Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5739 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
29 crawler(s) on-line.
 17 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 Hypex,  ferrels

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Hypex:  25 secs ago
 ferrels:  2 mins ago
 eliyahu:  15 mins ago
 billt:  21 mins ago
 dirkzwager:  28 mins ago
 Edders:  31 mins ago
 NutsAboutAmiga:  33 mins ago
 K-L:  33 mins ago
 outlawal2:  36 mins ago
 matthey:  45 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  Question About RadeonHD on AmigaOS 4.1
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 )
PosterThread
Spectre660 
Re: Question About RadeonHD on AmigaOS 4.1
Posted on 24-Jan-2020 15:31:49
#21 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-Jun-2005
Posts: 3799
From: Unknown

@kas1e

X1000 wont show CFE Screen or boot at all with a Polaris card.

Sam460ex with latest U-Boot (2015.a) will not show U-Boot but will boot into AmigaOS 4.1 .

Dont know if the older Sam460ex U-Boot versions work or not.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: Question About RadeonHD on AmigaOS 4.1
Posted on 24-Jan-2020 18:04:45
#22 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3425
From: Russia

@Spectre660

Quote:

X1000 wont show CFE Screen or boot at all with a Polaris card


Yes, but it didn't boot to OS4? Is anybody tried to hookup serial cable, to see where it stops. Maybe even if it didn't show cfe and boot, it still will show amigaos4 itself.

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Spectre660 
Re: Question About RadeonHD on AmigaOS 4.1
Posted on 24-Jan-2020 18:21:55
#23 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-Jun-2005
Posts: 3799
From: Unknown

@kas1e

Information from Hans based on his own attempts.


Quote:

kas1e wrote:
@Spectre660

Quote:

X1000 wont show CFE Screen or boot at all with a Polaris card


Yes, but it didn't boot to OS4? Is anybody tried to hookup serial cable, to see where it stops. Maybe even if it didn't show cfe and boot, it still will show amigaos4 itself.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
outrun1978 
Re: Question About RadeonHD on AmigaOS 4.1
Posted on 18-Feb-2020 14:14:22
#24 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 22-Feb-2015
Posts: 577
From: Unknown

@thread

If anyone is interested in picking up a cheap Polaris card to try out on their X5000 other compatible machines, you may be interested in this one which arrived in the post this morning and initiates at h U-Boot. They are listed as refurbished but this came in its original box and was sealed and with manual and disk.

Sapphire RX 550 Pulse Graphics card, 4GB GDDR5, DVI-D, HDMI, Display Port


Ebay

_________________
Amigaone X5000/20 4GB Radeon RX 550 Polaris 12 AmigaOS4.1 Final Edition Update 1
Amiga 1200 Workbench 3.1.4
Amiga CD32

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigadave 
Re: Question About RadeonHD on AmigaOS 4.1
Posted on 19-Feb-2020 18:52:23
#25 ]
Super Member
Joined: 18-Jul-2005
Posts: 1618
From: Lake Shastina, Northern Calif.

@Spectre660

Quote:

Spectre660 wrote:
@kas1e

Information from Hans based on his own attempts.


Quote:

kas1e wrote:
@Spectre660

[quote]
X1000 wont show CFE Screen or boot at all with a Polaris card


Yes, but it didn't boot to OS4? Is anybody tried to hookup serial cable, to see where it stops. Maybe even if it didn't show cfe and boot, it still will show amigaos4 itself.
[/quote]

So what is the current best Radeon video card to purchase for X1000 owners, with the most support for both 2D, and 3D acceleration? Is any work being done to fix the problem that prevents Polaris cards from working in the X1000? Is it probable that a newer generation of Radeon cards that use a different GPU chipset will work in the X1000, therefore skipping support for the Polaris chipset will not matter?

I still have the original Radeon (5450 I think) video card in my X1000, but have been thinking of replacing it for a long time. I don't want to get something that will not receive future support from the new updates that Hans is producing, so do I get something now, or wait for the next update and hope that support for the X1000 will improve?

_________________
Amiga! The computer that inspired so many, to accomplish so much, but has ended up in the hands of . . . . . . . . . .

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Spectre660 
Re: Question About RadeonHD on AmigaOS 4.1
Posted on 4-Mar-2020 11:37:59
#26 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-Jun-2005
Posts: 3799
From: Unknown

@K-L

Time to make the request for X1000 Polaris support ? .

[X1000] Errors and improvement ideas for CFE

Quote:

K-L wrote:
@Spectre660

You cannot use Polaris cards in the X1000 ATM (lost of Uboot sources).

So yes, poor X1000 users.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle