Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6051 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
60 crawler(s) on-line.
 7 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 stychokiller

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 stychokiller:  4 mins ago
 dframeli:  46 mins ago
 Karlos:  1 hr 20 mins ago
 gdimauro:  1 hr 32 mins ago
 g01df1sh:  1 hr 37 mins ago
 Bifford:  1 hr 53 mins ago
 BigD:  1 hr 54 mins ago
 geen_naam:  2 hrs 16 mins ago
 Livebyfaith:  2 hrs 16 mins ago
 pixie:  2 hrs 17 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga Inc. offshoot
      /  The New Commodore Amiga 500x and Commodore 64x
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 Next Page )
PosterThread
BigBentheAussie 
The New Commodore Amiga 500x and Commodore 64x
Posted on 10-Aug-2010 22:57:16
#1 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Oct-2003
Posts: 1690
From: Melbourne, Australia

www.CommodoreUSA.net

It's going to be made.

Those are only preliminary specs for the Fantasy/C500.
What PC hardware do you want in there?

The Commodore PC64 will be as close to the original C64 in design as possible.
It will be 2Ghz Dual Core Atom/Ion based.

Edit: (below)
Over the last couple of months I have been advising Commodore USA on various Amiga related and general technical issues.
FYI I have just been offered the position of CTO of CommodoreUSA and have accepted.

My name is Leo Nigro.
I am a long time Commodore and Amiga fanatic and have been a member of this and other Amiga forums for several years.

You may contact me at: lan@commodoreusa.net

I hope you will be supportive of our endeavor to return this iconic brand to the prominence it deserves.
We are really trying our best to appeal to the Commodore fanbase as well as gain a mainstream audience.
There are many new and exciting products on the way.

Warmest Regards,
Leo

P.S.
Oh, and one more thing..... read the small print at the bottom of the Commodore USA home page.

Edit: 13/10/2010. Have changed title to reflect current model naming status.
Subject was "The New Commodore C500 and Commodore PC64"
Now "The New Commodore Amiga 500x and Commodore 64x"
Read TOS...I believe this change does not breach it.

Last edited by BigBentheAussie on 12-Oct-2010 at 02:39 PM.
Last edited by BigBentheAussie on 11-Aug-2010 at 03:53 AM.
Last edited by BigBentheAussie on 11-Aug-2010 at 03:50 AM.
Last edited by BigBentheAussie on 11-Aug-2010 at 03:19 AM.
Last edited by BigBentheAussie on 11-Aug-2010 at 03:15 AM.
Last edited by BigBentheAussie on 11-Aug-2010 at 03:09 AM.
Last edited by BigBentheAussie on 11-Aug-2010 at 02:50 AM.
Last edited by BigBentheAussie on 11-Aug-2010 at 02:49 AM.
Last edited by BigBentheAussie on 10-Aug-2010 at 11:20 PM.
Last edited by BigBentheAussie on 10-Aug-2010 at 11:13 PM.
Last edited by BigBentheAussie on 10-Aug-2010 at 11:12 PM.
Last edited by BigBentheAussie on 10-Aug-2010 at 10:59 PM.
Last edited by BigBentheAussie on 10-Aug-2010 at 10:58 PM.

_________________
Leo Nigro, CTO Commodore USA, LLC
Opinions expressed are my own and not those of C= USA.
Commodore/AMIGA "Beautiful, High-Performance, Home Computers for Creativity and Entertainment."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mark76 
Re: The Commodore C500 and PC64
Posted on 10-Aug-2010 23:33:34
#2 ]
Member
Joined: 4-Jan-2010
Posts: 61
From: Leicester

@BigBentheAussie

I challenge them to find someone who can make a case like the main image.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
JurassicC 
Re: The Commodore C500 and PC64
Posted on 10-Aug-2010 23:46:35
#3 ]
Super Member
Joined: 13-Mar-2003
Posts: 1441
From: Somerset, UK

@BigBentheAussie

http://www.CommodoreUSA.net/amigo.html

_________________
A1200T 603e 330Mhz - Mediator TX OS4.1 F.E.
CDTV 8MB Fast, OS3.1, SCSI, MicroSD SCSI & CD32 FMV
X5000, X1000, A1XE with OS4.1F.E.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
padrino 
Re: The Commodore C500 and PC64
Posted on 10-Aug-2010 23:48:38
#4 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 26-Jun-2004
Posts: 486
From: Germany

@Mark76

I really hope that the name "Commodore" is worth a penny and Hyperion or A-Eon then are interessted/able to buy it.

Commodore is coming home... looking for some Commodore AmgaOnes - better than this Commodore Amigo.

CU,
Mario

_________________
********** AMIGA - More Than Just Standard **********

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mark76 
Re: The Commodore C500 and PC64
Posted on 10-Aug-2010 23:56:26
#5 ]
Member
Joined: 4-Jan-2010
Posts: 61
From: Leicester

@No one in particular

Why is that computer on a giant chessboard, anyway?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Barana 
Re: The Commodore C500 and PC64
Posted on 11-Aug-2010 0:10:05
#6 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 1-Sep-2003
Posts: 843
From: Straya!

@Mark76

Man, i'll buy one. Just for the amiga fantasy case. I will gut it.
I thought it was strange last year that the amiga fantasy case project website dissapeared

_________________
Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.

I serve King Jesus.
What/who do you serve?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigBentheAussie 
Re: The Commodore C500 and PC64
Posted on 11-Aug-2010 0:12:27
#7 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Oct-2003
Posts: 1690
From: Melbourne, Australia

@padrino

Quote:
Commodore is coming home... looking for some Commodore AmgaOnes - better than this Commodore Amigo.


Careful what you wish for.....

I know the Amigo will get a name change shortly.
The Amigo name was obviously tongue in cheek.

Last edited by BigBentheAussie on 11-Aug-2010 at 02:33 AM.

_________________
Leo Nigro, CTO Commodore USA, LLC
Opinions expressed are my own and not those of C= USA.
Commodore/AMIGA "Beautiful, High-Performance, Home Computers for Creativity and Entertainment."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigBentheAussie 
Re: The Commodore C500 and PC64
Posted on 11-Aug-2010 0:21:41
#8 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Oct-2003
Posts: 1690
From: Melbourne, Australia

@Mark76

Quote:

Mark76 wrote:
@BigBentheAussie

I challenge them to find someone who can make a case like the main image.


Found... not to worry.

The PC64 keys are bit of a bone of contention though.
The key layout will need to be updated but retain the look.
My thoughts are that the PC64 function keys should be turned into Page Up, Page Down, Home and End keys, or perhaps media keys, as this would make a nice living room media box.
Commodore will also likely be coming out with a range of keyboard remotes.

_________________
Leo Nigro, CTO Commodore USA, LLC
Opinions expressed are my own and not those of C= USA.
Commodore/AMIGA "Beautiful, High-Performance, Home Computers for Creativity and Entertainment."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Barana 
Re: The Commodore C500 and PC64
Posted on 11-Aug-2010 0:36:41
#9 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 1-Sep-2003
Posts: 843
From: Straya!

@BigBentheAussie

Ha ! They even have aros and uae as install options
According to the dimensions of the 64 systems, a sam board would fit in it !

Last edited by Barana on 11-Aug-2010 at 12:40 AM.
Last edited by Barana on 11-Aug-2010 at 12:39 AM.

_________________
Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.

I serve King Jesus.
What/who do you serve?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
L8Knight 
Re: The Commodore C500 and PC64
Posted on 11-Aug-2010 3:03:41
#10 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 6-Jul-2003
Posts: 129
From: Grand Blanc, MI

@BigBentheAussie

Congrats and good luck! Looking forward to many new Commodore products!

--Barry Steenbergh

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
klx300r 
Re: The Commodore C500 and PC64
Posted on 11-Aug-2010 3:04:56
#11 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 4-Mar-2008
Posts: 3805
From: Toronto, Canada

@BigBentheAussie

i wish you the best of luck in your new position Leo

_________________
____________________________
c64-2sids, A1000, A1200T-060@50(finally working!),A4000-CSMKIII
! My Master Miggies- Amiga 1000 & AmigaOne X1000 !
mancave-ramblings
X1000 I BELIEVE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Barana 
Re: The Commodore C500 and PC64
Posted on 11-Aug-2010 3:45:37
#12 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 1-Sep-2003
Posts: 843
From: Straya!

@BigBentheAussie

Read the small text i don't get it. Whats ur point?

_________________
Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.

I serve King Jesus.
What/who do you serve?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigBentheAussie 
Re: The Commodore C500 and PC64
Posted on 11-Aug-2010 3:47:18
#13 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Oct-2003
Posts: 1690
From: Melbourne, Australia

@Barana

Quote:
Read the small text i don't get it. Whats ur point?

_________________
Leo Nigro, CTO Commodore USA, LLC
Opinions expressed are my own and not those of C= USA.
Commodore/AMIGA "Beautiful, High-Performance, Home Computers for Creativity and Entertainment."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Barana 
Re: The Commodore C500 and PC64
Posted on 11-Aug-2010 4:08:20
#14 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 1-Sep-2003
Posts: 843
From: Straya!

@BigBentheAussie

Ok best guess they've registered it world wide so they're going global with this.
Do any of these machines output to a tv ?

Last edited by Barana on 11-Aug-2010 at 04:24 AM.

_________________
Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.

I serve King Jesus.
What/who do you serve?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigBentheAussie 
Re: The Commodore C500 and PC64
Posted on 11-Aug-2010 4:37:22
#15 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Oct-2003
Posts: 1690
From: Melbourne, Australia

@Barana

Quote:
Do any of these machines output to a tv ?


If you mean Standard Definition, then the Amigo(or whatever it will be called) does.
The Commodore Invictus(name might change on release) has wireless HDMI.
The Commodore PC64 will have HDMI out.
The Commodore C500 likely will too...as there will likely be graphics card options.
The C500 specs are a bit in the air right now but we're determined to get the latest tech in there as a customer option.

Last edited by BigBentheAussie on 11-Aug-2010 at 04:56 AM.

_________________
Leo Nigro, CTO Commodore USA, LLC
Opinions expressed are my own and not those of C= USA.
Commodore/AMIGA "Beautiful, High-Performance, Home Computers for Creativity and Entertainment."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
persia 
Re: The New Commodore C500 and Commodore PC64
Posted on 11-Aug-2010 5:40:13
#16 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Jul-2009
Posts: 1059
From: Unknown

@BigBentheAussie

So the licensing went through and you don't have to glue the labels on yourself?

The website is ugly and just plain confusing. You need a web developer to make it readable and clear up all the confusing text.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
persia 
Re: The Commodore C500 and PC64
Posted on 11-Aug-2010 5:42:21
#17 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Jul-2009
Posts: 1059
From: Unknown

@BigBentheAussie

So have you thrown a chunk of cash at Vince and licensed the Amiga name too?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Pokemon 
Re: The New Commodore C500 and Commodore PC64
Posted on 11-Aug-2010 5:49:23
#18 ]
Member
Joined: 28-Dec-2005
Posts: 28
From: Unknown

I found something strange in their online store. I thought you need a hacked version of OSX to install on something other than a system sold through Apple? Are they claiming it can run unmodified? or do you think that they don't know about that yet?

from their online store:
Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard
Sorry...
We don't sell it....we don't support it.....we don't install it.....we don't even talk about it!
BUT.....if you want it..and 'ya need it....go here and get it!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigBentheAussie 
Re: The New Commodore C500 and Commodore PC64
Posted on 11-Aug-2010 6:07:50
#19 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Oct-2003
Posts: 1690
From: Melbourne, Australia

@persia

Quote:
So the licensing went through and you don't have to glue the labels on yourself?

It was only the case for like the first two weeks in March. They've been delivered with the logo for ages.

Quote:
The website is ugly and just plain confusing. You need a web developer to make it readable and clear up all the confusing text.

Tell me about it. It's in the works.
There will be minor revamp/tidy-up to the website before the web designers get done with the interactive one.
Stage 1 of the clean up has been initiated.

Quote:
So have you thrown a chunk of cash at Vince and licensed the Amiga name too?

Vince? You mean Bill don't you?

@Pokemon
Quote:
We don't sell it....we don't support it.....we don't install it.....we don't even talk about it! BUT.....if you want it..and 'ya need it....go here and get it!

Barry has a great sense of humour.
This Commodore is going to be about fun.
We're not going to take ourselves as seriously as the old Commodore.
It isn't going to be about stuffy people in business suits who totally lost touch with the fans.

The MacOSX mention will be one of the first things to be eliminated with the website revamp coming in a week or two.

_________________
Leo Nigro, CTO Commodore USA, LLC
Opinions expressed are my own and not those of C= USA.
Commodore/AMIGA "Beautiful, High-Performance, Home Computers for Creativity and Entertainment."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Arko 
Re: The New Commodore C500 and Commodore PC64
Posted on 11-Aug-2010 7:40:02
#20 ]
Super Member
Joined: 17-Jan-2007
Posts: 1989
From: Unknown

@BigBentheAussie

Maybe you remebered this posting:

@BigBentheAussie

Quote:

BigBentheAussie wrote:
@Arko
Quote:
Had someone here ever bought a product from Commodore USA ?

Yeah me....

It hasn't arrived yet though.
I'm wearing a path out to my mailbox.


When have you placed your Order ?
What type of model ?
What OS will be preinstalled ?
And please give us a short description after the device has arrived.

http://amigaworld.net/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?mode=viewtopic&topic_id=31721&forum=17&start=80&viewmode=flat&order=0#562971

you wrote:

Quote:

BigBentheAussie wrote:
@Arko

When it arrives I will create an unboxing video, as I promised in a Phoenix thread a couple of weeks back.

Model? OS?
Next you'll be asking what processor?


Do you have got the device you ordered in May ?

Do they have the rights for the Commodore brabd name now ?
Are there any evidences they ever sold a product ?

Last edited by Arko on 11-Aug-2010 at 07:48 AM.

_________________
AmigaONE. Haha. Just because you can put label on it does not make it Amiga.

I borrowed this comments from here (#27 & #28):
http://amigaworld.net/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=38873&forum=2&start=20&order=0

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle