Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5770 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
25 crawler(s) on-line.
 14 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 BigD,  evilFrog

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 BigD:  1 min ago
 evilFrog:  4 mins ago
 Templario:  45 mins ago
 nikosidis:  54 mins ago
 paolone:  55 mins ago
 LarsB:  1 hr 13 mins ago
 Frank:  1 hr 19 mins ago
 Rob:  1 hr 23 mins ago
 zipper:  1 hr 33 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  1 hr 36 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  Sam OS4.1 beta problems (NOT) solved by firmware update
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
PosterThread
ChrisH 
Sam OS4.1 beta problems (NOT) solved by firmware update
Posted on 30-Nov-2009 16:27:21
#1 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6673
From: Unknown

Robo-ant reported that he no-longer got graphical glitches after the latest Sam440 firmware update. So I decided to stop using the Debug Kernel, to see if it was gone... and he was right!

I haven't been using it for long, but (touch wood) it seems to be as stable as when I was using the Debug Kernel. Anyone else tried noticed this?

Last edited by ChrisH on 01-Dec-2009 at 09:07 AM.
Last edited by ChrisH on 30-Nov-2009 at 04:44 PM.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
klx300r 
Re: Sam's OS4.1 beta problems solved by firmware update?!?
Posted on 30-Nov-2009 16:33:07
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 4-Mar-2008
Posts: 3539
From: Toronto, Canada

@ChrisH

well for me DVPlayer starting working properly again??? might be coincidence but I thought my DVD player was shot until now

_________________
____________________________
c64-2sids, A1000, A1200T-060@50(finally working!),A4000-CSMKIII
! My Master Miggies- Amiga 1000 & AmigaOne X1000 !
mancave-ramblings
X1000 I BELIEVE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: Sam's OS4.1 beta problems solved by firmware update?!?
Posted on 30-Nov-2009 18:03:37
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6673
From: Unknown

Still seems fairly stable (although no doubt OS4.1 update 1 will improve things further!).

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mrodfr 
Re: Sam's OS4.1 beta problems solved by firmware update?!?
Posted on 30-Nov-2009 18:29:53
#4 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Jan-2007
Posts: 1396
From: French

@ChrisH

I use a arkoon USB to PS2 with a PS2 mouse and a PS2 keyboard.

Booting the sam and the ps2 mouse and ps2 keyboard (on the adapter) work fine during the boot and with the workbench. Only USB stop and go again sometime.

With the Graved firmware update, only the return key work (and even not all the time) and never the space key for launching the update.

Yes, I know, buy a USB keyboard but that also show some problems with Uboot and USB.



_________________
BTW, what you have done for the amiga today ????

-A1200+Mediator+VooDoo3+060/50+96mo+SCSI-KIT
-SAM440EP-667mhz-on MapowerKC3000+AOS4.1

Amiga Docs Disks Preservation Project

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
cha05e90 
Re: Sam's OS4.1 beta problems solved by firmware update?!?
Posted on 30-Nov-2009 19:06:43
#5 ]
Super Member
Joined: 18-Apr-2009
Posts: 1272
From: Germany

@ChrisH

Hm. I switched back to normal, non-debug kernel yesterday. After some hours of operation I had a visit from the infamous "vertical red stripes" phenomenom - funny enough the first time on a Amidock icon. But it's still there - somewhere.

_________________
X1000|II/G4|440ep|2000/060|2000/040|1000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TiredofLife 
Re: Sam's OS4.1 beta problems solved by firmware update?!?
Posted on 30-Nov-2009 20:02:09
#6 ]
Super Member
Joined: 6-Jul-2005
Posts: 1660
From: Here

@ChrisH

The slight graphical glitch on the splash screen on bootup has dissappeared since the I installed the latest firmware update.

_________________
If your nose runs and your feet smell, you're upside down.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
elwood 
Re: Sam's OS4.1 beta problems solved by firmware update?!?
Posted on 30-Nov-2009 20:39:56
#7 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 17-Sep-2003
Posts: 3424
From: Lyon, France

@ChrisH

Still the same corruptions here on Sam440ep.

_________________
Philippe 'Elwood' Ferrucci
Sam460 1.10 Ghz
AmigaOS 4 betatester
Amiga Translator Organisation

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trev 
Re: Sam's OS4.1 beta problems solved by firmware update?!?
Posted on 30-Nov-2009 20:47:35
#8 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 24-Jul-2005
Posts: 777
From: Sacramento, CA, USA

I haven't compared the two U-Boot sources, but they've probably made the PC BIOS emulation more compatible. U-Boot on non-x86 platforms must emulate an x86 CPU and a subset of PC BIOS ISRs to run display adapter ROM initialization code. (It's not really a "must," but if you don't, you have to initialize the adapter yourself.) This gets you access to VGA display modes and any extensions the display adapter supports in BIOS.

A PCI card can have option ROMs for multiple CPUs and environments, but most consumer devices expect an x86 PC BIOS.

_________________
Sam440ep-flex 733 MHz/1 GB RAM/Radeon 9250/AmigaOS4.1 Update 2
borked A1200/Blizzard1260+SCSI-IV/Z4+MediatorZIV/Deneb/Voodoo3/CatweaselMk3
more borked A1200/MBX1200z/Indivision
A500/clockport/RRNet
A600/A603

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: Sam's OS4.1 beta problems solved by firmware update?!?
Posted on 1-Dec-2009 0:30:13
#9 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6673
From: Unknown

@elwood Quote:
Still the same corruptions here on Sam440ep.

Hmmm, OK. Looks like this firmware update just changes the memory layout slightly - just enough for the memory corruption to not be visible for some people.

Perhaps time for me to go back to debug kernel?

The odd thing is that since the update E-UAE no-longer crashes on quit if I have sound enabled! Maybe just coincidence...

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Dwyloc 
Re: Sam's OS4.1 beta problems solved by firmware update?!?
Posted on 1-Dec-2009 1:24:37
#10 ]
Super Member
Joined: 30-Mar-2005
Posts: 1051
From: Glasgow, Scotland

@ChrisH

I still see the same problems with the new firmware and the non debug kernel.

_________________
Sam440ep 667mhz, 512MB, 120GB 2.5" HD, OS4.1FE
WinUae 3.0.0, OS 3.9, BB3, Catweasel MkIV
Amiga 1200, Blizzard 040/40 (BlizzardPPC 060/200 with SCSI removed at present), mediatorSX pci, Voodoo3, PCI network card os 3.9BB2
4MB Minimig with ARM addon boar

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tonyw 
Re: Sam's OS4.1 beta problems solved by firmware update?!?
Posted on 1-Dec-2009 1:26:38
#11 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 3196
From: Sydney (of course)

@ChrisH

I could be wrong, but I don't think the firmware can have any effect on the way that the OS loads its data into memory. The update hasn't made a scrap of difference to my Sam (except for removing the 3-sec delay for the first timeout).

_________________
cheers
tony

Hyperion Support Forum: http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz/index.php

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
robo-ant 
Re: Sam's OS4.1 beta problems solved by firmware update?!?
Posted on 1-Dec-2009 3:11:41
#12 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 3-Feb-2008
Posts: 190
From: The anthill to the west of the silver maple

@ChrisH

Quote:
The odd thing is that since the update E-UAE no-longer crashes on quit if I have sound enabled! Maybe just coincidence...


Wow, me too! It always crashed on exit before, and now it doesn't.

Also, still no sign of the graphics corruption over here. It wasn't something else that fixed it -- I had corruption after every cold boot until this firmware update, and I haven't seen any sign of corruption since then.

It's strange that it's behaving so differently for different people, but I guess we all have slightly different configurations.

I've got a 667MHz Sam440ep, I don't use compositing on Workbench, and I use dial-up Internet (Zzzzz... the serial is still borked) so I have the AddNetInterface line in startup-sequence commented-out completely. Nothing unusual apart from that.

I have only been using the release kernel since the quickfix update. The graphical glitches were always easy to get rid of (just reload preferences) and nothing else went obviously wrong apart from that.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: Sam's OS4.1 beta problems solved by firmware update?!?
Posted on 1-Dec-2009 9:06:27
#13 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6673
From: Unknown

@robo-ant
Spoke too soon! Graphical corruption of Workbench windows is back . Or maybe I made a mistake in my enthusiasm... Going back to the Debug Kernel for safety.

@tonyw Quote:
I could be wrong, but I don't think the firmware can have any effect on the way that the OS loads its data into memory.

If the firmware change caused a larger region of memory to be allocated to be allocated for some hardware device, that would do it. Or if it told the OS (slightly) different things than before, that could do it (as different things might be allocated in response).

Last edited by ChrisH on 01-Dec-2009 at 09:07 AM.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
robo-ant 
Re: Sam's OS4.1 beta problems solved by firmware update?!?
Posted on 1-Dec-2009 13:33:35
#14 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 3-Feb-2008
Posts: 190
From: The anthill to the west of the silver maple

@ChrisH

Oh well. Maybe the corruption has moved to somewhere less obvious and more dangerous. Still no signs of video corruption on my Sam, and E-UAE is not crashing on exit anymore. I will continue to use the release kernel as before.

Hopefully 4.1.1 will be out soon and we can put the bugs behind us.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
robo-ant 
Re: Sam's OS4.1 beta problems solved by firmware update?!?
Posted on 2-Dec-2009 5:24:28
#15 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 3-Feb-2008
Posts: 190
From: The anthill to the west of the silver maple

@ChrisH

Quote:
Spoke too soon! Graphical corruption of Workbench windows is back .


sigh... The corruption is back here, too. I added some more screen modes using Picasso96Mode and now the corruption is back after reboot. Probably if I remove some screen modes the corruption will hide again.

It was fun while it lasted.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pvanni 
Re: Sam's OS4.1 beta problems solved by firmware update?!?
Posted on 2-Dec-2009 8:18:35
#16 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 25-Aug-2003
Posts: 466
From: Lecco, Italy

@robo-ant

but why are you using Picasso96Mode? Maybe I've lost some important
post about Sam and Screen settings, but Picasso96Mode is no more needed.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trixie 
Re: Sam's OS4.1 beta problems solved by firmware update?!?
Posted on 2-Dec-2009 8:36:37
#17 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 1-Sep-2003
Posts: 1931
From: Czech Republic

@pvanni

Quote:
Maybe I've lost some important post about Sam and Screen settings, but Picasso96Mode is no more needed.

Yes, new screenmodes are added through monitor tooltypes. Why Picasso96Mode is still part of the OS installation I don't know (never used it), perhaps for historical reasons.

_________________
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast!

AmigaOne X5000/020 @ 2GHz / 4GB RAM / Radeon RX 560 / ESI Juli@ / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
SAM440ep-flex @ 667MHz / 1GB RAM / Radeon 9250 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: Sam's OS4.1 beta problems solved by firmware update?!?
Posted on 2-Dec-2009 9:13:17
#18 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4410
From: Portsmouth England

@Trixie

Some standard screen modes can be add via tooltypes true, but Picasso96Mode is still useful for adding unusual modes.

I have the bulk of my modes created the tooltype way, plus one additional mode a 1440x1200 inetrlaced mode that pushes my monitor to it's limit, fot rare occasions when i need that big a screen. I could create that without Picasso96Mode.

Don't throw away your adjustable spanner just cos someone gave you a new socket set......

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: Sam's OS4.1 beta problems solved by firmware update?!?
Posted on 2-Dec-2009 11:39:28
#19 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6673
From: Unknown

@Trixie
I heard that P96Mode will be removed entirely from OS4.1 update 1. It is considered obsolete.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
robo-ant 
Re: Sam's OS4.1 beta problems solved by firmware update?!?
Posted on 2-Dec-2009 13:33:33
#20 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 3-Feb-2008
Posts: 190
From: The anthill to the west of the silver maple

@pvanni

Quote:

but why are you using Picasso96Mode? Maybe I've lost some important
post about Sam and Screen settings, but Picasso96Mode is no more needed.


Because I added the modes before reading the documentation. Old habit from OS 3.x days.

The problem now is removing the modes that I added. I can disable the modes, but not delete them (the skull and crossbones icon on the GUI doesn't do anything?). I guess I'll restore the config file from backup and try adding the new modes in the new way.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle