Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5813 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
14 crawler(s) on-line.
 21 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Fl@sh:  26 mins ago
 A1200coder:  29 mins ago
 dirkzwager:  30 mins ago
 K-L:  47 mins ago
 noXLar:  54 mins ago
 matthey:  56 mins ago
 ErikBauer:  1 hr 3 mins ago
 outlawal2:  1 hr 10 mins ago
 tomazkid:  1 hr 38 mins ago
 Bezzen:  1 hr 38 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Website feedback and suggestions
      /  Re: Website Bugs
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 Next Page )
PosterThread
Xenic 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 26-Feb-2015 20:13:17
#381 ]
Super Member
Joined: 2-Feb-2004
Posts: 1245
From: Pennsylvania, USA

@all
When the Cisco WebEx "sponsored add" is displayed Odyssey sends my X1000 OS4.1FE system into slow motion. I can't drag the Odyssey dragbar. My pointer is slow and jumps around and all activity on my system is slow (menus, window opening etc.). I had to disable javascript in Odyssey to get back to normal but then I couldn't make this post. I had to close AmigaWorld.net and return when the add had changed to another sponser.


_________________
X1000 with 2GB memory & OS4.1FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 26-Feb-2015 20:27:56
#382 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4411
From: Portsmouth England

@Xenic

You can block specific advertisers in theose ads by clicking on the small X

How well that works I don't know.

Not had any similar issues myself.

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Xenic 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 27-Feb-2015 18:30:04
#383 ]
Super Member
Joined: 2-Feb-2004
Posts: 1245
From: Pennsylvania, USA

@broadblues
Unfortunately, that add has no small x. I opened it in a seperate window and the title in the URL gadget seems to indicate its some kind of flash file. The only way I can stop it from putting my system in slow-motion is to disable javascript support. However, I can't post in any forums if javascript is disabled. I guess I'll just have to avoid AmigaWorld when that add shows up.


_________________
X1000 with 2GB memory & OS4.1FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Xenic 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 2-Mar-2015 20:11:32
#384 ]
Super Member
Joined: 2-Feb-2004
Posts: 1245
From: Pennsylvania, USA

@Xenic
The Cisco add is still appearing and causing system slowdowns. Apparently nobody on the staff is reading this topic, so I guess I'll just have to hope that add disappears soon.


_________________
X1000 with 2GB memory & OS4.1FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kolla 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 1-Jun-2015 13:30:26
#385 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1519
From: Trondheim, Norway

I wish DNS could be fixed with more reasonable TTL values, so that we don't rely on one single server to be running for amigaworld.net to exist in DNS for more than 5 minutes (300 secs for NS records is crazy). It really causes me a lot of trouble when I visit places with low bandwidth, because of negative caching, I get look up errors all the time. I sent mail about this to contact@a-eon.com as listed in whois as technical contact, but got no reply or anything for more than a week.

Quote:

Status: NOERROR
Id: 13702
Flags: qr rd ra

SOA
- Name: amigaworld.net
TTL: 300
Source: ns1.amigaworld.net
Admin: ddoyle.amigaworld.net
Serial: 2014071140
Refresh: 10800
Expire: 604800
Retry: 3600
Minimum: 10800

A
- Name: amigaworld.net
TTL: 300
Value: 85.25.152.36

MX
- Name: amigaworld.net
TTL: 300
Value: mail.amigaworld.net
Prio: 10

NS
- Name: amigaworld.net
TTL: 300
Value: d.ns.buddyns.com
- Name: amigaworld.net
TTL: 300
Value: ns1.amigaworld.net
- Name: amigaworld.net
TTL: 300
Value: c.ns.buddyns.com

TXT
- Name: amigaworld.net
TTL: 300
Value: v=spf1 +a +mx -all


Compared to the much more sane values for amiga.org

Quote:

Status: NOERROR
Id: 23542
Flags: qr rd ra

SOA
- Name: amiga.org
TTL: 86400
Source: ns6019.hostgator.com
Admin: dnsadmin.gator3010.hostgator.com
Serial: 2015032600
Refresh: 3600
Expire: 1296000
Retry: 900
Minimum: 21600

A
- Name: amiga.org
TTL: 14400
Value: 50.87.149.192

MX
- Name: amiga.org
TTL: 14400
Value: amiga.org
Prio: 10

NS
- Name: amiga.org
TTL: 86400
Value: ns1489.hostgator.com
- Name: amiga.org
TTL: 86400
Value: ns1490.hostgator.com

_________________
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
_Steve_ 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 4-Jun-2015 1:21:23
#386 ]
Team Member
Joined: 18-Oct-2002
Posts: 6774
From: UK

@Xenic

Those adverts are google adsense. They are not in rotation from the site but are targeted advertising based on sites you have visited in the past. We have no control over the adverts you see.

All I can suggest is blocking the adverts with adblock (or similar tools) in that case.

_________________
Test sig

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TheAMIgaOne 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 4-Jun-2015 8:54:30
#387 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 10-Jan-2004
Posts: 775
From: United Kingdom

@kolla

Low bandwidth areas... where do you live.. saturn

The only errors i've had with Amigaworld.net is when the server is down. The DNS settings have nothing to do with that.

_________________
Cross-developer on Windows, OS3, OS4, Linux; Current Projects:-
Nephele Cloud App OS4
UserProfile System OS4
AmigaOneXE OS4.1.6

TaoSoftwareBlog Youtube

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TheAMIgaOne 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 4-Jun-2015 8:56:09
#388 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 10-Jan-2004
Posts: 775
From: United Kingdom

@Xenic

Most decent routers have some firewall url blocking, set it to block the Adsense scripts. Not ga.js as that is google analytics

_________________
Cross-developer on Windows, OS3, OS4, Linux; Current Projects:-
Nephele Cloud App OS4
UserProfile System OS4
AmigaOneXE OS4.1.6

TaoSoftwareBlog Youtube

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kolla 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 4-Jun-2015 18:34:22
#389 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1519
From: Trondheim, Norway

@TheAMIgaOne

Huh, what an insightful respons, not.

I am currently on NAT behind NAT, in Ecuador, where the NAT router uses the ISP NAT router as resolver, and hence DNS look ups are done in two steps, and negative caching too occures in two levels. This is quite common scenario, and my issues with amigaworld.net has been going on for months traveling central and south America - and it is _only _ amigaworld.net that I have trouble with, and it is due to the extremely low TTL values, that make amigaworld.net extremely vulnerable in DNS.

When the nameserver on the server that hosts amigaworld.net is down for more than 5 minutes, amigaworld.net vanishes, even if the webserver is up and running. I suppose you only see this as "amigaworld.net is down", even when it is not.

Instead of repsonding nonsense on things you obviously have very little knowledge about, I suggest you keep quiet.

Last edited by kolla on 04-Jun-2015 at 06:35 PM.

_________________
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tomazkid 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 4-Jun-2015 19:58:55
#390 ]
Team Member
Joined: 31-Jul-2003
Posts: 11694
From: Kristianstad, Sweden

@kolla

You could try to set local setting on your computer to go for an independent dns.

Such as
4.2.2.4 (Verizon)

8.8.8.8 (Google)

_________________
Site admins are people too..pooff!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TheAMIgaOne 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 4-Jun-2015 20:40:53
#391 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 10-Jan-2004
Posts: 775
From: United Kingdom

Or even set your hosts file to point directly to the server ip, which quite a few people do on here

_________________
Cross-developer on Windows, OS3, OS4, Linux; Current Projects:-
Nephele Cloud App OS4
UserProfile System OS4
AmigaOneXE OS4.1.6

TaoSoftwareBlog Youtube

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kolla 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 5-Jun-2015 2:39:02
#392 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1519
From: Trondheim, Norway

@TheAMIgaOne

Are you serious - you're essencially saying that DNS is too complicated for a-eon, and hence people here resort to hosts files to look up this site?

Please - again, STFU, I do not need your oh so helpful advise on work-arounds, I want a-eon to fix their zone file and use sane TTL values - sheesh!!

_________________
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kolla 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 5-Jun-2015 2:44:54
#393 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1519
From: Trondheim, Norway

@tomazkid

No, I am not interested in setting up DNS explicitly every time I am on a new network. I use only my phone and I jump between at least a handful wireless networks every day, cafes, bars, hostels, restaurants - and this site is trouble wherever I go, I keep getting lookup troubles, and I have traced it down to negative caching due to extreme TTL settings. The fix is for a-eon to adjust the TTL values, or even better, consolidate the hosting of amigaworld.net with that of their other domains, such as amiga.org, and let "people with clue" take care of DNS for them.

_________________
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kolla 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 7-Jun-2015 20:57:18
#394 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1519
From: Trondheim, Norway

Additional info - the two external publishing name servers (NS records) for amigaworld.net (c.ns.buddyns.com and d.ns.buddyns.com) do NOT answer authoritative for amigaworld.net, so ns1.amigaworld.net, aka 85.25.152.36, aka the web host itself, is the _only_ source for this domain. Since the delegation is done functionally solely to ns1.amigaworld.net - itself located in amigaworld.net zone, we all rely on the gluerecord for ns1.amigaworld.net in .net to answer properly every time. Once any data regarding amigaworld.net lands on any resolver, this data is only valid for 5 minutes, a TTL of only 5 minutes is something you do _temporarily_ when you are about to move a service, not something you let lingering around forever!

Again - A-EON please fix DNS setup for this domain, find some new slave name server and adjust TTL up, I am tired of having to wait 5 minutes every time resolving fails, which happens a lot.

_________________
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kolla 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 3-Jul-2015 18:24:43
#395 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1519
From: Trondheim, Norway

A small update - out of the blue, c.ns.buddyns.com started answering authoritative for amigaworld.net, but d.ns.buddyns.com is still silent. Just for heck of it, I asked b.ns.buddyns.com too, and funnily it responds authoritatively too - which is useless since close to noone will ask that host, it doesn't have delegation - d.ns.buddyns.com has.

Anyways, the reason I checked was because I do notice a slight improvement, I do not get lookup issues quite as often anymore. Still, why cannot someone fix this already?

Last edited by kolla on 03-Jul-2015 at 06:25 PM.

_________________
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 8-Dec-2016 12:03:00
#396 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 5387
From: UK

@Thread

As I'm using a computer with a different (non-Post Office) IP address today I have been able to post on here for the first time in weeks!

So while I am able I like to flag up this issue with IP address blacklists;

For the past week my IP address seems to be blacklisted and I get the following message when i try and log in:

Quote:
Access Denied! Your address is blacklisted. More information about this error may be available in the server error log.


If I mange to log in from home (as I did last night) I can't post anything or PM anyone! Following some research my IP address seems to be blacklisted on the following database lists:

dul.dnsbl.sorbs.net
dnsbl-2.uceprotect.net
dnsbl.sorbs.net
cbl.abuseat.org

What do I do about it?

I wonder if it is anything to do with this happening recently to my ISP (The Post Office):

BBC: TalkTalk and the Post Office hacked

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 8-Dec-2016 13:31:18
#397 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 5387
From: UK

@Thread

From discussions on Amiga.org this seems to affect a range of ISPs and is costing Amigaworld members! This should be investigated and corrected so this website isn't reduced to obsolescence!

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 10-Dec-2016 14:43:54
#398 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 5387
From: UK

@Thread

Still can't post!

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 10-Dec-2016 14:53:14
#399 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10021
From: Greensborough, Australia

@BigD

I think this must happen to all of us at one stage. Unless you have a static address that is kept pure. If your IP is dynamic then try rebooting your router to see if it is assigned a clean IP again from downstream.

"Although you can't see them or hear their breathing sounds someone in this world is using your IP address right now. People are still blacklisting your IP address! People are still blacklisting your IP address!"

LOL! Sorry.

Last edited by Hypex on 12-Dec-2016 at 01:58 PM.
Last edited by Hypex on 10-Dec-2016 at 02:56 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Website Bugs
Posted on 10-Dec-2016 15:52:35
#400 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 5387
From: UK

@Hypex

Thanks :-\ Amigaworld needs to be less sensitive as I don't have the issue with any other sites.

Last edited by BigD on 10-Dec-2016 at 03:56 PM.

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle