Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5630 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel

Who's Online
47 crawler(s) on-line.
 8 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 eliyahu

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 eliyahu:  9 secs ago
 Trekiej:  6 mins ago
 wawa:  47 mins ago
 Rob:  58 mins ago
 hth313:  1 hr 1 min ago
 RobertB:  1 hr 32 mins ago
 number6:  1 hr 36 mins ago
 TrevorDick:  1 hr 45 mins ago
 gregthecanuck:  2 hrs ago
 AmeegaGuy:  2 hrs 8 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Hardware
      /  Manufacturer ID 16401
Register To Post

PosterThread
amyren 
Manufacturer ID 16401
Posted on 18-Mar-2019 21:23:53
#1 ]
Member
Joined: 15-Jun-2005
Posts: 92
From: Norway

I just dug my aging A4000 out from storage and started it up. It booted up the first few times, but then it showed a red screen with some board information. One item showed up as defective. It said manufacturer ID 16401, Product 1.

I did a search for this manufacturer number, but could not find it.
Instead I removed three cards, Isdn-MasterII, Multiface3 and the Prelude soundcard.
Then it booted up fine after this. Later I found a suspicious stain on the Prelude, so I reinstalled the other cards again and it does work now.

In the wiki ITH is listed as ID 5000, so I wonder about this 16401 ID, what hardware it was refeering to.




 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
thomas 
Re: Manufacturer ID 16401
Posted on 19-Mar-2019 15:33:11
#2 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-May-2003
Posts: 1112
From: Germany

@amyren

The prelude was made by ACT, manufacturer ID 16945, not ITH.

http://amiga.resource.cx/search.pl?product=prelude

translated to hex 16945 = $4231, 16401 = $4011. The damaged lane on the Prelude might also influence the autoconfig data it reports. There are only two bits missing and both are on the 2's place.

Last edited by thomas on 19-Mar-2019 at 03:33 PM.

_________________
Email: thomas-rapp@web.de
Home: thomas-rapp.homepage.t-online.de

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amyren 
Re: Manufacturer ID 16401
Posted on 20-Mar-2019 20:44:16
#3 ]
Member
Joined: 15-Jun-2005
Posts: 92
From: Norway

@thomas

You are right, I mixed up the manufacturers before posting. ITH was the maker of the ISDN-Master II card I think.

I never really used that Prelude card anyway, since I got it secondhand and the adaptor for the audio cables was missing. I had the layout, but never came around to make one.

But I would like to have it fixed anyway, just to have things in order.
I did notice a stain just below what looks like an oscillator. Could the oscillator be leaking and causing some damage?
I may try to provide some pictures later of the board.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
_Steve_ 
Re: Manufacturer ID 16401
Posted on 20-Mar-2019 22:15:13
#4 ]
Team Member
Joined: 18-Oct-2002
Posts: 6738
From: UK

@amyren

The Prelude is a nice card - but has some minor annoyances.

It doesn't redirect native Paula audio by default. You have to use the cables to route Paula via an AUX connection on the card.

It doesn't produce sound until a small utility was run (typically during workbench startup-sequence). It has been a while since I used my 4000, but I recall the utility was resident in memory after first use, so you'd need to run it then you could reset the machine and booting floppy games would still give you native sound output from the Prelude outputs.

Has support for AHI though, and OctaMED SoundStudio worked beautifully with it.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amyren 
Re: Manufacturer ID 16401
Posted on 22-Mar-2019 13:02:42
#5 ]
Member
Joined: 15-Jun-2005
Posts: 92
From: Norway

I did take a picture of what looks like the damaged area.

Does anyone know of a component list for this card, so that I could try to replace those bits closest to that stain?

[img align=left]https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ZqHTkm3e8RjzBMl3xajr7Hd6IM3qyZDN/view?usp=sharing[/img]

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle