Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6031 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
18 crawler(s) on-line.
 12 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 Neuf

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Neuf:  1 min ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  5 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  5 mins ago
 agami:  6 mins ago
 Panthro:  46 mins ago
 AmigaMac:  49 mins ago
 Steady:  1 hr 27 mins ago
 Rob:  1 hr 31 mins ago
 ggw:  1 hr 34 mins ago
 bhabbott:  1 hr 41 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Software
      /  Tester for Aros 68k Distribution wanted
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 Next Page )
PosterThread
Franko 
Re: Tester for Aros 68k Distribution wanted
Posted on 6-Mar-2012 13:46:44
#81 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 29-Jun-2010
Posts: 2809
From: Unknown

@wawa

Latest...

Ok just changed DH1:'s priority to 3 (just edited the HD's RDB... simplest way)...

This time it actually reboots and uses DH1: (where I have AROS) but sadly all I get is a never ending "Software Failure" window opening up with error after error and nothing else...

The vast majority of the errors are $80000004 (illegal instruction) and mainly seem to be pointing to the exec.library...

Not sure what's going on here but I think it doesn't like my Blizzard 060/PPC board for some reason...

The Amiga I'm currently testing this on is...

A1200 Blizzard060/PPC 60Mhz/240Mhz, 256MB RAM, 2 x 500GB HD's, 2 x DVD Burners, FastATA MKIII, SubWay USB, Cocolino Wireless Mouse Adapter

Anyone used a similar setup successfully !!!

Think I'll make a video of it anyway to show what it's doing...

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: Tester for Aros 68k Distribution wanted
Posted on 6-Mar-2012 13:56:53
#82 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6259
From: Unknown

@Franko

this reminds me of something what has been fixed since then, but olafs underlaying aros must be from that time.
@olaf: please update your aros system files, you must have missed that particular promlem as it doenst show on emulation, afair it was some cache problem with 060. and likely most real amiga testers will be equipped with this cpu..
@franko: try the nightly, really.

Last edited by wawa on 06-Mar-2012 at 01:59 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OlafS25 
Re: Tester for Aros 68k Distribution wanted
Posted on 6-Mar-2012 13:59:23
#83 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-May-2010
Posts: 6066
From: Unknown

@wawa

The files are from 18.2. in my distribution (I have copied the new ones over the old one or have I to start from zero?)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Franko 
Re: Tester for Aros 68k Distribution wanted
Posted on 6-Mar-2012 14:02:59
#84 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 29-Jun-2010
Posts: 2809
From: Unknown

@wawa

Quote:

wawa wrote:

@franko: try the nightly, really.


Ok.. point me directly to it and I'll give it a go...

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: Tester for Aros 68k Distribution wanted
Posted on 6-Mar-2012 14:03:50
#85 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6259
From: Unknown

@OlafS25

make a copy of your distribution. copy the up to date aros68k nightly files over it. replace aros.elf in boot dir accordingly to my post #34 (i dont know if it is still neccesary but suppose it is). and thats it.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: Tester for Aros 68k Distribution wanted
Posted on 6-Mar-2012 14:07:34
#86 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6259
From: Unknown

@Franko

evertything has been explained in detai in my post #9, following instructions #34.
link to iso:
http://netcologne.dl.sourceforge.net/project/aros/nightly/20120306/Binaries/AROS-20120306-amiga-m68k-bootiso.zip

i have not been trying the current one but it should work.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OlafS25 
Re: Tester for Aros 68k Distribution wanted
Posted on 6-Mar-2012 14:08:53
#87 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-May-2010
Posts: 6066
From: Unknown

@wawa

it is a little more because I have changed and added a lot. Another problem is that the nightly build changes all the time so programs that worked suddenly do not work anymore after updating...

@Franko
Try the nightly build so at least we know it works. Then I will update the system (special test version for you) without optimization and you can test if it works and then I will make the big update (with all optimizations)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Franko 
Re: Tester for Aros 68k Distribution wanted
Posted on 6-Mar-2012 14:15:36
#88 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 29-Jun-2010
Posts: 2809
From: Unknown

@OlafS25 @ Wawa

Just download from the the link Wawa gave, this time it's an ISO file, so I take it I just burn that to a CD or DVD and copy everything from the ISO onto my Amiga...

Should I start with a clean partition this time and just install everything from that ISO on it or just copy the stuff from the ISO on top of what I already have !!!

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: Tester for Aros 68k Distribution wanted
Posted on 6-Mar-2012 14:16:41
#89 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6259
From: Unknown

@OlafS25

your underlaying aros v1 is work in progress. many things you assume to work, do not, just you dont know because you have not tried them in depth. as example digibooster. v1 ist under construction so things that have been working (yam for instance, or sdl/ixemul ports) will get broken ocassionally. but your distro isnt stable as it is anyway.

i would say you shouldnt put too much effort in tweaking aros just now. collect the software, put the neccassary libraries into libs (avoiding overwriting aros native ones), put the missing mui classes into classes/zune, create user-startup with neccessary assignments. these changes will not be overwritten as long as you just copy the newer nightly over.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: Tester for Aros 68k Distribution wanted
Posted on 6-Mar-2012 14:18:01
#90 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6259
From: Unknown

@Franko

there is install aros icon, but ive never used it. start from cd if it does or just copy the content of iso to hd, easy as that.

Last edited by wawa on 06-Mar-2012 at 02:18 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OlafS25 
Re: Tester for Aros 68k Distribution wanted
Posted on 6-Mar-2012 14:19:36
#91 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-May-2010
Posts: 6066
From: Unknown

@wawa

I have also replaced icons, connected them with programs etc.

The fle-file you mentioned in 34... one of the download-file I sent to Franko is "Rom" and that is the "boot" download

Last edited by OlafS25 on 06-Mar-2012 at 02:22 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Franko 
Re: Tester for Aros 68k Distribution wanted
Posted on 6-Mar-2012 14:25:17
#92 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 29-Jun-2010
Posts: 2809
From: Unknown

@wawa

Just burnt the ISO to a DVD (looking at it now on the Mac) it called "Aros Live CD", form what I can see that's on it I think I'll just do a quick format of my DH1: partition and copy everything across...

Here we go... again...

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: Tester for Aros 68k Distribution wanted
Posted on 6-Mar-2012 14:29:06
#93 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6259
From: Unknown

@OlafS25
replace boot/aros.elf file in this archive:
http://netcologne.dl.sourceforge.net/project/aros/nightly/20120306/Binaries/AROS-20120306-amiga-m68k-bootiso.zip

with aros-amiga-m68k-ram.elf available from here:

http://netcologne.dl.sourceforge.net/project/aros/nightly/20120306/Binaries/AROS-20120306-amiga-m68k-boot.lha

what concerns icons, i dont know.. backup them choosing pattern mask *.info and then copy them back. remember aros might need higer stack set in every particular icon, i dont know if and which programs are affected.

you will have to find some way to automate this process. you cant just take an incomplete aros nightly, base a distribution on that and hope that nothing ever improves. maintaining such a distro will cause some effort.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: Tester for Aros 68k Distribution wanted
Posted on 6-Mar-2012 14:30:03
#94 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6259
From: Unknown

@Franko

you have forgotten my post #34 again!!!! or just look above!!

Last edited by wawa on 06-Mar-2012 at 02:30 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OlafS25 
Re: Tester for Aros 68k Distribution wanted
Posted on 6-Mar-2012 14:55:12
#95 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-May-2010
Posts: 6066
From: Unknown

@wawa

If I remember right I tested the kickstart from weekend and got errors (do not remember which errors). Perhaps the problem is there. The Rom from today works with my distribution (in WinUAE)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Franko 
Re: Tester for Aros 68k Distribution wanted
Posted on 6-Mar-2012 14:59:16
#96 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 29-Jun-2010
Posts: 2809
From: Unknown

@wawa

Ok here's what happened...

Downloaded the "nightly" ISO, quick formatted my DH1: partition, copied everything across (only took a matter of minutes this time)...

Made sure the screenmode.prefs was set correctly... rebooted (making sure blizkick was off)...

Result...

Aros successfully installed...

then it does it's reboot (booting correctly to DH1:)...

Black screen and a lot of HD activity...

Then the dark grey screen with a lot of HD activity...

HD activity stops...

Still a blank dark grey screen but the floppy drive stop making it's usual clicking sound and nothing but a frozen dark grey screen...

Think somehow it doesn't like my Blizzard060/PCC board...

Only options left now are,

Dig out one of my other A1200, install AROS onto that then test it with the following spare boards I have...

Blizzard060 128MB RAM (Just the plain one not PPC)

And 4 or five other 030 boards I have with RAM ranging from 8 to 64MB's...

Cos it certainly doesn't want to work on my main 060/PPC board, not sure it could be something to do with the 256MB of RAM as there are a few programs on the Amiga that wont work if you have more than 128MB installed, doubt it though...

Any final suggestions before I dig out another Amiga and have to set one of those up...

Last edited by Franko on 06-Mar-2012 at 03:01 PM.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: Tester for Aros 68k Distribution wanted
Posted on 6-Mar-2012 14:59:45
#97 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6259
From: Unknown

@OlafS25

then update just boot/aros.elf as described above, you will not have zune fixes and the like but apparently you dont need them, alternatively update just libs and classes. this should fix most stuff so far.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: Tester for Aros 68k Distribution wanted
Posted on 6-Mar-2012 15:05:36
#98 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6259
From: Unknown

@Franko

first of all did you replaced and renamed aros.elf?

if yes:

toni has a1200 for testing so it should work with it, dunno about blizzard ppc aor 256meg but im not sure if this is the problem, it rather might be the hd controller.
plain blizzard 060 should definitely work.
you can contact toni willen here:
http://www.winuae.net/
the mail in the top right corner. toni as winuae author is more concerned with aros68k hardware compatibility than jason who makes a lot other development.

Last edited by wawa on 06-Mar-2012 at 03:06 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Franko 
Re: Tester for Aros 68k Distribution wanted
Posted on 6-Mar-2012 15:14:57
#99 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 29-Jun-2010
Posts: 2809
From: Unknown

@wawa

Tried each version of the the .elf file i've downloaded so far, the ones you pointed me to always result in this dark grey screen with the floppy "freeze"...

The one in Olafs distro is the only one so far where I actually get to see something but unfortunately it's just the error window looping round in a list of mostly $80000004 errors for everything it's trying to run/ do...

Maybe its the 060/PPC board of even the FastATA...

My other Amigas only contain the Elbox 4xEDIE buffered interface boards so I think I'll dig one or two them out and try them with my various accelerator boards...

It's going to have to be later though as I've got to go out for now (gotta see a man about a dog)...

So when I get back I'll dig out some old miggies and stuff and have a go on those...

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OlafS25 
Re: Tester for Aros 68k Distribution wanted
Posted on 6-Mar-2012 15:22:02
#100 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-May-2010
Posts: 6066
From: Unknown

@Franko

Try the nightly build with newest roms first, at least we can sort out where the problem is. I will update my own distribution next weekend.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle