Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5765 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
34 crawler(s) on-line.
 22 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 1Mouse,  Yogi27

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 1Mouse:  4 mins ago
 Yogi27:  4 mins ago
 dirkzwager:  7 mins ago
 NutsAboutAmiga:  14 mins ago
 towo2099:  23 mins ago
 eliyahu:  28 mins ago
 freak:  44 mins ago
 Hexaae:  52 mins ago
 PhantomInterrogative:  1 hr 2 mins ago
 Everblue:  1 hr 19 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga General Chat
      /  WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 Next Page )
PosterThread
wawa 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 3-Aug-2014 12:50:53
#61 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6255
From: Unknown

@pavlor

Quote:
That is why Im still using my fine-tuned stable OS3.x.

and that simple rational decision of you tells more that thousand words you are wasting here on a forum.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OlafS25 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 3-Aug-2014 12:53:43
#62 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-May-2010
Posts: 5664
From: Unknown

@pavlor

When I test new software like demos it sometimes crashes but not very often. I would bet that the same happens when testing software on 68k. When I tested on amikit it also crashed now and then. "Unstable" means for me that the environment more or less randomly freezes without any obvious reason or reboots. That is not the case in my experience. I can run it hours without any reboot.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 3-Aug-2014 12:54:11
#63 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 9081
From: Unknown

@wawa

Quote:
that thousand words you are wasting here on a forum.


Im enjoying discussions with fellow Amiga users.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 3-Aug-2014 12:54:31
#64 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6255
From: Unknown

@pavlor

Quote:
If it crashes too often, it is not stable. May be bad applications, my configuration or something else. However, first releases were much worser.

yes, it is not as stable as os3, thats clear (its wip), although on winuae it should be pretty ok. have you tried lately? do you remember where your particular problems were? feedback leads to improvement you know. i might try to reproduce it before forwarding.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OlafS25 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 3-Aug-2014 13:10:35
#65 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-May-2010
Posts: 5664
From: Unknown

@pavlor

that is nice

have you any description/scenery where and when it is "unstable" or only a general "feeling"?

I could look at it or report it but I need more informations

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 3-Aug-2014 13:17:15
#66 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 9081
From: Unknown

@OlafS25

Quote:
I could look at it or report it but I need more informations


Will do more tests (probably not today).

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Boot_WB 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 3-Aug-2014 15:55:05
#67 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Feb-2006
Posts: 1134
From: Kingston upon Hull, UK

@itix

Quote:

itix wrote:
I think their brand is better than AmigaOne brand and is soon capable to run OS4



???

Are you suggesting that OS4 will soon be running on Mac hardware, or just that it's feasible?

_________________
Troll - n., A disenfranchised former potential customer who remains interested enough to stay informed and express critical opinions.
opp., the vast majority who voted silently with their feet.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 3-Aug-2014 16:25:18
#68 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 9081
From: Unknown

@Boot_WB

When WinUAE emulates PowerPC CPU, it can be used to run OS4 on Mac hardware (Intel).

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
_Steve_ 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 3-Aug-2014 17:55:41
#69 ]
Team Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2002
Posts: 6746
From: UK

@pavlor

Quote:

pavlor wrote:
@Boot_WB

When WinUAE emulates PowerPC CPU, it can be used to run OS4 on Mac hardware (Intel).


Toni Wilen has stated (and it was mentioned earlier in this thread) that his only intention was to get OS3.x PPC programs to run. Once he reached a stage where that was true, that was the end of it. He really has no intention of making it accurate of complete as the emulation of 68K and the classic Amiga are.

While the QEMU core would be preferred, he is working with the PearPC core simply because it is available and and easier task. However he is not interested in attempting to debug PPC executables to get the whole PowerUP/WarpOS environment compatibility into WinUAE.

Right now he has a core hooked up which startes and stops the PPC emulation, but is not functional at all in terms of the 68K and PPC emulations working together as on the PPC cards. There are several things he doesn't know what is going on in respect of the PPC memory mapping/registers.

There is certainly little chance that anything OS4 classic related would run on it.

_________________
Test sig

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 3-Aug-2014 18:02:35
#70 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 9081
From: Unknown

@_Steve_

I was referring to Itix (post 16) as explanation for Boot_WB.

Quote:
There is certainly little chance that anything OS4 classic related would run on it.


Without doubt.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
itix 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 3-Aug-2014 19:56:58
#71 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Dec-2004
Posts: 3398
From: Freedom world

@pavlor

Quote:

When WinUAE emulates PowerPC CPU, it can be used to run OS4 on Mac hardware (Intel).


Indeed this is what I meant.

_________________
Amiga Developer
Amiga 500, Efika, Mac Mini and PowerBook

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Seiya 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 3-Aug-2014 21:28:25
#72 ]
Super Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2006
Posts: 1416
From: Italia

i think it will be very interesting to run ppc classic software on winuae :)

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trixie 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 3-Aug-2014 21:36:51
#73 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 1-Sep-2003
Posts: 1888
From: Czech Republic

@Seiya

Like what? The 15-year-old, unremarkable and mostly buggy software written for WarpUP/PowerUP? Yes that will be very interesting indeed

_________________
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast!

AmigaOne X5000/020 @ 2GHz / 4GB RAM / Radeon RX 560 / ESI Juli@ / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
SAM440ep-flex @ 667MHz / 1GB RAM / Radeon 9250 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 3-Aug-2014 22:13:14
#74 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6255
From: Unknown

@Trixie

especially, that the most of it was available as plain 68k versions as well and under winuae there will not be aby remarkable speed difference. at least i dont recall any warpos exclusive software i would miss.

Last edited by wawa on 03-Aug-2014 at 10:13 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 4-Aug-2014 8:03:45
#75 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5187
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

@PPC emulation...

It might be interesting to see a poll of how fast x86/x64 computer people have in their household...

Often I see it mentioned how fast g3 emulation can be done on the fastest and most expensive i7 PCs.
Do all people have i7?

My 2year old x64 (3.8Ghz FX4300) can run PPC code roughly at the speed of nintendo Wii. (slower than my slowest MOS HW, faster than my SAM440)

(for Intel system one must have more than 100eur extra vs 4ghz AMD)

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
phoenixkonsole 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 4-Aug-2014 8:14:17
#76 ]
Super Member
Joined: 8-Nov-2009
Posts: 1758
From: Unknown

@KimmoK
I have 1x i7 CPU 975 @ 3.33GHz, 8 cores
1x ARES M7 i7 3775K
1x AresOne 2010 with Athlon64 X2 3000+
1x AresOne 2014 with E350

and much more slower than that.
People can play some wii games even on the E350.
GPU is important as well.

In a year or two even the lowed pcs for under 250 will reach that.

... their is one thing where the SAM wins:
Noise. SAM is silent.
Is The X1000 passive cooled? If you see it from that perspective it would not look that bad.

For 100% Amiga felling it must be silent : )
Because of that I like the small ARM-computers a lot. Fast (double performance year for year for a pocket money price)

Last edited by phoenixkonsole on 04-Aug-2014 at 08:21 AM.
Last edited by phoenixkonsole on 04-Aug-2014 at 08:20 AM.
Last edited by phoenixkonsole on 04-Aug-2014 at 08:17 AM.
Last edited by phoenixkonsole on 04-Aug-2014 at 08:17 AM.
Last edited by phoenixkonsole on 04-Aug-2014 at 08:14 AM.

_________________
AROS Broadway - AEROS - Aminux - AmiCloud - indieGO! Appstore - AmiWallet - VAN lossless video codec - AMC Amiga media Center -KrypUnite - LibertyNet - MinX - amigaNX

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trixie 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 4-Aug-2014 8:55:01
#77 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 1-Sep-2003
Posts: 1888
From: Czech Republic

@wawa

Quote:
i dont recall any warpos exclusive software i would miss.

Exactly. I could never understand the fuss about WarpUP/PowerUP support or emulation. They were just stop-gap solutions that left no software legacy to speak of.

_________________
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast!

AmigaOne X5000/020 @ 2GHz / 4GB RAM / Radeon RX 560 / ESI Juli@ / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
SAM440ep-flex @ 667MHz / 1GB RAM / Radeon 9250 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
hotrod 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 4-Aug-2014 9:22:46
#78 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Mar-2003
Posts: 2778
From: Stockholm, Sweden

@wawa

The only exclusives that I can think of would be the Hyperion games that aren't ported, WipeOut 2097 and some demos, nothing that I would miss really. Even on my A1 XE I find the 68k-programs to run fast enough so no need for WarpOS-emulation.

PPC-emulation would be interesting for AOS 4 emulation. Like already mentioned you can't use composition or Gallium so it will kind of be "try before you buy" and it would also be useful to developers who wold get access to the latest functions in AOS 4.1.

I would really like to have AOS 4 runing on my PowerMac but I don't think that Hyperion consider the effort to be worth it. MOS runs really well though and I can finaly see what's better/worse between the two . Not trying to go OT into THAT discussion again, I'm just typing a little more than I should as usual .

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
xeno74 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 4-Aug-2014 9:59:00
#79 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 15-Dec-2010
Posts: 667
From: Unknown

Hi All,

I'm testing Mac OS X on Mac-on-Linux and on QEMU on my A1-X1000. I have installed PearPC for a fast installation of OS X on my PC (Intel Xeon quad core 4x 2.93GHz). The PearPC ppc emulation acceleration is fantastic and impressive on my PC.

Mac OS X 10.2 Jaguar shows me a G3 processor with 2.33GHz on PearPC. OS X/PPC is very fast on my PC.



Unfortunately the Jaguar image doesn't boot on Mac-on-Linux and on QEMU with KVM on my A1-X1000. But it boots on QEMU without KVM kernel modul. Jaguar shows me 433 MHz without KVM on my A1-X1000.



If WinUAE supports PPC emulation then I have a virtual CyberStorm PPC card with 2.33GHz on my PC. On my A1-X1000 I have 433MHz. 433MHz is not bad for a Classic Amiga.

This could be a big chance for Cloanto. Cloanto could offer an Amiga Forever with an OS4.1 Classic image. This would be a sensation.

_________________
www.amigalinux.org

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
salass00 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 4-Aug-2014 10:23:08
#80 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 31-Oct-2003
Posts: 2701
From: Finland

@KimmoK

Quote:

Often I see it mentioned how fast g3 emulation can be done on the fastest and most expensive i7 PCs.
Do all people have i7?


My several years old PC has only:
2.13 GHz Core 2 Duo
GeForce 8600 GT with 256 MB video RAM
3072 MB RAM

Also since a year or so ago it's running Ubuntu 12.04 LTS only. I was going to make it dual-boot into Windows XP but I couldn't get it to install and after many failed attempts (all resulting in a BSOD) I gave up.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle