Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5820 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
51 crawler(s) on-line.
 16 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 trixster,  DiscreetFX

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 trixster:  1 min ago
 DiscreetFX:  4 mins ago
 TiredofLife:  10 mins ago
 Madlax:  21 mins ago
 KU4TP:  27 mins ago
 workwillyou:  36 mins ago
 Swoop:  37 mins ago
 Amike:  42 mins ago
 tonyw:  45 mins ago
 Jasper:  53 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  X5000 BootSD
Register To Post

PosterThread
Gregor 
X5000 BootSD
Posted on 13-Jan-2020 11:37:03
#1 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2011
Posts: 162
From: Unknown

What size and type(/speed) of microSD cards work as BootSD in X5000? The original which came with the machine seems to be 4GB (GParted reports partition size 3.7 GB), but nowadays that size is not very common anymore.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
smf 
Re: X5000 BootSD
Posted on 13-Jan-2020 14:55:59
#2 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Mar-2003
Posts: 291
From: Vxj, Sweden

@Gregor

i dont know the limit but i have used 32 & 16 GB class 10 cards.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Amigo1 
Re: X5000 BootSD
Posted on 15-Jan-2020 9:09:39
#3 ]
Super Member
Joined: 24-Jun-2004
Posts: 1536
From: the Clouds

@Gregor

I used a 8GiB microSD, but I'm back to using the original card

Last edited by Amigo1 on 15-Jan-2020 at 09:12 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tonyw 
Re: X5000 BootSD
Posted on 15-Jan-2020 10:44:57
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 3184
From: Sydney (of course)

@Gregor

Anything will do. The actual usage is less than 100 MB. Speed is unimportant.

There is no "file system" on the card. Instead its address map is divided up into areas for U-Boot, amigaboot, the boot screen animation, etc.

Maybe one day someone will even copy the whole Kickstart drawer into the SD card.


_________________
cheers
tony

Hyperion Support Forum: http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz/index.php

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Amigo1 
Re: X5000 BootSD
Posted on 15-Jan-2020 11:11:08
#5 ]
Super Member
Joined: 24-Jun-2004
Posts: 1536
From: the Clouds

@tonyw

Quote:

tonyw wrote:
@Gregor

Maybe one day someone will even copy the whole Kickstart drawer into the SD card.




I hope we will not be able to enjoy even longer boot times then!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Gregor 
Re: X5000 BootSD
Posted on 15-Jan-2020 21:28:51
#6 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2011
Posts: 162
From: Unknown

@all
Thanks for your tips!

@tonywQuote:
Anything will do. The actual usage is less than 100 MB. Speed is unimportant.

There is no "file system" on the card. Instead its address map is divided up into areas for U-Boot, amigaboot, the boot screen animation, etc.

Maybe one day someone will even copy the whole Kickstart drawer into the SD card.

I have been waiting for that... It would make disks connected to separate controller cards bootable.

@Amigo1
How long does it currently take to boot your X5000? My SSD card is actually too fast as my broadband modem is not yet ready when AmigaOS has been loadod!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Amigo1 
Re: X5000 BootSD
Posted on 16-Jan-2020 3:12:41
#7 ]
Super Member
Joined: 24-Jun-2004
Posts: 1536
From: the Clouds

@Gregor

AmigaOne X5000 Boot Times




















































OS/Kind 1. phase 2. phase 3. phase 4. phase 5. Total Time
AmigaOS 4.1 FEu1
cold boot 10.30s 30.88s 5s 18.56s 66.02s
warm reboot 8.09s 30.57s 5s 18.62s 63.01s
soft reboot 18.83s
MorphOS 3.10
cold boot 9.78s 30.60s 1s 12.78s 53.16s
warm reboot 7.41s 30.91s 1s 12.51s 50.83s



Boot Phases

1. Power/Reset Button to Splash screen
2. Splash Screen to Menu
3. Menu to OS Boot (can be adjusted)
4. OS Boot
5. Total

Times are in Seconds and an average of 10 boot times
"Cold boot" is from a power off state of the machine.

MorpOS was booted from the demo CD/DVD I never managed to install it to HD


To answer the question directly, it takes about one minute to boot the machine. A 2007 iMac takes 28 seconds (MacOS El Capitan) a 2010 iMac (High Sierra) about 26 seconds. Reboots are about 13 seconds.

Amiga 1200 with 030 OS 3.1.4 cold boot 12 seconds.

Edit: why the blank space above the table?
Edit2: typo

Last edited by Amigo1 on 16-Jan-2020 at 03:14 AM.
Last edited by Amigo1 on 16-Jan-2020 at 03:13 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Gregor 
Re: X5000 BootSD
Posted on 16-Jan-2020 7:24:18
#8 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2011
Posts: 162
From: Unknown

@Amigo1

Your boot times sound admittedly quite long... What type of hard disk do you have?

For an OWC Mercury Electra SSD I got these times:

Cold boot 36s (from 'stand-by'; 1-2 seconds more if PS is initially off)
Warm reboot 35s
Soft reboot 12s

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Amigo1 
Re: X5000 BootSD
Posted on 16-Jan-2020 10:04:26
#9 ]
Super Member
Joined: 24-Jun-2004
Posts: 1536
From: the Clouds

@Gregor

A Kingston A400 240GB SSD
A Kingston KC600 256GB SSD
An older Kingston SSDNow V200 128GB SSD
And a Seagate 750GB Harddrive

With these drives I tested the system. The boot time difference is negligible.

All test where performed with only one drive connected or one disk drive and a Samsung DVD-drive (Sata 0).

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Gregor 
Re: X5000 BootSD
Posted on 16-Jan-2020 16:14:34
#10 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2011
Posts: 162
From: Unknown

@Amigo1

The 2. phase in your booting is very long... Are you aware that you can define how many cycles the 'boingball bootanim' runs, before booting continues? There is in Uboot the 'amigabootmenu_animcycles' variable, for which you can give an integer value to limit the number of cycles.

That variable is not shown at least in the original Uboot of X5000. You have to add it there with 'setenv' command if you want to change the default value (which is 10, if I remember correctly).

I have set it to '1', which leaves enough time to press a button when you need to get to the bootmenu.

Last edited by Gregor on 16-Jan-2020 at 04:31 PM.
Last edited by Gregor on 16-Jan-2020 at 04:30 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
outrun1978 
Re: X5000 BootSD
Posted on 16-Jan-2020 17:10:22
#11 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 22-Feb-2015
Posts: 566
From: Unknown

@Gregor

MorphOS boots quickest on an X5000 at about 16 seconds from switch on to Ambient.

But its a waste of time for most X5000 users in its current state, unless you want VGA output on a 15 year old graphics card. 🤔

Forgot to mention thats on a Seagate Hard Disk drive not an SSD

Last edited by outrun1978 on 16-Jan-2020 at 05:11 PM.

_________________
Amigaone X5000/20 4GB Radeon RX 550 Polaris 12 AmigaOS4.1 Final Edition Update 1
Amiga 1200 Workbench 3.1.4
Amiga CD32

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: X5000 BootSD
Posted on 16-Jan-2020 20:37:12
#12 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 11219
From: Norway

@Amigo1

I dont get your times, 1.2 and 3 phase, should be the same,
and at warm boot AmigaOS does not do Phase 1,2 and 3,

Are you pressing the wrong keys?
Warm boot is Windows keys,
Cold boot is ALT keys!

The only thing that can make phase 1 slower is, the graphic card firmware, if you do not use the same graphic card. if you used the same gfx card it be the same time on MorphOS and AmigaOS.

if you used the same gfx card, and settings in UBOOT my guess is that recoded video is speeded up on MorphOS.

You might have some plugged into USB ports that slows down UBOOT (USB pen drives etc.).
or maybe do not the same hard drives, or maybe broken hard drive, UBOOT takes longer to scan slower Hard drives.

Phase 3. The menu time out, is setting you configure in UBOOT, it has nothing do with OS.

Phase 4. I guess is loading the OS, that part is slower on OS4, because it has lots of kernel modules it needs to load, while MorphOS has a kernel image.

Phase 5. Depends on your startup sequence / user startup, do you have the same programs installed?

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 16-Jan-2020 at 08:51 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 16-Jan-2020 at 08:49 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 16-Jan-2020 at 08:47 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 16-Jan-2020 at 08:45 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 16-Jan-2020 at 08:42 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 16-Jan-2020 at 08:40 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 16-Jan-2020 at 08:39 PM.

_________________
Please check out my software:
Excalibur, Basilisk 2, AmigaInputAnywhere.
LiveForIt-Music
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tonyw 
Re: X5000 BootSD
Posted on 17-Jan-2020 10:26:21
#13 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 3184
From: Sydney (of course)

@NutsAboutAmiga


Quite. I get a cold boot time of 41 sec on my X5000 (from power switch to Workbench on screen). And that's with a debug version, lots of debug output and a manual boot (not auto).

_________________
cheers
tony

Hyperion Support Forum: http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz/index.php

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Gregor 
Re: X5000 BootSD
Posted on 29-Jan-2020 18:37:38
#14 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2011
Posts: 162
From: Unknown

@tonyw

I wonder why Uboot System Info screen and SDVersion show a different date for Uboot?

System Info
-----------------
Firmware: Uboot 2014.04-g16a

SDVersion (54.1)
------------------------
U-Boot date: 8-Mar-2018
AmigaBoot version: 53.21 (13.06.2016)

Which one is correct?


BTW, this procedure which was in Ami-Wiki does not seem to work at least with that UBoot:

setenv ethaddr
setenv eth1addr
setenv eth2addr
saveenv

System Info still shows 'null' for both eth addresses.

Last edited by Gregor on 29-Jan-2020 at 07:19 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tonyw 
Re: X5000 BootSD
Posted on 29-Jan-2020 22:51:09
#15 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 3184
From: Sydney (of course)

@Gregor

U-Boot is one program, amigaboot is another. They are written and maintained by different people, so have different versions. Each can be independently updated in the SD-RAM.

"ethaddr" and "eth1addr" MAC-addresses are usually stored in ENV-variables in the SD card. If you type "printenv", to U-Boot, you should see values for "ethaddr" and "eth1addr" in the saved variables.

Typing "setenv ethaddr" will clear the value, but it is regenerated on next power up. So, if you type:
setenv ethaddr
saveenv

-that will clear the stored value of ethaddr, which you can see by typing "printenv": the value will now be gone. However, if you reboot the machine, go back into U-Boot and type "printenv" again, you will find the value of ethaddr has re-appeared.

I don't know what "system info" is, so I can't answer that one. But I imagine that it does not know how to open the "sdresource" and read the stored variables.

_________________
cheers
tony

Hyperion Support Forum: http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz/index.php

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Gregor 
Re: X5000 BootSD
Posted on 30-Jan-2020 8:06:15
#16 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2011
Posts: 162
From: Unknown

@tonyw

Quote:
U-Boot is one program, amigaboot is another. They are written and maintained by different people, so have different versions. Each can be independently updated in the SD-RAM.


I think you missunderstood my question... I was NOT referring anyhow to amigaboot but the two different dates for U-Boot, reported by 1) System Info and 2) SDVersion.

Quote:
"ethaddr" and "eth1addr" MAC-addresses are usually stored in ENV-variables in the SD card. If you type "printenv", to U-Boot, you should see values for "ethaddr" and "eth1addr" in the saved variables.

Typing "setenv ethaddr" will clear the value, but it is regenerated on next power up. So, if you type:
setenv ethaddr
saveenv

-that will clear the stored value of ethaddr, which you can see by typing "printenv": the value will now be gone. However, if you reboot the machine, go back into U-Boot and type "printenv" again, you will find the value of ethaddr has re-appeared.


Yes, I already fully understand that procedure... What I was trying to say, it does-not-work in my machine! Emptying the 'ethaddr' and 'eth1addr', saving the 'empty' variables with saveenv and then rebooting does NOT lead them to re-appear by themselves. The both variables stay empty (checked from Uboot cli or System Info), unless I input them manually. I have tested this several times...

Quote:
I don't know what "system info" is, so I can't answer that one. But I imagine that it does not know how to open the "sdresource" and read the stored variables.


When you open the "AmigaONE Early startup control" screen, "System Info" is the 5th button from the top! Haven't you ever noticed that...?-) It opens a screen with some hardware and software info, like UBoot version and ethernet addresses.

Regards,

Gregor

Last edited by Gregor on 30-Jan-2020 at 08:07 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Gregor 
Re: X5000 BootSD
Posted on 31-Jan-2020 7:49:21
#17 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2011
Posts: 162
From: Unknown

@tonyw

Didn't you really find the 'System Info' screen...?

The fastest way to open it is to press two times 'S' key when the Boingball boot animation has started!

Does the U-Boot date there correspond the date given by SDVersion?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
smf 
Re: X5000 BootSD
Posted on 31-Jan-2020 11:49:33
#18 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Mar-2003
Posts: 291
From: Vxj, Sweden

@Gregor

My explanation is probably not totalaly techically correct but afaik the date you see in the "system info" is the date of the original uboot sources that uboot for X5000 is based on.

The other date is the build date of the uboot you are using.
So you are still running uboot from 2014 but there has been some small fixes afterwards.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Gregor 
Re: X5000 BootSD
Posted on 1-Feb-2020 12:31:47
#19 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2011
Posts: 162
From: Unknown

@smf
Quote:
My explanation is probably not totalaly techically correct but afaik the date you see in the "system info" is the date of the original uboot sources that uboot for X5000 is based on.

The other date is the build date of the uboot you are using.
So you are still running uboot from 2014 but there has been some small fixes afterwards.


Sounds a very reasonable explanation...

BTW, if you do have a X5000, could you please test whether the autorestoring of ethernet addresses works in your machine? The discussion has moved to the Hyperion forum, so please report your possible results there: ( https://forum.hyperion-entertainment.com/viewtopic.php?f=57&t=4412 ).

Regards,

Gregor

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle