Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6071 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
4 crawler(s) on-line.
 31 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 Benji

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Benji:  10 secs ago
 amigakit:  9 mins ago
 michalsc:  23 mins ago
 tlosm:  30 mins ago
 pixie:  48 mins ago
 Murasame:  1 hr 13 mins ago
 amigang:  1 hr 45 mins ago
 zipper:  2 hrs 27 mins ago
 -Sam-:  2 hrs 41 mins ago
 clint:  2 hrs 53 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga Development
      /  AmigaOne uboot update project
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 Next Page )
PosterThread
billt 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 19-Mar-2010 17:06:33
#141 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Oct-2003
Posts: 3205
From: Maryland, USA

@Geri

Cool. I need to get finished working on my house so I can get back to this. :) Hopefully another week and I'll be less distracted again.

_________________
All glory to the Hypnotoad!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 19-Mar-2010 19:31:54
#142 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2038
From: ST/AT

@billt

Good! I hope m3x can send us the source code in the meantime. I'm eager to order some PCBs.

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 20-Mar-2010 18:05:11
#143 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2038
From: ST/AT

Okay, I finished the dual U-boot switcher board for the A1XE. It would be cool, if someone could verify the schematic and the dimensions of the PCB (there's not much space between the flash ROM socket and the PCI slot). Maybe the board also fits in a A1SE.

Here are the Eagle schematic and board files, as well as the library with the PLCC plug package drawings:

Download

Last edited by Geri on 28-Dec-2010 at 12:43 PM.

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
billt 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 20-Mar-2010 23:49:55
#144 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Oct-2003
Posts: 3205
From: Maryland, USA

@Geri

I'll try to find some time in the next few days to look at it. Wish it was easier to do that recently...

_________________
All glory to the Hypnotoad!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
billt 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 2-Apr-2010 21:10:56
#145 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Oct-2003
Posts: 3205
From: Maryland, USA

@billt

I haven't yet had a chance to dig my XE out of the storage room and measure about the flash switcher.

I just noticed the Sam460ex announcement, might we see uboot SAM sources now that there's nothing to keep hidden in there? :)

_________________
All glory to the Hypnotoad!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 3-Apr-2010 11:03:13
#146 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2038
From: ST/AT

@billt

No hurry! I still have to check, if there's enough space for the PLCC sockets. But that's just a matter of moving the capacitors around.

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hans 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 10-May-2010 8:02:59
#147 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 27-Dec-2003
Posts: 5074
From: New Zealand

Any progress on the UBoot front?

Hans

_________________
Join the Kea Campus - upgrade your skills; support my work; enjoy the Amiga corner.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - see more of my work

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 10-May-2010 9:59:59
#148 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2038
From: ST/AT

@Hans

billt received sources from Hyperion, but we don't know, if they contain any updates from m3x. billt mentioned that they don't compile out of the box with ELDK.

On the other side I hope that some users could take a look at my dual U-boot PCB layout to check, if it really fits into a A1XE and possibly also in a A1SE.

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Draby 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 10-May-2010 10:57:51
#149 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 20-Aug-2003
Posts: 233
From: United Kingdom.

@Geri

Hi, I'd offer to help (I have an SE) but I don't have the software to read those files.

Richard

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 10-May-2010 13:05:54
#150 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2038
From: ST/AT

@Draby

If you have a Windows or Linux PC, then you can download the Eagle Freeware version from www.cadsoft.de.

Thanks!

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Draby 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 10-May-2010 15:13:29
#151 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 20-Aug-2003
Posts: 233
From: United Kingdom.

@Geri

Ah, sorry, Amiga only here.
Richard

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Varthall 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 10-May-2010 15:30:12
#152 ]
Super Member
Joined: 17-Feb-2004
Posts: 1559
From: Up Rough

@Geri

I have an A1 XE and access to a PC with Linux, I can help checking the board measurements. What would be the best way to check this? My only idea so far was to print the PCB on a piece of paper, check that the printed image is an 1:1 copy of the schematics and check if it would physically fit.

Varthall

_________________
AmigaOne XE - AmigaOS 4.1 - Freescale 7457 1GHz - 1GB ram

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
billt 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 10-May-2010 15:53:05
#153 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Oct-2003
Posts: 3205
From: Maryland, USA

@Varthall

Quote:
My only idea so far was to print the PCB on a piece of paper


That's all I had planned to do. I just need to find time to dig out my XE. All my computer stuff other than my PC laptop are buried in our storage room since I got married last summer. Hoperfully we'll get to sorting through there and getting things set up again in the not too distant future.

_________________
All glory to the Hypnotoad!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
billt 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 10-May-2010 15:56:21
#154 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Oct-2003
Posts: 3205
From: Maryland, USA

@Geri

For the updates from m3x, it sounded like he'd just made things compilable, but no new features or bug fixes were made to the AmigaOne code. It sounds lik ethe powers that be used a different compiler for the official uboot releases. When I have time I tinker with that, I'm still learning my way around in the numerous makefiles involved.

I sent a pdf file of the layout to Geri so he can post that next to the eagle files for download, for you guys that can't print from Eagle itself.

I usually have way too much to do, and struggle to make time for things like this that I want to do. We spent a lot of time fixing up our house and are now trying to get ready for baby to arrive next month. I'm distracted, but try and put in some time when I can. Also working on a hardware project with olegil (a plugin card for now) when I can make time for that, we will need some uboot support for that as well, and gives me more reason to try and get uboot sorted out.

Last edited by billt on 10-May-2010 at 03:59 PM.

_________________
All glory to the Hypnotoad!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 10-May-2010 17:12:25
#155 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2038
From: ST/AT

Quote:
billt wrote:
@Geri

I sent a pdf file of the layout to Geri so he can post that next to the eagle files for download, for you guys that can't print from Eagle itself.

I'll put that on my web server as soon as possible.

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
billt 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 10-May-2010 19:51:42
#156 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Oct-2003
Posts: 3205
From: Maryland, USA

@Geri

Should we put the initial sources we have received on git-hub or something? There's a few other uboot projects there. Might be nice to consider official uboot custodianship at some point on denx.de, but I think we have a ways to go before getting set up for that, learning and making sure we comply with their policies and code style, and keeping up with mailing list things.

_________________
All glory to the Hypnotoad!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Varthall 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 10-May-2010 20:32:49
#157 ]
Super Member
Joined: 17-Feb-2004
Posts: 1559
From: Up Rough

@Geri

I have now opened the project under Eagle, I have never used it, my question now is: how can I get info on Eagle on how big the PCB is (in cm/mm)?

Varthall

_________________
AmigaOne XE - AmigaOS 4.1 - Freescale 7457 1GHz - 1GB ram

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 10-May-2010 21:41:37
#158 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2038
From: ST/AT

@billt

Quote:
billt wrote:
@Geri

Should we put the initial sources we have received on git-hub or something? There's a few other uboot projects there. Might be nice to consider official uboot custodianship at some point on denx.de, but I think we have a ways to go before getting set up for that, learning and making sure we comply with their policies and code style, and keeping up with mailing list things.

Yes, we have a long way to go before the A1 U-boot code can be merged with the original denx.de sources. Here's a list of websites that host Git repositories. Sourceforge seems to offer Git support too now. Not sure, if it also has a quota on the size of the repository. I'm fine with GitHub too (but I already have an account at sf.net).
At least it makes sense to use Git, since that is the VCS tool used by any other U-boot developer out there.

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
billt 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 10-May-2010 21:47:47
#159 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Oct-2003
Posts: 3205
From: Maryland, USA

@Geri

If sourceforge does git now, that's fine with me. I didn't realize they did that.

Last edited by billt on 10-May-2010 at 10:33 PM.
Last edited by billt on 10-May-2010 at 10:19 PM.

_________________
All glory to the Hypnotoad!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 10-May-2010 22:03:15
#160 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2038
From: ST/AT

@Varthall

Quote:
Varthall wrote:
@Geri

I have now opened the project under Eagle, I have never used it, my question now is: how can I get info on Eagle on how big the PCB is (in cm/mm)?

There's an icon which shows a grid (normally below the toolbar with the file open/save icons). It opens a window where you can change the unit and the size (resolution of the grid). You can set the size to "Finest".
The reticle (is that the right word?) in the left lower corner of the PCB is the zero-point. If you move the mouse pointer over the board window, Eagle will always show you the distance between the zero-point and the current position of the mouse pointer.
Then there's the icon which shows a coordinate system. It allows you to set a second zero point to make relative measurements.
I hope that helps a little bit. Otherwise it's probably easier, if you print out the PCB.
Note that I'm still using Eagle v4.16, but I think they change the GUI quite a little bit in v5.

BTW: I put billt's PDF on my web server (aw.net definitively needs a way to upload pictures and other files). The PCB has a size of 60.96 x 55.88mm (so that you can check, if the print out is correct).

Last edited by Geri on 28-Dec-2010 at 01:23 PM.
Last edited by Geri on 28-Dec-2010 at 12:45 PM.

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle