Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5739 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
23 crawler(s) on-line.
 19 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 billt,  kamelito

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 billt:  2 mins ago
 kamelito:  3 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  7 mins ago
 eliyahu:  16 mins ago
 nikosidis:  17 mins ago
 gonegahgah:  19 mins ago
 Edders:  21 mins ago
 The_Shadow:  22 mins ago
 tlosm:  23 mins ago
 1Mouse:  33 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  Booting the X5000
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 )
PosterThread
kriz 
Re: Booting the X5000
Posted on 22-Mar-2020 1:50:02
#21 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 20-Mar-2005
Posts: 199
From: No (R) Way

Can it really crash on startup when using a vga cable ?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
MEGA_RJ_MICAL 
Re: Booting the X5000
Posted on 22-Mar-2020 3:54:33
#22 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 13-Dec-2019
Posts: 209
From: AMIGAWORLD.NET WAS ORIGINALLY FOUNDED BY DAVID DOYLE

@kriz

Quote:

kriz wrote:
Can it really crash on startup when using a vga cable ?


It's AmigaOS 4

_________________
I HAVE ABS OF STEEL

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: Booting the X5000
Posted on 22-Mar-2020 6:32:53
#23 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 11330
From: Norway

@kriz

VGA is analog signal.
DIV can contain analog and digital signal / but there is DVI with only digital output.
HDMI is digital only, I think.
VGA is the old type of signal, signal is modulated and some colors can be wrong.
AmigaOS4.x auto detects modes using DDS, it might not work with VGA.
as the graphic card ask the monitor what modes it supports.

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 22-Mar-2020 at 06:34 AM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 22-Mar-2020 at 06:34 AM.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: Booting the X5000
Posted on 22-Mar-2020 6:45:10
#24 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 11330
From: Norway

@Swoop

What it is happing here is that picks the lowest resolution, you somehow got a 256 colors display, my guess is that X-DOCK does know what to do about this resolution, so it start corrupting system memory, I removed X-DOCK from my system, as it looks nice, but needs GUI classes not installed by default.

I had some problems with AmiDOCK, and changing screen resolution, it might also be XDOCK responsible for thatů

anyway while booting the system while holding SHIFT should get you into shell, you should be able to rename x-dock from there, maybe run wbstartp prefs, to deactivate it. Or you can do RIGHT + LEFT mouse buttons and press boot without startup-sequence.

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 22-Mar-2020 at 06:52 AM.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: Booting the X5000
Posted on 22-Mar-2020 6:52:55
#25 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 11330
From: Norway

@MEGA_RJ_MICAL

Wrong its enhancement pack from aeon.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: Booting the X5000
Posted on 22-Mar-2020 8:32:30
#26 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2150
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@NutsAboutAmiga

Quote:

NutsAboutAmiga wrote:
@MEGA_RJ_MICAL

Wrong its enhancement pack from aeon.


That makes sense, although I had Os4.1FE and the enhancer pack installed on my A1XE whilst using the same vga cable for the monitor..
Maybe the driver for the more modern graphics card in the X5000 is DVI only?

Still I have ordered a DVI cable from Amazon, which should arrive today. Hopefully it is the right one, there were several options available.

Amiga Kit do outline that the X5000 is only the Box, with no keyboard, mouse, or kettle lead, but it would have been nice to be told about the DVI requirement.
I also thought it might have been nice to have information included in the box.
Noting what was required, and possible trouble shooting, and/or the pdf of the cirrus board.

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Gregor 
Re: Booting the X5000
Posted on 22-Mar-2020 13:22:45
#27 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2011
Posts: 168
From: Unknown

@Swoop
Quote:
I also thought it might have been nice to have information included in the box.
Noting what was required, and possible trouble shooting, and/or the pdf of the cirrus board.


Didn't you get the "A-Eon Cyrus Plus motherboard technical reference manual Version 1.1.1 AmigaOne X5000" with your machine? It should have been included. You can ask it from your dealer, it is available also as a pdf file.

As the name tells, it is very 'technical' but good anyway to have at hands.

Regards,

Gregor

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Booting the X5000
Posted on 22-Mar-2020 16:34:32
#28 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9855
From: Greensborough, Australia

@NutsAboutAmiga

AmiDock complains when it can't get a high colour mode. Kind of funny given it didn't complain when ran the original on AGA. I wonder when it changed to complain about 8-bit modes.

Looks like X-Dock doesn't do basic checks for screen mode. But, if it's going through the system, it shouldn't matter. As the OS routines should transparently transfer graphic data.

Now we know what happens if you try and use HD over a VGA cable.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: Booting the X5000
Posted on 22-Mar-2020 17:55:41
#29 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2150
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@Gregor

Quote:
Didn't you get the "A-Eon Cyrus Plus motherboard technical reference manual Version 1.1.1 AmigaOne X5000" with your machine? It should have been included. You can ask it from your dealer, it is available also as a pdf file.

As the name tells, it is very 'technical' but good anyway to have at hands.

I only received an invoice, I have logged on to Amispere to download the cirrus board pdf

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: Booting the X5000
Posted on 23-Mar-2020 10:03:48
#30 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2150
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

Up and running with the DVI cable.
I had to go in to Prefs/Screenmode to change from 640x480 256 colours, but now it is all good.

I need to get Pagestream, BME, ImageFX, Turbocalc, Turboprint, Oh! and printing with lpr.device set up. So no doubt I will have many more questions.

It is so long ago since I set these up. I feel like a beginner.

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle