Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6072 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
20 crawler(s) on-line.
 30 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Kronos:  16 mins ago
 miggymac:  23 mins ago
 bhabbott:  23 mins ago
 alef:  25 mins ago
 Karlos:  47 mins ago
 Rob:  1 hr 26 mins ago
 zipper:  1 hr 43 mins ago
 matthey:  1 hr 48 mins ago
 Gunnar:  2 hrs 20 mins ago
 Tpod:  2 hrs 26 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga General Chat
      /  amiga 1200 AGA default screenmode when booting without startup-sequence
Register To Post

PosterThread
jonssonj 
amiga 1200 AGA default screenmode when booting without startup-sequence
Posted on 14-Nov-2023 12:30:56
#1 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-Mar-2004
Posts: 292
From: Sweden, Bjärred

Hello all!

When I try to boot my A1200 without the startup-sequence, that has the indivision scandoubler MK III installed I can only see half of the picture on the screen.

I understand that I must configure this screenmode in the indivision software, but I have gone through all my screenmodes in workbench and when using test, all of them works. What in the world is the screenmode when starting the Amiga without startup sequence?

the indivision seems to report these numbers when starting the live overlay:

960x600

912x526

wait pixels 475
wait lines 19

unfortunately I don't seem to be able to move the screen around on the monitor with the overlay software of the indivision, I can only stretch the screen, not move it.

BR
Jörgen

_________________
A1 X1000 is here !!!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DenisPaul 
Re: amiga 1200 AGA default screenmode when booting without startup-sequence
Posted on 14-Nov-2023 13:27:41
#2 ]
Member
Joined: 14-Sep-2015
Posts: 16
From: Bordeaux, France

@jonssonj

Hello!
I have the same configuration, but it works fine.



Here is my configuration file if that helps :
https://lesdocs.fr/fichiers/indivisionmk3.conf

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jonssonj 
Re: amiga 1200 AGA default screenmode when booting without startup-sequence
Posted on 14-Nov-2023 13:45:19
#3 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-Mar-2004
Posts: 292
From: Sweden, Bjärred

@DenisPaul

Hello!

Thanks for your reply! I really appreciate it!

That screen I can see fine, but if I click on Boot without Startup-Sequence I can only see the right half and half top of the screen. I suspect I can only see the top rigtht corner.


BR
JJ

_________________
A1 X1000 is here !!!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DenisPaul 
Re: amiga 1200 AGA default screenmode when booting without startup-sequence
Posted on 14-Nov-2023 14:09:11
#4 ]
Member
Joined: 14-Sep-2015
Posts: 16
From: Bordeaux, France

@jonssonj

Here is my screen when I click on Boot without Startup-Sequence :

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kolla 
Re: amiga 1200 AGA default screenmode when booting without startup-sequence
Posted on 14-Nov-2023 20:15:55
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Aug-2003
Posts: 2821
From: Trondheim, Norway

@jonssonj

What happens of you press space? It should switch between PAL and NTSC mode.

_________________
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jonssonj 
Re: amiga 1200 AGA default screenmode when booting without startup-sequence
Posted on 14-Nov-2023 20:47:49
#6 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-Mar-2004
Posts: 292
From: Sweden, Bjärred

@kolla

Hello!

That was a good lead, I will try that, :)

It would be great though to know exactly what screenmode that is so i could configure it correctly in the indivision software.

In worst case, I will have to get a old monitor with S-video input otherwise, so I can see the native screen, but right now, my money is finito! :) Have spent it all on Amiga stuff, :)

BR
JJ

Last edited by jonssonj on 14-Nov-2023 at 08:49 PM.

_________________
A1 X1000 is here !!!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jonssonj 
Re: amiga 1200 AGA default screenmode when booting without startup-sequence
Posted on 14-Nov-2023 21:03:23
#7 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-Mar-2004
Posts: 292
From: Sweden, Bjärred

@kolla

Hello, unfortunately I got the same result, it looks like this



Last edited by jonssonj on 14-Nov-2023 at 09:12 PM.
Last edited by jonssonj on 14-Nov-2023 at 09:08 PM.
Last edited by jonssonj on 14-Nov-2023 at 09:05 PM.

_________________
A1 X1000 is here !!!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jonssonj 
Re: amiga 1200 AGA default screenmode when booting without startup-sequence
Posted on 14-Nov-2023 22:43:26
#8 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-Mar-2004
Posts: 292
From: Sweden, Bjärred

@jonssonj

It seems that my A1200 tries to use a Doublescan resolution that I can't reproduce in the software when I'm in the workbench.


320x400 NTSC:Low Res Laced

EDID 1920x1200@60
H: 31.52kHz 912
V: 60 Hz 526


Pre 640x512 PAL

EDID 1920x1200@60
H: 31.52kHz 912
V: 60 Hz 526


When trying these two resolutions out in the workbench I get the following results and they show up just fine:


320x400 NTSC:Low Res Laced

EDID 1920x1200@60
H: 15.79kHz 1820
V: 60 Hz 525



Pre 640x512 PAL

EDID 1920x1200@60
H: 15.83kHz 1816 Interlace
V: 51 Hz 625

_________________
A1 X1000 is here !!!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jonssonj 
Re: amiga 1200 AGA default screenmode when booting without startup-sequence
Posted on 15-Nov-2023 14:24:12
#9 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-Mar-2004
Posts: 292
From: Sweden, Bjärred

@jonssonj

I have had a little chat with Jens from indivision and apparantly my A1200 with ROM 3.2.2 from Hyperion, after I press the "start without startup sequence", decides to output the screen with 31.xx kHz Horizontal Frequency regardless of my choices in the boot menu. Can I force my A1200 not to output a 31.xx kHz output screen and instead opt for the same screen with 15.xx kHz Horizontal frequency instead?

What in the Amiga decides that it is a good idea to switch to a 31.xx kHz Horizontal frequency after I press the button "start without a startup sequence" ????

Last edited by jonssonj on 15-Nov-2023 at 02:24 PM.

_________________
A1 X1000 is here !!!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kolla 
Re: amiga 1200 AGA default screenmode when booting without startup-sequence
Posted on 15-Nov-2023 15:52:26
#10 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Aug-2003
Posts: 2821
From: Trondheim, Norway

@jonssonj

Maybe you have a devs:system-configuration file? If so, remove it.

Kickstart 3.2 also has key to press between 31kHz and 15kHz in early startup, but I don’t recall what it is.

Last edited by kolla on 15-Nov-2023 at 03:53 PM.

_________________
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jonssonj 
Re: amiga 1200 AGA default screenmode when booting without startup-sequence
Posted on 15-Nov-2023 16:24:29
#11 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-Mar-2004
Posts: 292
From: Sweden, Bjärred

@kolla

Hello!

Yes I can select between 31 and 15 kHz screenmodes and between PAL and NTSC, but regardless of what I select in the boot menu it switches to a 31 kHz output when I press the button "boot without startup sequence"

I will check if I have a devs:system-configuration file. but does the amiga read this file even when I boot wihout the startup sequence?

BR
Jörgen Jönsson

_________________
A1 X1000 is here !!!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jonssonj 
Re: amiga 1200 AGA default screenmode when booting without startup-sequence
Posted on 15-Nov-2023 22:16:57
#12 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-Mar-2004
Posts: 292
From: Sweden, Bjärred

I have now dismantled my whole tower and now I only have the indivision AGA in the machine and my compactflash harddrive thingy. I also put ROM 3.1.4 from Cloanto in the machine instead and when I now press the button boot without startup sequence my A1200 does NOT switch to a 31 kHz Horizontal frequency. I guess the 3.1.4 ROMS does not have support for a 31 kHz output.

I have not made any changes to my DEVS: folder.

Is this a bug in the ROM 3.2.2 from Hyperion that it always default to a 31 kHz horizontal frequency regardless of your choices in the boot menu?

BR
Jörgen

_________________
A1 X1000 is here !!!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DenisPaul 
Re: amiga 1200 AGA default screenmode when booting without startup-sequence
Posted on 17-Nov-2023 12:26:36
#13 ]
Member
Joined: 14-Sep-2015
Posts: 16
From: Bordeaux, France

@jonssonj

I use hardware ROM 3.2.2.1 and it works well.
Did you try my MK3 conf file ?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jonssonj 
Re: amiga 1200 AGA default screenmode when booting without startup-sequence
Posted on 18-Nov-2023 19:37:57
#14 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-Mar-2004
Posts: 292
From: Sweden, Bjärred

@DenisPaul

Hello!

No I did not dare to use it because I don't know what frequencies and VGA mode you have setup. I have a HP E242 monitor with support of Horizontal frequency between 30kHz and 80kHz and the vertical frequency supported is between 50 and 60 Hz.

The native resolution on this monitor is 1900x1200@60Hz

I did flash my indivision with the rescue floppy and now I'm able to see what is going on anyway. I see half top of the WB screen on half the width of my monitor, :) better than nothing anyway, :)

I have now succeede to get my Voodoo card working in my Mediator also, so now I have a good base for a good WB experience, :)

Thanks for your help, I still, really, appreciate your answers here though.

BR
Jörgen

_________________
A1 X1000 is here !!!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle