Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6065 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
14 crawler(s) on-line.
 17 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 matthey

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 matthey:  4 mins ago
 amigakit:  5 mins ago
 Kronos:  12 mins ago
 Skateman:  17 mins ago
 BSzili:  19 mins ago
 OlafS25:  21 mins ago
 Gunnar:  27 mins ago
 adrianebrown:  36 mins ago
 zipper:  43 mins ago
 Karlos:  43 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  Synergy Client For OS4?
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
PosterThread
STRICQ 
Synergy Client For OS4?
Posted on 18-Aug-2005 16:49:58
#1 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 23-Mar-2003
Posts: 221
From: Colorado Springs, CO

If anyone is interested in a Synergy client for OS4. Let me know here.

Synergy @ SourceForge
Synergy Home Page

Ignoring the source code, and only using the protocol information, I have alredy built a client that can login to a Synergy server. Doing a client from scratch will take far less time than porting the complete Synergy system to Amiga OS. I suspect I can have a working client in a matter of weeks, and thats taking my time and doing it slowly.

Last edited by STRICQ on 18-Aug-2005 at 04:58 PM.

_________________
AmigaOne XE 800Mhz/1024MB
Radeon 9200 128MB
160GB HD/2x 4GB HD
SII0680 PATA133
Audigy 2
3Com 100Mb PCI Card

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Cyborg 
Re: Synergy Client For OS4?
Posted on 18-Aug-2005 17:02:30
#2 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 26-Nov-2003
Posts: 424
From: Germany

@STRICQ

I think it would a really nice addition, especially as it would save me from
buying a KVM (which i've already planned since decades )..

So, yes, i'm all for it

_________________
Regards, Cyborg.
AmigaOS4 development team member

"In the beginning was CAOS.."
-- Andy Finkel, 1988 (ViewPort article, Oct. 1993)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Maria 
Re: Synergy Client For OS4?
Posted on 18-Aug-2005 17:04:08
#3 ]
Member
Joined: 23-Dec-2004
Posts: 70
From: Unknown

@STRICQ

Wow! This sounds great! I'm definitely interested.

_________________
I have an Micro AmigaOne MIST, Turbo Chameleon 64 and 1541 Ultimate II

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
MigthyMax 
Re: Synergy Client For OS4?
Posted on 18-Aug-2005 18:19:07
#4 ]
Member
Joined: 22-Jul-2004
Posts: 58
From: Unknown

@STRICQ

I'm interested! I had already a look at the sourcecode of synergy. But the
configure script doesn't run well in the abc shell.
But where did you find the information about the synergy protocol?

Max

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
STRICQ 
Re: Synergy Client For OS4?
Posted on 18-Aug-2005 19:15:26
#5 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 23-Mar-2003
Posts: 221
From: Colorado Springs, CO

@MigthyMax

The protocol can easily be watched with Ethereal. That and the source code documents the protocol very well. I don't need the source for my own version, but that doesn't mean I can't look at the source to see how the protocol itself operates.

_________________
AmigaOne XE 800Mhz/1024MB
Radeon 9200 128MB
160GB HD/2x 4GB HD
SII0680 PATA133
Audigy 2
3Com 100Mb PCI Card

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
VooDoo 
Re: Synergy Client For OS4?
Posted on 18-Aug-2005 20:38:59
#6 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Jun-2003
Posts: 1502
From: Croatia

@STRICQ

Nice client..please AmigaOS port!

_________________
--
A1200 sandwich :)

uA1c/g3-800 mHz/512mb/160gb hdd/OS4.1 Final + upd #1

MacMini G4 1.5ghz 1GB ram + MorphOS 3.9

Croatian Amiga portal

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
STRICQ 
Re: Synergy Client For OS4?
Posted on 19-Aug-2005 5:32:17
#7 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 23-Mar-2003
Posts: 221
From: Colorado Springs, CO

Ok, I now have an OS4 client that fully understands the protocol. Although all it does is output what the server is telling it to the shell. The hard part will be injecting the data into the Amiga's input stream.

_________________
AmigaOne XE 800Mhz/1024MB
Radeon 9200 128MB
160GB HD/2x 4GB HD
SII0680 PATA133
Audigy 2
3Com 100Mb PCI Card

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
MigthyMax 
Re: Synergy Client For OS4?
Posted on 19-Aug-2005 7:24:52
#8 ]
Member
Joined: 22-Jul-2004
Posts: 58
From: Unknown

@STRICQ

To see how to inject input events you can take a look athe the usb driver for mouse/keyboard
on os4depot.net. The drivers receives input events from the usb device and injects it
into the system through the input.device.

HTH

Max

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
shadow 
Re: Synergy Client For OS4?
Posted on 19-Aug-2005 7:42:41
#9 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 118
From: Copenhagen

@STRICQ

yes please

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
STRICQ 
Re: Synergy Client For OS4?
Posted on 20-Aug-2005 7:41:43
#10 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 23-Mar-2003
Posts: 221
From: Colorado Springs, CO


I can now fully move the mouse using Synergy. Left clicks almost fully work and right clicks have the same problem some of the left clicks have. Making progress, though.

_________________
AmigaOne XE 800Mhz/1024MB
Radeon 9200 128MB
160GB HD/2x 4GB HD
SII0680 PATA133
Audigy 2
3Com 100Mb PCI Card

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mbilla 
Re: Synergy Client For OS4?
Posted on 20-Aug-2005 10:25:35
#11 ]
Super Member
Joined: 25-May-2003
Posts: 1369
From: EU

@STRICQ

Sounds great!
What's the difference between the server and client? Does that mean I have to run the server computer (NON Amiga) all the time?
My A1 runs 24/24h and my Macs and other Amigas are on when I need them.
So an Amiga server prog would be welcome

Anyway I will for sure try your client when it's ready.

Last edited by mbilla on 20-Aug-2005 at 10:40 AM.

_________________
A computerworld without MS products and Windows!
Connect your Amigas ...
...The Red ONE-A1XE G4 - A3000T- A3000 - A4000 - A2500- A1000 - A600 - CDTV - CD32...
and your PDAs and laptops ...
Psion 5mx Pro - Psion NetBook - Apple iPhone - MSI Wind OSX

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
miksuh 
Re: Synergy Client For OS4?
Posted on 20-Aug-2005 11:01:20
#12 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 731
From: Espoo, Finland

@STRICQ

Sounds good. It would be great to control all my 3 computers using one mouse and keyboard. Could you make also m68k AmigaOS version?

Last edited by miksuh on 20-Aug-2005 at 11:03 AM.
Last edited by miksuh on 20-Aug-2005 at 11:03 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
HMK 
Re: Synergy Client For OS4?
Posted on 20-Aug-2005 14:18:52
#13 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 17-Mar-2003
Posts: 246
From: Denmark

@STRICQ

Great stuff! I was hoping someone would pick up the ball. I use Synergy practically 50% of my total computing time now and it's basically one of those real work habit changing and time saving apps.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
STRICQ 
Re: Synergy Client For OS4?
Posted on 20-Aug-2005 14:41:34
#14 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 23-Mar-2003
Posts: 221
From: Colorado Springs, CO

@mbilla

The server manages all the other systems. It keeps track of the pointer positions on all the other screens, including all kyboard input and syncronizes the clipboard (and screensavers.) The amount of work for the server would be huge. In fact, it would be easier in this case to just port the Synergy source code to the Amiga, even though most of this deals with proprietary stuff, hardware keyboard, hardware mouse, and even the clipboard.

I do not plan on makking an Amiga server version at this time.

_________________
AmigaOne XE 800Mhz/1024MB
Radeon 9200 128MB
160GB HD/2x 4GB HD
SII0680 PATA133
Audigy 2
3Com 100Mb PCI Card

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
STRICQ 
Re: Synergy Client For OS4?
Posted on 20-Aug-2005 14:43:20
#15 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 23-Mar-2003
Posts: 221
From: Colorado Springs, CO

@miksuh

A 68k version.... Hmmm, maybe. But I doubt it. Motivation is low since I don't need it.

_________________
AmigaOne XE 800Mhz/1024MB
Radeon 9200 128MB
160GB HD/2x 4GB HD
SII0680 PATA133
Audigy 2
3Com 100Mb PCI Card

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
STRICQ 
Re: Synergy Client For OS4?
Posted on 20-Aug-2005 14:45:37
#16 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 23-Mar-2003
Posts: 221
From: Colorado Springs, CO

@HMK

Yep. I have Fedora Linux and XP systems sitting by side in my work office. I've been using Synergy for over a year now. In fact, it was Sbaitso (IRC nick) who turned me on to Synergy because he was asking for an OS4 version.

_________________
AmigaOne XE 800Mhz/1024MB
Radeon 9200 128MB
160GB HD/2x 4GB HD
SII0680 PATA133
Audigy 2
3Com 100Mb PCI Card

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
fx 
Re: Synergy Client For OS4?
Posted on 20-Aug-2005 17:09:19
#17 ]
Member
Joined: 17-Jan-2005
Posts: 35
From: Sweden

I would be very interested in a m68k port, would knowing this motivate you some more ? =)

_________________
Amiga 4000D - Apollo 4040 / 40MHz
2MB Chip RAM - 128MB Fast RAM
18GB IDE Harddrive - 52x IDE CD-ROM
Cybervision 64 4MB - Cybervision 64/3D Scandoubler
Ariadne II Ethernet

My A600 Webserver

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
patrik 
Re: Synergy Client For OS4?
Posted on 21-Aug-2005 0:26:40
#18 ]
Member
Joined: 16-Dec-2003
Posts: 47
From: Unknown

@STRICQ

I also think an AmigaOS2.x/3.x version of this client would be great.


/Patrik

Last edited by patrik on 21-Aug-2005 at 12:58 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
STRICQ 
Re: Synergy Client For OS4?
Posted on 21-Aug-2005 2:35:54
#19 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 23-Mar-2003
Posts: 221
From: Colorado Springs, CO

@STRICQ

Quote:
I can now fully move the mouse using Synergy. Left clicks almost fully work and right clicks have the same problem some of the left clicks have.


I have now solved the problem with the mouse clicks and the use of Synergy to control the mouse now works perfectly.

The keyboard input will be a different matter, though.

_________________
AmigaOne XE 800Mhz/1024MB
Radeon 9200 128MB
160GB HD/2x 4GB HD
SII0680 PATA133
Audigy 2
3Com 100Mb PCI Card

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
STRICQ 
Re: Synergy Client For OS4?
Posted on 22-Aug-2005 15:30:12
#20 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 23-Mar-2003
Posts: 221
From: Colorado Springs, CO

@STRICQ

I now have keyboard input mostly working. The shift key works, but none of the other qualifier keys work yet, but adding them will be simple, only a few lines of code. Just need the time (after work today.)

I have found a problem with IBrowse, clicking on links does not work properly and you cannot browse using Synergy. I've already contacted the authors of IBrowse and have some clues about looking for what is wrong in my mouse click emulation. Again, I just need some time to track down the problem.

Doug

_________________
AmigaOne XE 800Mhz/1024MB
Radeon 9200 128MB
160GB HD/2x 4GB HD
SII0680 PATA133
Audigy 2
3Com 100Mb PCI Card

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle