Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5739 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
22 crawler(s) on-line.
 23 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 MichaelMerkel

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 MichaelMerkel:  47 secs ago
 eliyahu:  5 mins ago
 A1200coder:  7 mins ago
 outlawal2:  22 mins ago
 emeck:  23 mins ago
 robbhar:  24 mins ago
 ferrels:  32 mins ago
 dirkzwager:  35 mins ago
 evilFrog:  35 mins ago
 tlosm:  38 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Software
      /  SMTube says it can't open OpenGL context or something?
Register To Post

PosterThread
Deniil715 
SMTube says it can't open OpenGL context or something?
Posted on 4-Feb-2014 21:16:17
#1 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 4193
From: Sweden

I can't get SMTube to work on my X1000. Does it require an OpenGL implementation in Qt and the gfx driver to work?!?

_________________
- Don't get fooled by my avatar, I'm not like that (anymore, mostly... maybe only sometimes)
> Amiga Classic and OS4 developer for OnyxSoft.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: SMTube says it can't open OpenGL context or something?
Posted on 4-Feb-2014 21:21:23
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2697
From: Amiga land

@Deniil715
no it need only be configured :)

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
zzd10h 
Re: SMTube says it can't open OpenGL context or something?
Posted on 4-Feb-2014 21:29:50
#3 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 21-May-2012
Posts: 1073
From: France

@Deniil715

No OpenGL needed for Qt programs (except few ones)

1) Just go in Prefs/Qt and check "Native Paint Engine" in Painting tab to avoid to use OpenGL.


2) download the most recent Qt libs in the qt4.7-0.9.1-minimal.tar.gz package here :

http://sourceforge.net/projects/qtamigaosnative/files/beta/

and copy the libs/* and new Prefs/Qt program


3) don't forget to read SMTube readme to configure the Amiga/PlayVideo.rexx.

Better, in my opinion, to use this MickJT version of MPlayer.

edit : MIckJT SDLMplayer link removed. MickJT didn't say me to remove ot but i don't know if I'm allowed to post it. Ask directly to MickJT.


=> no option argument to pass and resizing of the window allowed (unlike MUIMplayer on NON overlay system)



Does it works better now ?

Last edited by zzd10h on 08-Feb-2014 at 07:10 AM.

_________________
http://apps.amistore.net/zTools

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Deniil715 
Re: SMTube says it can't open OpenGL context or something?
Posted on 7-Feb-2014 8:24:54
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 4193
From: Sweden

@zzd10h

Thanks! I'll try the above.
Is the MPlayer SDL version slower of faster than the MUI -cgx_wpa version?

_________________
- Don't get fooled by my avatar, I'm not like that (anymore, mostly... maybe only sometimes)
> Amiga Classic and OS4 developer for OnyxSoft.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ktadd 
Re: SMTube says it can't open OpenGL context or something?
Posted on 7-Feb-2014 21:35:16
#5 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 30-Jul-2003
Posts: 557
From: California, USA

Quote:

Deniil715 wrote:
@zzd10h
Thanks! I'll try the above.
Is the MPlayer SDL version slower of faster than the MUI -cgx_wpa version?

The SDL version altivic version uses about 10-15% less CPU for the same given video so I'd say it's faster. It's fast enough to allow me to play lower bitrate, less than1600k, 720p videos while keeping the audio in sync on my X1000.

One problem I'm havding thought is it can't seem to find the fonts to things like the OSD don't work. It only shows a play or pause button on screen no text. Do others have this problem?

Hey Deniil, would it be possible to get your mplayer AREXX port added to this SDL version? If the OSD is working and it had an AREXX port it would be the best version to use with my video applications.

MUIMplayer has some undesirable behaviour with it's AREXX port. Mainly that almost all AREXX commands take it out of pause mode and when paused the OSD doesn't display.

I would think it should be pretty easy to move yoru AREXX code to MPlayer_SDL. What do you think?

Last edited by ktadd on 07-Feb-2014 at 09:40 PM.

_________________
Kevin - X1000 First Contact / uA1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fab 
Re: SMTube says it can't open OpenGL context or something?
Posted on 8-Feb-2014 0:56:43
#6 ]
Super Member
Joined: 17-Mar-2004
Posts: 1178
From: Unknown

@ktadd

Seriously, there's something really wrong in the port if cgx_wpa is even slower than the slow SDL output (or maybe altivec is not enabled in that port?).

Of course overlay is magnitudes faster than both cgx_wpa and sdl anyway.u

Regarding REXX port, i'm not sure why you need so much to send commands in paused state, but it's mplayer behaviour to resume playing after an internal command is sent. That said, it's very easy to change, and actually, i think current MPlayer MorphOS doesn't unpause when REXX commands are sent. Besides, MPlayer MorphOS has full access to mplayer internal commands, unlike other implementations.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
realize 
Re: SMTube says it can't open OpenGL context or something?
Posted on 8-Feb-2014 0:58:05
#7 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Apr-2003
Posts: 1797
From: nyc

@Fab

Quote:
Seriously, there's something really wrong in the port if cgx_wpa is even slower than the slow SDL output (or maybe altivec is not enabled in that port?).


Def something wrong if thats the case. I'll have to try a test on my peg2 with both.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ktadd 
Re: SMTube says it can't open OpenGL context or something?
Posted on 8-Feb-2014 3:16:48
#8 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 30-Jul-2003
Posts: 557
From: California, USA

@Fab

Quote:

Fab wrote:
@ktadd

Seriously, there's something really wrong in the port if cgx_wpa is even slower than the slow SDL output (or maybe altivec is not enabled in that port?).

I agree I wouldn't have expected this outcome and there could be something wrong but I compared the altivec version of MUIMPlayer to the altivec version of MPlayer_SDL playing a few different videos of various sizes and that is the results I got. I was actually suprised at how good the SDL performance was.

Quote:

Of course overlay is magnitudes faster than both cgx_wpa and sdl anyway.u

Agreed. It will be nice to get proper support on the HD cards when it comes.

Quote:

Regarding REXX port, i'm not sure why you need so much to send commands in paused state, but it's mplayer behaviour to resume playing after an internal command is sent.

The reason I need it to pause is becuase my video applications provide a control panel for MPlayer. It allows you to seek backwards and forwards 1s, 10s, and 1m with the click of a button. These are provided so you can find the exact place in a video to make a cut or place a title. If the video resumes playing after the seek you can't find the exact time you want. Therefore I need it to pause after the seek and not continue playing. Really the behaviour I would like, and what the OS4 MPlayer does is continue playing after the seek if the video was playing when the commnad was given, and pause ofter the commnad if the video was paused when the command was given. In other words, just leave it in the mode it was in when the command is received.

Quote:

That said, it's very easy to change, and actually, i think current MPlayer MorphOS doesn't unpause when REXX commands are sent.

Unfortunatly we don't have the latest MorphOS version on OS4. Would be nice to have.

Quote:
Besides, MPlayer MorphOS has full access to mplayer internal commands, unlike other implementations.

I agree, the "raw" commnad is a very nice feature on the MorphOS AREXX implementation. I do use it with the above seek commands and prefix them with the command that tells it to pause after the command is issued but as stated in the manual the timing is not guaranteed and it doesn't work very well for the reverse seek 1 second command. Works Ok most of the time for the 10sec and beyond timings though it's not exactly the behviour I would really like to have as explained above. The "raw" command isn't so necessary on the OS4 MPlayer version as it's AREXX implementation supports almost all the MPlayer commands.

The other thing about MUIMPlayer, that makes it not quite as nice for using in a video editor, is that it doesn't display the OSD time when paused. Of course this could be worked around by constantly reading the current position and displaying it myself but that just seems like extra unecessary code and I wanted to kee the program as responsive as possible. With the OSD display there is no reason to duplicate it in my application. Right now I have gadgets that read the current video time and enter it automatically when clicked.

Maybe there is a better way to control MPlayer than through it's AREXX port?
I looked into using a PIPE but I don't think our OS4 PIPE implementation works with it. Does your MUIMPlayer interface use AREXX or are you using another method of control?

As an aside, speaking as an OS4 user, I and I'm sure many other appreciate you making your source code available to us. MUIMPlayer and Odyssey have certianly enriched the OS4 user experience. Thanks!

Last edited by ktadd on 08-Feb-2014 at 03:18 AM.

_________________
Kevin - X1000 First Contact / uA1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ktadd 
Re: SMTube says it can't open OpenGL context or something?
Posted on 8-Feb-2014 3:30:50
#9 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 30-Jul-2003
Posts: 557
From: California, USA

Quote:

Fab wrote:
@ktadd
Seriously, there's something really wrong in the port if cgx_wpa is even slower than the slow SDL output (or maybe altivec is not enabled in that port?).

Getting back on the SMTube an altivec subject. I've found that if I use the altivec version of MUIMPlayer to play a video with SMTube and stop the video before it is finished it crashes. This also occurs very occassionally when using it from Odyssey as well. Probably something to due with sreaming video. It never occurs when I use the non-altivec version of MUIMPlayer. It could have something to due with 16bit screens vs. 32bit screens, I'm not sure though.

_________________
Kevin - X1000 First Contact / uA1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Deniil715 
Re: SMTube says it can't open OpenGL context or something?
Posted on 8-Feb-2014 20:16:51
#10 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 4193
From: Sweden

@Fab

Yes, I'm also amazed how slow the cgx_wpa mode is. It spends 70% of the time in the VO driver for a 720p mpeg2 video (I did a few such conversions).

Only the generation of the video frame should be done by the CPU, then the WPA call should DMA the whole buffer to the gfx card. Maybe the format is wrong and is converted, or realigned or something along the way??

_________________
- Don't get fooled by my avatar, I'm not like that (anymore, mostly... maybe only sometimes)
> Amiga Classic and OS4 developer for OnyxSoft.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: SMTube says it can't open OpenGL context or something?
Posted on 8-Feb-2014 20:19:29
#11 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2697
From: Amiga land

@ktadd

what system do you have ? ...

I had this issue with 480p on pegasos2 ,
On Xe Mplayer have more crash compared with peggy.
this is Mplayer with smTube alone Mplayer don't have problems

Last edited by tlosm on 08-Feb-2014 at 08:20 PM.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
zzd10h 
Re: SMTube says it can't open OpenGL context or something?
Posted on 8-Feb-2014 20:43:28
#12 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 21-May-2012
Posts: 1073
From: France

@Deniil715

Does SMTube works now ?

_________________
http://apps.amistore.net/zTools

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
zzd10h 
Re: SMTube says it can't open OpenGL context or something?
Posted on 15-Feb-2014 23:44:43
#13 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 21-May-2012
Posts: 1073
From: France

@Deniil715

You asked a question 12 days ago...

I replied you...

_________________
http://apps.amistore.net/zTools

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Nicsoft 
Re: SMTube says it can't open OpenGL context or something?
Posted on 16-Feb-2014 2:46:51
#14 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 5-Sep-2004
Posts: 235
From: Sweden

Thanks to (the very patient and helpful) "zzd10h"!

I finally got Qt SMTube to work perfect also with the streaming function.

I first installed:
Muimplayer (MPlayer with MUI-GUI).

It's a nice player with GUI, good for playing downloaded files.

But I was told that the MPlayer_SDL_1.1 by "MickJT" was more suited
for the streaming function of SMTube. So I searched the internet for MPlayer_SDL_1.1.
Just to find out that it's not available to download! "zzd10h" was kind enough to send me a copy!
(He told me, he was permitted to do so)

So I installed it and it was true! MPlayer_SDL_1.1 is perfect for SMTube!
So please make it available on the internet "MickJT", as Shareware if so..?

Nicsoft - a user of: Qt SMTube, MPlayer_SDL_1.1 and Muimplayer.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Sidecar 
Re: SMTube says it can't open OpenGL context or something?
Posted on 16-Feb-2014 16:55:51
#15 ]
New Member
Joined: 17-Jan-2014
Posts: 8
From: Visiting Earth

Please!

Can someone mail me this MPlayer_SDL_1.1 by MickJT?
My e-mail is visible on my account.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
cap 
Re: SMTube says it can't open OpenGL context or something?
Posted on 16-Feb-2014 17:08:21
#16 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2003
Posts: 291
From: Melton Mowbray - Porkpie centre.

@Sidecar

Search for MickJT on Amigans.net site and send him a PM asking for a copy.

I use it also with smtube as well.It works best for me also.

Last edited by cap on 16-Feb-2014 at 05:10 PM.

_________________
A1/G4 1GHZ

OS4.1 latest update.
1ghz Radeon Club3d 9250
Usb/Dma fixed.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Deniil715 
Re: SMTube says it can't open OpenGL context or something?
Posted on 16-Feb-2014 17:51:10
#17 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 4193
From: Sweden

@zzd10h

Sorry I didn't reply, but I haven't tested again. I think. I change the wrong config (only mplayer) and so it crashed again, of course. Then I forgot about it and haven't had time and reason to try again. I'll test again with also the Qt GUI changes

_________________
- Don't get fooled by my avatar, I'm not like that (anymore, mostly... maybe only sometimes)
> Amiga Classic and OS4 developer for OnyxSoft.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Sidecar 
Re: SMTube says it can't open OpenGL context or something?
Posted on 16-Feb-2014 18:43:44
#18 ]
New Member
Joined: 17-Jan-2014
Posts: 8
From: Visiting Earth

@cap

I found a ...@hotmail.com - belonging to him.
Let's hope, that's the one he uses.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle