Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5771 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
79 crawler(s) on-line.
 23 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 kolla:  8 mins ago
 BigD:  10 mins ago
 sibbi:  16 mins ago
 remotenemesis:  22 mins ago
 outlawal2:  45 mins ago
 matthey:  54 mins ago
 Trixie:  1 hr 7 mins ago
 tygre:  1 hr 9 mins ago
 kingalisah121:  1 hr 21 mins ago
 thomas:  1 hr 22 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  Official AW.Net X1000 Q and A Thread
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 Next Page )
PosterThread
bernd_afa 
Re: Official AW.Net X1000 Q and A Thread
Posted on 19-Aug-2011 13:38:41
#121 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Apr-2006
Posts: 829
From: Unknown

>Varisys VM31 board
>http://www.varisys.co.uk/vm31.html

today i click the link a 404 error happen site was not found.
So i look what pa6 products they have.

http://www.varisys.co.uk/products.html

I search this page for pa6 but i find nothing.where are the pa6 systems ?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mechanic 
Re: Official AW.Net X1000 Q and A Thread
Posted on 19-Aug-2011 15:49:13
#122 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 27-Jul-2003
Posts: 2007
From: Unknown

@bernd_afa

Quote:

bernd_afa wrote:
>Varisys VM31 board

today i click the link a 404 error happen site was not found.
So i look what pa6 products they have.



They may have stopped production of the board, if only temporary, to concentrate
on the X1000.

Try this LINK

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AlexC 
Re: Official AW.Net X1000 Q and A Thread
Posted on 19-Aug-2011 15:58:03
#123 ]
Super Member
Joined: 22-Jan-2004
Posts: 1296
From: City of Lost Angels, California.

@bernd_afa

The simplest explanation would be that all their PA6T chips have been set aside for the X1000 production so they discontinued the VM31.

_________________
AlexC's free OS4 software collection

AmigaOne XE/X1000/X5000/UAE-PPC OS4 laptop/X-10 Home Automation

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
nimrod7 
Re: Official AW.Net X1000 Q and A Thread
Posted on 19-Aug-2011 17:10:44
#124 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 4-Jan-2010
Posts: 285
From: Poland

@AlexC

the truth is AmigaOne X1000 is x86 based with the P.A.Semi stricker on it (it's a global plot to gain more cash from the silly AmigaOS4 users, who gonna be bound to Debian Squeeze forever, cos as we know porting AOS4 to x84 is slightly uneconomic

_________________
"Marxism must abhor nothing so much as the possibility that it becomes congealed in its current form. It is at its best when butting heads in self-criticism, and in historical thunder and lightning, it retains its strength" - Rosa Luxemburg.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rose 
Re: Official AW.Net X1000 Q and A Thread
Posted on 19-Aug-2011 18:07:56
#125 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 5-Nov-2009
Posts: 699
From: Unknown

@nimrod7

Quote:
cos as we know porting AOS4 to x84 is slightly uneconomic


Sure is when you have to develop new processor

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
winnetcom 
Re: Official AW.Net X1000 Q and A Thread
Posted on 19-Aug-2011 19:11:56
#126 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 11-Jun-2004
Posts: 162
From: Burbank, CA. ....... Here every day

Seems like Varisys is developing Nemo for both XMOS and X1000.


_________________
Amiga Land is my favorite soap opera.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: Official AW.Net X1000 Q and A Thread
Posted on 19-Aug-2011 19:41:11
#127 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 11357
From: Norway

@bernd_afa

Page work now

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
nimrod7 
Re: Official AW.Net X1000 Q and A Thread
Posted on 19-Aug-2011 21:19:38
#128 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 4-Jan-2010
Posts: 285
From: Poland

@NutsAboutAmiga

http://www.varisys.co.uk/vm31.html?
- no, it doesn't

_________________
"Marxism must abhor nothing so much as the possibility that it becomes congealed in its current form. It is at its best when butting heads in self-criticism, and in historical thunder and lightning, it retains its strength" - Rosa Luxemburg.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Ancalimon 
Re: Official AW.Net X1000 Q and A Thread
Posted on 15-Oct-2011 11:34:25
#129 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 23-Mar-2004
Posts: 432
From: Istanbul

Will we be able to use a PCI Express SSD with X1000 ?

Like this one for example?

http://www.ocztechnology.com/ocz-revodrive-pci-express-ssd.html

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: Official AW.Net X1000 Q and A Thread
Posted on 15-Oct-2011 14:23:52
#130 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5188
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

IMHO: they seem to have AmigaOneX500 kind of system as well:
http://www.varisys.co.uk/vcp6.html

Put a sticker on & install AOS4.2?

Also, I imagine varisys could spit out shark kind of HW pretty easily:
http://www.varisys.co.uk/vs145.html

Last edited by KimmoK on 15-Oct-2011 at 02:30 PM.
Last edited by KimmoK on 15-Oct-2011 at 02:24 PM.

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
thinkchip 
Re: Official AW.Net X1000 Q and A Thread
Posted on 15-Oct-2011 14:47:04
#131 ]
Super Member
Joined: 26-Mar-2004
Posts: 1136
From: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

@thread

What a fool I am. I thought there might be a question and maybe even an answer. This thread should be deleted and started over with only questions and answers.

_________________
X5000 / AmigaOne 500(OS4.1 FE) / microA1(OS4.1 FE) / Cubic IDE / Imagine / Blender
Lightwave 2019 / Microsoft Visual C++

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
vox 
Re: Official AW.Net X1000 Q and A Thread
Posted on 15-Oct-2011 15:10:37
#132 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-Jun-2005
Posts: 3725
From: Belgrade, Serbia

@KimmoK

Hmmm ... Varisys seems to be worthy source of PPC hardware

Hope soem of its hardware could be used as potential OS4/MOS target in the future

_________________
Future Acube and MOS supporter, fi di good, nothing fi di unprofessionals. Learn it harder way!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
djrikki 
Re: Official AW.Net X1000 Q and A Thread
Posted on 15-Oct-2011 16:41:11
#133 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2010
Posts: 2077
From: Grimsby, UK

@nimrod1

Your post is neither a question or an answer.

The thread below is dedicated to AW members like you, I suggest you use it no wants to hear your s-h-i-t on this thread.

http://amigaworld.net/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=34394&forum=2

Last edited by djrikki on 15-Oct-2011 at 04:42 PM.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: Official AW.Net X1000 Q and A Thread
Posted on 25-Nov-2011 16:32:07
#134 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5188
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

I think globally companies that used PA6T moved away from it. They started using i7 (intel finally have abequate FPU/SIMD power) and new freescale PPCs with Altivec.

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: Official AW.Net X1000 Q and A Thread
Posted on 18-Mar-2012 11:12:16
#135 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5188
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

Are there any x1000 macines in Finland yet?

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: Official AW.Net X1000 Q and A Thread
Posted on 24-Mar-2012 9:42:00
#136 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5188
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

Again me and my questions...

I read from AF that First Contact come with nemo block diagram, but I have not seen one in the wild yet.

Is the motherboard block diagram picture available anywhere in the net yet?

UPDATE: corrected some typos..

Last edited by KimmoK on 24-Mar-2012 at 09:47 AM.
Last edited by KimmoK on 24-Mar-2012 at 09:42 AM.

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ddni 
Re: Official AW.Net X1000 Q and A Thread
Posted on 24-Mar-2012 11:06:31
#137 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2007
Posts: 818
From: Northern Ireland

@KimmoK

Is this what you mean?


Last edited by ddni on 24-Mar-2012 at 11:09 AM.
Last edited by ddni on 24-Mar-2012 at 11:07 AM.

_________________
AmigaOne X1000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: Official AW.Net X1000 Q and A Thread
Posted on 24-Mar-2012 11:38:57
#138 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5188
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

@ddni

From AmigaFuture I would expect there to be something like this (a500 version)
or similar to (x86 SB600)
(here are the internals of nemo's SB600)
PEG3? example

Last edited by KimmoK on 24-Mar-2012 at 11:52 AM.
Last edited by KimmoK on 24-Mar-2012 at 11:42 AM.

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Tomppeli 
Re: Official AW.Net X1000 Q and A Thread
Posted on 24-Mar-2012 11:43:29
#139 ]
Super Member
Joined: 18-Jun-2004
Posts: 1635
From: Home land of Santa, sauna, sisu and salmiakki

@KimmoK

Quote:
Are there any x1000 macines in Finland yet?

Yes.

_________________
Rock lobster bit me, so excuse me. Amiga. Never forget.
X1000 + AmigaOS4.1 FE
"Anyone can build a fast CPU. The trick is to build a fast system." -Seymour Cray

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: Official AW.Net X1000 Q and A Thread
Posted on 24-Mar-2012 11:46:03
#140 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5188
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

@Tomppeli

Would be nice to see at some Finnish Amiga event ...

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle