Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5739 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
31 crawler(s) on-line.
 17 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 billt

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 billt:  3 mins ago
 kamelito:  7 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  12 mins ago
 eliyahu:  21 mins ago
 nikosidis:  21 mins ago
 gonegahgah:  24 mins ago
 Edders:  26 mins ago
 The_Shadow:  27 mins ago
 tlosm:  28 mins ago
 1Mouse:  38 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  sam460 emulated in qemu
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 Next Page )
PosterThread
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 13-Mar-2020 8:17:13
#401 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2697
From: Amiga land

@Cego

the only hope for kvm is the peg2 emulation . Zoltan was working on it but with some difficulties. him will need time.the 3d emulation will be not available since some one will make virgl compatible for PPC and some one will make the amigaos driver for it.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
themamboman 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 23-Mar-2020 13:30:38
#402 ]
Member
Joined: 29-Mar-2013
Posts: 62
From: Unknown

@tlosm

My apologies if this has been asked but has anyone done any comparison testing between qemu 4.2.0 running Amiga OS41.FE for Sam460ex vs WinUAE + Amiga4.1FE for classics?


 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 23-Mar-2020 14:10:31
#403 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 9102
From: Unknown

@themamboman

CPU performance should be similar. UAE is probably better suited for general public (UAEGFX for higher display resolutions, file transfer via directory on host drive etc.).

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
billt 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 23-Mar-2020 14:15:34
#404 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Oct-2003
Posts: 3152
From: Maryland, USA

Having problems with networking, which kindof prevents me from doing very much. I'd like to get a number of things from aminet, os4depot etc. for my Qemu-sam460, but network has been elusive.

Using qemu 4.2.0

I am running qemu on Kubuntu Linux, and Linux runs inside of Virtualbox on top of Windows10.

The Linux inside of Virtualbox works fine with internet, and has done so for years.

I have also tried Qemu directly on Windows10 to help rule out the VirtualBox complexity. Still no network connection.

In OS4, when I go through network setup, and have it scan for ethernet card automatically, it does find one, and does some setup thereof. But after that, there is no working connection.

My Linux Qemu line:

Quote:
alias sam460='/opt/emulation/qemu/4.2.0/bin/qemu-system-ppc -machine sam460ex -m 2G -rtc base=localtime -drive id=hd,file=/media/sf_host_f/documents/shared/Emulation/Qemu/HardDrives/amigaOS4_SYS.img -device ide-hd,drive=hd,bus=ide.0 -device ne2k_pci,netdev=net0 -netdev user,id=net0,net=192.168.1.199/24 -display gtk -device ES1370 '


Windows10 host is IP 192.168.1.254 on a wifi connection.
Linux is IP 192.168.1.200 on the Virtualbox virtual ethernet device.
router is 192.168.1.1
broadcast is 192.168.1.255

pings from inside OS4 never come back from anything above. Linux can ping Windows and router OK. OS4 cannot ping anything anywhere.

Is there any setup in Linux or to allow qemu/OS networking to come through?
Any setup in Windows10 for qemu directly on it, to asllow networkign to come through?
Or should networking simply "just work" with only installing qemu and choosin ga network device on commandline?

I had previously used a simpler network setting on qemu commandline, I added the IP address bit later when I realized the default IP range in Qemu did not match my network, which is all 192.168.1.xxx, and found some instructions to control that.

I try to create the network connection using SYS:Internet/New Connection
Choose LAN
Choose Automatic Config
Auto-Searching for Ethernet Adapters finds Realtek RTL 8029 on unit 0
Try Dynamic Config
Save Filename RTL8029

RTL8029 gets added and configured by OS4
Assigned IP address 192.168.1.15, network mase 255.255.255.0
default route to 192.168.1.2
added domain server 192.168.1.3

Sys:Internet:Edit Connections does NOT show any *.conn files to select.

Sys:Internet/COnnections dir is empty

Prefs/internet shows
Name=RTL8029
Driver=rtl8029.device
Unit/Port=0
Type=unknown
Configuration=DHCP

ping 192.168.1.2 gurus, reboot

ping 192.168.1.2 works, getting 4ms to 24ms returns

ping 192.168.1.3 works, getting up to 17ms returns

ping 192.168.1.1 (house router) does NOT ping back at all

ping 182.168.1.200 (Linux VM) does NOT ping back at all

I am nto sure what the *.2 and *.3 are coming from, and I do not recognize those on the network outside of OS4 or Qemu.


(I don't have sound either, but will worry about that later)

Last edited by billt on 23-Mar-2020 at 03:38 PM.
Last edited by billt on 23-Mar-2020 at 03:05 PM.
Last edited by billt on 23-Mar-2020 at 02:16 PM.

_________________
All glory to the Hypnotoad!

 Status: Online!
Profile     Report this post  
Fl@sh 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 23-Mar-2020 15:22:39
#405 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 6-Oct-2004
Posts: 150
From: Napoli - Italy

@billt

I was able to go on the net with qemu.
If I remember I needed to setup manually internet access on the Amiga side.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 23-Mar-2020 15:36:16
#406 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9855
From: Greensborough, Australia

@billt

I wonder if QEmu works like MoL does? That had a seperate IP range isolated in the emulation. Which use NAT to translate it to the outside world so the IP address in the emulation would be in another range to the host.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fl@sh 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 1-Apr-2020 18:36:16
#407 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 6-Oct-2004
Posts: 150
From: Napoli - Italy


With this patch seems randomly crashes are finally fixed on Sam460ex:

"[PATCH for-5.0] hw/ppc/ppc440_uc.c: Remove incorrect iothread locking from dcr_write_pcie()"


You need to build binaries from ppc-for-5.0 David Gibson branch until will be officially released QEMU 5.0

We could have hopes also for a new amiga qemu Pegasos II board, Zoltan is working on it.
The major goal with Pegasos II will be possibility to use KVM acceletation (virtualization) on powermacs and all Book3s powerpc cpus.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 7-Apr-2020 20:26:20
#408 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 755
From: Unknown

@thread

I have Plaid Book by Daktech.
It has 8 GB Ram and a dual core i3 processor with 4 threads.
Also, it has intel video.

The OS is Ubuntu 18.04.x.
What qemu should I use?

One solution seems to be;
sudo apt-get install qemu

I did see another install through a web site called unixmem.

I have another laptop with same specs. and it has Manjaro Mate.
It is a rolling release distribution. The latest qemu should be available on this os.

Thanks.
edit:
I remembered this site;
http://zero.eik.bme.hu/~balaton/qemu/amiga/
and will use that to get me started.
I went with a sudo apt-get install qemu and will see what happens.
Thanks again.

Last edited by Trekiej on 07-Apr-2020 at 08:35 PM.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fl@sh 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 7-Apr-2020 20:40:12
#409 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 6-Oct-2004
Posts: 150
From: Napoli - Italy

@Trekiej

Goto QEMU website and download latest sources, then compile it your self and run it.
You have to think in a linux user way.. if you want something take source and compile it!

QEMU

Usually in many linux distro/repositories there aren't latest versions, but indeed very often you got only very old versions of qemu.

In v5 release has been fixed a lot of bugs and speed is generally improved (about +20%)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 7-Apr-2020 20:55:33
#410 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 755
From: Unknown

@Fl@sh

I did download both the 4.x and 5.x beta and copied them to my laptop.
I am not too savvy with Make.

edit:
Unfortunately it is 2.11.1.

Last edited by Trekiej on 07-Apr-2020 at 09:05 PM.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 7-Apr-2020 22:27:18
#411 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 755
From: Unknown

@Trekiej

pkg-config not found after entering ./config for qemu 5.x

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
billt 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 7-Apr-2020 23:47:31
#412 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Oct-2003
Posts: 3152
From: Maryland, USA

@tlosm

Quote:
the only hope for kvm is the peg2 emulation .


Why can a peg2 emulation get kvm, but sam460 emulation cannot?

_________________
All glory to the Hypnotoad!

 Status: Online!
Profile     Report this post  
Fl@sh 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 8-Apr-2020 1:03:25
#413 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 6-Oct-2004
Posts: 150
From: Napoli - Italy

@billt

There are two types of ppc family, book3s and book3e.
The firsts is reserved for desktop and servers classes, the other is reserved for embedded devices.
Even if both are PowerPC there are some instruction not perfectly compatible each other.
This prevents QEMU to virtualise via KVM an AMCC 460ex SoC on a powermac g4/g5 and vice versa.

In theory this could be resolved intercepting via software the raised exceptions and fixing it on the fly.

For now the only way to enable kvm is to have the cpu guest == cpu host

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fl@sh 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 8-Apr-2020 1:07:14
#414 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 6-Oct-2004
Posts: 150
From: Napoli - Italy

@Trekiej

You need to install all needed packages to compile it, i.e. gcc 8 and other stuff..

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 8-Apr-2020 3:33:54
#415 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 755
From: Unknown

@Fl@sh

Thanks, I did find out that Manjaro Linux has 4.2.0.
I would like to try to compile 5.x beta later.
I have not tried to boot Sam460 yet on 4.2.0.

Last edited by Trekiej on 08-Apr-2020 at 03:38 AM.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fl@sh 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 8-Apr-2020 22:50:45
#416 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 6-Oct-2004
Posts: 150
From: Napoli - Italy

It's has been just released QEMU 5.0.0 RC2

https://www.qemu.org/download/#source

http://download.qemu-project.org/qemu-5.0.0-rc2.tar.xz
http://download.qemu-project.org/qemu-5.0.0-rc2.tar.xz.sig


 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 9-Apr-2020 18:45:16
#417 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 755
From: Unknown

@Fl@sh

I will try this with Manjaro Mate and see what happens.

Last edited by Trekiej on 09-Apr-2020 at 06:57 PM.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 21-Apr-2020 4:52:45
#418 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 755
From: Unknown

@Fl@sh

I got OS4.1 to boot on qemu 4.2.
I created an executable file but it can not find qemu-system-ppc.
Typing it in at the terminal works.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 21-Apr-2020 8:04:26
#419 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 11330
From: Norway

@themamboman

WinUAE emulates classic Amiga that has CIAA/CIAB/PAULA and so on chips, the classic system technically does have USB support, there is bigger limitations on RAM.

Sam460 is newer hardware, it does not have the classic chips CIAA/CIAB/PAULA and so on, so less classic software will work, but you should get more RAM, it should emulate a newer graphic cards.

I guess what makes the QEMU interesting is that runs on Linux, and that its maybe possible one day to do hardware virtualization, so you can run old Mac, or maybe you have dual boot system Linux/AmigaOS on real Sam460, in this case you might be able to use Linux and AmigaOS at the same time instead of rebooting, this can have some advantage if your cross compiling.

Technically some thing like QEMU running on top of AmigaOS can also be really interesting for developers, that way you run Linux on AmigaOS.

This also really use full for kernel developers, to test things out, without having to mess with your main OS installation. This is how UML, user mode linux was used back in the days.

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 21-Apr-2020 at 08:09 AM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 21-Apr-2020 at 08:08 AM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 21-Apr-2020 at 08:08 AM.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 21-Apr-2020 10:09:04
#420 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 9102
From: Unknown

@NutsAboutAmiga

Quote:
it should emulate a newer graphic cards.


As of 2020, there is no GFX card emulation in QEMU comparable to UAEGFX features.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle