Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6068 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
40 crawler(s) on-line.
 20 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 MrFrench:  9 mins ago
 agami:  10 mins ago
 bison:  16 mins ago
 eliyahu:  26 mins ago
 Rob:  29 mins ago
 Karlos:  39 mins ago
 Hypex:  41 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  1 hr 17 mins ago
 geit:  1 hr 20 mins ago
 dframeli:  2 hrs 4 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga Gaming
      /  Open RedAlert!!
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 Next Page )
PosterThread
wawa 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 10-Mar-2011 22:43:58
#101 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6259
From: Unknown

@BigD

i remember i was able to get into a mission, but it was incredibly lame.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
rvo 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 16-May-2011 21:45:42
#102 ]
Member
Joined: 27-May-2009
Posts: 75
From: Amsterdam

@BigD

I gave it a try today, but have to admit that I had it installed for many months. I had the same problem as you: very slow loading, but the game did eventually start for me.

Today I opened the .cfg file and found out the game is set to run in 800x600 by default! Change this to 320x240 and it will be a lot faster. Also, changing bitdepth to 8bit gives a tremendous speed boost as does turning off the sound.

Unfortunately its impossible to use the menu to start a game in 320x240 so try setting up a custom 400x300 mode or something. I will try to do this later on. Until now Ive tried with a custom 464x464x8 mode which gave around 5fps. I dont think much more is possible really.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 16-May-2011 22:14:39
#103 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 6480
From: UK

@rvo

Cheers for trying it out. 5 fps isn't much to shoot for though! I'll be booting up my old Windoze 98 laptop I think rather than wait for this port to prove worthwhile.

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
rvo 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 17-May-2011 11:42:27
#104 ]
Member
Joined: 27-May-2009
Posts: 75
From: Amsterdam

@BigD

Its not enough to be playable. But for me the fun part is always getting it to work as good as possible, and then forgetting about it.. :)

And to be honest, Napalm, Earth 2140 and Exodus are pretty good competitors.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 18-May-2011 7:37:22
#105 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 6480
From: UK

@rvo

Quote:
And to be honest, Napalm, Earth 2140 and Exodus are pretty good competitors. About Posting: All Regist


True, although only Napalm feels like a polished Triple A product. Exodus seems slow and laggy on a 060 PIV system and my CD-Rom doesn't like the game CD very much. I haven't tried Earth 2140.

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
utri007 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 18-May-2011 11:18:34
#106 ]
Super Member
Joined: 12-Aug-2003
Posts: 1044
From: United States of Europe

@BigD

Exodus should be fastest of them, there is something wrong with your setup

Tested with 060 / Spectrum16/24

IF this is SDL based I can only imagine how useless it is with 68k amigas

Last edited by utri007 on 18-May-2011 at 11:19 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 1-Jun-2020 15:22:12
#107 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 6480
From: UK

@Thread

I thought I'd resurrect this thread now that the source code for C&C and Red Alert has been released! So is a native Amiga version of both possible now?

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
x303 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 1-Jun-2020 22:43:42
#108 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 19-Jan-2005
Posts: 176
From: Amsterdam

@BigD

Quote:
So is a native Amiga version of both possible now?

Maybe, but no-one knows -when- they release the sourcecode.
For now, it seems they wanna sell their new version first and attract as much attention as possible.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mr_Capehill 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 2-Jun-2020 7:10:51
#109 ]
Super Member
Joined: 15-Mar-2003
Posts: 1932
From: Yharnam

@x303

Something here: https://github.com/electronicarts/CnC_Remastered_Collection

Didn't investigate further.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
utri007 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 2-Jun-2020 9:38:49
#110 ]
Super Member
Joined: 12-Aug-2003
Posts: 1044
From: United States of Europe

@BigD

Exodus is fastest of those three. Have you updated it?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Templario 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 2-Jun-2020 9:43:25
#111 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2004
Posts: 3604
From: Unknown

@utri007
Exodus, this game someone play on MorphOS?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 2-Jun-2020 11:04:02
#112 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 6480
From: UK

@utri007

Yeah, I've got Exodus running ok and got round the badly skipping CD-Rom by installing pretty much everything to the hard drive.

However, I'm more excited about the prospect of native version of Red Alert for the Amiga once the source code is released. I hope for CDXL versions of the cut scenes too if possible!

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
utri007 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 2-Jun-2020 11:05:46
#113 ]
Super Member
Joined: 12-Aug-2003
Posts: 1044
From: United States of Europe

@Templario

This game. If updated it works just fine with Amiga OS4, so it should work also with MorphOS

https://www.amigashop.org/product_info.php?products_id=131

PS. If played with plain AGA, without RTG no need to update.

Last edited by utri007 on 02-Jun-2020 at 11:06 AM.
Last edited by utri007 on 02-Jun-2020 at 11:06 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Templario 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 2-Jun-2020 16:23:33
#114 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2004
Posts: 3604
From: Unknown

@utri007
If I bough it years ago, but never I got running on WinUAE and I like play with MorphOS to have the CDRom drive to read the files from the game and the CD protection directly not as WinUAE with Windows in the middle.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
utri007 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 2-Jun-2020 16:41:52
#115 ]
Super Member
Joined: 12-Aug-2003
Posts: 1044
From: United States of Europe

@Templario

CD rom request can be skipped with assign (shell command) CD-rom name to folder wich has CD content. RTG systems update is mandatory, but there was some hassle to installing it. I don't remember what kind.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
utri007 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 2-Jun-2020 23:08:21
#116 ]
Super Member
Joined: 12-Aug-2003
Posts: 1044
From: United States of Europe

2x

Last edited by utri007 on 02-Jun-2020 at 11:10 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
utri007 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 2-Jun-2020 23:09:45
#117 ]
Super Member
Joined: 12-Aug-2003
Posts: 1044
From: United States of Europe

@BigD

SDL version are not worth of testing with real Amigas. They are bog slow, require huge amount ram and are unstable.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 2-Jun-2020 23:18:30
#118 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 6480
From: UK

@utri007

Yeah but the original source code is about to be released so it"s all change!

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NovaCoder 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 4-Jun-2020 7:59:15
#119 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2008
Posts: 487
From: Melbourne (Australia)

@utri007

Quote:

utri007 wrote:
@BigD

SDL version are not worth of testing with real Amigas. They are bog slow, require huge amount ram and are unstable.


Where do you get these ideas from?

The 68K SDL for RTG (v1.2.5) that I created years ago is fast, feature rich with support for different graphics cards and desktop color depths, international keyboard mapping, joystick support, multi-threading, timers, sound mixer and even window mode support.

Open Dune RTG SDL

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Open RedAlert!!
Posted on 4-Jun-2020 9:32:37
#120 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 6480
From: UK

@Thread

It looks like the Source Code of both C&C Tiberian Dawn and Red Alert is now available!

Command & Conquer Source Code Released

... let's Amigify these beauties!

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle