Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6038 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
18 crawler(s) on-line.
 18 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 kolla,  MEGA_RJ_MICAL

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 kolla:  7 secs ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  1 min ago
 Hammer:  5 mins ago
 AmigaPapst:  24 mins ago
 bennymee:  35 mins ago
 pavlor:  56 mins ago
 THRIVECoworkingAlpharetta:  1 hr 6 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  1 hr 8 mins ago
 Musashi5150:  1 hr 30 mins ago
 mdr:  1 hr 43 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga Gaming
      /  JUMP!
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
PosterThread
Karlos 
JUMP!
Posted on 27-May-2022 19:50:38
#1 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Aug-2003
Posts: 2590
From: As-sassin-aaate! As-sassin-aaate! Ooh! We forgot the ammunition!

A1200, 020 14MHz with fast RAM. What manner of sorcery be this? https://youtu.be/CliGgY8v1fM

_________________
Doing stupid things for fun...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Karlos 
Re: JUMP!
Posted on 28-May-2022 8:29:58
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Aug-2003
Posts: 2590
From: As-sassin-aaate! As-sassin-aaate! Ooh! We forgot the ammunition!

Genuinely intrigued as to how this was done. I'm assuming there's a lot of prerendered components in use rather than realtime, but even if that is true, getting them all on screen at 50fps seems like it would be a challenge for the specification. For a demo, maybe. For something interactive? Hmm

_________________
Doing stupid things for fun...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ppcamiga1 
Re: JUMP!
Posted on 28-May-2022 9:47:06
#3 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 23-Aug-2015
Posts: 437
From: Unknown

@Karlos

jump! is worth nothing crap.
port from 8 bit.
dumb game there are many of these for android, windows, linux etc.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
cdimauro 
Re: JUMP!
Posted on 28-May-2022 10:39:17
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 29-Oct-2012
Posts: 2506
From: Germany

@Karlos

Quote:

Karlos wrote:
Genuinely intrigued as to how this was done. I'm assuming there's a lot of prerendered components in use rather than realtime, but even if that is true, getting them all on screen at 50fps seems like it would be a challenge for the specification. For a demo, maybe. For something interactive? Hmm

It doesn't look like running at 50FPS. Maybe the video wasn't good.

Many things could be pre-rendered, but this game requires fast ram, so it might be that he renders the 3D scene on framebuffer in fast mem.

@ppcamiga1

Quote:

ppcamiga1 wrote:
@Karlos

jump! is worth nothing crap.
port from 8 bit.
dumb game there are many of these for android, windows, linux etc.

How many amazing original games are available for your beloved OS4?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Karlos 
Re: JUMP!
Posted on 28-May-2022 10:58:22
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Aug-2003
Posts: 2590
From: As-sassin-aaate! As-sassin-aaate! Ooh! We forgot the ammunition!

@ppcamiga1

I was asking the grown ups.

_________________
Doing stupid things for fun...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Karlos 
Re: JUMP!
Posted on 28-May-2022 11:07:15
#6 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Aug-2003
Posts: 2590
From: As-sassin-aaate! As-sassin-aaate! Ooh! We forgot the ammunition!

@cdimauro

Quote:

cdimauro wrote:

It doesn't look like running at 50FPS. Maybe the video wasn't good.

Many things could be pre-rendered, but this game requires fast ram, so it might be that he renders the 3D scene on framebuffer in fast mem.


There are better videos. From what I can tell, the game runs at 50fps. I don't think it's using realtime rendering of any of the 3D tiles, I suspect they are prerendered. If they are realtime, they are seriously impressive. And even if they are not, it's still impressive.

_________________
Doing stupid things for fun...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
FairBoy 
Re: JUMP!
Posted on 28-May-2022 11:21:06
#7 ]
Member
Joined: 8-Jun-2020
Posts: 55
From: Unknown

@Karlos
There's no dynamic perspective distortion, the whole scene is just offset when moving left / right / up / down. Most likely it's just pre-rendered bare bricks and icons, composed in fast-RAM with some coloring and lighting overlay which is then copied to a chip-RAM triple buffer for display. Very good stylish port but only fair technical magic to spot here.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
cdimauro 
Re: JUMP!
Posted on 28-May-2022 11:41:40
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 29-Oct-2012
Posts: 2506
From: Germany

50FPS is very difficult to be achieved in these conditions...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Karlos 
Re: JUMP!
Posted on 28-May-2022 11:50:15
#9 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Aug-2003
Posts: 2590
From: As-sassin-aaate! As-sassin-aaate! Ooh! We forgot the ammunition!

@FairBoy

It's not perspective, it's more akin to classic tunnel routine. Except it's clearly not that either. I'm still going to go with pre rendered tiles, at each size based on distance and positioned into the fram accordingly. That doesn't detract from the fact that to do this at 50fps on a 14MHz 020 is a technical feat.

For a start the prerendered graphics likely won't fit. If it is rendered in fast ram and copied to chip ram, most of the frame time is already used up. And that's assuming it doesn't need any C2P conversion. So I expect there's something more intelligent being done.

We assume the fast ram requirements are down the graphics, it could just as easily be the soundtrack data too.

_________________
Doing stupid things for fun...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ppcamiga1 
Re: JUMP!
Posted on 28-May-2022 11:58:34
#10 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 23-Aug-2015
Posts: 437
From: Unknown

@Karlos

This is sorcery https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yHXx3orN35Y
Wonderfull graphics on CGA.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
FairBoy 
Re: JUMP!
Posted on 28-May-2022 12:01:12
#11 ]
Member
Joined: 8-Jun-2020
Posts: 55
From: Unknown

@Karlos
"For a start the prerendered graphics likely won't fit."
4MB are the requirements? No, they will easily fit.

"We assume the fast ram requirements are down the graphics"
No, "we" didn't asume that.

"If it is rendered in fast ram and copied to chip ram, most of the frame time is already used up. "
Which is no problem because there's not much more to do here, there's just minimal simple game logic.

Again, a fair but not overwhelming amount of magic.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Karlos 
Re: JUMP!
Posted on 28-May-2022 12:04:13
#12 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Aug-2003
Posts: 2590
From: As-sassin-aaate! As-sassin-aaate! Ooh! We forgot the ammunition!

@ppcamiga1

Yes, that is indeed impressive. Something we can agree on for a change.

_________________
Doing stupid things for fun...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Karlos 
Re: JUMP!
Posted on 28-May-2022 13:24:09
#13 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Aug-2003
Posts: 2590
From: As-sassin-aaate! As-sassin-aaate! Ooh! We forgot the ammunition!

@FairBoy

Quote:
No, "we" didn't asume that


I'm using the Royal "we". Thanks to modern identity politics, I can identify how I like and if you don't like it, I have you relentlessly shouted down and cancelled on social media

_________________
Doing stupid things for fun...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Bosanac 
Re: JUMP!
Posted on 28-May-2022 16:36:22
#14 ]
Member
Joined: 10-May-2022
Posts: 80
From: Unknown

@ppcamiga1

Its also not created by you.

The talentless make a habit of denigrating the work of the talented.

Jump is clear wizardry!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Karlos 
Re: JUMP!
Posted on 28-May-2022 22:56:24
#15 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Aug-2003
Posts: 2590
From: As-sassin-aaate! As-sassin-aaate! Ooh! We forgot the ammunition!

Another video of the game being played on a force-feedback joystick: https://youtu.be/WPIPMryUv8s

_________________
Doing stupid things for fun...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
PhantomInterrogative 
Re: JUMP!
Posted on 28-May-2022 23:34:54
#16 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2004
Posts: 794
From: The Interrogative Lair

@Karlos

Best tunnel sequence since Super Stardust CD32.

_________________
I sold my SAM460ex lite... waiting for money to buy a Raspberry Pi... or a Classic A1000 with Buffee... or an A1222... and OS4.3 FE update 11

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
gryfon 
Re: JUMP!
Posted on 28-May-2022 23:38:48
#17 ]
Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2005
Posts: 24
From: Unknown

@Karlos

I've been playing the original for years on the Atari 800XL:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TNxICcU3bPo

and I'm really looking forward to this Amiga version being released. Love the demo.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
cdimauro 
Re: JUMP!
Posted on 29-May-2022 6:32:03
#18 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 29-Oct-2012
Posts: 2506
From: Germany

@Karlos

Quote:

Karlos wrote:
Another video of the game being played on a force-feedback joystick: https://youtu.be/WPIPMryUv8s

I still don't feel that it runs constantly at 50 FPS. Maybe it's my limit... :-/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Karlos 
Re: JUMP!
Posted on 29-May-2022 8:20:34
#19 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Aug-2003
Posts: 2590
From: As-sassin-aaate! As-sassin-aaate! Ooh! We forgot the ammunition!

@gryfon

That's brilliant.

_________________
Doing stupid things for fun...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Karlos 
Re: JUMP!
Posted on 29-May-2022 10:18:07
#20 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Aug-2003
Posts: 2590
From: As-sassin-aaate! As-sassin-aaate! Ooh! We forgot the ammunition!

@cdimauro

I wouldn't be surprised if it drops a frame here and there but if you watch the video of it being played, it looks pretty smooth.

While I was watching it, I realised one thing thar has been bugging me a bit. Some of the tunnel sections rotate, either due to the ball hitting a particular tile, or on a timer. The rotation definitely makes the tiles seem like true polygons. They could of course be pre rendered still, but the complete combination of every tile type, position, size and interim rotation seems like it would require an unreasonable amount of prerendering.

_________________
Doing stupid things for fun...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle