Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5669 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
53 crawler(s) on-line.
 11 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 billt:  5 mins ago
 Oscar:  5 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  8 mins ago
 Jasper:  24 mins ago
 AmigaMac:  29 mins ago
 resle:  35 mins ago
 amisteph:  52 mins ago
 ggw:  1 hr 5 mins ago
 Pbjr:  1 hr 46 mins ago
 Karlos:  1 hr 54 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Software
      /  AmiStore woes
Register To Post

PosterThread
WeiXing3D 
AmiStore woes
Posted on 3-Jul-2019 4:31:57
#1 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 5-Jul-2012
Posts: 379
From: Pacifica, CA

I'm trying to install the Workbench Enhancer software and other updates (Radeon HD driver) but I keep getting a "Workbench Volume Full" message.

The thing is that my computer is almost like new conditions and use, since I have used it very, very little and very lightly. I travel 75% of my time, so no time for joy.

I have installed just a few games (5 x WHDLoad games) and similar number of programs in my Work: and Programs: partitions respectively.

What it is going on?

Typically, I download everything to RAM: first and then move to the proper place manually, unless the downloaded program self installs.

_________________
Amiga 1200 fully loaded. AmigaONE X5000 w/AmigaOS 4.1 FE / MorphOS 3.9 in Mac Mini G4 1.5GHz. Acer Aspire One with AROS Icaros FPGA Replay and MiST

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
SACC-dude 
Re: AmiStore woes
Posted on 3-Jul-2019 6:39:04
#2 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 16-May-2005
Posts: 273
From: Sacramento, CA

@WeiXing3D

You might try "updater" that's what it is supposed to do..

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: AmiStore woes
Posted on 3-Jul-2019 16:09:24
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9581
From: Greensborough, Australia

@WeiXing3D

How much space do you have on your Workbench according to Info?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: AmiStore woes
Posted on 3-Jul-2019 16:12:13
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9581
From: Greensborough, Australia

Are all these double posts on AW because of Odyssey?

Last edited by Hypex on 03-Jul-2019 at 04:12 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: AmiStore woes
Posted on 3-Jul-2019 17:05:06
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 11116
From: Norway

@WeiXing3D

RunInUAE is located on SYS: so anything, dump into the emulator will be put there in
SYS:Emulation/#?

When you install Enhancer software package it keeps backups in SYS:Storage this can takes some space,

Anyway I like to if out what takes space: Dopus4 has a feature to check size of folders.

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 03-Jul-2019 at 05:08 PM.

_________________
Please check out my software:
Excalibur, Basilisk 2, AmigaInputAnywhere.
LiveForIt-Music
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
nbache 
Re: AmiStore woes
Posted on 3-Jul-2019 23:05:26
#6 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-Apr-2003
Posts: 959
From: Copenhagen, Denmark

@NutsAboutAmiga

Quote:
Dopus4 has a feature to check size of folders.
So does Workbench (actually it's RAWBInfo): Select Information for a drawer, and click the Size button in the Drawer tab, then it figures out for you what the disk usage and the number of files and subdrawers of the drawer is.

Best regards,

Niels

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: AmiStore woes
Posted on 3-Jul-2019 23:45:11
#7 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 11116
From: Norway

@nbache

Thats cool, but if he need check more then one folder it might better with Dopus4.

_________________
Please check out my software:
Excalibur, Basilisk 2, AmigaInputAnywhere.
LiveForIt-Music
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
WeiXing3D 
Re: AmiStore woes
Posted on 4-Jul-2019 4:05:37
#8 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 5-Jul-2012
Posts: 379
From: Pacifica, CA

There is something weird here. Volume Workbench (DH0) shows a size of 1.0 GB, but only 6 KB free, so basically is full. But how? Like I said, I seldon use this machine.

Is there any way to free space or increase size of the Workbench partition?

The other partitions and sizes are: Programs (DH1) 20 GB and Work (DH2) 421 GB

Last edited by WeiXing3D on 04-Jul-2019 at 04:14 AM.

_________________
Amiga 1200 fully loaded. AmigaONE X5000 w/AmigaOS 4.1 FE / MorphOS 3.9 in Mac Mini G4 1.5GHz. Acer Aspire One with AROS Icaros FPGA Replay and MiST

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
nbache 
Re: AmiStore woes
Posted on 4-Jul-2019 22:33:12
#9 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-Apr-2003
Posts: 959
From: Copenhagen, Denmark

@NutsAboutAmiga

Quote:
Thats cool, but if he need check more then one folder it might better with Dopus4.
Yeah, guess you've got a point there.

Best regards,

Niels

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
nbache 
Re: AmiStore woes
Posted on 4-Jul-2019 22:48:11
#10 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-Apr-2003
Posts: 959
From: Copenhagen, Denmark

@WeiXing3D

Quote:
Is there any way to free space or increase size of the Workbench partition?
You can't increase the size of the partition, unless you start from scratch partitioning the disk - this would kill the data on your other two partitions as well (assuming they are situated right after each other, which is most likely). So if you want/need to go that way, you must have somewhere to backup all your data (like another hard disk), and another means of booting (like your installation CD).

But you should probably first find out what is taking all that space on your Workbench volume, i.e. which of your root drawers is taking up more space than it normally should.

The Emulation drawer, as someone mentioned above, could be the culprit, although I wouldn't think that it could amount to that much for five games.

Try finding the usage/size of each of your drawers in your Workbench volume (e.g. using DOpus or WB) and compare those sizes with the same drawers inside the System drawer on your CD. If you find any that are much bigger than on the CD, let us know, and we can advise about what can be done.

Best regards,

Niels

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
WeiXing3D 
Re: AmiStore woes
Posted on 5-Jul-2019 4:50:48
#11 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 5-Jul-2012
Posts: 379
From: Pacifica, CA

@NutsAboutAmiga

You are right. I do see an Emulation folder (drawer). See attached picture. How can I move that out of there and reassign Emulation files to point to my Work: partition for example?

Quote:


https://i358.photobucket.com/albums/oo30/AmigOS923/Workbench%20Partition_zpsgzpjzoiw.jpg

NutsAboutAmiga wrote:
@WeiXing3D

RunInUAE is located on SYS: so anything, dump into the emulator will be put there in
SYS:Emulation/#?

When you install Enhancer software package it keeps backups in SYS:Storage this can takes some space,

Anyway I like to if out what takes space: Dopus4 has a feature to check size of folders.

Last edited by WeiXing3D on 05-Jul-2019 at 04:51 AM.

_________________
Amiga 1200 fully loaded. AmigaONE X5000 w/AmigaOS 4.1 FE / MorphOS 3.9 in Mac Mini G4 1.5GHz. Acer Aspire One with AROS Icaros FPGA Replay and MiST

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: AmiStore woes
Posted on 5-Jul-2019 16:54:18
#12 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9581
From: Greensborough, Australia

@WeiXing3D

I just checked my Workbench volumes and the least is just over 1GB in use. On average with Enhancer installed it is just over 2GB in use. I would say 2GB is the minimum size these days and 4GB to be comfortable. Your system is in a tight fit.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
smf 
Re: AmiStore woes
Posted on 5-Jul-2019 20:48:59
#13 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Mar-2003
Posts: 274
From: Växjö, Sweden

@WeiXing3D

Check your amistore drawer after a download drawer..it might contain hundreds of megabytes of data.

iirc By default amistore is installed to sys:utilities/amistore and amistore by default saves all downloads to a sub-directory to amistore.

1GB is enough for sys: imho but it's stupid to keep it that small because you will get into problems if you start to install other components to sys:

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
WeiXing3D 
Re: AmiStore woes
Posted on 6-Jul-2019 20:55:17
#14 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 5-Jul-2012
Posts: 379
From: Pacifica, CA

@smf
You were right. I found a lot of downloaded files there and deleted them.

But I guess, I still have to find the time to reinstall OS 4.1 from scratch and make a bigger SYS: partition; at least 2GB.

_________________
Amiga 1200 fully loaded. AmigaONE X5000 w/AmigaOS 4.1 FE / MorphOS 3.9 in Mac Mini G4 1.5GHz. Acer Aspire One with AROS Icaros FPGA Replay and MiST

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigakit 
Re: AmiStore woes
Posted on 6-Jul-2019 20:57:04
#15 ]
Amiga Kit
Joined: 28-Jun-2004
Posts: 2318
From: www.amigakit.com

@WeiXing3D

Within AMIStore’s Settings you can set the default download destination for files and purchases. For example on my system I have a dedicated partition named “downloads:”

This means that all AMIStore downloads are directed there.

Last edited by amigakit on 06-Jul-2019 at 09:05 PM.

_________________
Amiga Kit Amiga Store
Links: www.amigakit.com | New Products | X5000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle