Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5970 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
72 crawler(s) on-line.
 21 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 salass00

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 salass00:  1 min ago
 nikosidis:  17 mins ago
 Rob:  19 mins ago
 OlafS25:  23 mins ago
 BigD:  35 mins ago
 eliyahu:  41 mins ago
 amisteph:  42 mins ago
 NutsAboutAmiga:  52 mins ago
 billt:  1 hr 4 mins ago
 Rose:  1 hr 26 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga Development
      /  AmiBasic / BlitzBasic2 best sytem to run on?
Register To Post

PosterThread
Holmes 
AmiBasic / BlitzBasic2 best sytem to run on?
Posted on 14-May-2020 17:32:10
#1 ]
Member
Joined: 29-Oct-2006
Posts: 15
From: Staffordshire

I;m interested in how other people are using BlitzBasic/AmiBasic.

i.e. Emulated Amiga:

1. Forever Amiga, with possibly miniscule linux boot?

2.U.A.E. ?????

3. Vampire board with original BlitzBasic2?

4.Ambian(Raspberry Pie)

5.Retro Amiga with original BlitzBasic2?

Number 5 not a possibility because got a a1200 running os4.Cannot run on os4 with out errors/Crashing.




Last edited by Holmes on 14-May-2020 at 05:35 PM.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: AmiBasic / BlitzBasic2 best sytem to run on?
Posted on 14-May-2020 18:34:52
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 11569
From: Norway

@Holmes

Quote:
Number 5 not a possibility because got a a1200 running os4.Cannot run on os4 with out errors/Crashing.


I guess this should be number 6.

BlitzBasic2 bangs hardware, the editor is buggy, and debugger needs a MMU I believe, works under AmigaOS4.x, but only when you compile your .bb2 files with debugger is disabled.

The editor can corrupt memory when create labels like .xxxx: or create functions, and Editor rescales to add list on the left side.

Note some programs and games where not designed for CPU’s with instruction cache, like the 68060 or 68030, and so misbehave unless you disable cpu instruction cache, it is possible this is the case for BlitzBasic2.

Its possible that can get it work less crashy if black list it in compatibility prefs, (aka disable JIT compiler for the 680x0 program.)

I suggest you get your hands on AmiBlitz3, it should be more up to date, maybe they have done something about hardware banging, and bugs.

Note I do not know of anyone using AmiBlitz3 on AmigaOS4.1, most people I know use C/C++ to make system friendly programs and games.

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 14-May-2020 at 06:51 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 14-May-2020 at 06:45 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 14-May-2020 at 06:43 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 14-May-2020 at 06:43 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 14-May-2020 at 06:42 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 14-May-2020 at 06:41 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 14-May-2020 at 06:36 PM.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: AmiBasic / BlitzBasic2 best sytem to run on?
Posted on 14-May-2020 19:02:59
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 11569
From: Norway

@Holmes

You can download AmiBlitz 3 from here:

https://www.amiblitz.de/


EDIT:

Looks like some real issues, also notices that no precompiled binaries you can download… I guess you need to wait or help and fix AmiBlitz3, until then it remains a buggy program.


https://github.com/AmiBlitz/AmiBlitz3/issues

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 14-May-2020 at 07:08 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 14-May-2020 at 07:07 PM.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Holmes 
Re: AmiBasic / BlitzBasic2 best sytem to run on?
Posted on 15-May-2020 13:12:26
#4 ]
Member
Joined: 29-Oct-2006
Posts: 15
From: Staffordshire

@NutsAboutAmiga

I Know about amiblitz3-code-r602 that you dragg the uncompressed files over to the amiblitz3 installation.

I just wondered the most stable way to run it.


I've got a project thats been on the back burner from the 1980's and last time I tried to run it, there was no chance of continuing it.

Thanks anyway for the advice.

Last edited by Holmes on 15-May-2020 at 01:13 PM.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Holmes 
Re: AmiBasic / BlitzBasic2 best sytem to run on?
Posted on 15-May-2020 13:17:43
#5 ]
Member
Joined: 29-Oct-2006
Posts: 15
From: Staffordshire

N.B

My current system is a Blizzardppc040 with os4.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Templario 
Re: AmiBasic / BlitzBasic2 best sytem to run on?
Posted on 16-May-2020 8:39:09
#6 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2004
Posts: 3603
From: Unknown

@Holmes
My brother uses BlitzBasic with WinUAE, he tested the last AmiBlizt but he found problems, the good of last version is the IDE.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle