Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6086 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
40 crawler(s) on-line.
 25 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 thellier:  22 mins ago
 Karlos:  28 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  51 mins ago
 klx300r:  1 hr 23 mins ago
 tonyw:  1 hr 26 mins ago
 PixelHi:  3 hrs 24 mins ago
 redfox:  3 hrs 31 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  5 hrs 7 mins ago
 Jose:  5 hrs 35 mins ago
 Deaths_Head:  6 hrs 17 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Software
      /  Initialize a CF card as FAT95?
Register To Post

PosterThread
Punkyclown 
Initialize a CF card as FAT95?
Posted on 27-Sep-2022 17:12:41
#1 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 103
From: Carlsbad, Ca

HI All,

Does someone know if it is possible to initialize a CF card as FAT95
on an Amiga System to be read in the PCMCIA slot?
Thanks for any help.
Punkyclown,
Brad Hansen

Last edited by Punkyclown on 27-Sep-2022 at 05:13 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
thomas 
Re: Initialize a CF card as FAT95?
Posted on 27-Sep-2022 19:28:54
#2 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-May-2003
Posts: 1140
From: Germany


AFAIK fat95 does not support initialising disks.

You could change to CrossDOS, it can format the disk.

OTOH why would you want to? The only reason to use a FAT-formatted CF card is for sharing data with a PC and it's much easier to format it on the PC.

_________________
Email: thomas-rapp@web.de
Home: thomas-rapp.homepage.t-online.de

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Initialize a CF card as FAT95?
Posted on 28-Sep-2022 13:25:34
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10835
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Punkyclown

Sure just like any other disk. If you have an unformatted CF card with FAT95 setup there should be an NDOS icon on Workbench you can select to format from the menu or Format tool. Provided it's supported.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
sananaman 
Re: Initialize a CF card as FAT95?
Posted on 28-Sep-2022 16:31:59
#4 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 28-Sep-2006
Posts: 252
From: Netherlands

@Punkyclown

Quote:
HI All,

Does someone know if it is possible to initialize a CF card as FAT95
on an Amiga System to be read in the PCMCIA slot?
Thanks for any help.
Punkyclown,
Brad Hansen


Sure you can use PCMCIA with CF Cards to exchange data with other systems.
I do that a lot for over a decade now.

You need:
- a PCMCIA 2 CF adapter.
- Fat95
- PCMCIA Driver - http://aminet.net/package/driver/media/CFD133

Don't forget to do a quick-format instead of a full-format.

Last edited by sananaman on 28-Sep-2022 at 04:33 PM.
Last edited by sananaman on 28-Sep-2022 at 04:33 PM.

_________________
AmigaScene.nl

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle