Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6054 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
45 crawler(s) on-line.
 16 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 DiscreetFX:  24 mins ago
 tygre:  47 mins ago
 RobertB:  1 hr 10 mins ago
 V8:  1 hr 27 mins ago
 Steady:  1 hr 36 mins ago
 Seiya:  2 hrs 15 mins ago
 ggw:  2 hrs 19 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  2 hrs 33 mins ago
 Excalibur:  3 hrs 26 mins ago
 kolla:  4 hrs 9 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  X1000 CPU clue :)
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 Next Page )
PosterThread
koft 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 11:21:24
#61 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Mar-2007
Posts: 493
From: USA, TN, Memphis

@xeron

Quote:

xeron wrote:
@koft

It doesn't matter who guessed what, or what got leaked, you know nothing of the specifics of any NDA that A-Eon have with their CPU supplier, and calling it "BS" and "games" based on assumptions only makes you look like a troll.


I do this stuff for a living. (EE work and software development), I've never had to deal with NDA from a supplier. A few times I've had to sign an NDA for access to technical literature regarding a part. This whole wrapped in secrecy thing with A-Eon stinks to high heaven from my perspective. This is an operation run by underfunded amateurs. Sorry y'all, that's how I see it.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 11:31:38
#62 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 9373
From: Unknown

@koft

Quote:
This whole wrapped in secrecy thing with A-Eon stinks to high heaven from my perspective. This is an operation run by underfunded amateurs. Sorry y'all, that's how I see it.


I don´t share your point of view...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
umisef 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 11:33:32
#63 ]
Super Member
Joined: 19-Jun-2005
Posts: 1677
From: Melbourne, Australia

@KimmoK

Quote:
here was RAM on both bus of the CPU. So to me it seems that they at have been using both cores already


Look up the definition of "cross bar".

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
gregthecanuck 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 11:37:17
#64 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 30-Dec-2003
Posts: 846
From: Vancouver, Canada

@koft

I have had limited dealings in the past with PA-Semi. They did in fact have an NDA agreement and I actually have a copy. It is pretty strict. In whatever new incantation the PA-Semi company exists I expect a similarly strict NDA.

You need to cut A-Eon some slack. They are new/amateurs/a startup. You were once as well.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
COBRA 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 11:45:05
#65 ]
Super Member
Joined: 26-Apr-2004
Posts: 1809
From: Auckland, New Zealand

@koft

I did also some dealings with P.A. Semi at a company I used to work at a few years ago. You had to sign an NDA just to find out what price you can get the chips for.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
koft 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 11:45:13
#66 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Mar-2007
Posts: 493
From: USA, TN, Memphis

@gregthecanuck

Quote:

gregthecanuck wrote:
@koft

I have had limited dealings in the past with PA-Semi. They did in fact have an NDA agreement and I actually have a copy. It is pretty strict. In whatever new incantation the PA-Semi company exists I expect a similarly strict NDA.

You need to cut A-Eon some slack. They are new/amateurs/a startup. You were once as well.



Point taken. Thanks for sharing your experience.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DAX 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 11:45:34
#67 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2009
Posts: 2790
From: Italy

@xeron
Quote:
It doesn't matter who guessed what, or what got leaked, you know nothing of the specifics of any NDA that A-Eon have with their CPU supplier, and calling it "BS" and "games" based on assumptions only makes you look like a troll.

Last edited by DAX on 22-Jun-2010 at 11:46 AM.

_________________
SamFlex Complete 800Mhz System + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 4
Amiga 2000 DKB 2MB ChipRam GVP G-Force040 Picasso 2 OS3.9 BB2
AmigaCD 32

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
vidarh 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 11:48:26
#68 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 4-Jan-2010
Posts: 580
From: London, UK (ex-pat; originally from Norway)

@koft

Quote:
I do this stuff for a living. (EE work and software development), I've never had to deal with NDA from a supplier.


Have you dealt with *Apple*?

Because if the supplier really is PA-Semi *or* the PA-Semi assets have been licensed to someone else, they are directly or indirectly dealing with one of the most secretive companies around, with some of the most draconian security policies and NDA's in the industry.

_________________
Wiki for new/returning Amiga users - Projects: ACE basic compiler / FrexxEd / Git

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
koft 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 11:55:28
#69 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Mar-2007
Posts: 493
From: USA, TN, Memphis

@COBRA

Quote:

COBRA wrote:
@koft

I did also some dealings with P.A. Semi at a company I used to work at a few years ago. You had to sign an NDA just to find out what price you can get the chips for.


That's nuts. Many companies bend over backwards to jam as much literature down your throat as possible, the rest usually could care less about your existence.

I will say this, if things had gone on optimally at A-Eon, this machine would be for sale right now, i.e., on its way to your front door. I'm still not buying the NDA claim. Come on, was PA Semi so anal that they had a clause in the agreement that one couldn't state they they're using their part until *after* it was actually available to end users? Most companies would love for you to scream from the rooftops that you're using their product in your design.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DAX 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 11:58:47
#70 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2009
Posts: 2790
From: Italy

@koft
you don't decide what PA-Semi does, go in one of their forums and complaint if you wish.

_________________
SamFlex Complete 800Mhz System + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 4
Amiga 2000 DKB 2MB ChipRam GVP G-Force040 Picasso 2 OS3.9 BB2
AmigaCD 32

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
xeron 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 11:59:08
#71 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2003
Posts: 2440
From: Weston-Super-Mare, Somerset, England, UK, Europe, Earth, The Milky Way, The Universe

@koft
Its all pure speculation without knowing the details. Whatever your opinion of A-Eon, do you really think Varisys would take part in some un-necessary nonsense game like that?

_________________
Playstation Network ID: xeron6

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 12:00:26
#72 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 9373
From: Unknown

On the picture of Ranger (picture not avaiable now) are (were) some interesting informations about X1000 CPU:

1800 MHz CPU, 900 MHz FSB
L1 cache: 64 kB
L2 cache: 2 MB
Most interesting: no word about vector unit (I think PA6T should have VMX unit, no?)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DAX 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 12:04:13
#73 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2009
Posts: 2790
From: Italy

@pavlor
Quote:
Most interesting: no word about vector unit (I think PA6T should have VMX unit, no?)

Rangers tell you what Ssolie put into it

_________________
SamFlex Complete 800Mhz System + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 4
Amiga 2000 DKB 2MB ChipRam GVP G-Force040 Picasso 2 OS3.9 BB2
AmigaCD 32

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
koft 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 12:06:42
#74 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Mar-2007
Posts: 493
From: USA, TN, Memphis

@DAX

Quote:

DAX wrote:
@koft
you don't decide what PA-Semi does, go in one of their forums and complaint if you wish.


Are you suggesting that we shouldn't discuss issues about things going on in the Amiga sphere of happenings? If so, that's a shame and it's against the very essence that amiga centric discussion forums are made for.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
koft 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 12:08:07
#75 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Mar-2007
Posts: 493
From: USA, TN, Memphis

@xeron

Quote:

xeron wrote:
@koft
Its all pure speculation without knowing the details. Whatever your opinion of A-Eon, do you really think Varisys would take part in some un-necessary nonsense game like that?


All Verisys cares about is a check in the mail for services rendered.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TrevorDick 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 12:14:28
#76 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Dec-2004
Posts: 2677
From: Wellington

@koft


Quote:
Many companies bend over backwards to jam as much literature down your throat as possible, the rest usually could care less about your existence.

Have you ever seen AMCC & Freescale NDA's ?

TrevorD

PS good to see you posting again

_________________
No, I don't need no reason, I'm just breezin'

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TrevorDick 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 12:15:59
#77 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Dec-2004
Posts: 2677
From: Wellington

@koft

Quote:
All Verisys cares about is a check in the mail for services rendered.

Everyone wants to get paid, of course, but Varisys see this as a big opportunity for them to be associated with new AmigaOne hardware for years to come.

TrevorD

_________________
No, I don't need no reason, I'm just breezin'

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
koft 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 12:17:01
#78 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Mar-2007
Posts: 493
From: USA, TN, Memphis

@TrevorDick

Quote:

TrevorDick wrote:
@koft


Quote:
Many companies bend over backwards to jam as much literature down your throat as possible, the rest usually could care less about your existence.

Have you ever seen AMCC & Freescale NDA's ?

TrevorD

PS good to see you posting again


Freescale yes, AMCC, no. Freescale is a great company to work with by the way.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
koft 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 12:18:04
#79 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Mar-2007
Posts: 493
From: USA, TN, Memphis

@TrevorDick

Quote:

TrevorDick wrote:
@koft

Quote:
All Verisys cares about is a check in the mail for services rendered.

Everyone wants to get paid, of course, but Varisys see this as a big opportunity for them to be associated with new AmigaOne hardware for years to come.

TrevorD


Yea right. I'm sure they expect y'all to sell boat loads of A1X1Ks.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
andres 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 22-Jun-2010 12:26:21
#80 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 3-Nov-2008
Posts: 329
From: Firenze (Italy)

Quote:
Everyone wants to get paid, of course, but Varisys see this as a big opportunity for them to be associated with new AmigaOne hardware for years to come. TrevorD


well said!

_________________
A1200/020+68882 - 6 MB RAM - AmigaOS 3.0

Home Recording Audio

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle