Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6071 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
86 crawler(s) on-line.
 15 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 pixie:  42 mins ago
 Hammer:  1 hr 1 min ago
 cdimauro:  1 hr 2 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  1 hr 21 mins ago
 matthey:  2 hrs ago
 Hypex:  3 hrs 14 mins ago
 jacadcaps:  4 hrs 29 mins ago
 agami:  4 hrs 56 mins ago
 minator:  6 hrs 43 mins ago
 gonegahgah:  7 hrs 20 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Software
      /  Timberwolf beta 4 available
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )
PosterThread
AmigaBlitter 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 30-Jun-2012 11:48:04
#21 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 26-Sep-2005
Posts: 3513
From: Unknown

Thank you for the update.

The HTML video works, althought very slow.

I have a problem with the vertical scroll bar. I posted the issue on the os4depot.

_________________
retired

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TrevorDick 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 30-Jun-2012 11:50:09
#22 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Dec-2004
Posts: 2678
From: Wellington

@NutsAboutAmiga

Yes "copy n paste" works for me using those key combinations. Booksmarks also work fine.

Have to say on the A1-X1000 it is very speedy and so far quite stable. Well done!

Mind you I am running it on a Radeon HD6850 which is up to 2 x faster than my HD4650 in some graphics operations (according to the gfx benchmarking programs which I tend to ignore). I'm also using the latest RadeonHD drivers (0.46)/

Over the next few days I'll do some comparisons against Firefox on the PC, Mac, and A1-X1000 under various Linux disros.

TrevorD

Posted from Timberwolf (Beta update 4)

Update: some ineresting results with the http://html5test.com test. On a quick examination the results are very impressive. However, you know how much I like benchmarks!

Last edited by TrevorDick on 30-Jun-2012 at 12:12 PM.

_________________
No, I don't need no reason, I'm just breezin'

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 30-Jun-2012 12:30:04
#23 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 12856
From: Norway

@TrevorDick

Quote:

Have to say on the A1-X1000 it is very speedy and so far quite stable. Well done!


Now you’re doing it again, your annoying me, ok when can buy this magical computer of yours, my money is sitting in my bank account waiting.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
sicky 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 30-Jun-2012 12:38:54
#24 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Mar-2003
Posts: 2843
From: Essex, UK

@NutsAboutAmiga

Quote:
Hemm.. did you try RAmiga+V and CTRL+V? does it work from the menu?


I tried RAmiga+V as that's the Amiga way, no didn't try CTRL+V as I don't have a PC nor ever will! I tried using 'paste' from the menu but that didn't work either!

I will try CTRL+V to paste when I get home from work, why did they choose to use that keyboard combination with an Amiga?

_________________
SAM 460 with 2GB or RAM, 1000GB HD, 4 port SATA, DVDRW drive and Radeon HD 4650 GFX card.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
djrikki 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 30-Jun-2012 12:44:42
#25 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2010
Posts: 2077
From: Grimsby, UK

@sicky

Its been explained a million times already- they are going for stability and completeness 1st as a priority.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
sicky 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 30-Jun-2012 12:56:41
#26 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Mar-2003
Posts: 2843
From: Essex, UK

@djrikki

In the notes it says cut n paste now working.

_________________
SAM 460 with 2GB or RAM, 1000GB HD, 4 port SATA, DVDRW drive and Radeon HD 4650 GFX card.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 30-Jun-2012 13:02:31
#27 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 12856
From: Norway

@sicky

CTRL+C is in one case used to break or cancel a command based application from running, but it can also be used to copy text on Windows and Linux, LAMIGA+C and LAMIGA+V make a lot more senesce to me as does not conflict whit other usage, and its Touch typing friendly, and you don’t need two hands on keyboard, like whit the RAmiga keyboard combinations.

I think many of key combinations where choice because they did not wont user to accidently hit reboot, or other combination of keys that might be unwanted.

Key on the keyboard is places according to type writers, so that key won’t jam up.
Really I think one of this brain dead moments or they did not know anything better at time events.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
redfox 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 30-Jun-2012 14:40:55
#28 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Mar-2003
Posts: 2072
From: Canada

@NutsAboutAmiga

My system has only 256 MB of RAM total. I had to get rid of my background photo and quit AmiDock to free up enough RAM to use Timberwolf. Otherwise there is not enough RAM for saving bookmarks.

This will not be an issue for you guys who have lots of RAM available.

redfox

Last edited by redfox on 30-Jun-2012 at 02:43 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 30-Jun-2012 14:49:30
#29 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2163
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@redfox

Quote:
This is what I had to do to use bookmarks on my MicroA1 with 256MB RAM ...
1) CurrentUserProfile folder is stored on an SFS partition
2) Appropriate assign added to user-startup file

What assign did you add?
There is no mention of it in the installation guide.
3) Put random in Devs:DOSDrivers
Quote:
4) Removed my Workbench background photo (using white Workbench screen)

What does this do, and is it required?
Quote:
5) Quit AmiDock after booting before launching Timberwolf

What is the problem with AmiDock & Timberwolf?
I launch Timberwolf from AmiDock.
Maybe this is why I have a GR launching it a second time, without editing the AppDir entry?

Quote:
One bookmark per session. Power off between sessions. Otherwise, the files are overwritten. If I relaunch without power off/on the files are overwritten and the bookmarks are gone.


I will play around with not using AmiDock, and see if I can save single bookmarks

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BillE 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 30-Jun-2012 14:52:03
#30 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Nov-2003
Posts: 1195
From: Northern Scotland

@djrikki

Quote:

@sicky

Its been explained a million times already- they are going for stability and completeness 1st as a priority.


Yes but changing a key qualifier from CTRL to Right-Amiga is hardly rocket science!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
xeron 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 30-Jun-2012 15:46:27
#31 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2003
Posts: 2440
From: Weston-Super-Mare, Somerset, England, UK, Europe, Earth, The Milky Way, The Universe

Posting from the new Timberwolf beta now! Excellent stuff.. works really well on my XE-G4. I think I even prefer it to MUI-OWB...

_________________
Playstation Network ID: xeron6

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
redfox 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 30-Jun-2012 15:58:28
#32 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Mar-2003
Posts: 2072
From: Canada

@Swoop

Regarding RANDOM device and CurrentUserProfile ...

This part is not in the installation instructions, but is "common knowledge" passed on through some discussions on various sites.

As usual it is "common knowledge" to the ones that know, and news to the rest of us.

The RANDOM device must be mounted in order to use bookmarks.

Timberwolf cannot save bookmarks to a JXFS partition.

Apparently, the CurrentUserProfile folder used by Timberwolf must be stored on an SFS partition, not on a JXFS partition.

Some people have installed Timberwolf on an SFS partition.

My only SFS partition is my AmigaOS4 SYS: partition.

I created a small SFS partition for Timberwolf and it did indeed work from there. However, I had to tweek the system to free up enough RAM to use bookmarks (explained later).

Then I remembered that only the CurrentUserProfile folder had to be on an SFS partition, so I created a folder on my AmigaOS4 SYS: partition and reinstalled Timberwolf to my JXFS partition.

CHANGES TO User-Startup

;BEGIN Timberwolf Beta 4 ... works if RANDOM: is mounted in DEVS:
;and if I have currentuserprofile on my SFS partition SYS:
;and if I have white Workbench background to free up more RAM
;and quit AmiDock
;and power off/on after each session of Timberwolf
if exists DH0:currentuserprofile
assign CURRENTUSER: DH0:currentuserprofile
endif
;END Timberwolf


Regarding TWEEKS to free up RAM (background photo and AmiDock) ...

I have a MicroA1 with 256 MB of RAM. Timberwolf uses alot of RAM just to load.

I found that I had to free up more RAM in order to use bookmarks. I got just enough RAM after I deleted my Workbench photo (if I use a white background or gray background).

Not so sure about AmiDock. There was discussion about AmiDock with TW Beta 3.

I found that Timberwolf works best for me if I quit AmiDock before launching Timberwolf by going to the Timberwolf drawer and clicking the icon.


One final note ...

My system seems to be more stable overall if I am NOT using RANDOM device.

So I moved the RANDOM device back to storage, and use Timberwolf with no bookmarks.

I have restored my Workbench photo and use AmiDock to launch Timberwolf.

I do not get any GR or crashes if I run without RANDOM and I can quit Timberwolf and relaunch without any problems.

Works fine so far, but I cannot use bookmarks because I am not using RANDOM device.


I still use OWB 3.31 and NetSurf and MUI-OWB for most of my browsing.

redfox


Last edited by redfox on 30-Jun-2012 at 04:06 PM.
Last edited by redfox on 30-Jun-2012 at 04:03 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Deniil715 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 1-Jul-2012 1:41:48
#33 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 4237
From: Sweden

@BillE

Quote:
Yes but changing a key qualifier from CTRL to Right-Amiga is hardly rocket science!


Having seen my share of generically written portable code, it may be very tricky without affecting a whole lot of other key events and stuff. Should all Ctrl be RAmiga, or on what level do you introduce the concept of Amiga-keys? Should "Firefox" (i.e. the public source code) know about Amiga-keys? Should only the RAmiga+x,c,v be intercepted in a lower level and translated into Ctrl+x,c,v and sent through a backdoor into Timberwolf (which would be a hack).

Without having seen the source I can be pretty sure this has been abstracted enough to make it *possibly* quite difficult to "just change".

For comparison: How do you make a normal Amiga menu case sensitive to it's hotkeys, such that LAmiga+A and LAmiga+a are different?

_________________
- Don't get fooled by my avatar, I'm not like that (anymore, mostly... maybe only sometimes)
> Amiga Classic and OS4 developer for OnyxSoft.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kilaueabart 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 1-Jul-2012 1:56:00
#34 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Jun-2004
Posts: 646
From: Honolulu

@number6

Wonderful. So nice to have bookmarks working on my SAM460 like they did on the A1 with the earlier releases.

I am having a problem that I didn't have with the previous release, though. All of my launches but one have died after a while, usually in a "Connecting to ..." or "Receiving data from ..." mode, where minutes go by with nothing happening. Requires a reboot; sometimes a push on the reset button.

Once (the last time I launched it) I was able to close it normally: I launched it then quit it immediately. Next time I won't get the "This is embarrassing!" screen that I've had every launch since the first.

I'd have made a smaller donation, but Paypal didn't tell me how much a euro was worth.

Since first posting this, I was forced to relaunch Timberwolf. Attempts to modify something at craigslist with OWB got me "Unable to open 'https://post.craigslist.org/[...]'. Error 56: Failure when receiving data from the peer" (which I was able to copy from OWB but unable to paste into Timberwolf with Ctrl^V so had to type it in). I've been getting a lot of that with OWB, and having to use Timberwold instead -- fortunately that's a lot nicer now!

Last edited by kilaueabart on 01-Jul-2012 at 02:24 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
thinkchip 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 1-Jul-2012 2:50:06
#35 ]
Super Member
Joined: 26-Mar-2004
Posts: 1184
From: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

@AmigaBlitter

I had a problem with the scroll bar too. When you release the left mouse button it keeps scrolling like you're still holding the button down.

_________________
X5000 / microA1(OS4.1 FE U2) / CodeBench / Imagine / Blender
Lightwave 2019 / Microsoft Visual C++

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 1-Jul-2012 12:14:13
#36 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 12856
From: Norway

@thinkchip

You don’t get mouse events when mouse is outside of the window, I have the same problem whit Excalibur scroll bar, none have noticed , so you get mouse click event, and not mouse release event, you can always get mouse coordination’s form the window data structure, it’s not easy to get events from input.device because its io / messages, and you can’t patch or hack that easily.

Maybe we should call it a tiny OS bug, but don’t know if has been like this from day one or not.

The release event should have been sent to the same window as click event despite the mouse having moved outside of the window, I wonder how this handled in the OS window scroll bar.

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 01-Jul-2012 at 12:20 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 01-Jul-2012 at 12:19 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 01-Jul-2012 at 12:18 PM.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mason 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 1-Jul-2012 14:14:10
#37 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 350
From: Germany

I have prepared some Amiga related Personas for Timberwolf.



Read more...

Last edited by Mason on 01-Jul-2012 at 05:32 PM.

_________________
Martin "Mason" Merz
www.masonicons.de

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 1-Jul-2012 15:22:17
#38 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 12856
From: Norway

@Mason

Thats cool.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
stevieu 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 1-Jul-2012 17:26:31
#39 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 23-Apr-2003
Posts: 647
From: England, UK

@Mason

Thanks!

_________________
A1200T - OS4.0,OS3.9: 603e PPC 200mhz,060 50mhz, 256mb ram, FastATA MK-III, BVision, 160gb,20gb HDDs

A1200 - OS3.1: Blizzard IV 030, 64mb ram, 400mb HDD

OS4.x - Flying the AMIGA flag

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Moxee 
Re: Timberwolf beta 4 available
Posted on 1-Jul-2012 23:31:00
#40 ]
Team Member
Joined: 20-Aug-2003
Posts: 6291
From: County Yakima, WA State, USA

@xeron

Quote:
Posting from the new Timberwolf beta now! Excellent stuff.. works really well on my XE-G4. I think I even prefer it to MUI-OWB...


Really? I guess I'd better get it installed on my XE.

I wonder why this announcement for Beta 4 was not submitted as a new article.

_________________
Moxee
AmigaOne X1000
AmigaOne XE G4
I'd agree with you, but then we'd both be wrong.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle