Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5703 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 25 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 Hypex,  Wizzard_o

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Wizzard_o:  5 secs ago
 Hypex:  6 secs ago
 AmigaBlitter:  9 mins ago
 Fl@sh:  13 mins ago
 ferrels:  23 mins ago
 K-L:  42 mins ago
 tekmage:  1 hr 5 mins ago
 Trekiej:  2 hrs 24 mins ago
 Barret:  2 hrs 58 mins ago
 m0lebrain:  3 hrs 35 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  AROS Software
      /  Get internet connection with your Android phone
Register To Post

PosterThread
nikosidis 
Get internet connection with your Android phone
Posted on 7-Mar-2018 18:49:21
#1 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 9-Dec-2008
Posts: 682
From: Norway, Oslo

I made this video to share how this can be done quite easy with AspireOS or AROS in general.

Video

As you might know AROS does not have many network drivers and only one for wi-fi.
This solves that problem.
Only problem I had with this is that if AROS is used with USB storage device the internet connection is slow but when I installed AROS to internal storage device, SSD the internet connection is fast. Maybe some USB conflict I don't know.

Last edited by nikosidis on 07-Mar-2018 at 08:39 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OldAmigan 
Re: Get internet connection with your Android phone
Posted on 9-Mar-2018 8:21:24
#2 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 25-Dec-2003
Posts: 551
From: Dumfries, Scotland

@nikosidis

Good tip.

An alternative, if you have a router which has wifi, is to use a small repeater/bridge giving you ethernet out.

I have several computers, including my AmigaOneXE, where I use a Vonets MN300 for that job.

7 each for four of them on ebay!

_________________
Fred Booth
========================================
A500, A600, A1200 c/w Mediator and 030
AmigaOne and OS4.1
Mac LCII, G4 Powermac running OSX + Amigakit and MorphOS 3.0
Dell Mini 10 Netbook running IcAros and AmigaForever+Amikit+AmigaSys
2006 Macb

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BSzili 
Re: Get internet connection with your Android phone
Posted on 9-Mar-2018 9:30:14
#3 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 16-Nov-2013
Posts: 285
From: Unknown

@OldAmigan

I have two of those, and I use them with my A1200 and Mac Mini. They are convenient, because you can power them from a USB port or charger. Another bonus is that the WPA encryption won't eat up your CPU time, although that's not very relevant on x86 computers

Last edited by BSzili on 09-Mar-2018 at 09:30 AM.

_________________
I see the jimmies have been rustled.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle