Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6036 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
43 crawler(s) on-line.
 9 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 NutsAboutAmiga:  5 mins ago
 simplex:  8 mins ago
 The_Shadow:  12 mins ago
 bhabbott:  1 hr 14 mins ago
 BigD:  1 hr 20 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  1 hr 55 mins ago
 Zetec-S:  2 hrs 13 mins ago
 kolla:  2 hrs 19 mins ago
 kadenaa:  2 hrs 26 mins ago
 miggymac:  2 hrs 51 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Hardware
      /  Aros Vision now for UAE and V4
Register To Post

PosterThread
OlafS25 
Aros Vision now for UAE and V4
Posted on 20-Jan-2021 9:21:08
#1 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-May-2010
Posts: 5835
From: Unknown

I have today changed my download page. There are now two versions of aros vision which both are similar. The HDF version is working on V4 (V2 not yet tested). It also boots in UAE (only change needed for whdload). The UAE-version includes more software and replaces former full and developer versions.

download-page:

http://www.aros-platform.de/download.html

Last edited by OlafS25 on 20-Jan-2021 at 09:24 AM.
Last edited by OlafS25 on 20-Jan-2021 at 09:24 AM.
Last edited by OlafS25 on 20-Jan-2021 at 09:21 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
LarsB 
Re: Aros Vision now for UAE and V4
Posted on 20-Jan-2021 14:41:56
#2 ]
Member
Joined: 29-Jul-2019
Posts: 76
From: Unknown

@OlafS25 Nice. Thanx.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pixie 
Re: Aros Vision now for UAE and V4
Posted on 20-Jan-2021 14:59:28
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 2669
From: Figueira da Foz - Portugal

@OlafS25

Today was a great day!

_________________
Indigo 3D Lounge, my second home.
The Illusion of Choice | Am*ga

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OlafS25 
Re: Aros Vision now for UAE and V4
Posted on 20-Jan-2021 15:09:26
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-May-2010
Posts: 5835
From: Unknown

@pixie

LOL

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OlafS25 
Re: Aros Vision now for UAE and V4
Posted on 20-Jan-2021 15:09:43
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-May-2010
Posts: 5835
From: Unknown

@LarsB

thanks

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
MEGA_RJ_MICAL 
Re: Aros Vision now for UAE and V4
Posted on 21-Jan-2021 12:05:22
#6 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 13-Dec-2019
Posts: 437
From: AMIGAWORLD.NET WAS ORIGINALLY FOUNDED BY DAVID DOYLE

@OlafS25

x86?

_________________
I HAVE ABS OF STEEL

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OlafS25 
Re: Aros Vision now for UAE and V4
Posted on 21-Jan-2021 17:21:03
#7 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-May-2010
Posts: 5835
From: Unknown

@MEGA_RJ_MICAL

no

68k

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
MEGA_RJ_MICAL 
Re: Aros Vision now for UAE and V4
Posted on 22-Jan-2021 6:57:54
#8 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 13-Dec-2019
Posts: 437
From: AMIGAWORLD.NET WAS ORIGINALLY FOUNDED BY DAVID DOYLE

@OlafS25

But there used to be a X86 version, or is old MEGA_RJ wrong?

Won't there be an X86 version anymore?

_________________
I HAVE ABS OF STEEL

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OlafS25 
Re: Aros Vision now for UAE and V4
Posted on 22-Jan-2021 8:58:48
#9 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-May-2010
Posts: 5835
From: Unknown

@MEGA_RJ_MICAL

the old Mega not really understands Aros ;)

Aros is compiled for a lot of platforms daily, f.e. X86, ARM and 68k

This distribution is using the 68k branch, the other platforms of course exist

Icaros Desktop f.e. is based on Aros X86 and not affected by Aros Vision based on 68k

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
monstercoder 
Re: Aros Vision now for UAE and V4
Posted on 22-Jan-2021 9:13:47
#10 ]
Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2017
Posts: 63
From: Unknown

This broken software is not comming near my vampire.
I prefer to have the vampire in a working state so that i can use all my software and not hassle with a broken os.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OlafS25 
Re: Aros Vision now for UAE and V4
Posted on 22-Jan-2021 9:23:56
#11 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-May-2010
Posts: 5835
From: Unknown

@monstercoder

what have you taken?

Please drop it, it harms your health

And no, I am not standing behind you with a pistol forcing you to use something

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
MEGA_RJ_MICAL 
Re: Aros Vision now for UAE and V4
Posted on 22-Jan-2021 11:45:28
#12 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 13-Dec-2019
Posts: 437
From: AMIGAWORLD.NET WAS ORIGINALLY FOUNDED BY DAVID DOYLE

@OlafS25

The old Mega, friend OlafS25, understands that this distribution used to be built on the X86 branch, too.

This, my friend, is Mega appreciating your work and hoping it would be available for a high performance platform, too.

_________________
I HAVE ABS OF STEEL

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Aros Vision now for UAE and V4
Posted on 22-Jan-2021 12:10:41
#13 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 5539
From: UK

@OlafS25

What is AROS 'Vision' when it's at home!!!?! Is it like the Sword of Omens; giving sight beyond sight throught the power of Moore's Law?

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OlafS25 
Re: Aros Vision now for UAE and V4
Posted on 22-Jan-2021 13:39:48
#14 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-May-2010
Posts: 5835
From: Unknown

@MEGA_RJ_MICAL

that is simply not possible. Aros Vision relies heavily on the feature of Aros 68k that it is binary compatible to amiga (68k) so you can mix both. That is impossible on X86 because everything has to be compiled for X86 before.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Aros Vision now for UAE and V4
Posted on 22-Jan-2021 14:54:13
#15 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 5539
From: UK

@OlafS25

Oh, so it's 68k AROS. Why not just use OS3.9 then?

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
MEGA_RJ_MICAL 
Re: Aros Vision now for UAE and V4
Posted on 22-Jan-2021 15:13:46
#16 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 13-Dec-2019
Posts: 437
From: AMIGAWORLD.NET WAS ORIGINALLY FOUNDED BY DAVID DOYLE

@OlafS25

OH NO


ok

_________________
I HAVE ABS OF STEEL

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OlafS25 
Re: Aros Vision now for UAE and V4
Posted on 22-Jan-2021 16:31:47
#17 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-May-2010
Posts: 5835
From: Unknown

@BigD

3.9 is open source now and free to distribute?



Did not know

Where can I download the sources?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle