Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6093 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
21 crawler(s) on-line.
 7 guest(s) on-line.
 3 member(s) on-line.


 Hypex,  agami,  Mobileconnect

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 agami:  59 secs ago
 Mobileconnect:  2 mins ago
 Hypex:  4 mins ago
 BigD:  15 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  24 mins ago
 OlafS25:  38 mins ago
 Rob:  1 hr 38 mins ago
 NutsAboutAmiga:  1 hr 56 mins ago
 utukku:  2 hrs 14 mins ago
 tygre:  2 hrs 16 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  Invalidating KickLayout (Solved)
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
PosterThread
OldFart 
Invalidating KickLayout (Solved)
Posted on 28-Nov-2021 19:59:21
#1 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2004
Posts: 2989
From: Stad; en d'r is moar ain stad en da's Stad. Makkelk zat!

Hi,

I'm back again after having had my X5000 put in storage for about half a year.
When I had it unpacked and set up again early November, it refused to boot at all, while there were really no grave issues concerning booting when I folded it up somewhere early in spring. It appeared to be a loosened up SATA-cable, despite it having a securing clip.

After having it had to boot for about a week or so without anything to worry about, in a state of overconfidence I decided to fiddle a bit with KickLayout. The result is that I now can no longer boot as I get a message that line xyz contains an error.

Is there a possibillity to modify KickLayout during boot? I can't find my CD-ROM containing OS4.1 FE anymore, nor can I find the downloaded archive.

Any suggestions are welcome!

OldFart

Last edited by OldFart on 15-Jan-2022 at 05:12 PM.

_________________
More then three levels of indigestion and you're scroomed!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
SACC-dude 
Re: Invalidating KickLayout
Posted on 28-Nov-2021 21:02:22
#2 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-May-2005
Posts: 292
From: Sacramento, CA

@OldFart

Your dealer is your friend..

you can also use the rescue usb stick that came with the X5000.


 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
smf 
Re: Invalidating KickLayout
Posted on 29-Nov-2021 7:46:05
#3 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Mar-2003
Posts: 326
From: Vxj, Sweden

@OldFart

You can download OS4.1 FE again from the hyperion site if you have registered.

Unless you are using radenRX or whatever it's called you should be able to boot from the standard iso provided by hyperion.

Then use your favourite tool for putting iso images into USB sticks and boot from usb and then edit your kicklayout.
Or if you're really an old fart put the iso into a dvd-r(w).

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OldFart 
Re: Invalidating KickLayout
Posted on 5-Dec-2021 12:06:24
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2004
Posts: 2989
From: Stad; en d'r is moar ain stad en da's Stad. Makkelk zat!

@SACC-dude

Quote:
Your dealer is your friend..
Bit of a moot point...
Quote:
you can also use the rescue usb stick that came with the X5000

Haven't seen it or I can't remember it.

OldFart

_________________
More then three levels of indigestion and you're scroomed!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OldFart 
Re: Invalidating KickLayout
Posted on 5-Dec-2021 12:09:14
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2004
Posts: 2989
From: Stad; en d'r is moar ain stad en da's Stad. Makkelk zat!

@smf

Quote:
You can download OS4.1 FE again from the hyperion site if you have registered.
A moot point...
Quote:
Or if you're really an old fart put the iso into a dvd-r(w).
I prolly put it on a CD-ROM (yes, I am that kind of an old fart...), but can't find it.

OldFart

_________________
More then three levels of indigestion and you're scroomed!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
smf 
Re: Invalidating KickLayout
Posted on 5-Dec-2021 18:55:01
#6 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Mar-2003
Posts: 326
From: Vxj, Sweden

@OldFart

Do you have any other computer available?
I can send you the contents of my kickstart directory and then you just put the files in a kickstart folder on an usb stick and load the kickstart from that.
iirc even a stick formated as fat#? will work.
Just PM me.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OldFart 
Re: Invalidating KickLayout
Posted on 6-Dec-2021 19:27:53
#7 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2004
Posts: 2989
From: Stad; en d'r is moar ain stad en da's Stad. Makkelk zat!

@smf

Thanks for your offer. In the meantime I found a USB-stick with all the files of the entire bootpartition on it, dated January 16,2021, so I was prepared somehow.

But how do I get the X5k to look at the USB-stick for booting in stead of the HD? Tapping spacebar and entering AmigaONE Early Startup Control screen provides me with some options from which 'Start AmigaOS' will perform the usual bootsequence while another one called 'Boot Options...' and subsequently 'Boot From Mass Storage' will just provide me with some command line system, telling me it is 'Running Mass Storage Boot', commencing at the next line with 'x5000 >', where I think it expects something from me and I would gladly provide some input there, if only I new what.

What is my next step?

OldFart

_________________
More then three levels of indigestion and you're scroomed!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
smf 
Re: Invalidating KickLayout
Posted on 7-Dec-2021 7:36:35
#8 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Mar-2003
Posts: 326
From: Vxj, Sweden

@OldFart

Mine X5000 is configured to boot from usb if any media is inserted and have been for a long time so i have forgoten the exact steps to do it.

But just entering the uboot command promt and issue the command "usb reset" and then "boota" should do it iirc.

I have seen some people suggesting to put the usb stick in a certain usb port but on my machine it does not matter what usb port i use.
but maybe you should try the one below the serial port?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OldFart 
Re: Invalidating KickLayout
Posted on 7-Dec-2021 17:21:56
#9 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2004
Posts: 2989
From: Stad; en d'r is moar ain stad en da's Stad. Makkelk zat!

@smf

Quote:
But just entering the uboot command promt and issue the command "usb reset" and then "boota" should do it iirc.
Doing so makes the X5k still booting from HD and that gives me errors.

Can't the machine simply be FORCED to (only) look at the USB port connecting to a storage device?

OldFart

_________________
More then three levels of indigestion and you're scroomed!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
smf 
Re: Invalidating KickLayout
Posted on 7-Dec-2021 19:51:16
#10 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Mar-2003
Posts: 326
From: Vxj, Sweden

@OldFart

I have the envar amigaboot_quiet set to no and that envar gives you a menu where you can choose the kicklayout to boot from.

So issue the command "setenv amigaboot_quiet N" before using boota

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OldFart 
Re: Invalidating KickLayout
Posted on 10-Dec-2021 19:07:30
#11 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2004
Posts: 2989
From: Stad; en d'r is moar ain stad en da's Stad. Makkelk zat!

@smf

Quote:
So issue the command "setenv amigaboot_quiet N" before using boota
Did so long time ago.

Whatever I do I can not make it see the USB-stick as being something to boot from. Are there ANY special requirements applicable to the USB-stick? I've just copied over the contents of my bootpartition on HD to the USB-stick.
Or maybe an environment variable in UBoot that has to be set to some value to make the USB-stick recognisable as being bootable?

OldFart

_________________
More then three levels of indigestion and you're scroomed!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OldFart 
Re: Invalidating KickLayout
Posted on 10-Dec-2021 19:38:49
#12 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2004
Posts: 2989
From: Stad; en d'r is moar ain stad en da's Stad. Makkelk zat!

@OldFart

I copied the contents of the USB-stick over to a DVD-RW and fed it to the X5000 and wow, lo' and behold!: it booted right from the HD again. No changes here.

When a press the spacebar at the appropriate moment, I get into some early boot screen as outlined in an earlier post in this thread.

At one point the loading process halts with a message of (5sec. until autoboot)>. It would be nice if the system was able to count for after 10 minutes it is still waiting. So I give it an [ Enter ].
Communication commences with: "Booting configuration (xyz)"
"Loading finished [####...###] 100%"
"About to call loader entry at 0X7C63C5A0"

end then nothing happens...

OldFart

_________________
More then three levels of indigestion and you're scroomed!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OldFart 
Re: Invalidating KickLayout
Posted on 18-Dec-2021 10:42:51
#13 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2004
Posts: 2989
From: Stad; en d'r is moar ain stad en da's Stad. Makkelk zat!

@OldFart

Ok, so now that I have the full "AmigaOneX5000InstallCD-53.25.iso.lha". On a Windows-thingy I unpacked it into "AmigaOneX5000InstallCD-53.25.iso" and I burned it onto a DVD-R. Afterwards, that DVD-R reads one directory called "AmigaOneX5000InstallCD-53.25.iso".
The x5000 does NOT boot from that. After removing the HD cable from the motherboard I select "BootOptions" and "Boot from Optical", followed by the commands: "scsi reset" and "boota". All I get is a message "No bootable devices found".

What should I do with the ISO archive?
Can anyone step-by-step tell me what to exactly do? Or point me to some page where I can find the procedure in full detail?

OldFart

_________________
More then three levels of indigestion and you're scroomed!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
SACC-dude 
Re: Invalidating KickLayout
Posted on 18-Dec-2021 11:28:40
#14 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-May-2005
Posts: 292
From: Sacramento, CA

@OldFart

Okay..
go back to your pc, goggle "ImgBurn" download this tool..

use this tool to correctly burn your blank cd (just need a cd, dvd is overkill)
Then use the cd to boot your 5000

sigh

getting too old myself

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OldFart 
Re: Invalidating KickLayout
Posted on 18-Dec-2021 20:12:05
#15 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2004
Posts: 2989
From: Stad; en d'r is moar ain stad en da's Stad. Makkelk zat!

@SACC-dude

Ok, I now get sofar as to having burnt a CD and the x5000 DOES indeed boot from it! Hurray!

The only I'm missing right now are the icons of the volumes on my HD. Sure MediaToolbox properly lists them, but they are not mounted and therefore not accessible, something I was really hoping for. No such luck (yet).

What steps do I have to take to make it mount all volumes?

OldFart

_________________
More then three levels of indigestion and you're scroomed!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
SACC-dude 
Re: Invalidating KickLayout
Posted on 19-Dec-2021 21:19:12
#16 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-May-2005
Posts: 292
From: Sacramento, CA

@OldFart

I thought this was about restoring kicklayout?

So many questions, not enough info!

Why not get help from dealer (not moot)?

What did you change in kicklayout ?
At the beginning it loads several files systems...

Are the drives set up as FFS or what? the kicklayout does not read them?

How did you lose the first cd?
What happened to the rescue usb stick?

Why can't you see the different bootable devices in uboot?

too much to work out based on what you did...?

May just a fresh install ???

Quote:

OldFart wrote:
@SACC-dude

Ok, I now get sofar as to having burnt a CD and the x5000 DOES indeed boot from it! Hurray!

The only I'm missing right now are the icons of the volumes on my HD. Sure MediaToolbox properly lists them, but they are not mounted and therefore not accessible, something I was really hoping for. No such luck (yet).

What steps do I have to take to make it mount all volumes?

OldFart

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OldFart 
Re: Invalidating KickLayout
Posted on 20-Dec-2021 20:39:35
#17 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2004
Posts: 2989
From: Stad; en d'r is moar ain stad en da's Stad. Makkelk zat!

@SACC-dude

Yes, I did something stupid with kicklayout. Not intentionally, mind! At boot time I got a message about a LABEL-line in KickLayout it being erroneous. Booting subsequently failed.
Sofar the beginning of the reason of this thread.

In the meantime I got Amiga OS 4.1 FE as an iso and eventually got it burned on a DVD-R. And it makes the computer boot again. HipHipHurray sofar.

My complaint from that point onwards was, that particular volumes appeared to be not mounted. I had pinned my hopes on that fact: boot from CD, load the offending KickLayout from HD, modify it, write it back to HD and subsequently boot from HD (again). No such luck and I found out why, I think: I had my HD partitioned using SFS\02 and OS4.1 FE does no longer include that particular filesystem. Due to licenseagreements.

This I came to know when creating a new partition on my HD and doing a fresh installation of the OS. ANd eventually I succeeded making it bootable using FastFileSystem, although NGFS was also provided. I first made a partition using NGFS and set it to bootable, but it does not boot from that one. The only option left was FFS\07... So FFS\07 it was. And booting it does!

On an old CD-ROM, an official Amiga OS 4.1 release, I found a copy of SmartFileSystem and got it copied over to the KickStart directory of the FFS\07 partition, not forgetting to modify KickLayout so as to include that filesystem at boot time. The versionnumber of that SmartFileSystem reads 1.282.

But I'm still out of luck in accessing ANY partition which uses SFS\02. These partitions are still NOT mounted...

And really ALL my partitions are SFS\02.

This is the situation, concerning my X5000, I'm in currently.

OldFart

_________________
More then three levels of indigestion and you're scroomed!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
nbache 
Re: Invalidating KickLayout
Posted on 20-Dec-2021 22:23:44
#18 ]
Super Member
Joined: 8-Apr-2003
Posts: 1024
From: Copenhagen, Denmark

@OldFart

Quote:
I found out why, I think: I had my HD partitioned using SFS\02 and OS4.1 FE does no longer include that particular filesystem.
Correct.

Also, that means you must have created that HD on another machine, because SFS doesn't support the X5000 at all, as I understand things.

Can you still make that machine work? Then you could copy your data to another drive with a filesystem which is accessible from the X5000.

Best regards,

Niels

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
SACC-dude 
Re: Invalidating KickLayout
Posted on 20-Dec-2021 22:35:10
#19 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-May-2005
Posts: 292
From: Sacramento, CA

@OldFart

As I guessed.
You must have a really old X5000 to be setup as it was, or did you make these choices?
Your dealer could still help you.. to fix and bring your x5000 up to date as it were.

BTW, I think your original cd "might" have the old sfs file system on it?
Maybe find it and copy it over?

I'm glad the X5000 is working and it's just a software/choice thing.



 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OldFart 
Re: Invalidating KickLayout
Posted on 21-Dec-2021 16:58:45
#20 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2004
Posts: 2989
From: Stad; en d'r is moar ain stad en da's Stad. Makkelk zat!

@SACC-dude

Quote:
You must have a really old X5000 to be setup as it was, or did you make these choices?

I was one of the first to receive a Cyrrus+ board and the developers release of the OS for this board did indeed contain that particular filesystem. Iirc, FFS, XJF and SFS were the only flavours of filesystem back then. FFS was, despite its name, not really fast, XJF was not fully reliable or so, the only choice then was to go SFS. Tony Watt's NGFs was not yet available.

To my surprise the current version of the Final Edition, as available on Hyperion's site, does indeed come with NGFs, but not with SFS, the latter due to licenceagreements or lack thereof.

Quote:
BTW, I think your original cd "might" have the old sfs file system on it? Maybe find it and copy it over?

Been lookin' in every nook and cranny, but that particular CD is nowhere to be found.

I'll try and locate some of the other early adopters of the board and see if one of them can provide me with my needs.

Quote:
I'm glad the X5000 is working and it's just a software/choice thing.
I KNEW the x5000 was working and when I realised that it's a rather peculiar software issue does not exactly provide with more peace of mind.

Thanks anyway for your support.

OldFart

_________________
More then three levels of indigestion and you're scroomed!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle