Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5703 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 23 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 Hypex,  Wizzard_o

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Hypex:  5 secs ago
 Wizzard_o:  54 secs ago
 AmigaBlitter:  9 mins ago
 Fl@sh:  12 mins ago
 ferrels:  22 mins ago
 K-L:  42 mins ago
 tekmage:  1 hr 5 mins ago
 Trekiej:  2 hrs 24 mins ago
 Barret:  2 hrs 57 mins ago
 m0lebrain:  3 hrs 34 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga General Chat
      /  Benchmarks time! (UPDATED) :D (COME ON X5000 users!)
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 Next Page )
PosterThread
tlosm 
Re: Benchmarks time! :D
Posted on 28-Nov-2014 20:40:05
#101 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2471
From: Amiga land

It is the right prometheus

mplayer -benchmark -nosound -ao null -vo null -lavdopts skiploopfilter=none /Users/intermediadc/Downloads/prometheus-trailer/Prometheus\ -\ Trailer.mp4 MPlayer 1.1-4.2.1 (C) 2000-2012 MPlayer Team192 audio & 400 video codecsCan't init Apple Remote.
Playing /Users/intermediadc/Downloads/prometheus-trailer/Prometheus - Trailer.mp4.libavformat version 54.6.101 (internal)libavformat file format detected.[lavf] stream 0: video (h264), -vid 0[lavf] stream 1: audio (aac), -aid 0, -alang eng
VIDEO: [H264] 1920x816 24bpp 90000.000 fps 6828.3 kbps (833.5 kbyte/s)
Clip info:
major_brand: mp42
minor_version: 0
compatible_brands: mp42isomavc1
creation_time: 2011-12-23 08:24:51
genre: Trailer
artist: 20th Fox
title: Prometheus - Trailer
encoder: HandBrake 4344svn 2011111001
date: 2012
Load subtitles in /Users/intermediadc/Downloads/prometheus-trailer/
==========================================================================
Opening video decoder: [ffmpeg] FFmpeg's libavcodec codec family
libavcodec version 54.23.100 (internal)
Selected video codec: [ffh264] vfm: ffmpeg (FFmpeg H.264)
==========================================================================
Audio: no sound
Starting playback...
Unsupported PixelFormat 61
Unsupported PixelFormat 53
Unsupported PixelFormat 81
Movie-Aspect is 2.35:1 - prescaling to correct movie aspect.
VO: [null] 1920x816 => 1920x816 Planar YV12
V: 69.3 0/ 0 56% 0% 0.0% 0 0


BENCHMARKs: VC: 39.215s VO: 0.003s A: 0.000s Sys: 0.688s = 39.906s
BENCHMARK%: VC: 98.2681% VO: 0.0081% A: 0.0000% Sys: 1.7238% = 100.0000%

Exiting... (End of file)




note only one core of four and no altivec i check in options

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Pecosbil 
Re: Benchmarks time! :D
Posted on 29-Nov-2014 10:38:26
#102 ]
Member
Joined: 11-Mar-2003
Posts: 79
From: Rovaniemi, Finland

@tlosm

These are from my main MorphOS machine (PowerMac G5 970FX@2GHz):

BENCHMARKs: VC: 48.719s VO: 0.007s A: 0.000s Sys: 1.074s = 49.800s
BENCHMARK%: VC: 97.8293% VO: 0.0148% A: 0.0000% Sys: 2.1559% = 100.0000%

It's about 20% slower than your quad...I'm a little bit surprised, that the 970MP isn't faster than that.
Well, the G5 wasn't a top-of-the-line performer in 2005 either. For example, a machine equipped with Athlon 64 3800+ is about twice as fast in this benchmark.

This is from my 6 years old Intel machine (Core2Duo E8400@4GHz):

BENCHMARKs: VC: 12.909s VO: 0.000s A: 0.000s Sys: 0.278s = 13.187s
BENCHMARK%: VC: 97.8919% VO: 0.0000% A: 0.0000% Sys: 2.1081% = 100.0000%

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rob 
Re: Benchmarks time! :D
Posted on 29-Nov-2014 10:46:56
#103 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Mar-2003
Posts: 5657
From: S.Wales

Has anyone been benching the network speed. I got about 20Mbit/s using the bench built into Sysmon.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: Benchmarks time! :D
Posted on 29-Nov-2014 11:07:48
#104 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2471
From: Amiga land

@Pecosbil

For sure because your mplayer is using altivec like all the porting on Morphos .
An example on linux PPc i have Lame encoding at 11x on Lame altivec on OSx 25x..


Quote:
This is from my 6 years old Intel machine

How much cpu is using mplayer there ... and for sure is optimized for mmx/sse instruction.. i have to see if i can find some port optimized for altivec

I found my mplayer from macports just compiled it and is really generic port no Altivec and only one Core of 4

PS: my quad is 10y old :)

Edit im making a new altivec optimized version :) ... soon the benchmark "if everything will right in my compile"

Last edited by tlosm on 29-Nov-2014 at 11:29 AM.
Last edited by tlosm on 29-Nov-2014 at 11:11 AM.
Last edited by tlosm on 29-Nov-2014 at 11:10 AM.
Last edited by tlosm on 29-Nov-2014 at 11:10 AM.
Last edited by tlosm on 29-Nov-2014 at 11:10 AM.
Last edited by tlosm on 29-Nov-2014 at 11:09 AM.
Last edited by tlosm on 29-Nov-2014 at 11:09 AM.
Last edited by tlosm on 29-Nov-2014 at 11:08 AM.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Pecosbil 
Re: Benchmarks time! :D
Posted on 29-Nov-2014 12:20:04
#105 ]
Member
Joined: 11-Mar-2003
Posts: 79
From: Rovaniemi, Finland

@tlosm

Quote:
For sure because your mplayer is using altivec like all the porting on Morphos .
An example on linux PPc i have Lame encoding at 11x on Lame altivec on OSx 25x..


I've tried a few different builds for OSX as well, one of them was supposed to be G5 optimized.
I uploaded them here, you can try them if they make any difference. None of them, however, match the speed of the MorphOS counterpart - I quess that's the advantage running it in a lightweight OS...

Quote:
How much cpu is using mplayer there ... and for sure is optimized for mmx/sse instruction


I used a generic mplayer build. I tried the specific core2 builds, but they were only slightly faster. In other words: CPU only and only 1 core was utilized.

Quote:
PS: my quad is 10y old :)


Well, if we're splitting hairs it's about 9 years old...first G5 Quads were released in late 2005.
But, like I wrote above, even an average AMD machine from the same era is almost twice as fast than a 2GHz G5 (in this benchmark).

Last edited by Pecosbil on 29-Nov-2014 at 12:21 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Tuxedo 
Re: Benchmarks time! :D
Posted on 29-Nov-2014 12:27:24
#106 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Nov-2003
Posts: 2284
From: Perugia, ITALY

@ALL

Can anyone plz with WinUAE with ppc support and AmigaOS 4.use LoView to test load time of 8 and 12 mpx images?

Thank you!

_________________
Simone"Tuxedo"Monsignori, Perugia, ITALY.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: Benchmarks time! :D
Posted on 29-Nov-2014 12:32:46
#107 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8637
From: Unknown

@Tuxedo

Any particular image to test?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: Benchmarks time! :D
Posted on 29-Nov-2014 12:51:50
#108 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2471
From: Amiga land

@Pecosbil

For sure Morphos is more faster and optimized compared the 10.5.x ... and if i think i never will know how will be the G5 working with an Osx in 64bit it make me really nervous... Debian/lubuntu make me understand how much can do and perform this machine.

with your Mplayer exe

BENCHMARKs: VC: 38.661s VO: 0.005s A: 0.000s Sys: 0.668s = 39.334s
BENCHMARK%: VC: 98.2890% VO: 0.0135% A: 0.0000% Sys: 1.6975% = 100.0000%

The old :
BENCHMARKs: VC: 43.032s VO: 0.004s A: 0.000s Sys: 0.807s = 43.843s
BENCHMARK%: VC: 98.1500% VO: 0.0087% A: 0.0000% Sys: 1.8413% = 100.0000%


Debian

BENCHMARKs: VC: 39.834s VO: 0.005s A: 0.000s Sys: 0.375s = 40.214s
BENCHMARK%: VC: 99.0549% VO: 0.0133% A: 0.0000% Sys: 0.9317% = 100.0000%

Last edited by tlosm on 29-Nov-2014 at 01:27 PM.
Last edited by tlosm on 29-Nov-2014 at 12:57 PM.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Tuxedo 
Re: Benchmarks time! :D
Posted on 29-Nov-2014 13:31:38
#109 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Nov-2003
Posts: 2284
From: Perugia, ITALY

@pavlor

Try that:

http://www.v12-gt.com/var/v12gt/storage/images/galerie/galeries-photos/galeries-gt/alfa-romeo/alfa-romeo-8c-spider-blanc-jante/60416-1-fre-FR/Alfa-Romeo-8C-Spider-blanc-jante.jpg

And that:

http://photojournal.jpl.nasa.gov/jpeg/PIA08353.jpg

If you can't load the image try the "USEWPA" Tooltype...

Thank.you!

_________________
Simone"Tuxedo"Monsignori, Perugia, ITALY.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: Benchmarks time! :D
Posted on 29-Nov-2014 14:49:45
#110 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8637
From: Unknown

@Tuxedo

LoView refuses to load these images - unsupported format - and locks up. Loading other images (eg. mediacube backgrounds) works fine. Isn´t low Fast RAM problem there?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Tuxedo 
Re: Benchmarks time! :D
Posted on 29-Nov-2014 15:25:12
#111 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Nov-2003
Posts: 2284
From: Perugia, ITALY

@pavlor

Plz try to download some 10mpx images from different sources and tell me results(be sure to check same size)

_________________
Simone"Tuxedo"Monsignori, Perugia, ITALY.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: Benchmarks time! :D
Posted on 29-Nov-2014 15:59:32
#112 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2471
From: Amiga land

@Pecosbil

Download Cinebench 11.5 and run it on cpu only bench for your G5 and on your Intel same you can do with geekbench2 there you will have a good speed comparison :)
I will do the same from my quad and after you can make comparisons :P

Last edited by tlosm on 29-Nov-2014 at 04:06 PM.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: Benchmarks time! :D
Posted on 29-Nov-2014 16:25:39
#113 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8637
From: Unknown

@Tuxedo

LoView seems to not work with such big images for me. Maybe more than 69 MB Fast RAM is needed? Even IBrowse wasn´t able to display your pictures (other 4000x3000 were displayed without problem - still no luck in LoView).

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Tuxedo 
Re: Benchmarks time! :D
Posted on 29-Nov-2014 16:30:01
#114 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Nov-2003
Posts: 2284
From: Perugia, ITALY

@pavlor

Mmm...
Tried multiview and or some other image viewer like warpview?


EDIT: however 69 mb fast ram was really few memory...any way ti get some.more with WonUAE?

Or maybe setting a swap partition in os4?

Last edited by Tuxedo on 29-Nov-2014 at 04:31 PM.

_________________
Simone"Tuxedo"Monsignori, Perugia, ITALY.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: Benchmarks time! :D
Posted on 29-Nov-2014 16:38:38
#115 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8637
From: Unknown

@Tuxedo

Quote:
...any way ti get some.more with WonUAE?


No way, until Hyperion supports Z3 RAM as normal fast RAM. Blizzard603e emulation allows up to 256 MB Fast RAM, but it is too slow to be useable (1/10 speed of CyberstormPPC emulation).

Quote:
Tried multiview and or some other image viewer like warpview?


It seems to be low memory problem - there was out of memory alert with one image I tried, then lock up.

Quote:
Or maybe setting a swap partition in os4?


I use Z3 RAM as SWAP, but it isn´t reliable - using SWAP leads in most cases to system freeze.

Can I try some smaller image.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Pecosbil 
Re: Benchmarks time! :D
Posted on 29-Nov-2014 16:47:40
#116 ]
Member
Joined: 11-Mar-2003
Posts: 79
From: Rovaniemi, Finland

@tlosm

Quote:
Download Cinebench 11.5 and run it on cpu only bench for your G5 and on your Intel same you can do with geekbench2 there you will have a good speed comparison :)
I will do the same from my quad and after you can make comparisons :P


Already done it a few years ago...let's see if I can dig up the numbers.
One thing though, you can't use anything newer than Cinebench R10 - PPC isn't supported anymore in newer releases.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: Benchmarks time! :D
Posted on 29-Nov-2014 17:00:19
#117 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2471
From: Amiga land

@Pecosbil

Naa i have the 11.5 :)
check here :)

 photo cine2_zps2f27b153.jpg

HERE ALL THE BENCH! Geekbench too


Compare my Quad with Macpro 1.1 :) or with iMac (Mid 2007) Intel
http://www.primatelabs.com/blog/2008/06/mac-performance-june-2008/

Last edited by tlosm on 29-Nov-2014 at 05:05 PM.
Last edited by tlosm on 29-Nov-2014 at 05:03 PM.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Tuxedo 
Re: Benchmarks time! :D
Posted on 29-Nov-2014 17:01:37
#118 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Nov-2003
Posts: 2284
From: Perugia, ITALY

@pavlor

Plz.look what was larger image loadable....

PS why blizzards emu was so slow?

_________________
Simone"Tuxedo"Monsignori, Perugia, ITALY.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: Benchmarks time! :D
Posted on 29-Nov-2014 17:33:02
#119 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8637
From: Unknown

@Tuxedo

Quote:
Plz.look what was larger image loadable....


1920x1080 was fine. Enough?

Quote:
PS why blizzards emu was so slow?


Strange indeed. I think only CyberstormPPC emulation was properly tested.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Tuxedo 
Re: Benchmarks time! :D
Posted on 29-Nov-2014 19:34:19
#120 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Nov-2003
Posts: 2284
From: Perugia, ITALY

@pavlor

plz try the bigger you can load...1080p wasnt so much honestly...

_________________
Simone"Tuxedo"Monsignori, Perugia, ITALY.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright © 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle