Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5630 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel

Who's Online
 61 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Overflow:  11 mins ago
 Barret:  29 mins ago
 amigasociety:  48 mins ago
 K-L:  50 mins ago
 Kraftwerk2:  52 mins ago
 bhabbott:  1 hr 26 mins ago
 Debaser:  1 hr 46 mins ago
 SnkBitten:  2 hrs 59 mins ago
 A1200:  4 hrs 27 mins ago
 ne_one:  4 hrs 40 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Software
      /  Enhancer Software Graphic Upgrade
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )
PosterThread
K-L 
Enhancer Software Graphic Upgrade
Posted on 25-Oct-2018 13:00:48
#1 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-Mar-2006
Posts: 1294
From: Oullins, France

Hi,

Amigakit and A-EON have just relased the Enhancer Software Graphic Upgrade.

Unfortutnatley, the news is difficult to understand.

So let's go for questions (Amigakit as already answered one in the comments section of the news).

1 Does the 256MB barrier is broken with Polaris RX driver ? ==> Yes

2 When will the firmware upgrade for X1000 be released in order to use the Polaris RX cards ? ==> Amigakit is tryiong to get the sources of CFE to update the firmware.

3 Why is it written "for those who have oredred it" in the news. What could be ordered ? Radeon Driver v3 ? Polaris driver ? It's not very clear. Was this a preorder option ?

4 When using Updater, RadeonHD.chip(v2) can be updated. I already have 2.22 installed and if I update, it copies a new file named "RadeonHD.chip(v2)" in SYS:Kickstart (there is already a RadeonHD.chip in SYS:Kickstart)

Thanks !

Last edited by K-L on 25-Oct-2018 at 01:02 PM.

_________________
AmigaONE X1000, 2GB, Sapphire Radeon HD 7700
Webmaster of Amiga-NG.org (French)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigakit 
Re: Enhancer Software Graphic Upgrade
Posted on 25-Oct-2018 13:09:35
#2 ]
Amiga Kit
Joined: 28-Jun-2004
Posts: 2303
From: www.amigakit.com

@K-L

1) The 256MB Graphics Memory barrier is no more (yes you can use 8GB VRAM on your Radeon card if you really want to ...

More than 256MB VRAM is available for:

RadeonRX
RadeonHD v3
Warp3D Nova
Warp3D "Classic" Southern Island.

Also another project we are working on :)

The old Picasso96 has been rolled into the graphics library. It is hopelessly out of date and is still subject to 256MB limit. We do not have any access to the graphics library so we cannot do anything with this.

2) When we obtain the CFE source code we can fix this problem. I have made enquiries. The X1000 CFE development was contracted out before we got involved.

3) If you order the Enhancer Software Upgrade Pack from AMIStore you are able to download the components in Updater or as a package. You will also be able to download Enhancer Software V2 components when they become available on Updater tool in future.

4) Let me fix that bug.

_________________
Amiga Kit Amiga Store
Links: www.amigakit.com | New Products | X5000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
K-L 
Re: Enhancer Software Graphic Upgrade
Posted on 25-Oct-2018 13:14:56
#3 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-Mar-2006
Posts: 1294
From: Oullins, France

@amigakit

Thanks !

Unfortunately, while I own the ESP Plus edition I have to pay 76 (without VAT) to upgrade. This is way too much for me (and since I own an X1000, it will just allow me to break the 256MB barrier).

What is odd is that when I opened AmiStore without being connected, it was displayed 63. And when I connected, it displayed 76 (and it did not change when I logged out).

Edited : ok, we have to reach the checkout page to have the discount. it's better there

Last edited by K-L on 25-Oct-2018 at 01:20 PM.

_________________
AmigaONE X1000, 2GB, Sapphire Radeon HD 7700
Webmaster of Amiga-NG.org (French)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigakit 
Re: Enhancer Software Graphic Upgrade
Posted on 25-Oct-2018 14:14:53
#4 ]
Amiga Kit
Joined: 28-Jun-2004
Posts: 2303
From: www.amigakit.com

@K-L


I am glad you have seen the discount applied in AMIStore Checkout

Also can I mention just in case there is any confusion:

RadeonHD V3.6 driver will work on X1000 without any CFE update - it is only the RX driver that needs the firmware upgrade.

_________________
Amiga Kit Amiga Store
Links: www.amigakit.com | New Products | X5000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
K-L 
Re: Enhancer Software Graphic Upgrade
Posted on 25-Oct-2018 14:50:00
#5 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-Mar-2006
Posts: 1294
From: Oullins, France

@amigakit

Thanks for clarification.

Except the 256MB barrier, are there any other enhancements ?

Last edited by K-L on 25-Oct-2018 at 02:50 PM.

_________________
AmigaONE X1000, 2GB, Sapphire Radeon HD 7700
Webmaster of Amiga-NG.org (French)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigakit 
Re: Enhancer Software Graphic Upgrade
Posted on 25-Oct-2018 14:55:04
#6 ]
Amiga Kit
Joined: 28-Jun-2004
Posts: 2303
From: www.amigakit.com

@K-L

Yes there are lots of other smaller enhancements such as:

- Added SPE-optimised blitter & compositing
- Added SPE optimised copy routines to the RadeonHD_RM.resource (faster texture uploads).
- Reduced lock/unlock overhead.
- Tweaked the buffer location priorities (i.e., where buffers are allocated or paged to) for better performance

Last edited by amigakit on 25-Oct-2018 at 02:55 PM.

_________________
Amiga Kit Amiga Store
Links: www.amigakit.com | New Products | X5000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
cgutjahr 
Re: Enhancer Software Graphic Upgrade
Posted on 25-Oct-2018 22:12:50
#7 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 871
From: Unknown

@K-L

I'm confused, could somebody explain the enhancer version scheme and pricing to me?

There's "Enhancer" which is now at version 1.4, I had always assumed 1.1 to 1.4 were free updates - I'm now under the impression that this is not the case? If these updates were not free, what did they cost?

What is "Enhancer Plus"?

If I own "Enhancer Plus", I have to pay 63 for the Graphics Upgrade , if I don't it will be 76 - is that correct?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigakit 
Re: Enhancer Software Graphic Upgrade
Posted on 25-Oct-2018 22:32:42
#8 ]
Amiga Kit
Joined: 28-Jun-2004
Posts: 2303
From: www.amigakit.com

@cgutjahr

Enhancer Software 1.1 to 1.4 are free upgrades to anyone that has bought a Enhancer Software 1.x licence.

Enhancer Software 2 will not a free upgrade from version 1.

Enhancer Software Graphics Upgrade Pack is part of the forthcoming Enhancer Software 2 so anyone that buys the Enhancer Software Graphics Ugrade Pack will get an Enhancer Software 2 licence too at no extra cost.


Quote:
What is "Enhancer Plus"?


He means Enhancer Software 1.4 Plus.

Last edited by amigakit on 25-Oct-2018 at 10:35 PM.

_________________
Amiga Kit Amiga Store
Links: www.amigakit.com | New Products | X5000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigakit 
Re: Enhancer Software Graphic Upgrade
Posted on 25-Oct-2018 22:42:26
#9 ]
Amiga Kit
Joined: 28-Jun-2004
Posts: 2303
From: www.amigakit.com

@cgutjahr

Quote:
If I own "Enhancer Plus", I have to pay 63 for the Graphics Upgrade , if I don't it will be 76 - is that correct?


Not this is not correct.

It would be 31 plus VAT and payment processing fee. Remember there are large discounts for users who have purchased the Enhancer Software before.

_________________
Amiga Kit Amiga Store
Links: www.amigakit.com | New Products | X5000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
cgutjahr 
Re: Enhancer Software Graphic Upgrade
Posted on 25-Oct-2018 22:44:35
#10 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 871
From: Unknown

@amigakit

Thanks for the info.

Quote:

He means Enhancer Software 1.4 Plus.

Ah, sorry - my bad... I completely forgot about the plus edition being the version containing the newer graphics drivers - hence my confusion.

So "Plus" owners pay 63, "Standard" owners 76?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigakit 
Re: Enhancer Software Graphic Upgrade
Posted on 25-Oct-2018 22:45:34
#11 ]
Amiga Kit
Joined: 28-Jun-2004
Posts: 2303
From: www.amigakit.com

@cgutjahr

Quote:
So "Plus" owners pay 63, "Standard" owners 76?


No, please see my comment above

_________________
Amiga Kit Amiga Store
Links: www.amigakit.com | New Products | X5000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
cgutjahr 
Re: Enhancer Software Graphic Upgrade
Posted on 25-Oct-2018 22:58:42
#12 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 871
From: Unknown

@amigakit

Quote:

No, please see my comment above

Ah, that was posted while I was replying.

Sorry it's taking so long, we're getting there...

So "Plus" owners pay 31 GBP, what do "Standard" owners pay?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigakit 
Re: Enhancer Software Graphic Upgrade
Posted on 25-Oct-2018 23:02:57
#13 ]
Amiga Kit
Joined: 28-Jun-2004
Posts: 2303
From: www.amigakit.com

@cgutjahr

39.50 plus local VAT (if applicable- EU only)

_________________
Amiga Kit Amiga Store
Links: www.amigakit.com | New Products | X5000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
cgutjahr 
Re: Enhancer Software Graphic Upgrade
Posted on 25-Oct-2018 23:31:16
#14 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 871
From: Unknown

@amigakit

Thanks again.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trixie 
Re: Enhancer Software Graphic Upgrade
Posted on 26-Oct-2018 9:35:43
#15 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 1-Sep-2003
Posts: 1762
From: Czech Republic

@amigakit

Quote:
39.50 plus local VAT (if applicable- EU only)

Sounds like a very fair upgrade price to me!

_________________
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast!

AmigaOne X5000/020 @ 2GHz / 4GB RAM / Radeon RX 560 / ESI Juli@ / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
SAM440ep-flex @ 667MHz / 1GB RAM / Radeon 9250 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
zzd10h 
Re: Enhancer Software Graphic Upgrade
Posted on 27-Oct-2018 9:22:13
#16 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 21-May-2012
Posts: 1069
From: France

Thanks Hans and AEon

Now, playing to JediKnight at max resolution works pretty well using additional GPU memory ("Used GPU" below on my R7-250X).



Last edited by zzd10h on 27-Oct-2018 at 10:08 AM.

_________________
http://apps.amistore.net/zTools

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: Enhancer Software Graphic Upgrade
Posted on 27-Oct-2018 11:03:23
#17 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3317
From: Russia

@All
Is it possible to use polaris or SI ones in the sam440ep somehow ?

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
bennymee 
Re: Enhancer Software Graphic Upgrade
Posted on 27-Oct-2018 12:11:01
#18 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2003
Posts: 489
From: Netherlands

@amigakit

You write:
The old Picasso96 has been rolled into the graphics library. It is hopelessly out of date and is still subject to 256MB limit. We do not have any access to the graphics library so we cannot do anything with this.


When is the 256 a limitation ? zzdh10h plays Jediknight with additional videomemory with a 7750 card, any game which does not use Intuition/graphics.library?

I would like to know as I am wondering how much faster a Polaris card is to my Radeon 7750.

Any gfxbench2D or 3D game benchmarks, old versus new ?

Last edited by bennymee on 27-Oct-2018 at 12:13 PM.
Last edited by bennymee on 27-Oct-2018 at 12:12 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigakit 
Re: Enhancer Software Graphic Upgrade
Posted on 27-Oct-2018 12:16:38
#19 ]
Amiga Kit
Joined: 28-Jun-2004
Posts: 2303
From: www.amigakit.com

@bennymee

256MB VRAM is what OS4 system graphics library can use as a maximum.

Our products such as Warp3D Southern Islands, Warp3D Nova and some new developments will all use the full graphics memory available. So if you have 8GB memory on your Radeon Polaris card or 4GB on your Radeon Oland card or 2GB on your Radeon Southern Islands card then it is all available through our drivers.

RadeonHD v3 and RadeonRX v1 support memory above the OS4 256MB limit.

JediKnight uses our Warp3D_SI driver which when used with RadeonHD v3, lets you use the full VRAM on your Southern Islands/Oland card.

_________________
Amiga Kit Amiga Store
Links: www.amigakit.com | New Products | X5000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Spectre660 
Re: Enhancer Software Graphic Upgrade
Posted on 27-Oct-2018 13:41:49
#20 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-Jun-2005
Posts: 3742
From: Unknown

@kas1e

The Radon SI Cards did not work outside of U-Boot on the Sam440ep's .
Neither AmigaOS 4.1 nor Linux (Linux console display worked too but no graphics display).
Under both the card was recognized but would not go into graphical mode.

Don't know if anyone has tried a Polaris card .


Last edited by Spectre660 on 27-Oct-2018 at 01:42 PM.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle