Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6071 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
0 crawler(s) on-line.
 69 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 eliyahu:  20 mins ago
 tonyw:  44 mins ago
 HammerD:  1 hr 20 mins ago
 MagicSN:  1 hr 31 mins ago
 -Sam-:  1 hr 49 mins ago
 NutsAboutAmiga:  2 hrs ago
 pixie:  2 hrs 43 mins ago
 zipper:  3 hrs 33 mins ago
 amigakit:  3 hrs 48 mins ago
 MichaelMerkel:  4 hrs 9 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga Development
      /  AmigaOne uboot update project
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 Next Page )
PosterThread
billt 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 31-Jan-2010 3:39:17
#41 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Oct-2003
Posts: 3205
From: Maryland, USA

@Geri

I don't think they sell it anymore, but from what I understand the Denx BDI is approximately the same when GuardianSE was new. I wish I'd have got the Denx one instead now, they stopped updating GuardianSE with new CPU support, and never finished the particular CPU that I wanted it for. :( Denx seems to better support things.

I'd bought a socket or two, maybe they were for something else though, can't remember. I don't remember them being that expensive. Repaired someone's board some time ago with a bad flash, ended up just replacing the chip. (I have a Willem programmer to flash a blank) I've not looked for a socket plug though.

Anyone remind me which flash chip we have in there? My stuff is buried since I got married and moved houses.

_________________
All glory to the Hypnotoad!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
billt 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 31-Jan-2010 4:05:59
#42 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Oct-2003
Posts: 3205
From: Maryland, USA

@Geri

Quote:
Quote:
Neat! Why not for Micros as well?
Because I don't know the dimensions the PCB should/can have. Otherwise it shouldn't be a problem.


Who has a MicroA1 to take measurements of for this?

Some pics to consider extrapolating from. Looks like the flash is in the corner. :( Not sure if it'd fit over top the SODIMM socket.

Where can you get chips from? I suppose secondary chip doesn't absolutely have to be same PLCC package, but that's what I can burn standalone if needed. Doesn't seem easy to find here. Need to ask for quote at Mouser and Digikey. Newark lists one, not ROHS and no longer available anyway. Jameco only shows Dips. (I'd ordered a couple PLCCs from Mouser in 2006, should still have one but don't know where)

MicroA1 pics
http://www.mrhardwarecomputers.com/pages/ma1.htm
though I can't quite make out the orientation. Anyone, where is the angled corner?

_________________
All glory to the Hypnotoad!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
billt 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 31-Jan-2010 5:10:41
#43 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Oct-2003
Posts: 3205
From: Maryland, USA

@Geri

Quote:
It may not be cheap (the PLCC plug in sockets are a little bit expensive here - around 30), but it would be a good starting point.


mouser sells PLCC-32 sockets for less than US1.

plcc plugs are hard to find! But how about US$12.75?
http://www.epboard.com/eproducts/protoadapter2.htm#PLCCPlugBase

I found some 29f040 chips and ordered 4 of them. They don't have many but there's some left.
http://www.retropartsstore.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=3&products_id=24

_________________
All glory to the Hypnotoad!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
zerohero 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 31-Jan-2010 7:56:08
#44 ]
Team Member
Joined: 4-May-2004
Posts: 2524
From: Uddevalla, Sweden

@Geri

Quote:

Developers come and go and we're all deeply grateful for their efforts!

Maybe the problems were not possible to fix in the A1's U-boot version. On the other side U-boot has seen a lot of rework in the meantime. Who knows, if this problems couldn't be fixed easily now?

I would like to see this issue resolved. Everbody wins, if normal users can work on the A1 U-boot code. Hyperion could concentrate on OS4 (without being bothered all the time to do an U-boot update) and we could fix and integrate new features into U-boot.


I hope you are right, I would want it resolved as well.

_________________
Common sense - So rare it's almost like a super power

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
zerohero 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 31-Jan-2010 8:02:18
#45 ]
Team Member
Joined: 4-May-2004
Posts: 2524
From: Uddevalla, Sweden

@Hans

Quote:

If you spent days searching for a needle in a haystack, and then someone else came along and found it, would it really be embarrassing? I don't think so; that person would have taken advantage of the fact that he/she knew where you had looked previously, and also got lucky that he/she started looking in the right area.


Personally I wouldn't find it embarrassing, not at all. I'm just guessing here really, adding to the mix some ego, some years of development and some badgering from ann.lu and moobunny.

_________________
Common sense - So rare it's almost like a super power

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
billt 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 31-Jan-2010 16:01:23
#46 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Oct-2003
Posts: 3205
From: Maryland, USA

@Hans

Quote:
If you spent days searching for a needle in a haystack, and then someone else came along and found it, would it really be embarrassing? I don't think so


Nor do I. That's exactly why there is such a thing as code reviews. I've certainly needed another set of eyes to find problems in my own code. Once it was as dumb as a colon instead of a semicolon, in some scripting language where the semicolon starting the line indicated a comment line. It was surrounded by lots of comment lines, and that subtle difference between : and ; was really hard to notice.

Though we are at a disadvantage not having the Articia datasheet, register descriptions, etc. documentation and MAI internal contacts that they had back then.

_________________
All glory to the Hypnotoad!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
graffias79 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 31-Jan-2010 16:44:17
#47 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 20-Apr-2005
Posts: 133
From: Madison, WI

Would a new U-boot possibly add the capability to use a graphics card on the Micro or is that an issue with how the PCI slot is wired?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 31-Jan-2010 16:50:02
#48 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 11593
From: In the village

@graffias79

Quote:
Would a new U-boot possibly add the capability to use a graphics card on the Micro or is that an issue with how the PCI slot is wired?


If you follow the link in the 1st post of this thread, you'll see that's where this latest uboot convo really got restarted.
Yes, it already does work with DMA/USB disabled and a certain version of uboot.
That's why we're kicking this around...

#6

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
graffias79 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 31-Jan-2010 16:55:00
#49 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 20-Apr-2005
Posts: 133
From: Madison, WI

@number6

That would be nice. That's the only thing that really annoys me about the Micro is keeping my eye on the chip ram.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Draby 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 31-Jan-2010 17:54:57
#50 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 20-Aug-2003
Posts: 233
From: United Kingdom.

@billt

I've got a couple of close-up pics of the Uboot area of a MicroA1, if you want them let me know.
Richard.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 31-Jan-2010 18:17:07
#51 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2038
From: ST/AT

@billt

Quote:
billt wrote:
@Geri

I don't think they sell it anymore, but from what I understand the Denx BDI is approximately the same when GuardianSE was new. I wish I'd have got the Denx one instead now, they stopped updating GuardianSE with new CPU support, and never finished the particular CPU that I wanted it for. :( Denx seems to better support things.

I wanted to buy an Abatron BDI2000, but they're quite expensive.

Quote:
Anyone remind me which flash chip we have in there? My stuff is buried since I got married and moved houses.

It's an AMD 29F040 4 Mbit flash.

Quote:
Some pics to consider extrapolating from. Looks like the flash is in the corner. :( Not sure if it'd fit over top the SODIMM socket.

Oh yes, that looks tight. It would be easier to layout the flash ROM board outside of the motherboard, i.e. alongside the PCI connector. Otherwise it could conflict with longer PCI cards, if it is placed over the SODIMM socket.
I'm afraid I have to redesign the current board layout as well, because the PLCC plug in socket plus board plus flash ROM PLCC socket may be higher than the adjacent PCI connector.

Quote:
Where can you get chips from? I suppose secondary chip doesn't absolutely have to be same PLCC package, but that's what I can burn standalone if needed. Doesn't seem easy to find here. Need to ask for quote at Mouser and Digikey. Newark lists one, not ROHS and no longer available anyway. Jameco only shows Dips. (I'd ordered a couple PLCCs from Mouser in 2006, should still have one but don't know where)

I usually order from Farnell or RS-components. At least Farnell lists several compatible ROHS compliant flash ROMs. I also tried to design the board with a TSOP32 flash ROM, but the PLCC package made it easier to route the traces.

Quote:
mouser sells PLCC-32 sockets for less than US1.

plcc plugs are hard to find! But how about US$12.75?
http://www.epboard.com/eproducts/protoadapter2.htm#PLCCPlugBase

I'm afraid these sockets are too high. I usually test the Linux kernel with a lot of PCI cards in my A1, which would be a good idea for U-boot, too.
It's strange that there's no distributor for these components.

Quote:
I found some 29f040 chips and ordered 4 of them. They don't have many but there's some left. http://www.retropartsstore.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=3&products_id=24

I already have a replacement U-boot flash ROM, which I ordered from biosflash.com.

I'll try to redesign the flash ROM board for the microA1. Are there any other users that would like to work on U-boot?

Last edited by Geri on 31-Jan-2010 at 06:24 PM.

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tomazkid 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 31-Jan-2010 22:31:44
#52 ]
Team Member
Joined: 31-Jul-2003
Posts: 11694
From: Kristianstad, Sweden

@billt

Quote:
Though we are at a disadvantage not having the Articia datasheet, register descriptions, etc. documentation and MAI internal contacts that they had back then.


I'll see if I get the time to look through my harddrives, recall I have some MAI material saved from their ftp.

The public pdf is here:
http://obligement.free.fr/files/articia_s.pdf

Just a thought as well, BPlan might have it, dunno if they are affected by eventual NDA's with a company that does not exist anymore.

and here is another:


http://digchip.net/datasheets/parts/datasheet/601/ARTICIA_S-pdf.php

Last edited by tomazkid on 01-Feb-2010 at 12:07 AM.
Last edited by tomazkid on 01-Feb-2010 at 12:04 AM.

_________________
Site admins are people too..pooff!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
billt 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 1-Feb-2010 4:02:06
#53 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Oct-2003
Posts: 3205
From: Maryland, USA

@tomazkid

Quote:
The public pdf is here: http://obligement.free.fr/files/articia_s.pdf


That's just a product brief at any other vendor, marketing material to give is a quick summary of features. What we need is a register guide document that spells out the memory map, what each register does, and what the possible field values are, with explanations of it all. This marketing summary/product selection info isn't really useful.

Last edited by billt on 01-Feb-2010 at 04:03 AM.

_________________
All glory to the Hypnotoad!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 1-Feb-2010 10:22:25
#54 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2038
From: ST/AT

@billt

Quote:
billt wrote:
@Geri

plcc plugs are hard to find! But how about US$12.75?
http://www.epboard.com/eproducts/protoadapter2.htm#PLCCPlugBase


I was thinking about ordering these PLCC plugs:

http://www.winslow.co.uk/gfx/productgroups/PLCC%20Plugs%20Surface%20Mount/W9381/PLCC%20plugs.pdf - second page

They shouldn't be that high, if I cut the pins and bend them by 90.

Now I just have to find a distributor.

Last edited by Geri on 01-Feb-2010 at 01:49 PM.

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 1-Feb-2010 12:22:48
#55 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2038
From: ST/AT

@all

Can somebody do some measurements on the microA1?

I'm interested in the following distances:

flash ROM socket - PCI connector
flash ROM socket - SODIMM socket
flash ROM socket - pin headers near the IDE connectors
flash ROM socket - board frame

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trev 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 1-Feb-2010 17:38:57
#56 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 24-Jul-2005
Posts: 778
From: Sacramento, CA, USA

Nothing official from Hyperion yet re: source code, so I've sent more requests. (That means you, Rogue.

I spent a very tiny bit of time this weekend decompiling x86 BIOS images. We still need a legitimate source for Articia S documentation. In the meantime, we can see how other northbridges interact with the VT82C686B, presumably with all of VIA's recommendations in place.

EDIT: Re: PCI bridges, the specifications published by PCI-SIG are quite easy to find. Also, most of MindShare's books on system architecture, e.g. ISA System Architecture, PCI System Architecture, and Universal Serial Bus System Architecture, are posted on their web site in PDF form. Google is your friend. (Is that a mantra now?)

Last edited by Trev on 01-Feb-2010 at 05:46 PM.

_________________
Sam440ep-flex 733 MHz/1 GB RAM/Radeon 9250/AmigaOS4.1 Update 2
borked A1200/Blizzard1260+SCSI-IV/Z4+MediatorZIV/Deneb/Voodoo3/CatweaselMk3
more borked A1200/MBX1200z/Indivision
A500/clockport/RRNet
A600/A603

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Draby 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 1-Feb-2010 18:21:51
#57 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 20-Aug-2003
Posts: 233
From: United Kingdom.

@Geri

Quote:
@all

Can somebody do some measurements on the microA1?

I'm interested in the following distances:

1) flash ROM socket - PCI connector
2) flash ROM socket - SODIMM socket
3) flash ROM socket - pin headers near the IDE connectors
4) flash ROM socket - board frame


Ok....
1) 3.0mm, BUT there's a Jumper pin that's closer at 2.0mm.

2) 4.5mm, BUT the SODIMM retainer clip is closer at 3.5mm.

3) 7.0mm.

4) 4.0mm

Hope this helps
Richard.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
m3x 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 1-Feb-2010 18:47:13
#58 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-May-2003
Posts: 311
From: Bologna, Italy

@billt

I may have all the needed info, sources and tools to prepare a new AmigaOne U-Boot version, to be on pair with the Sam version I developed.

Since it isn't a task to be done in a few days, but will requires a certain amount of time and tests, what about to setup a bounty for it?

I'll release source code (as already done with the Sam version) and if possible, I'll prepare an AmigaOS enabled image later.

_________________
Massimiliano Tretene, ACube Systems, Soft3

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 1-Feb-2010 19:31:35
#59 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 11593
From: In the village

@billt

I see you've suggested a number of bounties on http://amigabounty.net

Can you do set up one for Max? :D

#6


Last edited by number6 on 01-Feb-2010 at 07:35 PM.

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 1-Feb-2010 19:44:50
#60 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2038
From: ST/AT

@Trev

Quote:
Trev wrote:

EDIT: Re: PCI bridges, the specifications published by PCI-SIG are quite easy to find. Also, most of MindShare's books on system architecture, e.g. ISA System Architecture, PCI System Architecture, and Universal Serial Bus System Architecture, are posted on their web site in PDF form. Google is your friend. (Is that a mantra now?)

I have the PCI System Architecture book. It's the "bible" for everyone that tinkers with PCI designs resp. devices.

@Darby

Quote:
Draby wrote:

Ok....
1) 3.0mm, BUT there's a Jumper pin that's closer at 2.0mm.
2) 4.5mm, BUT the SODIMM retainer clip is closer at 3.5mm.
3) 7.0mm.
4) 4.0mm Hope this helps Richard.

Thanks a lot! It's a little bit tight towards the PCI connector, but it should be doable.

@m3x

Quote:
m3x wrote:
I may have all the needed info, sources and tools to prepare a new AmigaOne U-Boot version, to be on pair with the Sam version I developed.

Cool! What version of U-boot did you use?

Quote:
Since it isn't a task to be done in a few days, but will requires a certain amount of time and tests, what about to setup a bounty for it?

I for one would like to see all the A1 and Sam specific changes in the official U-boot GIT repository.

Would it be possible for you to setup an automatic build daemon, that builds OS4 enabled U-boot images from time to time (and makes them available for OS4 users), so that everyone can contribute bugfixes etc.?

Quote:
I'll release source code (as already done with the Sam version) and if possible, I'll prepare an AmigaOS enabled image later.

Thanks!

Last edited by Geri on 03-Feb-2010 at 02:22 PM.

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle