Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6065 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
18 crawler(s) on-line.
 34 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 matthey

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 matthey:  2 mins ago
 michalsc:  31 mins ago
 Kronos:  50 mins ago
 Karlos:  1 hr 8 mins ago
 Comi:  1 hr 14 mins ago
 Hypex:  1 hr 23 mins ago
 OlafS25:  1 hr 39 mins ago
 sananaman:  1 hr 45 mins ago
 Skateman:  1 hr 48 mins ago
 DiskDoctor:  1 hr 59 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Software
      /  OWB & OpenURL not working (solved, but is anything really solved?)
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )
PosterThread
sundown 
OWB & OpenURL not working (solved, but is anything really solved?)
Posted on 24-Jun-2009 23:52:59
#1 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Aug-2003
Posts: 5120
From: Right here...

I can get IBrowse to work with OpenURL v7.5, but not OWB (v3.15). OWB starts when clicking a url, but only loads my start (home) page & not the url I click on in YAM or XNet. I've done a search & tried different settings in openurl prefs, but no joy.

C:openurl http://www.amigaworld.net works with IBrowse, but not with OWB.

rx "ADDRESS OWB.1 'OPENURL http://amigaworld.net'" works with OWB only if OWB is running.

Anyone had any luck getting OWB & OpenURL working together?

Last edited by sundown on 25-Jun-2009 at 10:36 PM.
Last edited by sundown on 25-Jun-2009 at 07:14 AM.

_________________
Hate tends to make you look stupid...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
nubechecorre 
Re: OWB & OpenURL not working
Posted on 25-Jun-2009 0:02:56
#2 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 21-Nov-2003
Posts: 895
From: San remo -Italy-

@sundown

Here works fine.. infact now i use owb instead of ibrowse to open url from simple mail

But i haven' t tried to run it from shell.. i' ll try and tell you if it works


_________________
GDG-Entertainment
OS4Games
Iksnet
Bitplane

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: OWB & OpenURL not working
Posted on 25-Jun-2009 0:14:57
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 11430
From: In the village

@sundown

Quote:
Anyone had any luck getting OWB & OpenURL working together?


Yes. I deactivated my other browsers in openurl, so that only OWB remained.
I just clicked on a link in YAM and it started OWB and loaded the url. np.

#6

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
sundown 
Re: OWB & OpenURL not working
Posted on 25-Jun-2009 5:36:10
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Aug-2003
Posts: 5120
From: Right here...

Booted into OS4.0 to see if it was a 4.1 issue, still no joy. I did test AWeb & the url isn't passed to it either. Typing C:openurl http://www.amigaworld.net in a shell will test the openurl settings & only IBrowse opens & loads the url.

_________________
Hate tends to make you look stupid...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: OWB & OpenURL not working
Posted on 25-Jun-2009 6:13:52
#5 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4434
From: Portsmouth England

@sundown

definetely works with AWeb here.

Settings are

Path: <pathtoaweb>/AWeb "%u"
Arexx Port AWEB

Arexx Commnds

Show: ICONIFY SHOW
Tofront: SCREENTOFRONT
Open Url: OPEN "%u"
New Window: NEW "%u"

I haven't configured OpenUrl for OWB yet.

Last edited by broadblues on 25-Jun-2009 at 06:14 AM.

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: OWB & OpenURL not working
Posted on 25-Jun-2009 6:53:12
#6 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10698
From: Greensborough, Australia

@sundown

I thought I woudl let OpenURL use OWB first since more links in emails have CSS.

Now I have it working, after some trial and error. First I would try getting out OpenURL Prefs. That is my starting point. I simply added OWB and shifted it to the top then did a test from YAM. It opened with the about page and then crashed my Workbench! Looks like a bug there, SFS was involved. My system became useless, nothing would respond.

Then I looked up the OWB AREXX commmands. Edit your OWB entry and try copyimg these into OpenURL Prefs:
Set your name and select path to OWB.
Run OWB and select it's AREXX port from the list.
To front, set as: SCREENTOFRONT
Open URL, set as: OPENURL %u

That worked for me.

Haven't tested any other Show or New window commands, none other are listed in the OWB readme at the end.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
sundown 
Re: OWB & OpenURL not working
Posted on 25-Jun-2009 7:13:55
#7 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Aug-2003
Posts: 5120
From: Right here...

@all

Thanks guys, finally got it working with all 3 browsers. broadblues settings for AWeb worked & gave me the clues about getting OWB to work. Settings for IB & OWB below, as well as broadblues settings for AWeb.

Name: OWB
Path: fullpath/OWB "%u"
Port: OWB
Show: SHOW
Front: SCREENTOFRONT
Open: OPEN "%u"
Window: NEW "%u"


Name: IBrowse
Path: fullpath/IBrowse
Port: IBROWSE
Show: SHOW
Front: SCREENTOFRONT
Open: GOTOURL "%u"
Window: NEWWINDOW "%u

Each browser is slightly different.

_________________
Hate tends to make you look stupid...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: OWB & OpenURL not working
Posted on 25-Jun-2009 14:47:16
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 11430
From: In the village

@Hypex

Quote:
I simply added OWB and shifted it to the top


ok. But for anyone doing this in the future, that's why I said "deactivated"
The square (left) of the browser name is a toggle.
"Green" for active. "Red" for inactive.
So you don't need to move things around.

#6

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: OWB & OpenURL not working
Posted on 25-Jun-2009 16:49:51
#9 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10698
From: Greensborough, Australia

@number6

It's me misunderstanding how OpenURL works. I thought it was like a priority system where if oen didin't work it would try the other. Infact I have found one annoying thing proving the list useless. When I tired to open up a site using OpenURL and IBrowse was open it used the IBrowse screen.

But when nothing was open it used OWB. Huh? OWB is first, so why would it use IBrowse if OWB is first in the list. Doesn't make sense to me. Can I tell it to always use OWB regardless? Or as you hint at I can only disable all the other browsers?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: OWB & OpenURL not working
Posted on 25-Jun-2009 17:51:59
#10 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6674
From: Unknown

@Hypex
The OpenURL system sounds quite clever as you describe it. i.e. If no browser is open, then it starts the first one in the list. Where-as if one (or more) browsers are already open, then it use the first running browser in the list, rather than spend time opening another browser (that isn't open).

To answer your question, to make it always use OWB, simply (1) move OWB to the top of the list (this is optional but less confusing), and (2) disable all the other browsers below it (by clicking each of them & then ensuring their "Disable" button is depressed).

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: OWB & OpenURL not working
Posted on 25-Jun-2009 17:53:29
#11 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6674
From: Unknown

@number6 Quote:
"Green" for active. "Red" for inactive.

The colours don't mean much, because MUI can be customised. Here my colours are "Blue" for active, and "Grey" for inactive. it is best to see whether the "Disable" button is depressed or not.

Last edited by ChrisH on 25-Jun-2009 at 05:53 PM.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: OWB & OpenURL not working
Posted on 25-Jun-2009 17:56:55
#12 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 11430
From: In the village

@ChrisH

Quote:
The colours don't mean much, because MUI can be customised. Here my colours are "Blue" for active, and "Grey" for inactive.


Heh. True. And it might be different run on a public screen vs on WB as well, even without customization.

#6

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: OWB & OpenURL not working
Posted on 25-Jun-2009 18:05:59
#13 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6674
From: Unknown

@sundown Quote:
Name: OWB
Path: fullpath/OWB "%u"
Port: OWB
Show: SHOW
Front: SCREENTOFRONT
Open: OPEN "%u"
Window: NEW "%u"


This doesn't work fully for me. Sure, if OWB is *not* running, then it is started on the correct page. But if it *is* already running, then OWB's screen comes to the front, but the page URL does not change. I am using Open URL 7.3 (which should not matter), and OWB 3.15 .

Last edited by ChrisH on 25-Jun-2009 at 06:06 PM.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: OWB & OpenURL not working
Posted on 25-Jun-2009 18:22:17
#14 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 11430
From: In the village

@ChrisH

Quote:
This doesn't work fully for me. Sure, if OWB is *not* running, then it is started on the correct page. But if it *is* already running, then OWB's screen comes to the front, but the page URL does not change.


ok. I'll give you step-by-step of what I just did and you tell me if it fits your experience or not.

(1)Started IBrowse manually and clicked Amigaworld, in order to make this post.
(2)Checked my prefs for openurl to make sure OWB was active and nothing else.
(3)Clicked on a link in YAMdev - It loaded into OWB just fine.
(4)Clicked a different link in YAMdev - It did load the "new" link.

Are you saying that for you, the 2nd link would NOT load?

Added: Heh. oh wait. The 2nd link opened up in a new "browser" of OWB. Note that I'm using OS4.0, in case that makes a difference.

Silly question but..does OWB have a message port?

#6

Last edited by number6 on 25-Jun-2009 at 06:31 PM.
Last edited by number6 on 25-Jun-2009 at 06:25 PM.

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: OWB & OpenURL not working
Posted on 25-Jun-2009 19:03:15
#15 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6674
From: Unknown

@number6 Quote:
Are you saying that for you, the 2nd link would NOT load?

Correct.

Quote:
Silly question but..does OWB have a message port?

Yes, and it is obviously responding to ARexx commands from OpenURL, since it's screen comes to the front.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: OWB & OpenURL not working
Posted on 25-Jun-2009 20:57:48
#16 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4434
From: Portsmouth England

@Hypex,

I was only wishing it had that feature when reading this thread earlier in OWB clicking on a url and it opened in AWeb. (I hadn't yet setup OWB).

As I almost never use IBrowse, I usually only have AWeb active, now I use OWB as well, it definetely useful to be able to access both, and not have an extra one open! AWeb has the prority still here as it remains the fastest of the two, (assuming it's a page that can be displayed in AWeb), especially when taking startup time into consideration.

@CrisH and NO.6

I just setup OWB and it seems to work for me here. I'm still at OWB 3.13 though.

I have these settings for Arexx



SHOW: blank there no uniconfy command listed in the readme
To Front: SCREENTOFRONT (but I don't use it on a seperarate screen, I use the workbench)
Open Url: OPENURL %u
New Window: blank

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: OWB & OpenURL not working
Posted on 25-Jun-2009 21:00:21
#17 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4434
From: Portsmouth England

@broadblues

having made that comment I realsie SCREENTOFRONT is still effective in OWB as I run YAM on it's own screen, and clicking a url with OWB open brings the workbench screen to the front.

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: OWB & OpenURL not working
Posted on 25-Jun-2009 21:09:18
#18 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 11430
From: In the village

@broadblues

Quote:
I realsie SCREENTOFRONT is still effective in OWB as I run YAM on it's own screen, and clicking a url with OWB open brings the workbench screen to the front.


I'm also running YAMdev on its own screen and OWB on WB.
I'm also using older OWB with OpenURL 7.5 [OS4/PPC] (05/30/2009).

I guess we better try all of this with 3.15 then

#6


_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: OWB & OpenURL not working
Posted on 25-Jun-2009 21:24:41
#19 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4434
From: Portsmouth England

@broadblues

I hoped to be able to use OWB to read online docs for blender, via /python/lib/webbrowser.py which I patched to use OpenUrl on an amiga, but when I left OWB active before starting blender, then selected the relavent help menu from blender OWB killed the internal python interpreter when it tried to load a dynamic library. This is with my own part port of python configured to use the existing dynamic modules (from the os4 release version) and it doesn't use libdl.so

Really annoying as the docs don't display wonderfully well in AWeb, readable but not comfortable.

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: OWB & OpenURL not working
Posted on 25-Jun-2009 21:27:45
#20 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4434
From: Portsmouth England

@number6

interesting clicking on this url

http://utilitybase.com/forum/index.php?action=vthread&forum=2&topic=1735&page=-1

doesnot work with OWB active, workbench is brought to the front but no change of page.

[edit]
Forgot the quotes arround %u, added quates to both path and arexx openurl entries and it now works fine
[/edit]

Last edited by broadblues on 25-Jun-2009 at 09:34 PM.

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle