Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6035 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
79 crawler(s) on-line.
 18 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  44 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  1 hr 17 mins ago
 bhabbott:  1 hr 32 mins ago
 ggw:  1 hr 55 mins ago
 agami:  3 hrs 9 mins ago
 tygre:  3 hrs 52 mins ago
 RobertB:  3 hrs 54 mins ago
 RTK0103:  4 hrs 1 min ago
 dframeli:  4 hrs 19 mins ago
 amigakit:  4 hrs 34 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga General Chat
      /  MAP == A-Eon.com?
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45 | 46 | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 Next Page )
PosterThread
Mr-Z 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 17:23:40
#981 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 24-May-2005
Posts: 187
From: De Keistad, Netherlands

@RodTerl

Quote:

By the way.. in 1997, Kefrens released Desert Dreams, which at one point, has 12 Thousand smoothly manipulated points, in 3D space, on teh 7 Mhz, 1Mip 68k CPU. Modern Radeon HD48, 58 series GPUs are a Million times more powerful.


Actually Kefrens relased desert dream in 1993.............

_________________
Amiga is additive coz it is fun to use

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TheDaddy 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 17:27:15
#982 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2005
Posts: 4499
From: Quattro Stelle

@tomazkid

Thanks for replying.

So is this slot called Xorro an advancement on Zorro slots?

Can more than one pci express gfx card be installed? I suppose at 8x instead of 16x like on other pcs?

Anything else? What is this Xena everyone is talking about? Is this an official name from Hyperion?

Do we wait until tomorrow for the CPU and how long is this game going on for?


Last edited by TheDaddy on 03-Jan-2010 at 05:28 PM.

_________________
www.loriano.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
billt 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 17:31:53
#983 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Oct-2003
Posts: 3203
From: Maryland, USA

@Antique

Quote:
Lets hope it's not a laptop.


The only new hardware that I do want is laptop. I do not want yet another desktop. I want something portable. We've since seen that it is a desktop, so congratulations to you, but yet again those of us wanting laptops are left out in the cold.

_________________
All glory to the Hypnotoad!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DAX 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 17:33:18
#984 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2009
Posts: 2790
From: Italy

@TheDaddy
Well their page has "next clue->" HTML pages until the 5th of January (but they could add more of course )

_________________
SamFlex Complete 800Mhz System + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 4
Amiga 2000 DKB 2MB ChipRam GVP G-Force040 Picasso 2 OS3.9 BB2
AmigaCD 32

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Wol 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 17:33:47
#985 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 974
From: UK.......Sol 3.



Why no activity on Amigans.net ?


Wol.



_________________
It is my conviction that killing under the cloak of war is nothing but an act of murder.~Albert Einstein

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
stone 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 17:33:51
#986 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 25-Aug-2004
Posts: 102
From: Copenhagen, Denmark

@NEO
Quote:
All hardware is dated. Period. Xeon is not owned by Microsoft. It's a processor manufactured by Intel and used both in PC's and Macs.

what kind of nonsense is that? besides the fact that not all hardware is dated, its utterly irrelevant to any extend that xeon is an intel cpu- xenon is a powerpc based cpu used in the xbox, ordered and owned by microsoft for the sole purpose of powering their console.

Quote:
Because its "dated", it might be coming available outside xbox manufacturing.

i dont think it makes sense to even consider the xenon. its by all accounts unavailable with an owner that only stands to loose if others took use of it.

they have no reason what so ever to ever let others use it. it doesnt provide any features you couldnt easily get by approaching ibm yourself and ask them to design you something similar. not to mention, going straight to ibm for a new design would most likely be cheaper than getting microsoft to sell xenon.

/stone

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
MZ 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 17:33:56
#987 ]
Member
Joined: 23-Dec-2004
Posts: 70
From: Unknown

@QuBe

"Who will be the first to let lose a massive BANANA dance party?"

Dancing bananas are so retro... I'd like to see dancing Xenas

Last edited by MZ on 03-Jan-2010 at 05:37 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
arnljot 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 17:34:59
#988 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2007
Posts: 159
From: Oslo

I think this thread is "sucking" all amiga activity out of all the other forums out there...

_________________
A posting a day keeps the sanity away...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DAX 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 17:35:55
#989 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2009
Posts: 2790
From: Italy

@billt
Any modern computer that cannot equip a latest generation Graphic card (which remember will also be used for standard calculations from now on, thanks to OpenCL) is for the ladies...

_________________
SamFlex Complete 800Mhz System + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 4
Amiga 2000 DKB 2MB ChipRam GVP G-Force040 Picasso 2 OS3.9 BB2
AmigaCD 32

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DiscreetFX 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 17:37:00
#990 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-Feb-2003
Posts: 2184
From: Chicago, IL

@MZ


Last edited by DiscreetFX on 03-Jan-2010 at 05:37 PM.

_________________
Sent from my Quantum Computer.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TheDaddy 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 17:37:01
#991 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2005
Posts: 4499
From: Quattro Stelle

@Wol

>>Why no activity on Amigans.net ?

I have noticed that too and a few posts on amiga.org

_________________
www.loriano.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Zylesea 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 17:37:34
#992 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 16-Mar-2004
Posts: 2222
From: Ostwestfalen, FRG

@billt

I guess the best bet for an "Amiga laptop" will be a Powerbook driven by MorphOS. But I don't expect that before autumn.

_________________
My programs: www.via-altera.de
MorphOS user since V0.4 (2001)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TheDaddy 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 17:38:20
#993 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2005
Posts: 4499
From: Quattro Stelle

@DAX

>>Any modern computer that cannot equip a latest generation Graphic card (which remember will also be used for standard calculations from now on, thanks to OpenCL) is for the ladies...


I would rephrase that...

What is Xena!?

_________________
www.loriano.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Kronos 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 17:39:09
#994 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 2242
From: Unknown

@tomazkid

Actually it's only 2GB while the Amiga-API is used (due to the use of negative return-values as error-codes).

_________________
- We don't need good ideas, we haven't run out on bad ones yet
- blame Canada

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fransexy 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 17:41:52
#995 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Jun-2004
Posts: 2334
From: Elche (Alicante), spain

@MZ

Quote:

MZ wrote:
@QuBe

"Who will be the first to let lose a massive BANANA dance party?"

Dancing bananas are so retro... I'd like to see dancing Xenas





_________________
No PowerPC, No Fun
Make Amiga Great Again

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Amiga_3k 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 17:42:05
#996 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Jun-2006
Posts: 830
From: Ohrid, Macedonia

@TheDaddy

Quote:
What is Xena!?


The über-woman or über-grilfriend / über-Amiga

_________________
Back home...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
MZ 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 17:42:46
#997 ]
Member
Joined: 23-Dec-2004
Posts: 70
From: Unknown

Dancing Xena's!!!


 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Troels 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 17:43:10
#998 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 2004
From: Unknown

@billt
I really hoped for a laptop as well but I think the majority in here wants (fast, expandable!) desktops and it looks like their wishes were heard as this seem to be the perfect AmigaOS4 board.
Depending on the price of course I might be tempted to put my A1 to rest and get one of these beasts, but let's see what more Hyperion has in store for us.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
JurassicC 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 17:43:37
#999 ]
Super Member
Joined: 13-Mar-2003
Posts: 1441
From: Somerset, UK

@mpiva

Quote:

mpiva wrote:

- I also think Xena interfaces with Xorro to allow for custom/legacy expansion cards.


I can't see how legacy zorro cards would work on that board as it doesn't seem the mechanics fit, if those are zorro slots it would mean zorro cards would stick out the back of the machine a good deal.

It would have to be a bridge board that located the zorro slot right to front of the board to it didn't pretrude out of the case.

Similar to this

http://www.amiga-hardware.com/showhardware.cgi?HARDID=1386

Then with a bridge board you have all the extra height it would need which might require a chunky wide case like the power tower ?

Who knows ......

_________________
A1200T 603e 330Mhz - Mediator TX OS4.1 F.E.
CDTV 8MB Fast, OS3.1, SCSI, MicroSD SCSI & CD32 FMV
X5000, X1000, A1XE with OS4.1F.E.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BinoX 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 17:43:47
#1000 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 2-Nov-2005
Posts: 711
From: Cornwall, UK

@Fransexy

_________________
Back to action!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45 | 46 | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle