Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5828 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
20 crawler(s) on-line.
 14 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 ebtigger:  20 mins ago
 billt:  29 mins ago
 Dragoon:  1 hr 2 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  1 hr 43 mins ago
 Steady:  3 hrs 39 mins ago
 Hammer:  3 hrs 51 mins ago
 noXLar:  4 hrs 21 mins ago
 A1200coder:  5 hrs 14 mins ago
 colinw:  5 hrs 15 mins ago
 gryfon:  5 hrs 26 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 Next Page )
PosterThread
jahc 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 10-Feb-2006 23:03:47
#61 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-May-2003
Posts: 2959
From: Auckland, New Zealand

@wegster

PROBELM: I cant change prefs for GUI, wbpattern, or screenmode, while the screenblankerengine is active. I have to quit it first.

Actually, wbpattern sortof works, but with all three prefs programs I just mentioned, it brings up a requester saying "Intuition is attempting to reset the Workbench screen. Please close all windows except drawers" over and over, appearing and disappearing by itself until you eventually manage?to click cancel.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
lylehaze 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 10-Feb-2006 23:04:09
#62 ]
Super Member
Joined: 1-Sep-2004
Posts: 1128
From: North Florida - Big Bend area.

@wegster

New Issue..??
Disappearing USB devices?
One MIDI interface works great, the other can't even
get started. Plug it in and get the "USB Attachment" window, all
blank except for "Attachment Failed".
Device doesn't even show up in USBInspector.

It was there and working great in Up3.
A similar device disappeared from an XE machine recently.
Both devices made by Behringer. A BCR-2000 and a BCF-2000

Does this match with any existing bug reports, or
is it something new? Any ideas from you young & smart types?

Thanks,
LyleHaze

_________________
question=(2b||!(2b))

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
lylehaze 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 10-Feb-2006 23:07:13
#63 ]
Super Member
Joined: 1-Sep-2004
Posts: 1128
From: North Florida - Big Bend area.

@jahc

I had thay happen here, but didn't figure out that it was the
screenblanker engine..
Something else I learned today!

I'd better slow down, I have limited resources for daily
intellectual intake.

LyleHaze

_________________
question=(2b||!(2b))

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AmiGame 
Re: Sound Problem with Update 4 - Solved !
Posted on 10-Feb-2006 23:07:15
#64 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 23-Mar-2004
Posts: 3599
From: Peterborough, UK, Planet Earth (I think...)

@Thread

The problem I was having with Sound is now sorted.
How? I don't know... It's just work.
AmiNetRadio which refuse to work for me with Update 3 (I had to use TuneNet) now works even better than TuneNet ever did !
TuneNet doesn't work anymore... Sound is too "Cracky"...

Jerry

_________________
- AOS has been ported to ex-86 ! It's called AROS and WinUAE... Or E-UAE on Linux !

- A1XE-G4 up and runing with:
512MB Ram / 200GB and 80GB HardDisks on Sii0680.
AOS4 Final Update / AmiZilla 0.1 Alpha

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DoodooHead 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 10-Feb-2006 23:18:26
#65 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 641
From: Reno, Nevada, U.S.

@lylehaze

Possible clue as to the USB problem... In RAM:T/usb.log ...

"[020ADDA8] USB stack Process | Open HCD | ! Unable to open "uhci.usbhcd.debug" unit 0"

Why is it trying to open a debug version? Is it supposed to be openning a non-debug version? What is the consequence of not openning such a file?

_________________
Amiga user since 1985.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
lylehaze 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 10-Feb-2006 23:26:40
#66 ]
Super Member
Joined: 1-Sep-2004
Posts: 1128
From: North Florida - Big Bend area.

@DoodooHead

Indeed, I'll raise you a "Fkt Failed"

almost what I said when it happened!

2.RAM Disk:T> type usb.log
[02A1F620] USB stack | | ==========
[02A1F620] USB stack | | USB System Software Task started
[02A1B100] USB stack Process | | USB System Software Process started.
[02A1B100] USB stack Process | | Info logging disabled
[02A1B100] USB stack Process | Open HCD | ! Unable to open "uhci.usbhcd.debug" unit 0
[0176B550] USB Fkt Init | Init Fkt | ! Error -32 reading Device Status
[0176B550] USB Fkt Init | Init Fkt | ! Init failed.
[0176B550] USB Fkt Init | Init Fkt Setup | ! Fkt attachment failed
2.RAM Disk:T>

_________________
question=(2b||!(2b))

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
syrtran 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 10-Feb-2006 23:37:24
#67 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 27-Apr-2003
Posts: 835
From: Farther upstate than Upstate NY

@wegster

Not a problem, just a "gotcha".

I installed pre4 on a clean partition and booted. I started playing around to see what programs worked better and eventually got to Amp2. It played the video very well, but no sound!.

Oops! Waitaminute! I'm one of the lucky few with the onboard AC97 chip. A quick look at SYS:storage on both the OS4 partition and the CD showed that the VIA drivers weren't included. Now that I think about it, the install script didn't know about them either. Well, a quick copy from the backup (or I could've gone to OS4Depot) and I'm back to being happy.

Hey Hyperion: Davy spent years developing this driver. Shouldn't it be on the OS4 for A1 CD?

_________________
Tony T.

People who generalize are always wrong.


1989 - 500 / 1991 - 3000 / 1997 - Genesis Flyer 1200T / 2003 - A1XE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 10-Feb-2006 23:40:21
# ]

0
0

@lylehaze

Quote:
[02A1B100] USB stack Process | Open HCD | ! Unable to open "uhci.usbhcd.debug" unit 0
Delete uhci.usbhcd.debug.

 
     Report this post  
FuZion 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 11-Feb-2006 0:18:54
#69 ]
Super Member
Joined: 22-Nov-2003
Posts: 1962
From: Birmingham, England

@DaveN

That's right. Confused me like mad. I found it behind either Exchange or NoCapLock. I thought I was losing it because Find was telling me it was there. A quick clean up & all was revealed.

FuZion.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
lylehaze 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 11-Feb-2006 0:31:07
#70 ]
Super Member
Joined: 1-Sep-2004
Posts: 1128
From: North Florida - Big Bend area.

@joerg

Thank You!

One less error from the USB log.
I think everyone will have that one.

Unfortunately, I still can't attach my Behringer.

The latest:
4.RAM Disk:T> type usb.log
[02902E90] USB stack | | ==========
[02902E90] USB stack | | USB System Software Task started
[028FF900] USB stack Process | | USB System Software Process started.
[028FF900] USB stack Process | | Info logging disabled
[02A165D0] USB Fkt Init | Init Fkt | ! Error -32 reading Device Status
[02A165D0] USB Fkt Init | Init Fkt | ! Init failed.
[02A165D0] USB Fkt Init | Init Fkt Setup | ! Fkt attachment failed
4.RAM Disk:T>

_________________
question=(2b||!(2b))

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Snuffy 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 11-Feb-2006 1:07:05
#71 ]
Super Member
Joined: 25-Oct-2005
Posts: 1121
From: Michigan, USA

@wegster

-> "@thread

Keep 'em coming, will update with the new additions after work today...

________

This file is out-of-date :OS4 AmigaOS40_CD:OS4InstallGuide/Section3.html
Since the UBoot update to 1.1.1 from March 2005, 'ide reset' requires a number
0 for VIA internal ide, or 1 for SiliconImage external ide:

Bootup for Installion CD with VIA IDE after ']' prompt

ide reset 0
setenv boot1 cdrom
boota


Are Carl Moppett -- jurassicC-- and Kelvin Shirley -- gemini--still the maintainers?



_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
FuZion 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 11-Feb-2006 1:42:16
#72 ]
Super Member
Joined: 22-Nov-2003
Posts: 1962
From: Birmingham, England

@wegster

With the tooltype INTERRUPT=YES on DEVS:Monitors/Radeon. Life is fast. Too fast it seems. Wipeout 2097 & the MatrixGL blanker, the screens flicker as if display wasn't in sync with the monitor (Like seeing a monitor on a TV program).

Wipeout 2097 can overcome this by using Triple Buffer but I don't know of a way with MatrixGL.

glquake_aos4 doesn't seem to have the problem.

(Extra info on Wipeout 2097: Running at a resolution of 1280x1024 I'm getting near 50fps now! )


The Screen Blanker doesn't listen to AmigaInput, as a result playing a game like Wipeout gets interupted by the blanker. At the moment, you need to disable it if you're going to use AmigaInput.

I imagine in time programs will use application.library to tell the blanker to keep quiet but for older things like Wipeout...

FuZion.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tonyw 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 11-Feb-2006 2:00:51
#73 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 3200
From: Sydney (of course)

@wegster

[Re MUI classes]

OS4Depot versions are fine.

_________________
cheers
tony

Hyperion Support Forum: http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz/index.php

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
RacerX 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 11-Feb-2006 2:03:05
#74 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1158
From: Parts Unknown, USA

@wegster

You might want to make this post 'Sticky' so it stays at the top of the screen.

_________________
'unfixed' A1XE, 512mb RAM, plug-in USB card, Sil 0680 IDE card, Radeon 9250, built-in sound, OS4.1 update 5.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 11-Feb-2006 2:17:27
#75 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4411
From: Portsmouth England

@tonyw

Quote:

Probably Picasso96Mode will disappear in the near future. It's much too low-level for most people.


I hope not! Using it. got me much less flickery high resolution screens on my relativley cheep monitor.
Please leave it for those of us that do know what we are doing, (or at least think we do )

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Xenic 
Re: Sound Problem with Update 4
Posted on 11-Feb-2006 5:06:21
#76 ]
Super Member
Joined: 2-Feb-2004
Posts: 1245
From: Pennsylvania, USA

@Stephen_Robinson
Quote:

So did I! D'oh! But only after I'd dug out the old tools/keyshow, the PR4 one dosn't seem to work.


It certainly works differently. When you click on keys it has the same effect as clicking the key in the keyboard. For example in you activate another WB window and then click on the arrow keys, the scrollers in the window move. If you click on the Help key a WB help window opens. I think it's much cooler than the old version. I just opened a TurboText window and when I click on letters in the Keyshow window, they are typed into the TurbboText window. I wouldn't toss out the new KeyShow yet.


_________________
X1000 with 2GB memory & OS4.1FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
MichaelMerkel 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 11-Feb-2006 9:54:55
#77 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 9-Mar-2003
Posts: 812
From: Ilvesheim, Germany

@jahc

Quote:
PROBELM: I cant change prefs for GUI, wbpattern, or screenmode, while the screenblankerengine is active. I have to quit it first.


i contacted the author about this two days ago - but no reply yet.

byebye...

_________________
Michael Merkel
(Michael.Merkel@gmx.net Home)
Member of Amiga-Freunde Pfalz, OS4 Welt

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Stephen_Robinson 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 11-Feb-2006 10:26:24
#78 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Apr-2005
Posts: 1991
From: UK

I had trouble running GLQuake, the program ran, there was sound but my LG Flatron l1715S LCD monitor said scan rate was wrong, change the data type on the monoitor to:

BOARDTYPE=Radeon
CMPLENGTH=6
(BORDERBLANK=Yes)
(BIGSPRITE=Yes)
(SOFTSPRITE=Yes)
IGNOREMASK=Yes
(DISPLAYCHAIN=Yes)
FAKENATIVEMODES=No
VSYNCMIN=60
VSYNCMAX=85
HSYNCMIN=31500
HSYNCMAX=64000
MODE=640x480@60
MODE=800x600@60
MODE=1024x768@60
MODE=1280x1024@60
SETTINGSFILE=SYS:Devs/Picasso96Settings

ie the modes to @60, Quake now runs.. I think that's what I need to do to fix it.

_________________
Rage quited 29th May 2011

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TMTisFree 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 11-Feb-2006 10:34:24
#79 ]
Super Member
Joined: 6-Nov-2003
Posts: 1487
From: Nice, so nice

@wegster

Not a pb per se, but there is no SCSI
driver in the upd4.

Bye,
TMTisFree

_________________
The engineering approach to our non-problems: "build a better washer".
The scientific approach to our non-problems: "find a new energy source".
The environmentalist approach to our non-problems: "stop washing your shirts".

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TMTisFree 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 11-Feb-2006 10:37:44
#80 ]
Super Member
Joined: 6-Nov-2003
Posts: 1487
From: Nice, so nice

@wegster

Another thing: the file 'partition.g.main'
is installed to Sys:classes/ and not in
Sys:classes/gadgets/ where is the
'partition.gadget'.

Solution: move it

Bye,
TMTisFree

_________________
The engineering approach to our non-problems: "build a better washer".
The scientific approach to our non-problems: "find a new energy source".
The environmentalist approach to our non-problems: "stop washing your shirts".

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle