put those into 50mb,
browse heavily texted and pictured pages, and soon you
are out of memory....

Set those caches somewhere 3-4mb and then your memory should
remain...


EDIT:
IIRC iconifying IBrowse flushes memory, and all comes available again...
I dunno is it somekind of bug or something....

Last edited by Jape on 30-Mar-2006 at 12:54 PM.
Last edited by Jape on 30-Mar-2006 at 12:14 PM.

_________________
Asus Maximus VII Ranger, i7-4790K@4.6, HyperX DDR3@1866, MSI GTX980, 120GB ssd, 1T, 2T hdd.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Deniil715 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 31-Mar-2006 15:44:21
#402 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 4193
From: Sweden

@Jape

Quote:

Hmm, check your cache setting in IBrowse...
How much mem you have set into Images & Pages?


I have 10MB for images and 2MB for images.
But the problem was not about IBrowse using up all memory (it was already low when I started surfing). The problem is that things start to crash when memory runs low which points to the fact that some coders doesn't check their memory allocations!

Some (perhaps used to OSes which have "unlimited" memory through swapping) seem to think that some allocations, small ones, 10-100 bytes need not be checked because "that amount of memory is always available..." or something. But then things starts to crash when extraordinary situations occur which normally shouldn't be a problem to handle.

This was what happened with AmiSSLv2. RamLib crashed when it tried to initialize the different SSL libraries. May of course be due to something else, but I was out of memory. IB normally handles low memory very good.

Quote:

IIRC iconifying IBrowse flushes memory, and all comes available again...
I dunno is it somekind of bug or something....


When IB is iconified it flushes everything, which becomes obvious when you uniconify and all needs to be reloaded from the net (or disk cache). It's smart that it releases all memory when iconified, but also annoying if one has a lot of pages open and all needs to be reloaded. It would be better if everything but the currently open pages were flushed instead of everything I think...

_________________
- Don't get fooled by my avatar, I'm not like that (anymore, mostly... maybe only sometimes)
> Amiga Classic and OS4 developer for OnyxSoft.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
cope 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 15-Apr-2006 6:04:33
#403 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 18-Feb-2004
Posts: 540
From: Eldorado, ON

@Xenic

I am still having sound troubles with the movie players. I don't use USB and I have set my sound to 0 in Mixer and AHI. Is there a fix for this?
John Paul

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 15-Apr-2006 13:03:38
#404 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 10881
From: In the village

@cope

What model A1?
Regardless...you can review post #11 here and see if you are missing anything:
http://amigaworld.net/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=18436&forum=33
Your problem could also be related to settings in media players. What programs
are you using?

#6


_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
redfox 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 22-Apr-2006 5:08:00
#405 ]
Super Member
Joined: 7-Mar-2003
Posts: 1742
From: Canada

@wegster

Update from redfox to posts about AmigaAMP and post #357 about ASyncWB ...

AmigaAMP works fine, but crashes on exit. Grim repeaper always shows that powerpc.library is the cause of the crash. I am contemplating configuring AmigaAMP to use mpeg.library instead of WarpUP.

As mentioned previously, my Workbench would lock-up when I used the mouse to drag a large jpeg file or drawer from my USB storage device to the ramdisk. This problem stopped after I removed the update 4 version of ASyncWB.

After going for several weeks without ASyncWB, I have introduced AsyncWB 51.1 (30/04/2005) from update 3, and have not encountered any problems dragging files or drawers.

My WBStartUp drawer now contains AmiDock, DefIcons, RAWBInfo, ClickToFront, ASyncWB from update 3, Mixer v1.17 and LimpidClock v1.14.

Still having problems formatting CD-RW discs. Perhaps I need to try high speed ones instead of the 4X ones I have been trying.

As previously mentioned in other posts, I have been running my Maxtor hard drive in mode 69 (UDMA 5, 100 MB/s) since February 19, 2006 (except for a few hours on March 25).

On February 22, I encountered a bit error on my hard drive. Easily fixed by the repair function of Partition Wizard. No hard drive errors since.

I am presently using the ide driver pack released on April 1, 2006 by sg2.

---
redfox

MicroA1-C with 750 GX CPU and 256 MB RAM




Last edited by redfox on 22-Apr-2006 at 05:01 PM.
Last edited by redfox on 22-Apr-2006 at 04:59 PM.
Last edited by redfox on 22-Apr-2006 at 05:11 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
blmara 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 22-Apr-2006 7:02:21
#406 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 29-Jun-2003
Posts: 135
From: Vantaa, Finland

@TetiSoft

Here is a snippet from the Elmeter printing code (see the archive at OS4Depot for the whole source code):
---------------

if (bmap && li && vp && layer && success)
{
/* Write the headline underlined and bold */
ios->treq.io_Command = CMD_WRITE;
ios->treq.io_Data = "\033[1p\033[1m\033[4m";
ios->treq.io_Length = -1;
IExec->DoIO((struct IORequest *)ios);
if (titlebuffer)
{
sprintf(titlebuffer,GetString(&ElLoc,MSG_PRINT_MAINHEADLINE),yrr->year);
ios->treq.io_Data = titlebuffer;
IExec->DoIO((struct IORequest *)ios);
}
ios->treq.io_Data = "\n\n\n\033[0m";
IExec->DoIO((struct IORequest *)ios);
/* initialize IORequest parts (DumpRPortTags) */
ios->dreq.io_ColorMap = vp->ColorMap;
ios->dreq.io_Modes = vp->Modes;
ios->dreq.io_SrcX = ios->dreq.io_SrcY = 0;
ios->dreq.io_Command = PRD_DUMPRPORTTAGS;
ios->dreq.io_RastPort = layer->rp;
ios->dreq.io_TagList = NULL;
ios->dreq.io_SrcHeight = PRINTBMAPYSIZE;
ios->dreq.io_SrcWidth = PRINTBMAPXSIZE;
ios->dreq.io_DestCols = 0xAfff0000; /* print pic fitted for the paper width */
ios->dreq.io_DestRows = 0;
ios->dreq.io_Special = SPECIAL_CENTER|
SPECIAL_TRUSTME|
SPECIAL_FRACCOLS|
SPECIAL_FRACROWS|
SPECIAL_ASPECT|
SPECIAL_NOFORMFEED;
ios->dreq.io_TagList = AspectTags;

DrawGraph(layer->rp,vp->ColorMap,0,0,PRINTBMAPXSIZE,PRINTBMAPYSIZE,TRUE);
IExec->DoIO((struct IORequest *)ios);
}
if (success)
{
IExec->WaitIO((struct IORequest *)ios);
IExec->CloseDevice((struct IORequest *)ios);
}
if (prfile = fopen("PRT:","w"))
{
fprintf(prfile,"\033[1p"); /* proportional font off */
fprintf(prfile,"\033[1m\n\n\n"); /* bold on */
fprintf(prfile,GetString(&ElLoc,MSG_PRINT_METERREADINGS));
fprintf(prfile,"\n\n\033[0m\033[4m"); /* bold off, underline on */
/* the max width of the month name column is hardcoded as 12 chars */
fprintf(prfile,"%-12s %12s %12s %10s %13s\033[0m\n",
GetString(&ElLoc,MSG_PRINT_MONTH),
GetString(&ElLoc,MSG_PRINT_ELDAY),
GetString(&ElLoc,MSG_PRINT_ELNIGHT),
GetString(&ElLoc,MSG_PRINT_WATER),
GetString(&ElLoc,MSG_PRINT_DATE));
...
-----

So at least using the flags mentioned and the SPECIAL_CENTER shouldn't be erased before used.

Marko

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 22-Apr-2006 12:45:36
#407 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4411
From: Portsmouth England

@Swoop

Quote:

If I copy via workbench, I keep getting read errors from my music partition. If I check with partition wizard the partition comes up OK, but the files on the mp3 player are or appear to be corrupt.


This is exactly the problem I get with my Thinkpad USB drive which is currently ffs formated.

Copy large sets of files over, eventually causes a read error requester to popup indicating a read error from the source.
This also locks my syetem. However copy files via apod to my ipod has never yet caused this.

Happens both with C:COPY and Dopus4 copying, DOpus4 will occasionally give write errors on the usb drive.

I have never seen file name corruption though, but I use shortish file names.

AS I'm using FFS on the usb drive, crossdos is not an issue for me.

On seperate occasion copy files from my camera to the drive gave a read error on the camera, but the camera has no errors on its "disk".

This makes me suspect a subtle bug in the usb driver.


_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TetiSoft 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 22-Apr-2006 14:56:37
#408 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 3-Mar-2005
Posts: 585
From: Germany

@blmara

> Here is a snippet from the Elmeter printing code (see the archive at OS4Depot for the whole source code):

The snippet doesnt call PRD_SETERRHOOK, so any error message from the printer
driver gets lost.

The snippet doesnt check if the printer driver can print text before sending
text to the printer.

The snippet doesnt check if the printer driver can print graphics before sending
graphics to the printer.

The snippet sets io_Data only in an IORequest which was used before, IMHO it
should also set at least io_Length and io_Command instead of assuming that
printer.device didnt change those.

The snippet doesnt check the return code of DoIO(), which can result in an
additional "out of paper" requester for each DoIO() call which will annoy the
user.

The snippet calls WaitIO() after DoIO() which isnt necessary IMHO.

The snippet closes printer.device unit 0 and then opens PRT:, which assumes
that the PRT mountlist was not changed by the user (he can easily change the
PRT mountlist to use printer.device unit 7 which may result in using a completely
different printer, printer driver, printer port device and printer settings).

The snippet assumes that closing printer.device doesnt eject the paper which
is wrong, and that opening PRT: which opens printer.device which starts a
completely new print job doesnt forget the current settings.

> So at least using the flags mentioned and the SPECIAL_CENTER shouldn't be erased before used.

Please explain.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 23-Apr-2006 10:55:25
#409 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2157
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@broadblues

Quote:

Copy large sets of files over, eventually causes a read error requester to popup indicating a read error from the source.
This also locks my syetem. However copy files via apod to my ipod has never yet caused this.

Happens both with C:COPY and Dopus4 copying, DOpus4 will occasionally give write errors on the usb drive.
I had not set the sii0680ide_xfer variable (thanks sg2). Check that out.
Also I understand there is possibly a problem, which some have reported here, with the update#4 version of AsynchWB. Try using the update#3 version.

Quote:
I have never seen file name corruption though, but I use shortish file names.

AS I'm using FFS on the usb drive, crossdos is not an issue for me.

On seperate occasion copy files from my camera to the drive gave a read error on the camera, but the camera has no errors on its "disk".

This makes me suspect a subtle bug in the usb driver.

I am using my a1 to encode mp3's, and the mp3 player is fat formatted so I have to use crossdos. The mp3's are playable on the mp3 player but display the wrong name, and when I check the player on a pc (properties/check) I get the error about longfilenames not associated with files.

If I make sure all the files have a .mp3 file extension the player plays them correctlt even thougth the filenames are corrupt. Therefore I think this is a simple bug in the crossdos filenaming routines, but I also think, as you that there are still some problems with the usb implementation.

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Amigo1 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 27-Apr-2006 9:34:42
#410 ]
Super Member
Joined: 24-Jun-2004
Posts: 1568
From: the Clouds

@wegster

Had someone the experience of "Find" stopping its search before it searched
trough all the selected drives?
I'm using Find 51.1 from UPD4.

Almost everytime it stops as soon as one drive has been searched. It doesn't
matter on what order the drives ar selected..
even it seems it doesn't matter which FileSystem is used on the drive. SFS or
FFS2

anyone?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Snuffy 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 27-Apr-2006 19:10:53
#411 ]
Super Member
Joined: 25-Oct-2005
Posts: 1121
From: Michigan, USA

Hi @Amigo1

->'I'm using Find 51.1 from UPD4...

Same here. My Find prefs are set to blank devices:

I checked 3 partitions for example: OS4, Inet, ram

I put in a pattern like 'Amigo1' runs all devices,
tracking all files, but finds nothing.




_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Amigo1 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 28-Apr-2006 0:16:00
#412 ]
Super Member
Joined: 24-Jun-2004
Posts: 1568
From: the Clouds

@Snuffy

That's weird! I thought to be on every HD on this planet! :o)

seriously here find stops after one drive.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 28-Apr-2006 18:39:32
#413 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 10881
From: In the village

@Amigo1

I don't see "find" stopping its search either.
Regardless, if you would like to try an alternative, you might look at "DirScanner"
on Aminet. It has performed flawlessly under OS4 update#4 (so far) for me.

Don't know if this is relevant for you, but Fuzion started a thread before the
big issues thread was developed. I took this quote from here.
I hope any relevant info from the above thread also made it into the big issues thread.

Quote:
Quote:
Wegster: You can do this. Settings/Save Settings in the Find app once you deselt and/or add the paths you want...
? Strange... with my clean install, the added path is remove every time a quit/relaunch the find command, even if I save the setting. :?
Ahh heck, you're right. It does save which devices are selected for search, but it doesn't keep any additional paths added. Looks like a bug to me...?


#6

Last edited by number6 on 28-Apr-2006 at 07:40 PM.

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Chris_Y 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 28-Apr-2006 19:21:54
#414 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jun-2003
Posts: 3141
From: Beds, UK

@redfox

I'd like to add my "vote" to the ASyncWB bug. I had problems copying "large and many"* files from a FAT-formatted USB device until I reverted ASyncWB back to the Update 3 version.

Chris
* To be precise, one large 6MB file caused problems, and also copying a few ~1MB files in the same operation did the same thing. These were from two different USB devices.

_________________
"Miracles we do at once, the impossible takes a little longer" - AJS on Hyperion
Avatar is Tabitha by Eric W Schwartz

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Amigo1 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 29-Apr-2006 16:15:30
#415 ]
Super Member
Joined: 24-Jun-2004
Posts: 1568
From: the Clouds

@number6

thx, I will give DirScanner a try but
I'm more concerned about why "Find" stops. I'll try to find out.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TMTisFree 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 29-Apr-2006 16:20:56
#416 ]
Super Member
Joined: 6-Nov-2003
Posts: 1487
From: Nice, so nice

@wegster

The OS3.9 PlayCD is running again since
I use the driver pack by sg2.

Bye,
TMTisFree

_________________
The engineering approach to our non-problems: "build a better washer".
The scientific approach to our non-problems: "find a new energy source".
The environmentalist approach to our non-problems: "stop washing your shirts".

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ZeroG 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 9-Jul-2006 20:15:24
#417 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 16-Jul-2004
Posts: 544
From: Germany

MultiView does not display HAM8 IFF-ILBMs.
HAM6 and EHB ILBMs does work.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
stychokiller 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 13-Feb-2007 13:01:44
#418 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 18-Dec-2003
Posts: 213
From: Slayton, MN, USA

@wegster
Is there some setting in UBoot that will enable UBoot to find the CDROM?
It reports that the relevant ide # is unavailable, even with the original
OS4 CDROM in it. The CDROM drive works fine when I boot into OS4 pre-release 3.
The reason I ask is I would like to follow the installation instructions for the
final release to the letter, but it's impossible to do so if UBoot cannot
find the CDROM drive.
Alternatively, is there any reason why the final release cannot be installed from
the pre-release #3 workbench? I know what I'm doing (for the most part),
but I really do NOT want to mess up my working System partition, even though I
have a backup for it, especially if UBoot cannot find the CDROM drive. ???

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 13-Feb-2007 14:51:15
#419 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2157
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@stychokiller

You can install to a clean blank partition, but make sure you change your boot priorities before you re-boot.

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
stychokiller 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 14-Feb-2007 4:02:41
#420 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 18-Dec-2003
Posts: 213
From: Slayton, MN, USA

@Swoop
That may well be, but it still does not explain why UBoot does not recognize a valid
CDROM in the drive. Before the last accident that sent my motherboard to the AmigaCenter
hospital, I might have installed part of the Final Update onto the sys: partition
which might explain why the CDROM drive is no longer being recognized.
Perhaps what's needed is a list of the versions of the various *.kmod files
and which can be found in pre-release 3 & the final update, etc.
Thanks for responding.
Jim Steichen, Author of AmigaTalk (which I hope to re-write for Amiga OS4).

[edit] What a bunch of gibberish! The Sys: partition has nothing to do with
UBoot's problems!

Last edited by stychokiller on 14-Feb-2007 at 04:18 AM.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle