Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6071 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
10 crawler(s) on-line.
 51 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Matt3k:  35 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  40 mins ago
 Lou:  55 mins ago
 matthey:  57 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  1 hr 17 mins ago
 NutsAboutAmiga:  1 hr 47 mins ago
 kolla:  2 hrs 15 mins ago
 amigakit:  2 hrs 55 mins ago
 pixie:  2 hrs 59 mins ago
 Marcian:  3 hrs 2 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  OS 4.1 Update 3 Released
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 )
PosterThread
Moxee 
Re: OS 4.1 Update 3 Released___Not OK Now
Posted on 8-Sep-2011 1:24:17
#301 ]
Team Member
Joined: 20-Aug-2003
Posts: 6291
From: County Yakima, WA State, USA

@swoodall

Quote:

You didn't download it with IBrowse did you?


Yes, I did.

Quote:
The warning isn't just for show, their webserver adds invalid headers when you download with IBrowse, which sounds like the corrupt larger size you got.


Their web site warning says not to register using IBrowse. Not that you shouldn't download using IBrowse.

For some strange reason none of my other Amiga browsers will run so I had to use IBrowse. They are all complaining about libz.so

Looking in the SObjs directory I find this:

libz.so.1.2------------0 17:11----30-Jun-10 ----RWED Broken Link!
libz.so.1.2.3----------0 19:14---22-Sep-10 ----RWED Broken Link!
libz.so.1.2.5----------0 19:14---22-Sep-10 ----RWED Broken Link!
libz.so-----------84796 13:34---09-Sep-08 ----RWED

Sorry, I had to put in all those dashes to keep the columns straight.

Is this from the Update 2 install? It seems to me that the browsers quit working about that time. What is with the "Broken Link!"?

I'll use my Gates Crate to download the file.

_________________
Moxee
AmigaOne X1000
AmigaOne XE G4
I'd agree with you, but then we'd both be wrong.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Moxee 
Re: OS 4.1 Update 3 Released___Not OK Now
Posted on 8-Sep-2011 2:10:51
#302 ]
Team Member
Joined: 20-Aug-2003
Posts: 6291
From: County Yakima, WA State, USA


OK I managed to get OWB to load. I don't know why it was being so nasty today. I was able to download the update and get the correct size.

It is getting late now so I will do the update tomorrow.

_________________
Moxee
AmigaOne X1000
AmigaOne XE G4
I'd agree with you, but then we'd both be wrong.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
swoodall 
Re: OS 4.1 Update 3 Released___Not OK Now
Posted on 8-Sep-2011 2:47:07
#303 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 17-Sep-2003
Posts: 248
From: Raleigh NC, USA

@Moxee

I should have mentioned... if you have FileX or some binary editor, you can just cut off the offending HTML header from the downloaded file and it will be back to its normal lha self. This can be an easier workaround if you don't have OWB or Netsurf working.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Moxee 
Re: OS 4.1 Update 3 Released___Not OK Now
Posted on 9-Sep-2011 22:15:02
#304 ]
Team Member
Joined: 20-Aug-2003
Posts: 6291
From: County Yakima, WA State, USA

@swoodall

Quote:
I should have mentioned... if you have FileX or some binary editor, you can just cut off the offending HTML header from the downloaded file and it will be back to its normal lha self. This can be an easier workaround if you don't have OWB or Netsurf working.


Thanks! I ended up doing a complete re-install on a new partition.
Update 1 (boot)--> Update 2 (boot) --> Update 3

As it was my libz.so files were all screwed up.
libz.so-----------84796 13:34---09-Sep-08 ----RWED
libz.so.1.2------------0 17:11----30-Jun-10 ----RWED Broken Link!
libz.so.1.2.3----------0 19:14---22-Sep-10 ----RWED Broken Link!
libz.so.1.2.5----------0 19:14---22-Sep-10 ----RWED Broken Link!

libs.so.1 was missing. I am guessing that this broke the links. Strange that the later files were empty.

Anyway Update 3 is running fine for me now.

_________________
Moxee
AmigaOne X1000
AmigaOne XE G4
I'd agree with you, but then we'd both be wrong.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Cass 
Re: OS 4.1 Update 3 Released
Posted on 10-Sep-2011 0:40:15
#305 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 18-Nov-2003
Posts: 481
From: Athens, Greece

@danwood

It was a pleasure to install it on Sam440 & A4000.

The installation process went on flawlessly. The system is fine after the reboot (except some quirks regarding the USB previously installed).


I also refreshed some OS4 features, it has been a long time since the last installation-fine tuning ( I think there was an OS4-hints thread, though I couldn`t find it to add my experience).
With OS4 on disk, I prefer to boot to 3.9 regularly (high priority partition). Choosing to boot OS4 on ESM and after loading the ROM modules, the system booted to OS4 WB each and every time I pressed Ctrl+A+A.
After the 4.1 installation and the update I noticed that I had to select the OS4 WB on every reset, cause the 3.9 partition had a higher priority....
I`ve read again the Documentation/kernel drawer referring to the BootLoader and I remembered the BootDevice! It`s a file that you have to specify in order to select a top priority booting volume (the system that is), once you got to OS4.
You have to create it with the following command:
Echo >SYS:Kickstart/BootDevice "Name_The_Device_e.g._DH0"
and then comment out the ";MODULE Kickstart/BootDevice" line in the KickLayout file (remove the ";" )


P.S. In order to discover the OS4.1.3 problems you have to stress it on low resources, like the 128MB classic Amiga (take this as suggestion to the beta testers for future releases). With SAM & 1GB mem it runs nicely and fast.

More to come regarding the use on both systems.

_________________
Ordell Robbie: Is she dead, yes or no?
Louis: Pretty much.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
royleith 
Re: OS 4.1 Update 3 Released___Not OK Now
Posted on 10-Sep-2011 11:44:33
#306 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 31-Jul-2003
Posts: 766
From: UK

@Moxee

Quote:
libs.so.1 was missing. I am guessing that this broke the links. Strange that the later files were empty.


Don't feel bad. The same thing happened to me even using Unark. I had to re-Unark even though the original was on a spare partition not usually accessed by the OS. When I unarked to the same place in the spare partition, the install program stopped complaining about the missing libs.so.1.

Regards
Roy Leith

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Moxee 
Re: OS 4.1 Update 3 Released___Not OK Now
Posted on 11-Sep-2011 4:37:34
#307 ]
Team Member
Joined: 20-Aug-2003
Posts: 6291
From: County Yakima, WA State, USA

@royleith

Quote:
When I unarked to the same place in the spare partition, the install program stopped complaining about the missing libs.so.1.


Hmmm... I wonder. But, I am not going to try to figure out if that happened to me too. The evidence is probably all gone now as I installed a new hard drive and revamped the old drives.

Now I even have a separate partition holding a clean install of Update 3 just for future reference and possible use. Might even burn it to CD. Do I sound paranoid?

_________________
Moxee
AmigaOne X1000
AmigaOne XE G4
I'd agree with you, but then we'd both be wrong.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
emeck 
Re: OS 4.1 Update 3 Released___Not OK Now
Posted on 11-Sep-2011 9:44:41
#308 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 30-Apr-2003
Posts: 683
From: Barcelona, Spain

@Moxee

Quote:
Now I even have a separate partition holding a clean install of Update 3 just for future reference and possible use. Might even burn it to CD. Do I sound paranoid?

Nop, you sound experienced and practical.

_________________
PowerBook 5.2 MorphOS 3.15
PowerBook 5.8 MorphOS 3.15
Amiga 1200 BPPC/BVision AOS4.1 FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle