Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5669 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
49 crawler(s) on-line.
 10 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 freak:  13 mins ago
 tekmage:  49 mins ago
 Snorg:  1 hr 4 mins ago
 acefnq:  1 hr 10 mins ago
 BenMatthew:  1 hr 39 mins ago
 Kremlar:  1 hr 40 mins ago
 OlafS25:  1 hr 51 mins ago
 terminills:  1 hr 52 mins ago
 RobertB:  1 hr 54 mins ago
 Paul:  1 hr 59 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  sam460 emulated in qemu
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 Next Page )
PosterThread
themamboman 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 29-Jul-2018 15:48:47
#261 ]
Member
Joined: 29-Mar-2013
Posts: 61
From: Unknown

@tlosm

Quote:

tlosm wrote:
@themamboman

the only thing that make you think is : Did you flag the boot partition as bootable?


I used the automatic partitioning in the install wizard. I went back and checked and it had 3 partitions, a boot partition of 60MB named Boot, HFS (apple) formatted, NOT set to bootable, then 2 SFS paritions nearly 1GB each, with the first (named System, set to bootable) and Work, set to not bootable.

I tried remaking the image file, then allowing it to auto-partition but went back to set the hfs boot to bootable (and I left the system as bootable too).

Never initialized the video.

Should the HFS partition be there if this is supposed to be a Sam 460 and not an apple device being emulated?

Also, when using -net user, how to set up the networking on the host side and the MorphOS networking preference panel to allow NAT?

Thanks again!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 25-Sep-2018 11:23:52
#262 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2648
From: Amiga land

new pull for 3.1

git://github.com/dgibson/qemu.git tags/ppc-for-3.1-20180925

Marcus Comstedt (1):
sm501: Adjust endianness of pixel value in rectangle fill

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kamelito 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 25-Sep-2018 12:10:33
#263 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 26-Jul-2004
Posts: 699
From: Unknown

@tlosm

does it run faster than OS 4.1 under WinUAE?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 25-Sep-2018 14:23:00
#264 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2648
From: Amiga land

@kamelit0

I dont know , dint have winuae for compare

This is my old video of Qemu with os4 on my threadripper

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ML7-F4HNFKQ

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 25-Sep-2018 15:19:23
#265 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8999
From: Unknown

@kamelit0

I was not able to run QEMU/PPC for Windows, but CPU emulation speed should be similar.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fl@sh 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 4-Nov-2018 15:52:32
#266 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 6-Oct-2004
Posts: 118
From: Napoli - Italy

@all

Well so today, just for fun, I have installed AmigaOS4.1fe with QEMU 3.1 beta (windows version), downloaded from Emaculation site https://www.emaculation.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=9028

I was going crazy due some bugs and related non recognized hard disk and guru meditation.

First of all the command to make an empty img is this:

qemu-img create amigaos.img 2G (2G = 2 Gb if you want 10Gb use 10G, etc..)

instead the command to install from AmigaOs4.1 ISO, under Windows OS, is this:

qemu-system-ppc -machine sam460ex -m 1G -rtc base=localtime -serial mon:stdio -device ide-hd,drive=disk,bus=ide.0 -drive file=D:\Amiga\amigaos.img,format=raw,id=disk -device ide-cd,drive=cd,bus=ide.1 -drive file=D:\Amiga\Sam460InstallCD-53.58-patched.iso,if=none,id=cd,format=raw -display sdl

I have used a patched ISO to avoid color garbage/blue screen.

To avoid the not recognized Hard Disk and Guru on Os4.1 reboot you HAVE TO FORMAT IN FFS WITH 512 BLOCKSIZE!!!

After installation your lauch command will be

qemu-system-ppc -machine sam460ex -m 1G -rtc base=localtime -serial mon:stdio -device ide-hd,drive=disk,bus=ide.0 -drive file=D:\Amiga\amigaos.img,format=raw,id=disk -display sdl

to avoid the restart of installation procedure.

Of course in command lines you have to set your paths for both ISO and Image file.

I tried also to manage the startup boot devices from openfirmware with no lucky, so I decided the remove the cd drive and leave only the hard disk.

For now it's useless because we have no internet access and still some bugs, but I see the light at the end of tunnel..

Many thanks to Zoltan Balaton for his free efforts to make Qemu compatible with Amiga OS and @Tlosm for his guides and suggestions.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
SimplePPC 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 4-Nov-2018 16:52:32
#267 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 9-Mar-2003
Posts: 109
From: Unknown

@Fl@sh

This commandline worked for me:

./ppc-softmmu/qemu-system-ppc -machine sam460ex -rtc base=localtime -drive format=raw,if=none,id=rdb,file=amigaos.raw -device ide-hd,drive=rdb,bus=ide.0 -drive format=raw,if=none,id=amigastuff,file=AmigaStuff.iso -device ide-cd,drive=amigastuff,bus=ide.1 -device ne2k_pci,netdev=mynet0 -netdev user,id=mynet0 -k pc-bios/keymaps/common -k pc-bios/keymaps/modifiers -display sdl,gl=on -device ES1370

With this i do have network access and even sound !

But! when i compile qemu i have to add --enable-debug otherwise i have the problems you experience aswell.

Are you running on an AMD CPU ?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fl@sh 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 4-Nov-2018 17:14:55
#268 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 6-Oct-2004
Posts: 118
From: Napoli - Italy

@SimplePPC

Well later I'll try to add net interface and sound, using your parameters.
I noticed you use Linux OS, I'm under windows OS instead.
My host machine is an i5 6600 with old Radeon hd6790 running windows 10 x64, I don't think different cpus returns different results.
Be careful when you compile with debug enabled the speed goes down a lot..

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fl@sh 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 4-Nov-2018 22:02:22
#269 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 6-Oct-2004
Posts: 118
From: Napoli - Italy

@Fl@sh

Ok perfect!
Now works both Ethernet and audio, I took a little to configure devices.
Internet connection was configured in Auto mode, and audio choosing from AHI prefs the soundblaster device.

The new bootstrap commandline for me (under Windows OS) is the following:

qemu-system-ppc -machine sam460ex -m 1G -rtc base=localtime -serial mon:stdio -drive format=raw,if=none,id=rdb,file=D:\Amiga\amigaos.img -device ide-hd,drive=rdb,bus=ide.0 -device ne2k_pci,netdev=mynet0 -netdev user,id=mynet0 -k pc-bios/keymaps/common -k pc-bios/keymaps/modifiers -display sdl,gl=off -device ES1370

I did also some speed test between QEMU 3.1 (beta) and WINUAE 4.1 (beta) for OS4.
The host pc is again an intel I5 6600 with 16gb ram running Win 10 x64 (today latest release).
Sadly I must report QEMU in FPU is about 2 times slower than Winuae.
To test I used my program AsciiMandelbrot v1.4 released on Aminet (and soon updated also on os4depot), it took about 85 seconds to render at default iterations under Winuae and 160 seconds under Qemu, for the same job.
Graphic is not involved in this test, it's pure FPU speed.
Maybe Under Linux Qemu runs better, if I remember well cpu registers are used much better than windows.

However the strange thing is they both uses the same Qemu ppc engine to emulate PowerPc cpu.

I'll continue to test with other benchs, I'll try FlashMandel and other software too.
Please let me know your results.

Last edited by Fl@sh on 04-Nov-2018 at 10:05 PM.
Last edited by Fl@sh on 04-Nov-2018 at 10:02 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 8-Nov-2018 13:29:20
#270 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2648
From: Amiga land

new git test

CÚdric Le Goater (3):
ppc440_pcix: convert SysBus init method to a realize method
ppc4xx_pci: convert SysBus init method to a realize method
PPC: e500: convert SysBus init method to a realize method


Richard Henderson (7):
target/ppc: Split up float_invalid_op_excp
target/ppc: Remove float_check_status
target/ppc: Introduce fp number classification
target/ppc: Split out float_invalid_op_addsub
target/ppc: Split out float_invalid_op_mul
target/ppc: Split out float_invalid_op_div
target/ppc: Split out float_invalid_cvt



git://github.com/dgibson/qemu.git tags/ppc-for-3.1-20181108


_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fl@sh 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 8-Nov-2018 14:41:08
#271 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 6-Oct-2004
Posts: 118
From: Napoli - Italy

@tlosm

Balaton Zoltran emailed me also another patch:


https://patchew.org/QEMU/20181013231933.28789-1-cota@braap.org/

for hardfloats, now speedup in fpu operations (the most commons) should be about 2x faster.
We should see these patches in next 3.2 qemu release.
Are you able to apply also them and recompile for a new qemu version and test it?

I tested qemu 3.0 in my powermac g5 quad recompiling from sources.
Emulation isn't usable.. so we need KVM support.

Under Windows with latest cpus Qemu 3.1 runs much better.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fl@sh 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 16-Nov-2018 18:24:26
#272 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 6-Oct-2004
Posts: 118
From: Napoli - Italy

@Fl@sh

Ok so I got some spare time and I have just uploaded a fresh made youtube video (italian spoken sorry) to show AmigaOs4.1fe emulation under PowerMac G5 Quad 2,5Ghz and UbuntuMATE 16.04.

AmigaOS4.1fe emulated under PowerMac G5 quad and QEMU 3.0 (UbuntuMATE 16.04) - part 1

I recompiled Qemu 3.0 from souces because the UbuntuMate 16.04 distro has an older Qemu version not compatible with AmigaOs4.

As you can see the emulation speed is very slow, I hope to get the KVM virtualization support one day to run PowerPc instructions natively, at nearly full speed.
This is only part 1, to be continued.. if you have questions you are welcome.
Happy watching!

Last edited by Fl@sh on 16-Nov-2018 at 06:27 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 17-Nov-2018 12:11:50
#273 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1723
From: Somewhere in Spain

@tlosm

Souless machines thre pcs.Only to buy expensive HW I prefer

Buy pc and you will get crappy machines.Buy Amigas and then you could realize they are better and better and encouraging them.

Buy!!!

_________________
AMIGA 500 1.5 MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
AMIGA 500 German
CD32 unexpanded
Amiga 1200 Tower on AmigaKit since years
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/1 GB RAM/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SATA CONTROLLER

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 17-Nov-2018 14:33:22
#274 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2648
From: Amiga land

@newlight

nope sorry i sold 2x X5000 and one was the P5040 version. Prefer the emulation way. waiting a better machine from others vendors.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 17-Nov-2018 14:35:37
#275 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2648
From: Amiga land

@Fl@sh

yes the emulation on g5 isnt really fast . the fs-uae gave me max a speed of 604e 366mhz with os4.
Kvm dont work on qemu on morphos side too.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fl@sh 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 17-Nov-2018 16:31:12
#276 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 6-Oct-2004
Posts: 118
From: Napoli - Italy

@tlosm

I just recompiled the 3.1 prerealse, always under PowerMac g5 quad, it seems a bit faster.
I'm tring to activate KVM virtualization but at start it couldn't initialize cpu and returns "hardware error 0".

It could be great to join our forces to got KVM works

Are you able to enable audio/networking and opengl support under PowerMac g5 quad and UbuntuMATE 16.04?

Maybe later I could make another video with this latest release (QEMU 3.1)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 17-Nov-2018 16:37:31
#277 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2648
From: Amiga land

Quote:
Are you able to enable audio/networking and opengl support under PowerMac g5 quad and UbuntuMATE 16.04?

yes on all my distros on the host hardware debian ppc64 too.


Quote:
I'm tring to activate KVM virtualization but at start it couldn't initialize cpu and returns "hardware error 0".


it mean kernel say to you no kvm because you are try to have a kvm-pr of a book3e cpu under a book3s host.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fl@sh 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 17-Nov-2018 17:48:43
#278 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 6-Oct-2004
Posts: 118
From: Napoli - Italy

@tlosm

Great to know networking, audio, and opengl are ok for you!
So please can you report what parameters you used to build and what parameters you used to launch quemu?

These are my launch parameters:
qemu-system-ppc64 -machine sam460ex -m 1G -rtc base=localtime -serial mon:stdio -drive format=raw,if=none,id=rdb,file='/home/dino/amigaos.img' -device ide-hd,drive=rdb,bus=ide.0 -device ne2k_pci,netdev=mynet0 -netdev user,id=mynet0 -display sdl,gl=off -device ES1370

To build instead I used these:
./configure --target-list=ppc-softmmu,ppc64-softmmu --audio-drv-list=alsa,oss,pa,sdl --enable-kvm

but I modified also others in "configure" file like linux="yes", kvm="yes", linux_user="yes", opengl="yes", opengl_dmabuf="yes", gtk="yes", gtk_gl="yes".

About KVM virtualization you are right, book3e != book3s, but in user mode the instructions are the same, what changes are supervisor mode instructions.
..but with KVM-PR privileged insructions are all software emulated.
So maybe could be possible a solution.

PS: about opengl support the limit is due my nvidia 6600ft card, it supports until opengl 2.0, instead QEMU looks for opengl 3.0 and returns me an error.
I know you use and AMD/ATI more recent gfx card so maybe you are ok with opengl.

Is here any way to downgrade QEMU to opengl v2.0 ?!?

Last edited by Fl@sh on 17-Nov-2018 at 06:22 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 18-Nov-2018 16:52:49
#279 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2648
From: Amiga land

@Fl@sh

using opengl or not dont change the speed of emulation or gave 3d support. there is no virgl support for powerpc.

linux_user="yes" not needed for the scope :)


So maybe could be possible a solution: yes if you know some one good to patch a kernel

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 13-Dec-2018 6:21:05
#280 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 697
From: Unknown

@tlosm

Hello.
I wanted to ask if there is anything new going on with this emulator.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle