Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5671 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
49 crawler(s) on-line.
 43 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 nikosidis,  DiscreetFX

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 DiscreetFX:  3 mins ago
 nikosidis:  5 mins ago
 Trixie:  5 mins ago
 OlafS25:  9 mins ago
 Lou:  11 mins ago
 dirkzwager:  12 mins ago
 kolla:  22 mins ago
 Everblue:  23 mins ago
 Jasper:  25 mins ago
 number6:  29 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Software
      /  Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 )
PosterThread
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 10-Oct-2013 17:40:53
#101 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 11118
From: Norway

@Fairdinkem

Well I don't think any of the OWB versions on AmigaOS4 plays video yet, I like OWB as well.

_________________
Please check out my software:
Excalibur, Basilisk 2, AmigaInputAnywhere.
LiveForIt-Music
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pvanni 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 10-Oct-2013 18:03:20
#102 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 25-Aug-2003
Posts: 464
From: Lecco, Italy

@NutsAboutAmiga
unfortunately on my setup it work ok only for some minutes, after that
it slows down my AmigaONE XE-G4 till it became unusable

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 10-Oct-2013 18:18:30
#103 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 11118
From: Norway

@pvanni

Try unplugging the USB keyboard and Mouse and plugin it back inn, I think it might be due to some run away CPU usage, I does not happen her on the X1000, I did have the same thing on my old computer as you do, often I find that my computer work but my mouse and keyboard is locked up.

_________________
Please check out my software:
Excalibur, Basilisk 2, AmigaInputAnywhere.
LiveForIt-Music
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Signal 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 10-Oct-2013 18:28:43
#104 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2013
Posts: 660
From: USA

As of now Timberwolf is the only browser with JavaScript working
as it should and well enough to allow creation and execution of
remote programs for the BeagleBoard platform.

I have tried them all. Extra points to the brothers

_________________
Tinkering with computers.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fab 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 10-Oct-2013 20:24:30
#105 ]
Super Member
Joined: 17-Mar-2004
Posts: 1178
From: Unknown

@Signal

You're absolutely mistaken. JS works fine (and is probably more recent than firefox 3.6 js) in OWB as well (and is likely faster too).

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 10-Oct-2013 20:31:07
#106 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 11118
From: Norway

@Fab

Not at all Timberwolf work better on many devices I have also, then MUI OWB.
The fact that you have newer OWB does not change the fact for AmigaOS4 users.

_________________
Please check out my software:
Excalibur, Basilisk 2, AmigaInputAnywhere.
LiveForIt-Music
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 10-Oct-2013 20:46:03
#107 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2649
From: Amiga land

@NutsAboutAmiga

this is a true speaking

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Signal 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 10-Oct-2013 21:06:45
#108 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2013
Posts: 660
From: USA

@Fab

Fab, you are probably right. I'm using 3.32 and although it will
pull up the page from the BeagleBoards server it will not allow
JS interaction with the board. Also, it does not allow editing of
the JS presented on the page as TW does.

I probably need a newer OWB.

If you wish to test what I'm going on about go to

http://beagleboard.org/Support/bone101/

not too far down the page you will see an Example with RUN RESTORE
boxes. Try to edit the JS presented there.

Or maybe someone with a newer OWB on AOS could give it a go.


_________________
Tinkering with computers.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Kronos 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 10-Oct-2013 21:34:41
#109 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 2176
From: Unknown

@Signal

Editing that JS sems no problem with OWB1.20 (can't test the result, no dogs around here )

_________________
- We don't need good ideas, we haven't run out on bad ones yet
- blame Canada

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Signal 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 10-Oct-2013 21:55:26
#110 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2013
Posts: 660
From: USA

@Kronos

Quote:

Kronos wrote:
@Signal

Editing that JS sems no problem with OWB1.20 (can't test the result, no dogs around here )


1.2?

Which computer?

Maybe I should start a new thread.

_________________
Tinkering with computers.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 10-Oct-2013 23:00:42
#111 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2649
From: Amiga land

@Signal

it is on mophos....




@all
my powerbook with osx and last webkit dont have problems with js with flash and stream all youtube video in window or full screen.
the same is with firefox,safari,explorer on my imac or on a pc ecc ecc...
why im writing such stupid things ? just because compare odissey 1.20 of morphos with amigaos is like to compare browsers from other os and other platform..

Last edited by tlosm on 10-Oct-2013 at 11:01 PM.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
vox 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 10-Oct-2013 23:39:40
#112 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-Jun-2005
Posts: 3725
From: Belgrade, Serbia

@NutsAboutAmiga

Yes, porting FF 20 or so is great work to do,
but would love to see TW 4 gets just those few useful things - bookmarks, download progress, copy/paste working.

YouTube and some other HTML5 related services are already screaming a new browser is badly needed

Quote:
It really does not matter what you want, they are not slaves, and you paid almost nothing compared to the work it takes to get this done.


No one expect them to be slaves, its better to complete one almost done project before new big one.

Otherwise, we might be stuck with half usable TW for quite long time.

Quote:
You might argue that the money should not have been paid out before project was completed and I agree. This is trolls mistake.


To be honest, they have earned that money, even its biggest bounty in Amiga community of all times.
Since original bounty money was taken from was at least to open source it and enable OS3, MOS developers to try to do same, why not doing it? It is open source software, and it should remain so, as well as someone could maintain it, and let Friedens free of it or focusing on FF 20+ port.

_________________
Future Acube and MOS supporter, fi di good, nothing fi di unprofessionals. Learn it harder way!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
realize 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 11-Oct-2013 1:46:24
#113 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Apr-2003
Posts: 1797
From: nyc

how in the world this bounty got paid out is beyond me. TW is unusable. It was kinda usable like 3 versions ago on my peg2 but now it crap :( the port of fab's morphos owb port.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Belxjander 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 11-Oct-2013 3:09:32
#114 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 4-Jan-2005
Posts: 557
From: Chiba prefecture Japan

@realize

Not everyone got the same experience...

I'm using TimberWolf for this reply on a sam440... and I have found it uasble for everyday use...

Copy&Paste are working for me, along with actually having added NoScript and AdBlock+ plugins along with several English>->Japanese conversion items related to Moji and Rikaichan extensions.

I find OWB-MUI latest runs like crap for me (and I only need that for 1-2 sites, specifically github and kraken) due to random crash on load and other issues,

Firefox(TimberWolf) for me only crashes on exit and randomly blocks when roadshow is jammed up.

so mileage definitely varies

Due to use of a non-supported language (Japanese) I actually expect more trouble than I get

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
sundown 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 11-Oct-2013 4:01:02
#115 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Aug-2003
Posts: 5112
From: Right here...

@Belxjander

I've had the same experience, but on the x1000. I'm using RC2, I can bookmark pages, I get a download window, only real issue is the auto scroll with the mouse at times.

I found 2 files that can become corrupt on quit, cookies & place.sqlite. They seem to get updated on quit, should only be a single file for each after quitting. If there are more then one, I delete all of them & let TW re-create both of them again.

I'm sorry some of you can't figure out how to get TW to work, but blame youself insted of the program. It does require some work to get it working, took me a month or more to figure out what was going on. My first fix was to delete the CurrentUserProfile directory & let TW create it again till it worked, made a backup to give me something to compare if it started acting up again.

TW is not for the lazy.....

_________________
Hate tends to make you look stupid...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Signal 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 11-Oct-2013 15:00:24
#116 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2013
Posts: 660
From: USA

@vox

--------------------------------------------------------------------
Yes, porting FF 20 or so is great work to do,
but would love to see TW 4 gets just those few useful things - bookmarks, download progress, copy/paste working.

YouTube and some other HT
----------------------------------------------------------------------

Between the dashed lines was placed there using copy/paste.

Here on my X1000, the downloads window works WITH a progress bar.

Bookmarks work just fine.

JavaScript works.

Sometimes it crashes on exit,,,,,but does not lockup anything.

It is my main browser.

( I still love and use AWeb).

_________________
Tinkering with computers.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trixie 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 11-Oct-2013 15:14:28
#117 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 1-Sep-2003
Posts: 1829
From: Czech Republic

@realize

Quote:
how in the world this bounty got paid out is beyond me.

Yes, the bounty team clearly jumped the gun.

_________________
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast!

AmigaOne X5000/020 @ 2GHz / 4GB RAM / Radeon RX 560 / ESI Juli@ / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
SAM440ep-flex @ 667MHz / 1GB RAM / Radeon 9250 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
realize 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 12-Oct-2013 0:55:18
#118 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Apr-2003
Posts: 1797
From: nyc

@Signal

Quote:
( I still love and use AWeb).


Just the fact this is mentioned like this proves my point. Sux

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle